View Full Version : Mns - 12.05.08

Pages : 1 [2]

12/05/2008, 10:35 PM
anyone know what side roddys on?

he seems to feel up the leg of the guest sitting beside him every week:D

i've got all the episodes saved on Sky+ so i might put a little compilation on youtube at the end of the season!

Ha ha .... quality, would love to see it. Loads of pink shirts too.

12/05/2008, 11:12 PM
Am I the only one who feels criticising the referees is the easy part for any pundit but they're not offering any solutions?.

It shouldn't have to be done though. Referees shouldn't be making mistakes as big as they are making. There getting paid to do their job so they should be doing it well but the fact of the matter is there not.

The refereeing system needs a shake-up and they should start by telling Pat Kelly fook off and hand over the reigns as Head of the Refereeing Association to someone younger and more aware of the modern day rules. They obviously need a crash course and theres no better time like the present, when everyone else is on the summer break all the officials should be sent over to Keith Hackett over at the English FA for a breakdown on the new rules. Letting the game flow is a thing of the past and it's time it was brought back.

BrayUnknowns
12/05/2008, 11:13 PM
If Foran had been sent off, he'd have been banned for two games. That would definitely effect us in the next few games, not just the one game like the Bohs decision effected us.

That decision cost us all 3 points in Dalymount, how does that not count as definitely effecting us?

BrayUnknowns
12/05/2008, 11:16 PM
I dont mean the result I mean the refs performance etc going forward

i certianly hope so ! it's was beyond shocking ! I can only imagine what was going thru his head as he was watching it tonight

13/05/2008, 12:42 AM
i certianly hope so ! it's was beyond shocking ! I can only imagine what was going thru his head as he was watching it tonight

He wont be out from under the couch with shame till the next game he has to ref. And rightly so.

srfc19
13/05/2008, 12:53 AM
im so not impressed with this program,extremely frustrating show to watch. if they spent more time showing football than talking about it would be a lot better.
i know there is time constraints and that but the likes of the goal/save,(cant remember which match this was in)penalty decisions,sending offs in the rovers-cork game should have been shown more than once.
we could get more of a feel for the matches if we saw more,if i was a borderline EL supporter this show would not make me want to go watch a match.
even the small games in the premiership get more time on motd then the "big" games do on mns.

Joey Killester
13/05/2008, 1:37 AM
"What's your favourite humming noise?" Brilliant. :D
Reading through this I was going to say I couldnt believe anyone hadn't mentioned this, the greatest question is sports journalism history!

stann
13/05/2008, 6:51 AM
That was a good show this week, despite the fact they must have had time issues.
I can't possibly believe Con Murphy gets criticised by anyone here, the man is the exact presenter we needed for EL football. He has the knowledge of the league and the game, but critically, he has a sense of humour and just the right amount of knowingness. It's not the slick, Sky TV Premiership he's presenting: it's the EL, and while it's steadily improving in all aspects, it's still a mad old league where every so often there's an amateur moment or two. What we don't need is someone trying to ignore them when they happen. His 'slightly forced cheer' comment after the Cup draw was only a throwaway remark but encapsulated why he's such an excellent presenter and perfect for the programme.

Spot on both points. Very good show this week, enjoyed the Cup draw hugely too. Tony O'Donoghue did OK last week, but Murphy is excellent presenting the show, he'll be missed if he's going off to China.
As an aside, I discovered what that awful music before the games is too, or rather, it's a good tune but the clip is awfully and nonsensically ripped from the outro. Was listening to the tune in question in the car yesterday and suddenly started thinking about the football! :D

Oh, and does anyone else think there's something ever so slightly camp about Stephen Henderson?

Slightly??!!! :eek:

13/05/2008, 7:33 AM
I cant stop laughing at Roddy Collins, with the combed back hair, dodgy shirt and jeans, and THOSE shoes:D:D
And people think that 1st division highlights would damage the credibility of the league if they were on MNF...

I'm not sure about the draw on at that time. Much better exposure when it was part of the news. Could've done it and then had interviews as part of the specialist show. It's a backward step having the draw in a niche programme when it should be gaining as much coverage as possible.

Fivesilver
13/05/2008, 9:33 AM
Am I the only one who feels criticising the referees is the easy part for any pundit but they're not offering any solutions?

It's not their job to do something about it or provide solutions. That's up to the FAI, as they're the ones in a position to do something.
The problem is that not only do they seem unwilling to do anything, they take it as an affront if anyone criticise the refs (handing out ridiculous suspensions), thereby sending out the message that crap decisions like the ones we see week in, week out are acceptable and beyond criticism.

In that climate, where managers are gagged, it's up to the pundits to draw attention to it, again and again, and in stronger and stronger terms, until the FAI are shamed into taking some kind of action (they're supposed to be the experts).

Fair play to MNS for not taking the easy route and spouting harmless platitudes.

What could actually be done to prevent something like the missed handball? The referee either saw it or he didn't

That decision could be seen as a simple mistake (albeit one so serious that if a player made it they would be immediately dropped for the following week). But both of Jamie McKenzie's yellow cards were an example of the kind of grandstanding refereeing that's far too common in this league. Far too often, refs seem determined to make a statement or make the 'big' decisions.

Someone needs to take them aside and explain, slowly, in words of not more than two syllables, that they're not there to take a starring role.
One-off mistakes, however egregious, are hard to avoid, but a lot of what's wrong could be fixed overnight by a simple change in attitude.

Duggie
13/05/2008, 9:39 AM
id like to see more of jacqui hurley aswell. good show last night esp the FAI cup draw.

GuisaSaigon
13/05/2008, 10:47 AM
Trap must have had a few pints with the Drogheda Town lads, he got fairly excited when he pulled out their number!

Straightstory
13/05/2008, 11:29 AM
Bit odd they didn't show Stewie Byrne gifting Bray their first goal (they cut in after this). 60 Second thing is cringe-inducing, but overall they're doing a really good job. I like Con Murphy and Tony O'Donoghue a lot. Surprised we haven't yet seen Mick O'Brien pulling down the crossbar at the 1974 Cup Semi final for their Archive thing. The Big Match showed that at the time, to howls of laughter from Brian Moore.

13/05/2008, 11:38 AM
Everyone makes mistakes but the referee in City-Sligo game made so many it would have been better if he had not turned up. He should be sent off the the 1st division for a month as punishment.

I thought Trapattoni was brilliant at the draw. Really knows how to work a crowd & no doubt he has some charm.

I know they were rushed for time this week but quality of RTE highlights dropping down to TV3 standards. I don't know if this is an MNS thing on its own as it is the same for the EPL - BBC highlights much better than RTE. I think RTE have added so much junk like 60 to the show that not much time left for football. Maybe they would be better off discussing one match in detail every week instead of spreading themselves too thin trying to talk about all games.

Duggie
13/05/2008, 11:40 AM
Trap must have had a few pints with the Drogheda Town lads, he got fairly excited when he pulled out their number!

ya looked like he was getting into the spirit of things. :D

13/05/2008, 12:02 PM
Maybe they would be better off discussing one match in detail every week instead of spreading themselves too thin trying to talk about all games.
We get little coverage as it is. It'd be even less for the clubs that get pinched if MNS start doing that. Already, the First Div is missing out on coverage and to go back to the TV3 days of giving some games special treatment is wrong.

13/05/2008, 12:04 PM
That decision cost us all 3 points in Dalymount, how does that not count as definitely effecting us?
I didn't say that.

The Bohs non-peno effected one game for us. If Foran had been sent off it would've effected three games. Therefore it's a more serious mistake.

13/05/2008, 12:14 PM
As bad as it looked, I'd be less pushed about the Foran incident than Hanney's debacle; there were a lot of bodies around the ball and he could easily have been unsighted.

13/05/2008, 12:16 PM
Oh, and does anyone else think there's something ever so slightly camp about Stephen Henderson?

queer as folk:D:D

oriel
13/05/2008, 1:19 PM
anyone know what side roddys on?

he seems to feel up the leg of the guest sitting beside him every week:D

!

Collins does this every week when (as usual) forgets a name, even done same on a fellow 'pundit' forgetting his name in a live game last year, its as if its makes him think quicker, or maybe he`s also going to the same bars as Hendo ??

ps if that bray defender with his 'statue of liberty' impression ever makes it on soccer am, we are finished, would be laughing stock of the football world. without doubt the worst decision i have ever seen.

Fivesilver
13/05/2008, 9:17 PM
I know it's unlikely that it was for any other reason, but can anyone confirm that it was definitely the ref who decided that Sligo Rovers had to change from red shorts to white at half-time?
Because if he did, Hanney really needs to be sent to ref Subbuteo or something for a while.

14/05/2008, 12:04 AM
People, if you think the standard of the highlights are dropping then tell them -> mns@rte.ie ..... even if you have never considered it before, email them, let them know. Suggest what you'd like to see.

It'll take five minutes. Open a new mail and tell them.

I know it's unlikely that it was for any other reason, but can anyone confirm that it was definitely the ref who decided that Sligo Rovers had to change from red shorts to white at half-time?
Because if he did, Hanney really needs to be sent to ref Subbuteo or something for a while.

Why did they have to change? Its seems mad. Is it substituting good referring for 'officiating' or what. How can red and green clash? Was it the colours in the first half impaired his judgement when Jamie McKenzie got the first yellow. Sorry now but the colour of the shorts could never hide the fact the ref completely messed it up.

CameramanConka
14/05/2008, 12:34 AM
Collins does this every week when (as usual) forgets a name, even done same on a fellow 'pundit' forgetting his name in a live game last year, its as if its makes him think quicker, or maybe he`s also going to the same bars as Hendo ??

ps if that bray defender with his 'statue of liberty' impression ever makes it on soccer am, we are finished, would be laughing stock of the football world. without doubt the worst decision i have ever seen.

A bit OTT to be honest.

Da Real Rover
14/05/2008, 1:14 AM

There was one show where he was being interviewed and he had the shirt open and all, looked like a porn star or something.

As for Roddys dress ense :eek:
What a legend, only in Ireland.
The man everyone loves to hate.
He reminds me of a fella who always stops me on the way home trying to sell me second hand car batterys or a carpet.

14/05/2008, 9:00 AM
How can red and green clash?

Quite easily if the ref was colour blind :D if he is it'd be interesting to see how many innoctious sendings off he's given ;)

Duggie
14/05/2008, 9:39 AM
id like to see more of jacqui hurley aswell. good show last night esp the FAI cup draw.

anyone......any takers :D

Fivesilver
14/05/2008, 10:22 AM
I'm still wondering what her favourite humming noise is. :D

Duggie
14/05/2008, 10:27 AM

id love to find out also.........:confused::D

pól-dcfc
14/05/2008, 10:59 AM

You rat!

Rampant rabbit 14 incher i'm guessing....

14/05/2008, 11:06 AM

I reckon you'd like to put an extension on the extension ;)

14/05/2008, 12:29 PM
A bit OTT to be honest.

its not, the handball decision is a disgrace, and if anybody saw it from abroad our league would lose all credibility This is a disgrace. Mondays show was more about bad refereeing decisions than good football, the standard of refereeing is a joke

oriel
14/05/2008, 12:45 PM
Thank you

I dont think I have ever seen a worse decision, you wouldnt see it on a park on a sunday morning.

That ref should have been suspended. Simple as.

Copa Mundial
14/05/2008, 2:49 PM
People, if you think the standard of the highlights are dropping then tell them -> mns@rte.ie ..... even if you have never considered it before, email them, let them know. Suggest what you'd like to see.

It'll take five minutes. Open a new mail and tell them.

Why did they have to change? Its seems mad. Is it substituting good referring for 'officiating' or what. How can red and green clash? Was it the colours in the first half impaired his judgement when Jamie McKenzie got the first yellow. Sorry now but the colour of the shorts could never hide the fact the ref completely messed it up.

Strange as this may sound, the change of colours in Sligo's shorts came about at Sligo Rovers request. Alan Moore apparently is colour blind and apparently green and red are the colours that affect people most.

It had nothing to do with the referee.

Strange but true, i kid you not!:ball:

14/05/2008, 2:52 PM
Shels often changed their kit to suit him when he played there.

15/05/2008, 10:30 AM
Only watched it last night

Drogs pen decision was unreal, capped a truly terrible weekend for officials, panel rightly had a proper go off them.
Roddys shoes were horrific, I thought Louis Copeland was supposed to be his friend? a bit of advice wouldn't go astray.
Are they ever going to move outside the Pale for that 60 second thing?

placid casual
15/05/2008, 10:35 AM

they probably have to confine it to english speaking parts of the country.
otherwise they would have to get someone in who can translate "mullagh"

15/05/2008, 11:52 AM
If the rest of the country can make the effort to understand the jackeen drawl then surely ye can make the effort for Corkionese.
Failing that surely the could come down and use some our jackeen imports?
Darragh Ryan or "Derek" Mooney maybe.

Sniffer
15/05/2008, 3:13 PM
If she keeps up with the maths questions they'll be lucky to get anymore takers for 60 Seconds - they look terrified!