View Full Version : Tucker Tournament 2008
Offside
12/05/2008, 12:14 PM
Whats the story with the Tucker tournament this year? I haven't heard much about it. What I have heard is that the rule about players has changed somewhat!? Anyone know more about this and what sort of team/players will be playing this year?
CousinSylDolan
12/05/2008, 1:07 PM
Whats the story with the Tucker tournament this year? I haven't heard much about it. What I have heard is that the rule about players has changed somewhat!? Anyone know more about this and what sort of team/players will be playing this year?
Heard you can have 7 guest players and they can be premier players if you like... Teams will be fair stacked.
lifegoeson
12/05/2008, 4:04 PM
Heard you can have 7 guest players and they can be premier players if you like... Teams will be fair stacked.
when and were is it on
old git
12/05/2008, 4:16 PM
when and were is it on
last couple have been played over in gaa in shannon on the astro turf.
so would assume they will continue to be played there :ball:
old git
12/05/2008, 4:23 PM
teams were fair stacked last year !! so it should be crazy this year..
probally unfair on the few companies out their who are just looking to send out teams for the tournament they will get hammered and may even lose intrest in entering next year . 3-4 guest players should be enough for any team entering :ball:
Goals4fun
12/05/2008, 4:25 PM
teams were fair stacked last year !! so it should be crazy this year..
probally unfair on the few companies out their who are just looking to send out teams for the tournament they will get hammered and may even lose intrest in entering next year . 3-4 guest players should be enough for any team entering :ball:
have to agree with you. it is been taken too seriously now and it is just about a bit of fun in memory of tucker...
old git
12/05/2008, 5:12 PM
have to agree with you. it is been taken too seriously now and it is just about a bit of fun in memory of tucker...
the fun has definatly gone out of it played in it couple of years back up on park rangers pitch it was good crack ... watched a couple of games last year and it was way to serious and ultra competitive couple of games nearly ended in rows .. :ball:
smellyfeet
26/05/2008, 11:17 AM
Anyone know what companies are entering this year.
Spudd
26/05/2008, 12:04 PM
Anyone know what companies are entering this year.
I think its the same 8 companys but there will be alot more new faces this year with the new rule of 7 guests,have ye got a team in there this year?
smellyfeet
26/05/2008, 12:42 PM
I think its the same 8 companys but there will be alot more new faces this year with the new rule of 7 guests,have ye got a team in there this year?
Not sure what the story is, i'm sure we'll enter, but i don't think we'll be using the 7 guest rule. We have enough fella's here in Avocent so it wouldn't be fair to invite guest and leave others that work here out. Anyway, we have it in the bag all ready:ball:
ye will be there abouts all right if ye get all your players playing,does evan glynn work in avocent or was he a guest lastyear,quirky will be a great addition to your team this year,played with him this season..class act,hope to meet ye in the semis again,still doh its all down to deckys tactics :p
smellyfeet
26/05/2008, 1:42 PM
ye will be there abouts all right if ye get all your players playing,does evan glynn work in avocent or was he a guest lastyear,quirky will be a great addition to your team this year,played with him this season..class act,hope to meet ye in the semis again,still doh its all down to deckys tactics :p
Even Glynn doesn't work here,Captain Kirky will be a good addition alright, himself and The Animal will sort things out in defence for us. Pat Dolan isn't Manager this year, he let things get out of hand last year with warm ups and oranges at half time and all that rubbish so he got the bullet.
Well deserved of getting the sack so,maybe he deserves another chance this year with the jaffa cakes instead of the oranges :D :D jimmy could be yer answer to a player/manager this year or would good aul philly step up to the challenge?
smellyfeet
26/05/2008, 2:23 PM
Well deserved of getting the sack so,maybe he deserves another chance this year with the jaffa cakes instead of the oranges :D :D jimmy could be yer answer to a player/manager this year or would good aul philly step up to the challenge?
I don't know who is going to be new Manger but i have just been informed that we are to get new Jerseys, This will be a great achievement in its own right, as we have had the same Jerseys for the last 150 years so well done to Jimmy on securing that deal, maybe he is the best candidate for Manager because if he can pull a stroke like getting new Jersey's, who knows what he could achieve with a team of serious underachievers. get your head around that one.
An underachiever is a person and especially an avocent employee who fails to achieve his or her potential or does not do as well as expected.
Of particular interest is avocent underachievers. Studies of individuals who have not realised their apparent potential have identified learning and physical disabilities, and many other employee problems, and enabled methods of addressing these problems to be developed. Current theories among football scholars prefer to address underperformance problems with remedial help. get your head around that one.
smellyfeet
26/05/2008, 3:08 PM
An underachiever is a person and especially an avocent employee who fails to achieve his or her potential or does not do as well as expected.
Of particular interest is avocent underachievers. Studies of individuals who have not realised their apparent potential have identified learning and physical disabilities, and many other employee problems, and enabled methods of addressing these problems to be developed. Current theories among football scholars prefer to address underperformance problems with remedial help. get your head around that one.
Ya Jimmy has the Job.
goodluck to jim and all the underachievers.:D:p
studsup
26/05/2008, 3:43 PM
a bit harsh on dec there to give him the sack, but with the squad at his disposal i spose the sack was inevitable. will he be donning the avocent jersey now that he's not in charge? maybe jimmy can convince him. looks like there'll be no stopping avocent now
Planners
27/05/2008, 9:05 AM
O Meara Camping would have to sponsor the jersey - strong lad - in relation to the tournament been too competative , the lines taking part is all that matters and winning isn't everything does not come into play here , be realistic everyone wants to win this -
Spudd
30/05/2008, 10:47 AM
Group A
Dhl,skycourt,hamilton,two-way
Group B
Shcenker,avocent,thermo king,keuhne+nagel.
Goals4fun
30/05/2008, 1:11 PM
Group A
Group B
when are the games fixed for ?
Its kicking off on the 9th of june as soon as i get the full fixture list ill post it up.
Mon 9th. 7.00pm = skycourt v dhl 8.15 = shcenker v thermo king
Wed 11th 7.00pm = avocent v kuehne 8.15 = hamilton v twoway
Thurs 12th 7.00pm = skycourt v twoway 8.15 = shcenker v kuehne
Frid 13th7.00pm = thermo king v avocent 8.15 = dhl v hamilton
Mon 16th 7.00pm = dhl v twoway 8.15 = thermo king v kuehne
Wed 18th 7.00pm = shcenker v avocent 8.15 = skycourt v hamilton
Semi finals= Thursday 19th
Wnr group A v runners up group B 7.00pm
Wnr group B v runners up group A 8.00pm
Final Saturday 21st = 6.30pm.
goodluck all involved.
Thermo king got a walk over lastnight because schenker did not have enough legal players,more guests than workers in the company.
Skycourt beat dhl 11-0 saying that dhl were missing 2 players.
smellyfeet
10/06/2008, 8:12 AM
Thermo king got a walk over lastnight because schenker did not have enough legal players,more guests than workers in the company.
Skycourt beat dhl 11-0 saying that dhl were missing 2 players.
IMO that is disgraceful.:mad: All Companies have known about this for how long and then they go and do this. Its a Memorial Tournament and should be shown respect.
It is a disgrace and i wouldnt mind put there was a number of companys wanting to join the tournament this year but couldnt get in due to the 8 teams get first call because they have been there the last couple of years.
old git
10/06/2008, 8:42 AM
Group A
Group B
any results from last nights games :ball:
Results are above,old git.
old git
10/06/2008, 10:10 AM
Results are above,old git.
my eyesight is going in my old age :D
old git
10/06/2008, 10:13 AM
It is a disgrace and i wouldnt mind put there was a number of companys wanting to join the tournament this year but couldnt get in due to the 8 teams get first call because they have been there the last couple of years.
would have to agree it is disrespectful for a memorial tournament
all teams involved must have been given plenty of notice of rules & when tournament was starting... :ball:
Planners
10/06/2008, 12:22 PM
bad time of the year - between hols and the Gaa players , your always going to be struggling - in any case this is the usual in the first week - the same happened last year - at the end of the day you have to admire the dhl lads for turning out - at full strength they look likely winners :D
Spudd
10/06/2008, 12:36 PM
bad time of the year - between hols and the Gaa players , your always going to be struggling - in any case this is the usual in the first week - the same happened last year - at the end of the day you have to admire the dhl lads for turning out - at full strength they look likely winners :D
They were at full strenght apart from having 2 players missing,likely winners i doubt it,it doesnt matter what 2 players you could have put on that dhl team it wouldnt have made a difference,outplayed and outclassed by a bunch of kids :p
smellyfeet
10/06/2008, 12:38 PM
Still Every Company knew for weeks that the Tournament was to start last night. Shouldn't enter team if you cann't field a team. Other Companies wanted to enter and couldn't as Spudd already said.
Planners
11/06/2008, 12:23 PM
yourself and Spudd tend to agree alot on this forum - time will tell , perhaps in future the teams that qualify from the groups should be automatically allowed in the following year and the rest selected via a lottery ?
smellyfeet
11/06/2008, 12:42 PM
yourself and Spudd tend to agree alot on this forum - time will tell , perhaps in future the teams that qualify from the groups should be automatically allowed in the following year and the rest selected via a lottery ?
Thats because Spudd knows not to disagree with me:mad:, if he does then things could messy:D
Spudd
11/06/2008, 12:44 PM
, perhaps in future the teams that qualify from the groups should be automatically allowed in the following year and the rest selected via a lottery ?
Maybe you should pick this up with tuckers family because they are the ones that organise it year in,year out,they are the only people who call the shots,but must add good idea.
Spudd
11/06/2008, 12:45 PM
Thats because Spudd knows not to disagree with me:mad:, if he does then things could messy:D
Will see on the turf about messy :D
papa-j
11/06/2008, 2:56 PM
Will see on the turf about messy :D
messy - argentina international, barcelona player and all that. Was he the winger with false glasses and moustace playing for skycourt. No wonder ye hammered DHL. Tournament is starting to rival EURO 2008 for stars on show:D
Any results from lastnight?
Side Cutter
12/06/2008, 2:03 PM
Any results from lastnight?
Avocent beat Keune and Nagel 6-0....
Skycourt v Avocent
Thermo king v Dhl
Side Cutter
17/06/2008, 9:31 AM
Skycourt v Avocent
Thermo king v Dhl
Avocent still have a game to play tomorrow night....
Ye still have to play yer group game but thermo king topped the group and if ye win or lose tommorrow ye still go through on goal difference with yer goals over kuehne nagel,schenker are out of the picture after losing 2 games.if could have made a difference if nagel beat thermo lastnight but they threw it away so avocent came in 2nd spot.:ball:
Side Cutter
17/06/2008, 11:20 AM
Ye still have to play yer group game but thermo king topped the group and if ye win or lose tommorrow ye still go through on goal difference with yer goals over kuehne nagel,schenker are out of the picture after losing 2 games.if could have made a difference if nagel beat thermo lastnight but they threw it away so avocent came in 2nd spot.:ball:
Just heard schenker have given avocent a walkover for tomorrow nights game...
Spudd
17/06/2008, 12:01 PM
Just heard schenker have given avocent a walkover for tomorrow nights game...
Absolute joke,they shouldnt be allowed enter next season imo,3 group games have to be played and they gave avocent and thermo king walk overs.
Another company should get the oppurtunity next year and will also show alot more interest.
Side Cutter
17/06/2008, 12:36 PM
Absolute joke,they shouldnt be allowed enter next season imo,3 group games have to be played and they gave avocent and thermo king walk overs.
Another company should get the oppurtunity next year and will also show alot more interest.
Would agree with ya there.Not fair on keune and nagel who were the only team to have to play them.Doubt they will be invited again....
Offside
17/06/2008, 11:30 PM
What about Dhl?? They played against skycourt with only 7 men and were destroyed by them, then showed up with there full side and won by ten (or more) against a team that sky court beat by 3 or 4!? This has a big effect on the tounament aswell... Whats their excuse!?
Side Cutter
18/06/2008, 7:31 AM
Offside where are you getting this from?skycourt destroyed dhl in first game and then beat twoway in there second game 5-2.they havent got beaten in the tournanment yet.they have to play hamilton tonight but already topped the group with goal difference over dhl.
I think he is talking about D.H.L.
He was alright,still bit early for me. :D
What about Dhl?? They played against skycourt with only 7 men and were destroyed by them, then showed up with there full side and won by ten (or more) against a team that sky court beat by 3 or 4!? This has a big effect on the tounament aswell... Whats their excuse!?
Some games can be a lottery in the astro turf,its alot different when theres no offsides,backpasses,people using the side boards to get around opposition.kuehne nagel destroyed thermo king in the first half of there game the other nite, 3-0 half time,second half thermo king scored 5 in the first 10 minutes,it can be strange on the turf.