View Full Version : Sligo V. GUFC (League Cup)

Paddyfield
06/05/2008, 6:22 AM
United travel to Sligo tonight in the League Cup. I wonder if JK will put out a weakened team ahead of the Harps game on Friday.

Patrick Dunne
06/05/2008, 7:26 AM
I hope not. We are a professional football club. What is the point of spending
E30,000 a week if we have no interest in winning trophies ?

Paul Cook will be fielding a strong team, as per todays Star - "The best way
to achieve recognition is by winning trophies, and thats what the players, the club and I want to do in the League Cup".

Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 8:33 AM
Not a hope in hell we are going to put out our first 11, it would be an idea maybe for both sets of fans to help each other out with some team news to see if we can cover ahem expenses for ourselves. :)

gufcfan
06/05/2008, 3:35 PM
www.galwayunitedfc.net will provide a live text match updates.

They can be found here.

http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/matchday.php

sligofan4ever
06/05/2008, 5:29 PM
Agree with Rovers Maniac we will field a strong team but not our starting 11 maybe Pat Jennings in goals for us would be a change anyways

Trainee
06/05/2008, 9:35 PM
nil all after et so its now down to pens

come on utd

Paddyfield
06/05/2008, 9:43 PM
United won 6 - 5 on pens.
Well done JK.

Fr. Jessop
06/05/2008, 9:45 PM
5-6 Penos to Galway According to Xscores!! :D:D:D

eamo1
06/05/2008, 9:47 PM
The lads will be a bit tired for friday but who cares,quarter final of the league cup and hopefully home draw vrs Drogs or someone.
When is the draw?

Maroon 7
06/05/2008, 9:54 PM
Good stuff. Two clean sheets in a row away to Derry and Sligo. That's a definite improvement on what went before. Have to make ourselves difficult to beat at the very least if we are going to survive.

Hopefully can get a win now on Friday.

Square Heir
06/05/2008, 9:54 PM
Is the draw not already made? Brandywell in the next round I thought

Patrick Dunne
06/05/2008, 9:55 PM
Our players, and the supporters who travelled to the Showgrounds, are a
credit to Galway United Football Club.

The fighting spirit that we have lost for years seems to be returning.

Paddyfield
06/05/2008, 9:57 PM
Is the draw not already made? Brandywell in the next round I thought

No draw made yet according to the bottom line of this.... http://www.eircomloi.ie/other-competitions/eircom-league-of-ireland-/2008-season/fixtures/

06/05/2008, 10:02 PM
Our players, and the supporters who travelled to the Showgrounds, are a
credit to Galway United Football Club.

The fighting spirit that we have lost for years seems to be returning.

Fighting spirit?:rolleyes:

Ye won an awful game that neither team deserved to win. Ye were poor and we were poor, don't see how that's fighting spirit?

Square Heir
06/05/2008, 10:04 PM
No draw made yet according to the bottom line of this.... http://www.eircomloi.ie/other-competitions/eircom-league-of-ireland-/2008-season/fixtures/

You're right.
"The winner of this match (Longford) will take on Sligo Rovers in the second round which is due to take place on May 5th / 6th. The winners of the Second Round fixtures will be entered into an open draw for the eircom League of Ireland Cup Quarter Finals"

gilberto_eire
06/05/2008, 10:09 PM
Tough next round anyway, pick of the teams would be Bray, UCD or Wexford. The you have the likes of Drogs, Bohs, Derry or Cork!!

Would'nt be disappointed as long as we get home advantage!!

Patrick Dunne
06/05/2008, 10:10 PM
210 minutes away from home without conceding a goal, from the
team with the previous worst defensive record in the League, is
fighting spirit.

Well done United.

Paddyfield
06/05/2008, 10:13 PM
Would'nt be disappointed as long as we get home advantage!!

We hace been pi$$ poor at home all season. We have had three draws on the road (well, 2 plus we won a game on pens :D).

06/05/2008, 10:16 PM
210 minutes away from home without conceding a goal, from the
team with the previous worst defensive record in the League, is
fighting spirit.

Well done United.
That's fighting spirit?:rolleyes:

I take it you weren't there tonight? Both sides were very poor, and if I were ye I'd be worried if that's "fighting spirit".

9 games in the league without a win too isn't it?

Fair play to the fans who did travel though, didn't make noise, but fair journey for a Tuesday night LC game.

Patrick Dunne
06/05/2008, 10:20 PM
I wasn't there, again, well done to those from Galway who travelled.
Onwards and upwards !

Maroon 7
06/05/2008, 10:20 PM
That's fighting spirit?:rolleyes:

I take it you weren't there tonight? Both sides were very poor, and if I were ye I'd be worried if that's "fighting spirit".

9 games in the league without a win too isn't it?

Fair play to the fans who did travel though, didn't make noise, but fair journey for a Tuesday night LC game.

Like the Murphy's you're not bitter.:D

ffs would you ever get over yourself. People are entitled to be a little bit happy to see their team not concede goals after such a terrible start to the season and keeping clean sheets away from home does require some sort of team spirit no matter how poor the standard of football is

06/05/2008, 10:22 PM
Like the Murphy's you're not bitter.:D

Just stating facts;)

Patrick Dunne
06/05/2008, 10:25 PM
Fact : We won, you lost !

GuisaSaigon
06/05/2008, 10:27 PM
If we are stating facts........ the only facts of any importance are
1. we are in the 1/4 Final
2. Shligo are out of the League Cup :D

GuisaSaigon
06/05/2008, 10:28 PM
Beat me to it Pa!

kkontour
06/05/2008, 10:36 PM
TBH, it was a v poor game, was like a pre season friendly. We probably didnt take it seriously enough, thinking you would be a pushover, but your defence was well organised and Wes headed everything that came near him.
But as you say, your in the next round, not us:mad:

Maroon 7
06/05/2008, 10:38 PM
Does anyone have the teams?

sligored
06/05/2008, 11:02 PM
here goes my best guess
galway had rogers regi wes fitzgerald mcculloch oshea deegan lester(i think or russell)obrien leech and fenn?
used subs were faherty glynn and not sure who
rovers had brush coleman mckenzie almeida butler raf murphy ventre cash faz and boco
used subs were judge ogrady and foy

good defensive performance from galway - the hungrier but not the better team.
best of luck in the next round

06/05/2008, 11:04 PM
Sligo Rovers: Brush, Coleman, Butler, MacKenzie, Almeida, Murphy (O'Grady 89), Cash (Foy 78), Ventre, Cretaro, Kudozovic, Boco (Judge 27).
Subs not used: Jennings, Curran.

Galway United: Rogers, Nooitmeer, McCulloch, Charles, Fitzgerald, O'Shea, Deegan, Russell (Fenn HT), O'Brien, Leech (Faherty 72), O'Flynn (Glynn 107).

wonder88
06/05/2008, 11:12 PM
Well organised in defence. Wes had great game. Fitting Deegan got the decisive peno as he really came into the game, ok Russell and more importantly Sligo's Murphy had gone off. Stevo lead the line well and the other strikers gave there all. Fenn missed a great chance with header in second half, but like the rest battled hard. Same commitment needed for Friday and two clean sheets must add to confidence. still hope there.

07/05/2008, 7:40 AM
If Galway are to play like that every week crowds will plummet. What the **** is Kenna at?
Ye created 1 decent chance on goal all night, never venturing out of your own half.

07/05/2008, 7:46 AM
People should ignore the Sligo muppets.

The game wasn't an entertaining one but UTD's effort was 10 times that of the last time we were in the showgrounds.Rogers was excellent as was Russell.Stevo held the ball up well throughout.
Only 2 non-performers were Deegan and Leech who were very poor.Deegan did improve gradually though and scored the winning penalty!

30 or so there from Galway.Always enjoyable winning on penalties.

corbyeire
07/05/2008, 11:11 AM
this is a great boost for kenna and the team - hopefully the confidence will be high and united can create more and take some of the chances they are well capable of making

beating sligo on penalties is a huge turn around compared to 3-0 albeit with slightly different teams

slight chinks of hope are appearing...

was russler injured when subbed or was it tactical?

Terry-Lander
07/05/2008, 12:34 PM
If Galway are to play like that every week crowds will plummet. What the **** is Kenna at?
Ye created 1 decent chance on goal all night, never venturing out of your own half.

Probably fulfilling the promise he made on taking up the post..........."my priority is to stop leaking goals". Most Sligo 'fans' are bitter but that is understandable. Now go away and sort out your own problems.

gufcfan
07/05/2008, 8:21 PM

There were 3 of us beside the press box and we made as much noise as we could.

Great craic annoying the yokels... sorry, locals:D

exiled_gufc_fan
08/05/2008, 7:29 PM
Great photo of Wes from the game here:

http://www.jonathanhill.ie/photo/gen/800/001-016269.jpg :ball:

corbyeire
09/05/2008, 10:44 AM
great pic alright!

deecay
09/05/2008, 2:11 PM
Great photo of Wes from the game here:

http://www.jonathanhill.ie/photo/gen/800/001-016269.jpg :ball:
Are you sure that was the other night?He was wearing different boots in the 1st half

Some more photos of the other night http://gallery.framelight.ie/viewpicture.tlx?pubgsearchid=1210285613&pictureid=6390970

GuisaSaigon
09/05/2008, 2:18 PM
Hes wearing the same ones in Pic 81 of your photos.