View Full Version : Untimely death of goalkeeping legend.

thedoyler
04/05/2008, 12:25 AM
Guys it is with great despair that I bring you the news of the death of Austin Mullen aged 79. He was well known throughout the country and for those of you who don't know him he was goalkeeping coach at Bray, Shels and UCD to name a few. He is most associated with St.Joseph's boys in Sallynoggin and oversaw the development of keepers such as Dan Connor and Darren Quigley there. HE had only retired from coaching full time a couple of weeks before. My thoughts and prayers are with his family at this time, we've lost a true legend of the game.

04/05/2008, 12:49 AM
The name is familiar, is it one we should know? RIP

thedoyler
04/05/2008, 12:53 AM
Article taken from official shels website. He's a very well known personality in the Dublin/Wicklow area and he has coached a lot of the eircom leagues keepers.

Austin Mullen

by Tanny van Loon

It’s a Sunday morning in September and I’m up in Sallynoggin at 9 in the morning to bring the little man to his football match. The only living souls about at this time of the day are carrying nets, kicking a football or marking lines. The dedication is tangible; excitement’s in the air like on any weekend morning on these pitches.

One man is quietly going about his business, smile on his face and determination in his step. Every weekend he’s here, watching his boys. Making sure they’re well prepared and focused. Every weekend for the last 50 odd years…

Austin Mullen is a Legend. No more, no less. And the nicest Legend I’ve met on the sidelines at St. Josephs Boys FC in Sallynoggin. This mans’ relentless dedication to football is clear from his many years of being a goalkeepers coach in various club and at the nifty age of 79 he’s not thinking of giving up his passion. Austin is pivotal in the specialist goalkeeper’s academy in Joeys. A club which has been the nursing ground for many past and current keepers like Darren Quigley, James Hussey and Dan Connor to name but a few.

I spoke to Austin about the time when he was a regular at Shelbourne matches and told him he can make his answers as long as he wants… (He’s like that)

Austin, you’ve been involved in Irish football for a long time. When did you start playing yourself?

A: I started playing at 15 years of age with a team in Glasthule called Edenville. Brian Boru had just won the battle at Clontarf. I had a short spell at Drumcondra when Rosie Henderson was there. I’ve also enjoyed working with Bray Wanderers, Shelbourne and UCD.

You’ve been coaching for many years and have seen some real talent passing…

A: I’ve been extremely lucky to have worked with really good keepers: Steve Williams, Barry Ryan, Pat Jennings, John Walsh, Darren Quigley, James Hussey and Dan Connor. It’s great to see the boys do well at the goalkeeping. Goalkeepers have to have a strong personality because they’re mainly remembered for their mistakes. You can have a brilliant match for 89 minutes but when you make one mistake, that’s it. You still have to pick that ball out of the net and that takes a strong man.

Tell me about the time you went to see the boys in red play at Tolka. You were a regular for years shouting abuse at the goalkeepers…

A: I’ve had some good times with Dermot Keeley, Alan Matthews, Shay Weafer and some guy called Fred Davis. It was a thrill to be a part of Shels when we won the double. One of my sweetest memories is when Steve Williams made a brilliant last minute save that helped us beat Bohs at Tolka in 2000. He played a brilliant match that night.

I’ve had good times at the matches sitting in the stand with Fred and afterwards listening to Dermot in the Dressing room. WOW! That man’s got the smell of the “wintergreen” off him!

This article was included in the Match Day programme for the eircom League First Division game: Shelbourne v Kilkenny City, October 5th, 2007

04/05/2008, 10:24 AM
RIP, he was a great man, very passionate at what he did. Still did a bit of coaching for UCD last season.

04/05/2008, 11:15 AM
R.I.P. condolences to family and friends.

LeixlipRed
04/05/2008, 11:42 AM
how was he a legend when hardly anyone outside of dublin ever heard of him?

RIP

Aaron
04/05/2008, 12:18 PM
RIP, thoughts with family and friends

04/05/2008, 12:25 PM
I can't say I'd heard of him, but it's sad to see the death of somebody who loved football and gave so much to Irish football.

My thoughts are with all who knew him.

thedoyler
04/05/2008, 1:13 PM

Thats quite a narrow view, you dont need to be front page news to be a legend mate. Still doing full time coaching at the age of 79, if thats not a remarkable achievement nothing is.

Casei11
04/05/2008, 2:28 PM
very sad news, i was coached by austin,best and most professional coach i have ever had,enthusiasm was second to none,RIP

shep
04/05/2008, 5:32 PM

Was an absolute gentleman,i was lucky enough to have worked with him before trials with Southampton about 10 years ago.

What a stupid comment,if you dont know him or have nothing good to say then dont post

04/05/2008, 9:48 PM
RIP Austin.

stiofain
04/05/2008, 10:43 PM
I can't say I'd heard of him, but it's sad to see the death of somebody who loved football and gave so much to Irish football.

My thoughts are with all who knew him.

I hadnt heard of him either, but totally agree with your sentiments.

RIP Austin

04/05/2008, 11:32 PM
RIP Austin

skitz3
05/05/2008, 8:27 AM
Rest In Peace

lauren
06/05/2008, 11:19 AM
Moderation: Text removed

Austin was my papa. Is my papa. he knew we all thought he was a legend - because he was - to us, anyway. i think he would probably have shook off the label himself, frankly, and I know I would rather he do that himself than read a post like this on the internet. who cares if he was referred to by a poster here as a legend? When I read that, my heart swelled with pride. It's not often people see threads about their grandfathers and the impact they made.

Sure - maybe outside of Dublin his name wouldn't ring a bell to some. But who cares? It's not a popularity competition.

To those who didn't know him, Papa dedicated his life to football. I've never known another person so driven and passionate about the game. He trained young kids how to play. He also taught them the beauty of respect. I can't begin to tell you how much pride he had in Joeys and all the other teams he coached for. Even this past winter, approaching the age of 80, he was at every training session come wind, rain or hail. Every single one.

We are extremely grateful and overwhelmed by the hundreds - and I mean hundreds - of phone calls we have received since his death, for the minute's silence before yesterday's Bray Wanderers game and for the outpourings of messages from people we've never met before telling us what he meant to them.

Papa fell asleep on Saturday in his favourite chair, bathed in sunlight in the conservatory. He lived a good life and he was given a good death.

I don't need to validate his legendary status here. I know when I went for 99s and walk on the pier there with him last week I was in the presence of something greater than just the man.

Thank you all, on behalf of the family, for the messages you have left here. It's just another reminder that he may have been our papa, but we did share him a bit with others :)

MULLEN (Austin) (Ardmore Park, Kill Avenue, Dun Laoghaire) - May 3, 2008, peacefully, at home, in his 80th year, husband and best friend of Margie, wonderful father to Declan, Catherine (Crothers), Brona (Folens) and Paula, much loved Papa and friend to Lauren, Gavin, Adam, Emmet, Erica, Mark, Jeremy, Cameron, Eléna, Carl, brother of Kitty and Rosaleen (deceased); will be greatly missed by his son-in-law Dirk, sisters-in-law Rosaleen and Kay, brother-in-law Eamon, large circle of friends, relatives, neighbours and all in "JOEYS". May he rest in peace. Reposing in Carnegies Funeral Home, 19 the Crescent, Monkstown from 2 o'clock tomorrow (Wednesday) afternoon with removal afterwards to Church of the Holy Family, Kill Avenue, arriving at 5 o'clock Funeral on Thursday morning after 10 o'clock Mass to Deans Grange Cemetery
"Forward to the goal".

06/05/2008, 11:23 AM
Great post Lauren, fair play to you.

06/05/2008, 11:29 AM
What a Beautiful Post. Lost my own Legend my dad 2 months ago and I can only hope that all your family and friends have as many happy memories as ive had. May he rest in peace. Some people just never think before they post sorry.

06/05/2008, 9:09 PM
rip austin beautiful well thought out post lauren!

nolanb21
09/05/2008, 2:59 PM
My Name is Brian Nolan and for all intents and purposes, Austin Mullen was my Papa too, ever since he and his wife essentially adopted my mom some 40 years ago.

I tell you this so as not to hide behind some anonymous moniker. Thankfully the later post from "The Man Himself" has been removed but I ask the forum moderators to remove his first post as well. I know Austin would say, let him go but I can never be the person Austin was because, frankly, nobody ever could. He was the rarest of human beings who never, and I mean never, had a bad word to say about anyone and was the most remarkable and caring person you could ever hope to meet.

His love for his family and friends was beyond words, his dedication to his "other family" - the footballers he coached on the pitch but more importantly in their lives- was unparalled, and the strangers he helped - from the homeless to travellers he allowed to stay at his house when they couldn't find their hotel late at night - were countless. Thousands of people showed up for Austin's funeral. There was a police escort, an honor guard, innumerable children in their football uniforms, a song in his honor sung by Chris De Burgh and countless other outpourings of affection.

If that is not a legend, I don't know what is. But what bothers me is that "The Man Himself" makes such insensitive posts, even after Austin's granddaughter herself posts on this board. "TMH" - Whether or not Austin was a legend in your mind matters not, but know that many people read these posts, some of whom suffer the tragedies of life. You could have said, "I didn't know him but RIP"; instead you chose to make a useless point and continued do so after you must have known his family reads this board.

That was incredibly classless and I hope you refrain from such posts in the future. Just because you didn't know him doesn't mean he wasn't a legend. Had you ever been fortunate enough to have met Austin Mullen you would agree with the thousands that mourn him now - he WAS a legend and always will be. If anyone could deservedly use the name, Austin Mullen was, The Man Himself. God Bless, Austin.
Lauren, you are all in our thoughts and prayers and we are together with you in our mouring.

Greenforever
10/05/2008, 2:34 PM
Never knew the man, but obviously a real legend, RIP condolences to his family and friends

11/05/2008, 9:52 PM
Thankfully the later post from "The Man Himself" has been removed but I ask the forum moderators to remove his first post as well.

Brian, that post has been deleted now. I'm truly sorry that it was posted and for any offence it will have caused. It was very insensitive and not something that should have remained in this thread. Moderators here do try their best but cannot catch everything. Members here are good at policing what is acceptable or not and reported posts are very helpful to help minimise posts like these.

Thank you Lauren and Brian for posting here and again, sorry for any discomfort this may have caused.

11/05/2008, 10:40 PM
Just to add to this Austin Mullen was mentioned in Drivetime Sport (http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2008/pc/pod-v-080508-25m50s-drivetimesport.mp3) on May 8th towards the end of the section. Its clear he was held in high regards from all in the game.

RIP

nolanb21
12/05/2008, 2:14 AM
Thank you, A Face. Much appreciated and thank you for your words. You all do a fantastic job here. All the best. Brian

oldyouth
12/05/2008, 6:23 PM
G'man Brian. Obviously I didn't know the man but he has passed some good values on to you.

Condolonces to you and the family