View Full Version : Scarves

bray boy
12/05/2008, 8:44 PM
its simply ridiculous what the club are doing.....are they allowed do this ???

Seagull
12/05/2008, 9:07 PM
its simply ridiculous what the club are doing.....are they allowed do this ???

Are we supposed to figure out whatever it is you're on about for ourselves? Is this a new style of cryptic posting? :confused:

dublinwanderer
12/05/2008, 9:12 PM
yeah a bit vague alrite....

its about the stewards on friday night making all the bray fans take their scarves down from their faces. absolutly pathetic carry on. stewards (well only one of em) is been a complete kno this year.

the next home game, every bray fan should walk into the ground covering their face!!!!

BrayUnknowns
13/05/2008, 9:01 AM
yeah a bit vague alrite....

its about the stewards on friday night making all the bray fans take their scarves down from their faces. absolutly pathetic carry on. stewards (well only one of em) is been a complete kno this year.

the next home game, every bray fan should walk into the ground covering their face!!!!

Good look doing that in this weather ! :D

But on a serious note, why do you feel the need to hide your face?

lowflyingseagul
13/05/2008, 11:33 AM
acne scars

Grasshopper 99
13/05/2008, 4:13 PM
Nobody can get kicked out of the ground for the way you wear your scarf, what a joke. There making up all these silly decisions on a weeky bases, whats next, no track suit bottoms, only jeans??

13/05/2008, 5:17 PM
I hear that banks in Bray do this too. Disgraceful.

dublinwanderer
13/05/2008, 7:40 PM
I'm pretty sure they can, especially after the **** that went on after last weeks game. Bray fans my @rse, pack of w@nkers. Don't want or need supporters like that, and guess what, they were all apart of the scarves over the face gang that sing...

did you see who caused the trouble? the lads that were at the rovers match (scum) who couldnt be bothered go to the drogs match were outside the ground at the end and caused what ever happened as both sets of fans were exiting. get your facts right before you start excusing people. also i believe the stewards were at fault here too, they moved all the singing bray fans out when we were still in the ground singing (not sure what the rush was for), why couldnt they just leave us for a few more mins? we just bet the champions of course we were going to celebrate.

deecay
13/05/2008, 7:50 PM
This is a disgrace,theres no rule against it so keep doing it.Stewards were a joke last game of last season,idiots

BrayUnknowns
13/05/2008, 9:57 PM
did you see who caused the trouble? the lads that were at the rovers match (scum) who couldnt be bothered go to the drogs match were outside the ground at the end and caused what ever happened as both sets of fans were exiting. get your facts right before you start excusing people. also i believe the stewards were at fault here too, they moved all the singing bray fans out when we were still in the ground singing (not sure what the rush was for), why couldnt they just leave us for a few more mins? we just bet the champions of course we were going to celebrate.

Silly silly boy.... Grow up

And yeah i did see the Bray lads (and they ARE Bray supporters) who were involved right in the middle of it.

bray boy
13/05/2008, 10:23 PM
I'm pretty sure they can, especially after the **** that went on after last weeks game. Bray fans my @rse, pack of w@nkers. Don't want or need supporters like that, and guess what, they were all apart of the scarves over the face gang that sing..
right so what your saying that wearing your scarf over your face is causing trouble at matches come on...what difference is it going to make if we cant wear our scarves up?sure theres the cure to hooliganism all over the country
#i wouldnt really mind so much if they were bringin in something which helped prevent trouble but what the hell is scarves going to do??stupid end of

who are you to call us a pack of wa@nkers? (i do wear my scarf up when nothin is happenin singin etc.) i didnt cause any trouble and just because i wear my scarf up doesnt mean im going to...

bray boy
13/05/2008, 10:50 PM
wait a sec....what trouble happened after the rovers game???ive been askin around and apprently nothin happened???

13/05/2008, 10:57 PM
some minor scuffles up near town hall apparently. I think one Drogheda fans was escorted out of the ground during injury time also.

BrayUnknowns
14/05/2008, 12:22 PM
Bray People front page.

Enough said.

All the good work by the club over the previous months right down the swany because of a certain bunch of Bray Wanderers fans.

And yeah i do think that a bunch of 20/30/40/50 (or what ever number) of lads hiding their faces with scarfs is inviting trouble from known groups of trouble makers. Hiding their faces is what hooligans do at football games so they can't be identifed...

Bray is a family club with a lot of young kids with their parents at games. Incidents like what happened after the Rovers and Drogs games damage the club massively

Grasshopper 99
14/05/2008, 12:56 PM
Bray People front page.

Enough said.

All the good work by the club over the previous months right down the swany because of a certain bunch of Bray Wanderers fans.

And yeah i do think that a bunch of 20/30/40/50 (or what ever number) of lads hiding their faces with scarfs is inviting trouble from known groups of trouble makers. Hiding their faces is what hooligans do at football games so they can't be identifed...

Bray is a family club with a lot of young kids with their parents at games. Incidents like what happened after the Rovers and Drogs games damage the club massively

There was a drogs fan robbed at the station after the game on friday but he was not a bray fan but from another club, the policing and stewarding at the end of the games have to be looked at, as dublin wanderer said the stewards could have let us sing for a few more minutes and the so called trouble outside the might not have happen, but as a steward said to me when i asked them why did they kick us out, there reason was they dont get paid over time and why did they not go out to this so called trouble, its not there job, that was great to hear. they need professional stewards up there now, not amatures anymore.

dublinwanderer
14/05/2008, 4:22 PM
Silly silly boy.... Grow up

And yeah i did see the Bray lads (and they ARE Bray supporters) who were involved right in the middle of it.

people who get involved in that are not supporters. a hole load of crap blown right out of porportion.
with the scarves issue its stupid stopping it in the first place, but i see now that people might think about it.

Seagull
14/05/2008, 5:45 PM
people who get involved in that are not supporters. a hole load of crap blown right out of porportion.
with the scarves issue its stupid stopping it in the first place, but i see now that people might think about it.

As far as I can see, the whole 'ultras' thing has just given a load of scumbags something to latch onto. That's not to tar the people who originated it with the same brush, but it's become a problem now. The scumbags were always there, just not all gathered together in the one place. Scarves over faces may seem innocuous to some but it's a godsend for troublemakers. The other thing is, I'd imagine the club can make and enforce any rules they want- they have to control the crowd after all.

14/05/2008, 7:10 PM
Trouble has been going on at Bray matches for years.

I distinctly remember trouble at the U-21's League Cup final a few years ago. There was abig rush on the far side of the stadium and a lad ended up in an ambulance. I remember kids leaving the match early when we lost to Bohs last year to wait for their fans outside. I remember two or three years ago after a match against one of the Dubs, kids were lining out on the bowler to start on the fans as they left.

All this happened before Na Fánaithe was started earlier this year.

Now, has there been trouble involving Bray fans on any away trips this year?

braysnumber1
14/05/2008, 8:51 PM
how am i not surprised that the 1 sign of trouble and the ultras are blamed!!!

this sort of carry on has been happening for a cuple of yrs now, as soon as we get an ultra group bang the blame is thrown on them.

the lads that were involved were not even at the game, they may call em selves supporters but they dont bother go to all the games, and only go to abuse opposition players and fans and cause a bit of trouble.

i'm surprised that the stone throwing from begind the red seat stand hasnt been blamed on the ultra group as well.

and wots wit the stewards pushing us out so quickly after da game? everyone is forced out together, prob wudnt have been as bad (if anything actually happened in the first place) if the stewards let us celebrate, we just bet the champions!!!!

bray boy
14/05/2008, 9:00 PM
there is no way any of this 'trouble' can be blamed on the green ultras come on...
an putting scarves down below the face will have no impact on stopping any trouble at football matches anywhere in the world...

BrayUnknowns
14/05/2008, 9:16 PM
the lads that were involved were not even at the game

That's a stone cold lie... I know several of the guys who were involved and they go to every single game at the Carlisle and most away matches as well

bray boy
14/05/2008, 9:42 PM
the majority were not at the game ......

BrayUnknowns
15/05/2008, 8:48 AM
the majority were not at the game ......

That's not the point, and i find it very hard to beleive as well. From looking at it as it was happening quite a lot of the lads were at the game.

braysnumber1
15/05/2008, 9:39 AM
wot exactly happened?

i only seen the smallest amount of it.

naoise kennedy
15/05/2008, 10:13 AM
the headline in bray people saying a riot at match is a disgrace,, ok a few scumbags causing trouble is not a riot.. i've been to all bray home matches for past three years, my kids love the flags and cheering etc.. i have never seen any think like this before at matches, it has always been a good atmosphere, a small incident is not going to ruin it for me or my kids,,

BrayUnknowns
15/05/2008, 11:29 AM
the headline in bray people saying a riot at match is a disgrace,, ok a few scumbags causing trouble is not a riot.. i've been to all bray home matches for past three years, my kids love the flags and cheering etc.. i have never seen any think like this before at matches, it has always been a good atmosphere, a small incident is not going to ruin it for me or my kids,,

But it could ruin it for potantial new familys who are thinking about coming to the Carlisle Grounds

braysnumber1
15/05/2008, 11:42 AM
But it could ruin it for potantial new familys who are thinking about coming to the Carlisle Grounds

oh give it a rest anto will you. fcuk sake get over it. ur afraid tha if new families dont come you have failed at ur job and you'l get the sack

BrayUnknowns
15/05/2008, 1:46 PM
oh give it a rest anto will you. fcuk sake get over it. ur afraid tha if new families dont come you have failed at ur job and you'l get the sack

Anto? not even close... :D

But it's attitudes like your that will keep our club far behind other progressive clubs in the league.

15/05/2008, 2:23 PM
wot exactly happened?

i only seen the smallest amount of it.

Well who wrote the piece in the Bray People. Was it the young lad daniel, there was no name put to it, if it was him why wasn't it above the article as normal.. I was in area at time. Driving by and it was hand bags stuff! Few pebbles thrown at each other. Thats all. The drogs bus was parked there cos the garda told them to park there! The stewards wanted it moved. Are the quotes in the bray people genuine? Does he really get player and manager qoutes? Or are they lifted? This article in the paper, the bray people has blown it out of all proportion! Just like with incidents that happend in wicklow league earlier in season. Very imature journalism i think from whoever wrote the story.:rolleyes:

braysnumber1
15/05/2008, 2:25 PM
Anto? not even close... :D

But it's attitudes like your that will keep our club far behind other progressive clubs in the league.

attitude? wot attitude, its called an opinion. our club is behind other clubs because they gone full time and we havent. also they dont treat fans like **** they just let em support the team with no questions asked, obviously wit no violence or anything like that which is wot normally happens in bray anyway.

naoise kennedy
15/05/2008, 2:33 PM
the bray people should be accountable for this artical,, they got it totally wrong it was only hand bag stuff,, the fai read this artical and then fine the club,, so the bray people should say they got it wrong,,,, riot my arse

15/05/2008, 2:40 PM
Well who wrote the piece in the Bray People. Was it the young lad daniel, there was no name put to it, if it was him why wasn't it above the article as normal.. I was in area at time. Driving by and it was hand bags stuff! Few pebbles thrown at each other. Thats all. The drogs bus was parked there cos the garda told them to park there! The stewards wanted it moved. Are the quotes in the bray people genuine? Does he really get player and manager qoutes? Or are they lifted? This article in the paper, the bray people has blown it out of all proportion! Just like with incidents that happend in wicklow league earlier in season. Very imature journalism i think from whoever wrote the story.:rolleyes:
I highly doubt it was him, KR. He usually hangs around for a bit after the match so he wouldn't have been outside.

15/05/2008, 5:47 PM
I highly doubt it was him, KR. He usually hangs around for a bit after the match so he wouldn't have been outside.

I beg to differ! 2 Witnesess saying he was outside at the so called Riot!!!!

16/05/2008, 10:23 AM
Right lads, if you want to keep this thread open you have tone down the cursing and avoiding the language filter i.e. fcuk, @rse. One user's got an infraction about it already.

No personal attacks i.e. attacking people who are not using all the letters of the keyboard.

And no more text speaking, it's against the rules (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=440516&postcount=13).

Anymore breaking the rules and this thread will be binned and users will be given infractions. Any problems, look over the rules here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=7880). If anyone else posts in this thread, I'm going to assume they've read the rules and I'm not going to let them away with anything.

I beg to differ! 2 Witnesess saying he was outside at the so called Riot!!!!
Surely you'll have no problem telling us who saw him then?

Hulsey
16/05/2008, 10:56 AM
There was a drogs fan robbed at the station after the game on friday but he was not a bray fan but from another club, the policing and stewarding at the end of the games have to be looked at, as dublin wanderer said the stewards could have let us sing for a few more minutes and the so called trouble outside the might not have happen, but as a steward said to me when i asked them why did they kick us out, there reason was they dont get paid over time and why did they not go out to this so called trouble, its not there job, that was great to hear. they need professional stewards up there now, not amatures anymore.

As usual first hint of "trouble" and the singing crowd are blamed. This was no fault of ours it was the stewards for not using common sense. It isnt rocket science to let one set of supporters out ten-fifteen minutes after the other and that way anything that might happen can be diverted by either stewards outside the ground or the guards. If the stewards used their heads instead of throwing us out straight after the whistle so they can head home the bray people wouldn't have had an easy story to sell it. The stewards are being paid to do a job which they are not doing close to adequately.

lowflyingseagul
16/05/2008, 12:01 PM
at the next home game....a few more police and more tuned in stewards and this problem is over. if there is any problems at the train station there is CCTV. and people can be identified. most teams if not all have had this problem and to a certain extent have sorted it out. at the end of the day unfortunately some kids in their mid to late teens like fighting and form into little gangs.

this is a big town with a growing support, and the policing of the crowd must change to reflect the growing number of bray and away fans all spilling out onto the street at the same time.

i was at the rovers and drogheda games and i sat in the mainly away side (the railway track side) and after the rovers game i came out of the ground and was walking across the road towards the bowling alley and saw about 20 to 30 bray fans coming from the direction of the ground heading towards the train station singing an anti-rovers song. i couldn't see any police monitoring this crowd and what it was doing.

16/05/2008, 1:08 PM
Surely you'll have no problem telling us who saw him then?

Why should i. And he did write the article because he contacted a member of the club twice looking for a statement!!! FACT

16/05/2008, 4:53 PM
Why should i.
Cos I don't believe you otherwise.

And he did write the article because he contacted a member of the club twice looking for a statement!!! FACT
It still doesn't mean he wrote it. He researched it, doesn't mean he wrote it.

BrayZil
16/05/2008, 7:39 PM
First of all as usual the Bray People has blown it out of proportion. They obviously hadn’t got a major headline this week. The paper is just so negative towards the club. They really should be supporting the club but instead they are trying to put a black mark against our name. In my opinion the club should take legal action against the paper. As far as I seen there were a few kids verbally abusing Drogs fans outside that’s it. This shouldn’t have happened but it was hardly a riot!

However, I think we do have a small problem. There are a handful of minor trouble makers at the matches and they are ruining it for the rest of the loyal fans. These kids need to be identified and banned. The lads singing and banging drums are fantastic and the atmosphere in the ground this season has been brilliant. But I don’t agree with the bad language and some of the songs like “we hate rovers ….”, “we hate bohs ….” etc. These songs are stupid! I think we should sing our hearts out for the team and I don’t see any point in singing songs that might entice the other team.

The Fox
16/05/2008, 9:51 PM
Here here Brayzil

lostinbrum
16/05/2008, 11:57 PM
Being in Birmingham I don't get to many matches, and I don't see the Bray People. But looking at the report on the online version of the Bray People, the headline is worse than the report, which is shown up by it's lack of any detail.

When I do get over for a game I tend to sit on the railway side and have never noticed any hassle with away fans. Shame that any bother happened at all and the notion that a (any) small club needs to hold back away fans for ten minutes, so that the home fans can go home without starting a fight is disappointing.

As is the idea that its the fault of the stewards or police or anyone associated with the club. Its a small club and people will know who is messing about and causing hassle (if anyone). It shouldn't take an official to force people to behave in a civilised manner. A few quiet words should be enough, but maybe I'm just being Niave.

Seagull
17/05/2008, 11:58 AM
First of all as usual the Bray People has blown it out of proportion. They obviously hadn’t got a major headline this week. The paper is just so negative towards the club. They really should be supporting the club but instead they are trying to put a black mark against our name. In my opinion the club should take legal action against the paper. As far as I seen there were a few kids verbally abusing Drogs fans outside that’s it. This shouldn’t have happened but it was hardly a riot!

However, I think we do have a small problem. There are a handful of minor trouble makers at the matches and they are ruining it for the rest of the loyal fans. These kids need to be identified and banned. The lads singing and banging drums are fantastic and the atmosphere in the ground this season has been brilliant. But I don’t agree with the bad language and some of the songs like “we hate rovers ….”, “we hate bohs ….” etc. These songs are stupid! I think we should sing our hearts out for the team and I don’t see any point in singing songs that might entice the other team.

Spot on BrayZil. I gave up buying the Bray People some time back and I'd suggest anyone unhappy with the sensationalist front page this week does likewise.

18/05/2008, 1:37 AM

Good post:ball:

Seagull-4-life
19/05/2008, 11:18 AM
There was certainly no riot as the bray people and they did blow it out of proportion but it but it still shouldn't be happening.
The headline would have been written by the editor or whoever so that's different to the actual report.
KR, I know the young lad and he told me he rang jack O'neill ONCE and then decided there was no story in it and then on the bus he told us that it wasn't him and I believe him.
The stewards dfefinitely shouldn't have thrown fans out while they were still singing and all.

(KR very anti-bray people AGAIN...my suspicions are raised once again mate, or should i say Paul?)

19/05/2008, 3:22 PM
.my suspicions are raised once again mate, or should i say Paul?)

Before this starts again, it's not Paul. I'm certain because I know KR.

Seagull-4-life
19/05/2008, 5:09 PM

OK take your word for it mate

19/05/2008, 5:30 PM
Seconded, I also have had Paul complaining to me about people thinking KR's Post is him.

21/05/2008, 1:17 PM
Cos I don't believe you otherwise.

It still doesn't mean he wrote it. He researched it, doesn't mean he wrote it.

Not naming names but person is close to me!! And other a very good friend.

21/05/2008, 1:21 PM
Seconded, I also have had Paul complaining to me about people thinking KR's Post is him.

Slander isn't it. I'm not Paul Dowling. All the lads no me and know who i am. They no why i'm not there anymore for reasons i am standing by! The lads who were there when i was are great, and fair play boys. Keep up the good work!