View Full Version : FAO: London / Home Counties Based Foot.iers - 25th May
13/05/2008, 9:42 AM
Fancy a meetup and such - as the last one we did was quite an enjoyable and successful one:
Connacht Senior Football Championship
London v Sligo (Ruislip)
And on that connected subject - where has Liam88 got to recently - not seen or heard from him in a while...
13/05/2008, 9:43 AM
pity sligoman isn't exiled , He'd be the first man on the list.
13/05/2008, 9:46 AM
Alright lads, I'd be up for it but I've already agreed to go to a mate's BBQ in sarf London that day. Will the Londain Ultras be re-united?
13/05/2008, 9:50 AM
Well - i'll definitely be there if we get a couple of the usual heads going.
Might be able to rustle up a few from here as well
16/05/2008, 10:15 AM
ya ill be out there id say.
16/05/2008, 3:27 PM
Ah lads, could ye not wait for the hurling to start? I'll see if I can make the pilgrimage over to Ruislip for it. I hope the "local" side takes their championship gaelic more seriously than they took their league hurling - to watch them you'd know there's ne'er a decent ash in this city.
16/05/2008, 3:42 PM
good man bluebeard look forward to meeting ye
17/05/2008, 10:21 AM
Ah lads, could ye not wait for the hurling to start? I'll see if I can make the pilgrimage over to Ruislip for it. I hope the "local" side takes their championship gaelic more seriously than they took their league hurling - to watch them you'd know there's ne'er a decent ash in this city.
i was looking at the Hurling fixture that was scheduled in a couple of weeks - but then Tyrone went and beat Fermanagh - and therefore the tie in the next round between Tyrone and London was switched to Tyrone
Babysis
19/05/2008, 5:33 PM
I was so very nearly in London that weekend too, but have since changed my mind. Have a good one.
20/05/2008, 7:16 AM
OK - those of you who will be coming - do the usual thing and meet up at a railway station in London for a drink or two and then travel out from there?
If so - when and where would be the best place?
20/05/2008, 9:31 AM
reiteoir, i live only a half hour drive from there so Ill prolly just drive down and meet ye out there?!
20/05/2008, 12:56 PM
That should be fine Paul - drop me a PM with your mobile number just in case
20/05/2008, 3:22 PM
Just been confirmed it's a 2:30pm throw-in so I should be into London mid-to-late-morning
24/05/2008, 9:39 AM
Should be there for 14h30 by the look of things - very tempted to wear a Waterford United Jersey for ease of identification! Will be taking my usual vantage point by the scoreboard if I see none of yis.
And yes, I will be wearing a beard - colour unconfirmed.
24/05/2008, 10:44 PM
Grand - I should be there in either a Bohs jersey or an old Dublin GAA jersey - like the one in this photo: http://www.themartineffect.co.uk/images/jasonsherlock2.jpg
Will be coming through Paddington about 11:45am - so will be down in Ruislip for about 1:30 / 1:45
27/05/2008, 9:09 AM
good to see ye again reiteoir and bluebeard great to finally put a face to the name. Pity I couldn't have stayed longer, but when i went to look for the lads i thought they had gone, started to panic as phone was off but eventually found them. Its a long way back to palmers green from Ruislip!
Its a pity I didn't find ye a bit earlier, but there is always next time to be honest!
27/05/2008, 9:17 AM
London lost but are they in through the back door qualifiers? If so, let's hope its a home draw and I shall be there.
27/05/2008, 9:35 AM
nah tommy murphy cup.
27/05/2008, 10:32 AM
Sounds bad but what's the Tommy Murphy Cup?
Its a competition pretty much for those who are beaten early in the Championship and are amongst the lower ranked teams. see Wiki on Tommy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tommy_Murphy_Cup)
27/05/2008, 11:08 AM
Ah I see, thought it was part of the backdoor route for a second. Is it that because London are in Connacht championship that they dont go backdoor?
Its to do with League finishings. Tommy Murphy Cup features the eight lowest ranking teams in National Football League unless the teams reach the final of their provincial championships
27/05/2008, 12:47 PM
Just saw this thread - might've been up for the game (the last London one I saw was with foot.ie heads as well....) :)