View Full Version : Tonights Latest (9/5/08)
deecay
09/05/2008, 9:58 PM
The first sending off was for a second booking for diving inside the penalty box. Was the opposite end to us so didn't see it properly.
All Rovers fans,Devine and a RTE commentator said it was a peno.What did Butler get sent off for?
deecay
09/05/2008, 10:02 PM
It said it was Hanney on radio?
LeixlipRed
09/05/2008, 10:04 PM
We were robed last nite!!!:mad: ref was a ...... disgrace!!!
Yeh he was a disgrace but ye were hardly robbed. We led 2-1 with 10 against 11 and you weren't exactly piling on the pressure. We definitely deserved to win.
09/05/2008, 10:08 PM
All Rovers fans,Devine and a RTE commentator said it was a peno.What did Butler get sent off for?
Dunno tbh, didnt see much in it.
Ref was awful in the second half. 9 bookings in a game without a particularly bad tackle
He also disallowed a perfectly good Denis Behan goal becuase your keeper fumbled it after he jumped into Denis.
09/05/2008, 10:16 PM
At the time i thought denis fouled him.
It was directly across from me and all denis did was not move out of the way.
kdjaC
09/05/2008, 10:38 PM
Doesnt matter how good you think your team is, UCD will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
The bus was parked up and parked up well, sad thing as i left the ground cursing them for existing a horrible thought occured....they will stay up at the end of the seaosn by one point :(
kdjac
kdjaC
09/05/2008, 10:45 PM
Unfortunately it does look like they will stay up and an actual proper football club like Harps will go down instead of them. Pity
i voting harps as the worst ever team to play in the Premier league ever....ever ever, fair enough they a club but in some horrible way at least UCD can get points or play well enough to earn a point, harps = poo.
Still hate UCD tho but they did earn a point tonight..... jesus i feel dirty for saying that.
kdjac
09/05/2008, 11:38 PM
Paul Tuite won't have any friends in Drogheda for a while.
In the second minute, Adam Hughes headed the ball past Skippy and it was going in...until Derek Foran flapped his hand at it. He was on the line, deliberate handball, definite goal and Tuite did nothing.
It should have been a straight red and a peno but he waved play on. Easily, the worst decision I've seen in this league.
We didn't play very well tonight but we won again which is brilliant. The goal came from a Stuey Byrne mistake. He passed the ball across the Drogs defence and Kav picked it up. Ewings gave Kav the entire goal to aim for and it was an easy chance.
Bray had one more chance after that. Drogs dominated. They hit the post three times and had many more half-chances. I'd love to see the possession stats for the game. It was great to get the result and fair play to the lads for managing to get the ball away from goal in the end.
It just would have been so much different with Foran sent off and Drogs getting the peno on two minutes.
oldyouth
09/05/2008, 11:39 PM
1st trip to the RSC. Enjoyed the singing etc Pity the new stand is so far away 'cos of the running track as I'm sure some of you lads raised the odd tune but we couldnt hear yez:D
Great hospitality (Oldyouth was on a bit of a sponser's junket) but can I ask why cars were made park across and along the main road when only some people were allowed enter your vast new carpark inside the ground??
09/05/2008, 11:42 PM
Rovers down to 10 men, Jamie McKenzie off and it sounds like we should have had a penalty.
Balls.
Chris Butler sent off for Rovers in Cork
9 men for rovers
butler sent off
I could be wrong, i want to see them again but i dont think either guy should have been sent off. Fair play to Sligo the played very well when it went to ten men. The amount of stupid yellow cards was unreal. Ref got some abuse when walking off and rightly so. One of the worst reffing displays i have witnessed.
09/05/2008, 11:45 PM
The goal came from a Stuey Byrne mistake. He passed the ball across the Drogs defence and Kav picked it up.
He did this a few times, I know he is playing out of position. Ewings kicking also leaves a lot to be desired.
Navandrog
10/05/2008, 12:40 AM
In the second minute, Adam Hughes headed the ball past Skippy and it was going in...until Derek Foran flapped his hand at it. He was on the line, deliberate handball, definite goal and Tuite did nothing.
It should have been a straight red and a peno but he waved play on. Easily, the worst decision I've seen in this league.
We didn't play very well tonight but we won again which is brilliant. The goal came from a Stuey Byrne mistake. He passed the ball across the Drogs defence and Kav picked it up. Ewings gave Kav the entire goal to aim for and it was an easy chance.
Bray had one more chance after that. Drogs dominated. They hit the post three times and had many more half-chances. I'd love to see the possession stats for the game. It was great to get the result and fair play to the lads for managing to get the ball away from goal in the end.
It just would have been so much different with Foran sent off and Drogs getting the peno on two minutes.
Very fair assessment if the game. Our defense is lookin lik it could be over next Friday:mad:
Ironically, Rovers' best performance in weeks and weeks and the result is a goal from nothing 1-1 draw.
HarpoJoyce
10/05/2008, 1:10 AM
Pat's played some short passes around our box.
Sometimes they reached the by-line. But it took them awhile to get the one shot on target in the first half. UCD play the ball from the back, nowadays that may be considered 'timewasting' that would be unfornatunate. Pat's increased the tempo for five minutes in the second half and there was a real concern that a named player would go down in the box and claim a penalty. That didn't happen, but Kirby did hit the crossbar.
Pete Mahon put on Timmy Purcell up-front to relieve some pressure and after derek Doyle went off with cramp, Patrick McWalter switched to the left wing, UCD continued to carry the ball forward.
One out of one without a goal, it's a worry for UCD.
DonalE
10/05/2008, 1:22 AM
He also disallowed a perfectly good Denis Behan goal becuase your keeper fumbled it after he jumped into Denis.
I was a good bit away but there didn't seem to be anything wrong, goal should have stood. We should have had a penalty, terrible decision and then McKenzie had to get his second yellow if the ref thought it was a dive :mad:
charliesboots
10/05/2008, 1:52 AM
Good to see GOD is teaching young Foran some goalkeeping skills for us too. :D
10/05/2008, 2:10 AM
UCD had one attempt at goal all night.
But you don't mention that you had about two shots on target, both straight at Matt Gregg?
Silly me; the fact it was a poor game was all our fault and none of your fault.:rolleyes:
We were afraid to shoot and we did it just wouldnt anywhere
I'm not sure that sentence makes sense, but the way I saw the game was that Pat's were shown up to be a poor enough team. Faced against a team who could defend well, they lacked any sort of imagination or ideas. Surprised how easy the point was for us.
10/05/2008, 10:46 AM
It was directly across from me and all denis did was not move out of the way.I agree it shouldn't have been a free but in fairness the ref blew a few seconds before Behan took his shot so players had stopped.
Fair enough I didn't see it that well but the goalkepper is always gonna get those decision's especially with refs like McKeownIt was Declan Hanney, not McKeown. He's a disgrace to football, seriously poor decisions tonight. Still annoyed now just thinking about it:mad:
On a side note, at least I didn't have to pay in...thank you Ski-LEGEND!:)
10/05/2008, 11:19 AM
It was Declan Hanney, not McKeown. He's a disgrace to football, seriously poor decisions tonight. Still annoyed now just thinking about it:mad:
It said McKeown on the programme, thats why people are mentioning him. Hanney was brutal, he should spend the rest of the year in the schoolboy leagues. Has to be the worst performance from a ref all year.
If you look at some of the yellow cards being given out it would make you wonder. Are they trying to stack up suspensions for players or what. You have to ask like. If there was a refs accessor as the game last night, he will have been kept very busy. Cringeworthy stuff. Spoke to a few people who dont usually go to games and they couldn't believe have bad it was.
Its at crisis point now in my opinion.
The Man Himself
10/05/2008, 11:23 AM
The ref was a clown ruined the game, the linesman and lineswoman why the hell have them when they don't do the whole line.
because it was a soccer match you were at, not hurling:D
10/05/2008, 1:23 PM
Harps are absoloutely shocking,easily worse than us and took an undeserved point.
Having said that 4 defensive errors cost both teams goals and both teams are destined for relegation.
The game last night was a pure snooze fest. Ucd set up the bus in front of the goal and we couldn't break it down.At times it looked like we just didn't want too. We are going to have to learn how to put teams like that away if we want to win the league otherwise every team whos happy with a point will do it.
Anyone else notice a common factor running through the thread - we have some terrible referees! The bray decision must have been bad, all papers comented on it and the mirror even gave a headline to it. Also heard from a sligo friend that it was a definite penalty down at the cross. Makes you laugh when you see crowe getting a penalty for falling over himself.......
BrayUnknowns
10/05/2008, 3:18 PM
Agreed, iv'e never seen a worse decision in my life.... Tuite should be given a serious ban for it.
But don't agree on the other stuff... I thought we played very well. Drogs are a better all-round side than us and hold and pass the ball better (a great benifit of training full time !!!) but we more than held or own for 95 minutes. Drogs started better and should have had a peno but it wasn't given. They didn't create anything of note for the rest of the half, they had most of the ball but we didn't let them do anything with it.
Did Rowe not send Kavanagh clear? I'm almost sure he split the Drogs defence with his pass for Paddy to run onto, very cool finish.
We defo created more than once chance after that as well. Paul Dunphy came very close on 2 occassions, grazed the bar from 25 yards out and then blasted wide (both 2nd half). We caught Drogheda on the break a few times as well and Rowe set Daz free but for Gavins studs Daz had a clear shot on goal from 6 yards out.
Over-all it was a good team preformance by Bray, we defended really well and looked like a team that would do anything for eachother, very resolute and confidence is rife in the squad.
Roll on Sligo next Saturday, a draw would do me nicely but the way were going all 3 points is not impossible... but i fear our run of 7 unbeaten will end soon....
And I remember everyone laughed when Eddie Gormley said he had European aspirations:eek:
10/05/2008, 3:44 PM
Unfortunately it does look like they will stay up and an actual proper football club like Harps will go down instead of them. Pity
Boo hoo. The anti UCD-bile, while nothing new, gets more and more far fetched every week it seems. The audacity of the litte paupers for not attempting to go out and outpass arguably the best team in the league. :rolleyes: There's more to football than prettiness and if UCD grind their way to safety and Harps or whoever else pass (or misplace passes) their way to relegation than UCD deserve credit for cutting their cloth to suit their measure. The reason they stay up year after year is because they're a better football team, maybe not prettier but better, than the teams that go down instead.
tonights match:
Cobh 0-1 Bohs
brennan after 14mins
its pretty much all Bohs in the first half according to reports..
http://www.bohs.ie/commentary.php
deecay
10/05/2008, 7:37 PM
And I remember everyone laughed when Eddie Gormley said he had European aspirations:eek:
I had a great laugh at that,what a turn around:ball:
10/05/2008, 7:43 PM
Boo hoo. The anti UCD-bile, while nothing new, gets more and more far fetched every week it seems. The audacity of the litte paupers for not attempting to go out and outpass arguably the best team in the league. :rolleyes: There's more to football than prettiness and if UCD grind their way to safety and Harps or whoever else pass (or misplace passes) their way to relegation than UCD deserve credit for cutting their cloth to suit their measure. The reason they stay up year after year is because they're a better football team, maybe not prettier but better, than the teams that go down instead.
SLK, why don't you just come over and support us, you've been yearning to do so for some time.:p
all Cobh second half... :mad::(
almost... Murphy saved a penalty. It was really all Cobh in the second half, but we'll take the three points at this stage!! Nice one!!
10/05/2008, 11:07 PM
Anyone else notice a common factor running through the thread - we have some terrible referees! The bray decision must have been bad, all papers comented on it and the mirror even gave a headline to it. Also heard from a sligo friend that it was a definite penalty down at the cross. Makes you laugh when you see crowe getting a penalty for falling over himself.......
Another refereeing incident in our match (about the only incident too...) - Matt Gregg was complaining because some Pat's player was standing in the D when he was taking a goal kick, held on to the ball for at least 15 seconds giving out to the ref, who eventually gave a free out, presumably for not retreating for a goal kick even though he was outside the box, which is just nonsense.
11/05/2008, 12:27 AM
we destroyed them in 2nd half to no avail though
sonofstan
11/05/2008, 12:34 AM
You did too.... until now i didn't believe Henderson's weekly lament about how hard done- by you are, but if tonight is exemplary of your luck so far, then I see exactly what he means. Who is your right winger? better by far than either of our pair
niallsparky
11/05/2008, 11:52 AM
You did too.... until now i didn't believe Henderson's weekly lament about how hard done- by you are, but if tonight is exemplary of your luck so far, then I see exactly what he means. Who is your right winger? better by far than either of our pair
Gareth Cambridge I think.
11/05/2008, 12:38 PM
Let's hope our being destroyed in that fashion continues all season. :D
sonofstan
11/05/2008, 12:44 PM
Let's hope our being destroyed in that fashion continues all season. :D
God, no - hell to watch....
11/05/2008, 1:15 PM
True but we invited you onto us. We played a very dangerous game sitting on the lead but thankfully we came away with the three points. A massive win for us seeing as how long it has been since Cobh lost at home.
11/05/2008, 1:31 PM
Who is your right winger? better by far than either of our pair
Our two wingers........Number 26 was Michael O'Shea and Number 11 was Michael Mulconry.
Cambridge came on as a 2nd half substitute and played up front.
sonofstan
11/05/2008, 1:36 PM
Our two wingers........Number 26 was Michael O'Shea and Number 11 was Michael Mulconry.
Cambridge came on as a 2nd half substitute and played up front.
26 was the one i was thinking of - thanks.
the way I saw the game was that Pat's were shown up to be a poor enough team. Faced against a team who could defend well, they lacked any sort of imagination or ideas. Surprised how easy the point was for us.
That's nonsense. Poor teams don't generally find themselves at the top of the table, winning 8 games out of ten. Pats dominated the game, and if ye'd come out to play we'd have destroyed you. Pats also tried to keep playing football,a nd never resorted to hoofing it in an attempt to get a goal. The fact that you came to get a point and succeeded doesn't earn you the right to call us a poor side. Now fair enough, ye defended well, as you've every right to do. I don't go along with all the whinging about UCD generally. Of course you haven't the resources of the likes of ourselves, Bohs, Cork, etc and I don't expect you to some and roll over for us. It's up to us to break you down and we didn't do it. Season after season UCD earn enough points to stay in the top division, and that has to be respected. Wouldn't find me crying if ye did go down though. ;)
11/05/2008, 6:38 PM
Yeah, probably phrased that wrong alright.
They weren't "shown up to be a poor side", and your defence of that is correct. They were poor on the night though, which is a different thing.
The amount of stupid yellow cards was unreal. Ref got some abuse when walking off and rightly so. One of the worst reffing displays i have witnessed.Hanney was an complete joke.
He let play continue in the 1st half after a foul by Almeida and then when the ball went dead went back and booked Butler. I think the lad Butler ended up with 3 bookings but maybe they resolved the mistaken identity at HT.
easy mistake to make. :rolleyes:
Fivesilver
12/05/2008, 11:52 AM
Grounds have improved, teams have improved on and off the field, TV coverage is better than it's ever been, and yet we still have these clowns refereeing. Some of them shouldn't be allowed to referee under-12s. Every weekend we're seeing at least one or two atrocious decisions that affect results, and if a manager as much as opens his mouth, there's a completely disproportionate ban.
The FAI is trying to project a positive, professional image of the league, but if you repeatedly have 2 or 3-point swings through crap officiating, it just looks ridiculous.