View Full Version : MNS- best analyst

06/05/2008, 11:23 AM
Could we get a poll going on this.

Rico- very good when he doesn't waffle

Roddy- only their to provide entertainment and an alternative viewpoint. Doesn't offer much insight into anything

Sean Connor- decent enough but a touch of Roddy about him

Liam Mackey- best so far imo.

Richard Sadlier- very good too. Was wondering what he would be like.

Colm Foley- seems decent enough but not as good as some of the others

Tony McDonnell- same really

Of the others that have featured I thought Neil O'Riordan was good and would like to see him again. One gripe I have though is that firstly the pool of analysts is too large and three on a programme is too many as each person ends up saying very little (apart from Roddy).

GuisaSaigon
06/05/2008, 11:55 AM
Some are better than others, but the policy of varying guests is a big plus. They should invite Paul Osam and his mask in for a Halloween special!

CvilleRovers
06/05/2008, 12:44 PM
rico is the best i think, daniel mcdonnell would be decent if they could get him as well he usually talks alot of sense in his articles on the league from what ive read

life long red
06/05/2008, 12:55 PM
rico is the best i think, daniel mcdonnell would be decent if they could get him as well he usually talks alot of sense in his articles on the league from what ive read
sean connors talks a lot of crap knows nothing about football

Da Real Rover
06/05/2008, 1:30 PM
Defo Sadlier if you ask me, very professional and knows what hes talking about. Plus hes alot easier to listen to than Dave Barry.

06/05/2008, 1:34 PM
Colm Foley's been my favourite on it. He's the most genuine character there. He doesn't put on a show, he's not forced, he's not there to get his face on the telly. He just acts naturally.

ramsfan
06/05/2008, 1:51 PM
foley and mackey are prob the best, rico is that bad by talks ****e some times others are just muppets

06/05/2008, 2:32 PM
sean connors talks a lot of crap knows nothing about football

His name is Sean Connor.

Boo_Boy
06/05/2008, 3:15 PM
His name is Sean Connor.

i hate when people add the 's'!:p

HarpoJoyce
06/05/2008, 3:34 PM

Liam Mackey- best so far imo.

I seen a few of them now and it reminds me more and more of an Arts review programme. Especially the clothing and regional accents.

Liam Mackey is the Tom Paulin character obviously.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2o6JrqUIVY

...they would never have a woman on the programme though ..would they?

saintmaniac
06/05/2008, 3:43 PM
Not unless one of the major newspapers employs a female journalist to cover the eL. I can't think of any, offhand. 'Tis a shame, as there are several female eL fans I know who would be absolutely fantastic panellists. I wouldn't count myself in that number, though - I probably belong to the Rico school of rambling.

Richard Sadlier surprised me with how astute an analyst he is, he is very direct and his statements are generally spot-on.

I really like Philip Quinn as a writer but it has to be said that television is not his medium...

deecay
06/05/2008, 3:43 PM
Fella on the left last night with the d4 accent

RedRebel32
06/05/2008, 5:43 PM
ya the guy who had his legs crossed last night was actually excellent imo

roddy is roddy, a complete idiot. con defiantely is the better host and i think rico being a recent ex manager of a club in the league is a great bonus.hopefully a few great quotes over the year in store:D

i think there should be a fans part added to the show. an insight into the life of a EL fan from a different club each week.maybe a few days on the away day supporters bus:D

06/05/2008, 6:45 PM
Rico
Foley
Mackey

neville neville
06/05/2008, 7:06 PM
i like Roddy. never thought i'd say that but he's entertaining. similar to dunphy really. an idiot but an entertaining idiot

hedderman
06/05/2008, 7:21 PM
. con defiantely is the better host and i think rico being a recent ex manager of a club in the league is a great bonus.hopefully a few great quotes over the year in store:D

Here's a great Rico quote from his MNS website column from 25th April:

I actually like chairmen. However, within that statement lays a lie, well, an element of a lie. Not a lie per se, more a lie in lieu of an outright admission that I actually admire chairmen, if you know what I mean.

06/05/2008, 7:22 PM

I miss his programme notes :(

Salmon Coloured
06/05/2008, 7:41 PM
Tom Symmonds, if there is a God this man will be on the show soon.

06/05/2008, 7:52 PM
I miss his programme notes :(

Read the Cork Indo, still has his column in that. And its still classic Rico ;)

06/05/2008, 7:55 PM
Mackey would be my favourite, Dave barry is quite good too, why is he not in the list.

sullanefc
06/05/2008, 8:56 PM

Not unless one of the major newspapers employs a female journalist to cover the eL. I can't think of any, offhand. 'Tis a shame, as there are several female eL fans I know who would be absolutely fantastic panellists. I wouldn't count myself in that number, though - I probably belong to the Rico school of rambling.

What about your wan who interviews players and managers of RTE radio on Friday nights. Can't think of her name now.

Hang on... is it Evan Ni Chuilleann (sp?) or something??

06/05/2008, 8:59 PM
i voted richard sadlier he speaks well and he knows his stuff too!

06/05/2008, 9:25 PM
Best MNS Panelist to date

Er...I think I'll take the female one please.

06/05/2008, 9:34 PM
Rico - restrained and informative. Roddy - Roddy. Sean Connor - surprisingly okay-ish. Mackey - clueless, tries to be irreverent but ends up being irrelevant. Sadlier - pretty good considering he's not very clued in on the league. Foley and McDonnell - Zzzzzz.

06/05/2008, 10:40 PM
That is pure genious, but I don't know why. Can't stop laughing at it. Maybe I shouldn't read it while drunk...

06/05/2008, 11:09 PM
I cant believe that Roddy and Connor got votes :p

saint dog
07/05/2008, 9:33 AM
saddlier , mcdonnell and foley are all equally as good
no their stuff and the later 2 know the league inside out

not sure about dan mcdonnell going on it has a tendency to over exaggerate about some things

Duggie
07/05/2008, 12:34 PM
Tony McDonnell is the best along with Rico. Bloody hate listening to connor. Dave Barry seems like he's love to cause a row and beat round him.

cheifo
07/05/2008, 4:08 PM

Richard Sadlier surprised me with how astute an analyst he is, he is very direct and his statements are generally spot-on.

I really like Philip Quinn as a writer but it has to be said that television is not his medium...

Agree about Sadlier.His article in the SI is excellant and he did'nt flinch when Roy threw a tantrum.I enjoyed Phillip Quinn when he was on.Came across like somebody who enjoys the good craic in football.

07/05/2008, 4:38 PM
Others have joined me in the pro-Sadlier bandwagon

Anyone who votes Collins should be rightly accused of being Collins himself.

07/05/2008, 5:25 PM
Others have joined me in the pro-Sadlier bandwagon

Anyone who votes Collins should be rightly accused of being Collins himself.

And its an anonymous vote :( any chance you could reverse that, adam? :D

07/05/2008, 11:54 PM
Rico is the best as strangely he does not waffle. His columns can be hit & miss as sometimes too much trouble to read.

Roddy is the Dunphy of the group. Says what he likes but sometimes goes too far for the attention.

Flawless
08/05/2008, 12:13 AM
Tom Symmonds, if there is a God this man will be on the show soon.

I'll 2nd that, not sure how he would reat to the limelight though!!!;)

Sadlier has been tops for me, its like he's putting the effort in and not waffling.

saintmaniac
08/05/2008, 12:49 AM
I enjoyed Phillip Quinn when he was on.Came across like somebody who enjoys the good craic in football.

Ah, I did like the anecdotes, don't get me wrong. But they threatened to detract from the programme itself - you could see Con Murphy look slightly panicked at one point - "yes, Philip, that's great - but now we go to the Showgrounds..." They just don't suit the 'slick' presentation of the show. Analysis and comment aren't much more than soundbytes - comments from managers and players are cut to the bare minimum, for example. Quinn just doesn't suit the format. The reason Sadlier comes across so well in comparison, is because he gets straight to the point.

Actually, if they were to expand the Raiders sequence, and have him comment on the context of the clip in question, what happened that season, etc., I could see a place for Quinn on the show. Not sure about the panel though.

What is with the Liam Mackey love-in? I don't get it. Agree with Sheridan on this, he's trying way too hard to be irreverent. Maybe it's a Hot Press thing. Would rather have Richardson, Dave Barry, and even - God help us - Sean Connor. Not Roddy though. :D

08/05/2008, 12:52 AM
I voted Sean Connor, he's actually not bad on it. Rico a close 2nd.

08/05/2008, 8:22 AM
Colm Foley has come off very bad in this poll, and definitely doesn't deserve to have less votes that Roddy. Who in gods name is voting for Roddy?

08/05/2008, 11:49 AM
Who in gods name is voting for Roddy?
Someone taking the ****. Surely the same has to be said for those who voted for Connors.

Duggie
08/05/2008, 4:02 PM
whats the love for sadlier and mackey ? find them hard to listen to.
show needs a good host and a panel of

rico
mcdonnell
roddy - i know hes annoying

who writes the scripts aswell - the bit at the start when they try to be funny introducing the panel. and that stupid music for raiders of the lost arc segment. that whip noise is so annoying. still love watching eircom league though ;)

11/05/2008, 8:16 AM
Mackey would be my favourite, Dave barry is quite good too, why is he not in the list.

ah please!!!!!!!!!!!:(

11/05/2008, 8:19 AM
Agree about Sadlier.His article in the SI is excellant and he did'nt flinch when Roy threw a tantrum.I enjoyed Phillip Quinn when he was on.Came across like somebody who enjoys the good craic in football.

Yeah his articles in the Indo are very good, but i still cant get the fact that he supported Stan right upto the end out of my head, and then did a hatchet job on hin just before he got the boot.