View Full Version : Roll call for Colombia game in london
newrynyuk
27/05/2008, 9:22 AM
Me and the ma are going over, but what I need to know is does anyone know:
The time the train goes down to London from Hollyhead?
Station closest to Craven Cottage
How many hours down?
The nearest tube station is Putney Bridge on the District Line (the green one if you have a tube map), then a 10-15 minute stroll through Bishops Park to Craven Cottage. Just follow the crowds. Two decent pubs right by the station and no end of bars across the bridge in Putney High Street.
Beal Feirste
27/05/2008, 4:14 PM
Just checked out the Fulham website to have a look at how tickets were selling and its good news. Looks like about 80% of the ground is sold out including a good number of columbia fans. Roll on thursday. Slan
Greenforever
27/05/2008, 7:45 PM
just checked in online 6 of us on ryanair to gatwick at 8am thursday, seems like a different century since we were coming home from prague, heres hoping the athmosphere will be better than any premier league game ever in craven cottage
gio trap
gio trap
gio gio gio trap
gio trap
ArdeeBhoy
28/05/2008, 10:43 AM
Quick warning;If you go to Brogans, be warned.
Whilst the pub is fine, some of the local natives(Not known for their love of the Irish) are truly revolting!
& happy to hand out more than just verbals.....
Go Closer to Fulham, or Hammersmith.
And don't broadcast it on here?
Sligo Hornet
28/05/2008, 10:52 AM
Quick warning;If you go to Brogans, be warned.
Whilst the pub is fine, some of the local natives(Not known for their love of the Irish) are truly revolting!
& happy to hand out more than just verbals.....
Go Closer to Fulham, or Hammersmith.
And don't broadcast it on here?
Would they really be that naive or stupid if the pub is full of Green shirts?....me thinks not!
Condex
28/05/2008, 11:04 AM
I'll be there with a couple of Swiss friends..
For anyone still over on Friday night and like Ska theres a free gig at a Scottish pub in Brixton. Excellent 10 piece band called the Top Cats are playing
the placed will be rammed...
www.hootanannybrixton.co.uk/
www.myspace.com/topcatsmusic
28/05/2008, 11:05 AM
ardeebhoy i think we might have a person in common.....
The pub is Irish in name and everything else, I don't think on a thursday there will be too many chelski fans hanging round looking for a fight.....I could always be wrong though!
The area itself is fairly posh too, but you are right when chelski organise fights it usually happens round there.
Sligo Hornet
28/05/2008, 11:39 AM
ardeebhoy i think we might have a person in common.....
The pub is Irish in name and everything else, I don't think on a thursday there will be too many chelski fans hanging round looking for a fight.....I could always be wrong though!
The area itself is fairly posh too, but you are right when chelski organise fights it usually happens round there.
Paul.....should we move elsewhere then?...nearer the stadium?
28/05/2008, 12:09 PM
Paul.....should we move elsewhere then?...nearer the stadium?
Ah no it will be grand, and its a big pub too so loads of room, the other ones closer - down the by the river - by aren't that big.
Will you be wearing yer hornet ireland top?
Sligo Hornet
28/05/2008, 2:12 PM
Ah no it will be grand, and its a big pub too so loads of room, the other ones closer - down the by the river - by aren't that big.
Will you be wearing yer hornet ireland top?
Of course!:)
ArdeeBhoy
28/05/2008, 3:20 PM
The pub is Irish in name and everything else,
I don't think on a thursday there will be too many chelski fans hanging round looking for a fight.....I could always be wrong though!
Fair enough. But just be slightly on your guard. That's all.
28/05/2008, 4:42 PM
going to ring the manager now and see if I can get some 2 for 1 cocktail stuff for all foot.ie people rather than printing out things etc. will post up here if i get anywhere!!
looks like he is doing something already
The BOYS IN GREEN are coming to FULHAM.
Rep of IRELAND v COLOMBIA at Craven Cottage
Thursday 29th of May k.o.8pm
Choose from our 2 4 1 menu(including Irish Stew)
Guinness at £2 a pint.Magners Light £2 a bottle
Bible Code Sundays live at the Apres-Match PARTY
OPEN TILL 1am FREE ENTRY with flyer. Dont miss it
BUY ANY 2 COCKTAILS AND ONLY PAY FOR ONE Offer Available Monday to Friday all day.
supasparx
28/05/2008, 4:59 PM
I'm arranging to meet with the usual suspects at either, The Crabtree on Rainville rd. Hammersmith (crackin pub if the weather is nice) bout 8 min. walk along the river to the ground.
Or Brogans on Fulham Broadway, 15-20 walk from ground.
For those of you not familiar with them, a very good live band called Bible Code Sundays will be playing there after the match, well worth a listen.
Moscow Mule
28/05/2008, 7:02 PM
Would they really be that naive or stupid if the pub is full of Green shirts?....me thinks not!
It will be fine. Wear green, sing loudly and drink loads. Come on you boys!!
wooman
28/05/2008, 9:43 PM
6 of u leaving work at 3 tomorrow, will be in putney for 4. could be blitzed before the game starts
Mad Moose
28/05/2008, 9:47 PM
me on my todd Billy no mates. Probably have 2 spare tickets too if anybody needs any.
I'm looking for a ticket.Just back after a week at home so haven't had a chance to organise. If ya have ticket still if ya want to suggest a meet up. I'm going to finish early and head to London.
Over to you then?
Brendan
28/05/2008, 11:19 PM
ya just going to add, ive seen bible code sunday in waxys before, great band that play great irish tunes and play them very well.
I spoke with the manager and the lads had spoken to him already so thats why he is doing the deal already. anyhow looking forward to the day later today.
TheOwl
28/05/2008, 11:59 PM
Another option for you lads is to travel to Putney mainline station. Then you can have a few pints in one of the many lovely pubs in Putney plus some decent grub too before crossing the bridge for the match.
This might be much easier for some. Saw some are coming from Gatwick for example. Easiest way to get from there is a train to Clapham Junction and then it is three minutes on another train to Putney.
All these trains go from Waterloo and Vauxhall too.
I live in Putney and it is a really nice area with plenty of drinking/eating options if that is what you are looking for.
The place is full of Aussies/Kiwis/and Saffas so it will be nice to see some Irish hanging around.
29/05/2008, 9:37 AM
lads anyone who sees this and is going to brogans before the game will ye bring some good cds. By that obviouslly i mean irish songs....
wooman
29/05/2008, 9:59 AM
is it not a bit of a walk from brogans to the stadium?
29/05/2008, 10:07 AM
is it not a bit of a walk from brogans to the stadium?
ya about 12 - 15 mins as i said before if ye head down bishops road.
29/05/2008, 10:29 AM
http://www.rissc.org/archive/May2008/ireland-colombia1.pdf
29/05/2008, 10:38 AM
have you signed the dave langan petition yet paul o'shea?? forward it on to yer muckers.
enjoy the game, i can't make it unfortunately but i have been trying to direct people to brogans!
29/05/2008, 10:41 AM
have you signed the dave langan petition yet paul o'shea?? forward it on to yer muckers.
enjoy the game, i can't make it unfortunately but i have been trying to direct people to brogans!
No I haven't GT, howse things? MY Pm function aint working. I'll do that now soon. Ah pity ye cant make it should be good craic.
Mad Moose
29/05/2008, 10:55 AM
Thanks GSpain for the ticket.Will see a few of you later on. Have we finally decided then where we are going for food and drink.I will require both.I'm getting off at Hammersmith and down Fulham Parade so I need directions to Brogans or if there is a better station to get off at.
Directions help would be great as I'm limited by time at work today to search.
Thanks,
Brendan
AidoM
29/05/2008, 10:58 AM
me on my todd Billy no mates. Probably have 2 spare tickets too if anybody needs any.
Thanks GSpain for the ticket.Will see a few of you later on. Have we finally decided then where we are going for food and drink.I will require both.I'm getting off at Hammersmith and down Fulham Parade so I need directions to Brogans or if there is a better station to get off at.
Thanks,
Brendan
I suppose that's one way to have a friend GS :o
29/05/2008, 12:05 PM
brogans are doing two for one meals and they do a nice stew. i love stew :D
It is beside Fulham Broadway tube station, its literally 49ft according to google maps. When you come out of the tube turn right and its on the left. Sorta on the corner/turn of the road.
tfl.gov.uk:
http://www.brogansfulham.co.uk/
http://img01.beerintheevening.com/2d/2dbfa707fa61c1493fb357013ce79d0f.jpg
http://www.sff.net/people/chris.amies/publist/images/BootsyBrogans_FulhamBroadway_jpg.jpg
its just called brogans above but that should identify it easy enough the tube is literally just round from there.
ArdeeBhoy
29/05/2008, 12:12 PM
Fulham Broadway tube for Brogans(turn right?) & Putney Bridge station for The Cottage.
Please NB. 'Rush hour', as in extra time!
29/05/2008, 12:15 PM
Fulham Broadway tube for Brogans(turn right?) & Putney Bridge station for The Cottage.
Please NB. 'Rush hour', as in extra time!
Ya good point. Actually it would be great to get a tube full of Irish singing when all the Toffs are on their way home and annoy them, as they hate to change face on the tube.
TheOwl
29/05/2008, 12:16 PM
Thanks,
Brendan
Brogans is here
http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.srf?x=525325&y=177222&z=0&sv=SW6+1AA&st=2&pc=SW6+1AA&mapp=newmap.srf&searchp=newsearch.srf
Red arrow is Brogans so it is right by Fulham Broadway.
If you are going via Hammersmith - best bet is to take the Piccadilly line to Earls Court and then the district line to Fulham Broadway (should only take 10-15).
Or you could get the 211 bus outside the station straight to Fulham Broadway - might be a bit longer depending on the traffic.
According to the TFL website the walk from Hammersmith to Fulham Broadway is 43 minutes - go towards West Kensington station on Talgarth Road. You'll pass Barons Court on your way but when you get to West Ken turn right onto North End Road and then it is a long straight walk until it meets the Fulham Road. Brogans and Fulham Broadway tube station are to your left on the Fulham Road.
TFL also has the walk from Brogans to the ground at 26 minutes. They are always quite conservative though but give yourselves 20 minutes.
Mad Moose
29/05/2008, 12:18 PM
Cheers for that lads.
I can never be bothered in planning anything.It take too much time thats best spent on other things and tomorrow is another day!
Oh and Paul I don't mind a good stew on a cold day but not what passes for stew over here. Not sure if i'll gamble again and try the aul stew in Brogans either.
The Guiness however consistently rubbish it is I'll always try.
29/05/2008, 12:24 PM
Brogans is here
http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.srf?x=525325&y=177222&z=0&sv=SW6+1AA&st=2&pc=SW6+1AA&mapp=newmap.srf&searchp=newsearch.srf
Red arrow is Brogans so it is right by Fulham Broadway.
If you are going via Hammersmith - best bet is to take the Piccadilly line to Earls Court and then the district line to Fulham Broadway (should only take 10-15).
Or you could get the 211 bus outside the station straight to Fulham Broadway - might be a bit longer depending on the traffic.
According to the TFL website the walk from Hammersmith to Fulham Broadway is 43 minutes - go towards West Kensington station on Talgarth Road. You'll pass Barons Court on your way but when you get to West Ken turn right onto North End Road and then it is a long straight walk until it meets the Fulham Road. Brogans and Fulham Broadway tube station are to your left on the Fulham Road.
TFL also has the walk from Brogans to the ground at 26 minutes. They are always quite conservative though but give yourselves 20 minutes.
Well done owl, far more informative than myself, though I thought he was just wondering which stop to get off rather than directions. TFL is done using the main roads rather than side streets. It is definitely not 26 mins. If you look on google its slightly over a mile if you over jendal place, turn left off dawes road onto bishop street ( in the lower left of the picture posted by owl )and continue on straight onto gowan avenue. It should only take the average punter about 12 - 15 mins.
29/05/2008, 12:30 PM
This should help ye along the way its a good instruction:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5PT65I2ny8
29/05/2008, 1:50 PM
No I haven't GT, howse things? MY Pm function aint working. I'll do that now soon. Ah pity ye cant make it should be good craic.
Good man Paul, the link is on my signature, pass to other via email will ye?
Shame i'm missing this one, would be great i'm sure. Will be watching it on the telly, can't get time off, May was a mad month.
Have a good one! :D
31/05/2008, 1:01 AM
Made it into Brogan's, was good to meet Sligo Hornet, and Moscow Mule, albeit briefly.
31/05/2008, 11:51 AM
ya great to put names to the faces, or something like that.
Also anyone else there notice the two fit blonde haired twins, they were plastic and very fit at that - ye missed out NeilMcd :D
01/06/2008, 5:46 PM
I must say the music was way to loud in Brogans. It was not conducive to starting a sing song and it was even hard to have a chat. I then proceeded go get lost on the way to the game but made it in time. Great ground and great atmosphere.
Greenforever
01/06/2008, 5:48 PM
I must say the music was way to loud in Brogans. It was not conducive to starting a sing song and it was even hard to have a chat. I then proceeded go get lost on the way to the game but made it in time. Great ground and great atmosphere.
You should have come over to the Slug across the road before the game, more sophisticated :D:D
02/06/2008, 12:05 PM
Made it into Brogan's, was good to meet Sligo Hornet, and Moscow Mule, albeit briefly.
Moscow Mule is that John Terry then.
Sligo Hornet
02/06/2008, 12:40 PM
Uncanny resemblance:D
Moscow Mule
03/06/2008, 8:56 PM
Just to be clear there is only one Moscow Mule and he does not wear blue, though he is an athlete:)
Greenforever
03/06/2008, 8:58 PM
Just to be clear there is only one Moscow Mule and he does not wear blue, though he is an athlete:)
so he doesn't fall like hes drunk when about to take a penalty?:D
Moscow Mule
04/06/2008, 8:20 PM
so he doesn't fall like hes drunk when about to take a penalty?:D
The Mule is never drunk though has been known to fall over on rare occassions.