View Full Version : Drogs new jersey - Logo

iceman
01/05/2008, 7:56 PM
Drogs have announced that their new jersey will bear the logo of the charity "Playing for Life" for the remainder of the season.http://droghedaunited.ie/news/single/id/1293
More like they cant find a sponsor to me.

01/05/2008, 8:06 PM
Drogs have announced that their new jersey will bear the logo of the charity "Playing for Life" for the remainder of the season.http://droghedaunited.ie/news/single/id/1293

Are they sponsoring Drogs? Other charities spend money on advertising so its not unthinkable.

I thought Drogs had a sponsor at the start of the season? What happened there? Who sponsored ye last year?

iceman
01/05/2008, 8:10 PM
Murphy Environmental have been our shirt sponsors for a few years. We have a new kit this season but while it has been on sale at the Drog Shop since the start of this season http://www.thedroghedashop.ie/shop/proddetail.php?prod=js001there has been no logo on it. Looks noow that the space has been given to charity. Its not a sponsorship deal.
Sad state that the champions cant get a sponsor.

01/05/2008, 8:12 PM

Pity that's the only similarity with Barca.

pól-dcfc
01/05/2008, 8:12 PM
Murphy Environmental have been our shirt sponsors for a few years. We have a new kit this season but while it has been on sale at the Drog Shop since the start of this season there has been no logo on it.

Should have left it that way a la Barcelona.

Suppose putting a charity on it is a la Bracelona aswell mind.

pól-dcfc
01/05/2008, 8:13 PM
Pity that's the only similarity with Barca.

Great minds...

iceman
01/05/2008, 8:17 PM
Certainly not knocking the charity , Im sure they do thankless work , just amazed that the full-time admin at Drogs have been unable to secure a shirt sponsor.:confused:

01/05/2008, 8:18 PM
Drogs have announced that their new jersey will bear the logo of the charity "Playing for Life"

It's somewhat ironic, given that Drogheda do the opposite.

01/05/2008, 8:19 PM
Certainly not knocking the charity , Im sure they do thankless work , just amazed that the full-time admin at Drogs have been unable to secure a shirt sponsor.:confused:

How much were they asking for?

iceman
01/05/2008, 8:25 PM
Well , they are not saying , but it must have been over the odds if they could'nt get anyone.

01/05/2008, 8:26 PM
Would imagine E100k absolute minimum. Which isn't massive money really.

01/05/2008, 8:28 PM
Well , they are not saying , but it must have been over the odds if they could'nt get anyone.

Do they have the option to drop the charity later on, just saying that when Europe gets closer to the day there would definitely be a few sponsors come out of the woodwork.

01/05/2008, 8:40 PM
tell me why did drogs not have this jersey at the start of the season without sponsors??? same with lims 37 as well... very very strange...:p

01/05/2008, 10:15 PM
tell me why did drogs not have this jersey at the start of the season without sponsors??? same with lims 37 as well... very very strange...:p

Drogs players seem to be playing in last seasons jerseys?

Not knocking Drogs but that Jako jersey not good.

iceman
02/05/2008, 9:26 AM
While the new jersey has been in stock for months , the old one has been worn while the club negotiated a sponsor.
Question now is.....if the club can forego the sponsorship money then why was the need to increase the gate admission from €15 to €20 this season :mad:

pól-dcfc
02/05/2008, 10:03 AM
why was the need to increase the gate admission from €15 to €20 this season :mad:
Because there was no sponsorship money coming in?

I'd doubt the fact that you have no sponsor was because you could afford to give away prime space on your shirts.

Spoons
02/05/2008, 10:21 AM
Its a sad day for Irish football if the Champions can not get a sponsor.
Surely if the money they looked for could not be gotten from a sponsor , they would have taken less than they asked for...."half a loaf of bread, is better than none at all" and all that...:cool:

Titan
02/05/2008, 10:23 AM
Possibly decided to hold out until after europe to maximise the money they would get for a long term deal?

A bit odd they still wear the old kit with the old sponsor.

When did the Murphys Environmental deal start? Was the deal one of those that started in the old winter season and therefore runs to June? That might explain it.

02/05/2008, 10:27 AM
Agreed. You'd think they'd have at least sold space on Doolo's head to GoldenPalace.com

02/05/2008, 10:29 AM
The FAI also sponsor PFL. Maybe the FAI cut a deal with PFL so as not to be embarrassed by its unsponsored champions?

ndrog
02/05/2008, 2:20 PM
Possibly decided to hold out until after europe to maximise the money they would get for a long term deal?

A bit odd they still wear the old kit with the old sponsor.

When did the Murphys Environmental deal start? Was the deal one of those that started in the old winter season and therefore runs to June? That might explain it.

Not odd at all as the people behind the murphy enviromental group were very good to Drogheda utd and remain friends with the club .They did a great job as a sponsor so the club had no probs keeping the logo on the shirt .

iceman
02/05/2008, 2:20 PM
Murphys dealstarted around the time of the 2005 Cup Final AFAIK , ended at the end of last season but old jerseys have been worn until now.
Murphys are still involved in Drogs sponsorship , but not as shirt sponsors.

ndrog
02/05/2008, 2:21 PM
The FAI also sponsor PFL. Maybe the FAI cut a deal with PFL so as not to be embarrassed by its unsponsored champions?

Poor lad ! you still hurting then ;)

kdjaC
02/05/2008, 5:54 PM
Pats had no sponsor at the start of last season, Mc Dowells and www.stpatsfc.com for 1st few games.

kdjac

forza
02/05/2008, 6:11 PM
Pats had no sponsor at the start of last season, Mc Dowells and www.stpatsfc.com for 1st few games.

kdjac

Not our fault they went bankrupt :P

blackholesun
02/05/2008, 6:41 PM
Not a surprise, a very high profile sponsor was previosly badly burnt dealing them and has since apparently refused to get involved with others clubs here, dispite being heavily involved with other codes here and across de water!

:mad:

bhs

02/05/2008, 9:05 PM
:confused: I'm not even sure if this is supposed to make sense.

03/05/2008, 7:23 PM

In fairness it was a drogs fan who said that it isn't a regular sponsorship deal and that it looked bad for the club

WindmillWarrior
07/05/2008, 7:40 AM
new kit:

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/photo/index/id/3186

Titan
07/05/2008, 11:17 AM
new kit:

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/photo/index/id/3186

Jesus thats horrible!

lofty9
07/05/2008, 11:26 AM
Derry had great bother getting a shirt sponsor prior to the UEFA cup run. I know the club were looking at £40k at the time.

Harps would have made a fair few €'s with their shirt sponsor draw. I'm surprised Drogheda didn't go down this route.

Anyhow, fair play to them for putting a charity on the shirts. There are plenty of clubs who would have held off looking for the money whilst having nothing on the shirts.

Celdrog
07/05/2008, 3:23 PM
Ah sure ndrog, the next thing is they'll be denying carrying the Nissan logo for a year to hide the fact that Nissan told them to bugger off for breach of contract when Dolan was sacked.

Spoons
07/05/2008, 3:34 PM
It is a joke of a "sponsorship" that makes a laugh of the League of Ireland with Drogheda wearing that logo on their European kit...more like a pub team...and the kit is awful too in fairness....:confused:

07/05/2008, 3:49 PM
It is a joke of a "sponsorship" that makes a laugh of the League of Ireland with Drogheda wearing that logo on their European kit...more like a pub team...Absolutely, I'm still laughing at Barcelona and La Liga since they had the Unicef logo on their shirts.

07/05/2008, 4:14 PM
Absolutely, I'm still laughing at Barcelona and La Liga since they had the Unicef logo on their shirts.

The Spanish FA didn't have to bail Barcelona out with a little donation on behalf of UNICEF.

Ah sure ndrog, the next thing is they'll be denying carrying the Nissan logo for a year to hide the fact that Nissan told them to bugger off for breach of contract when Dolan was sacked.

The contract was negated when Hibernian were added to the back of the jersey :confused:

Celdrog
07/05/2008, 6:02 PM
The contract was negated when Hibernian were added to the back of the jersey :confused:Told you they'd deny it

An EL club put a charity on their jersey and the langers have a pop.
How is life in the bottom half of the league anyway?

07/05/2008, 6:09 PM
Told you they'd deny itAh sure what would I know anyway :confused: How exactly would a staff change breach a contract?

An EL club put a charity on their jersey and the langers have a pop.The charity case seems to you, since the FAI are supplying you with sponsors.

How is life in the bottom half of the league anyway?Woeful, beginning to fear we might end up outside the top four for the first time in over a decade and as long as I've supported City. I don't know how you stuck it all those years.

Wait, did you?

07/05/2008, 6:13 PM
Told you they'd deny it

You think a shirt sponsor would have an imput into who the manager of the team was :eek: I didnt think you were the type to believe every random rumour you heard, regardless of how ridiculous it is.

We are well aware of the **** up that caused our sponsorship with Nissan to be cancelled. Imagine....it actually related to something the sponsors would have a say in-the layout of the jersey.

ndrog
07/05/2008, 9:53 PM
It is a joke of a "sponsorship" that makes a laugh of the League of Ireland with Drogheda wearing that logo on their European kit...more like a pub team...and the kit is awful too in fairness....:confused:

Very interesting ! Let the rest of us know what our euro jersy looks like will ya ? seen as its not out yet that makes you a serious genious :confused:

Celdrog
08/05/2008, 5:35 PM
You think a shirt sponsor would have an imput into who the manager of the team was :eek: I didnt think you were the type to believe every random rumour you heard, regardless of how ridiculous it is.
.Not only was the manager mentioned in the contract but also a member of your management committee.

Don't give a toss if you don't believe me because I know its true and the lads in Mother Hughes met one of the individuals concerned last year who confirmed it.

Ask Brian Lennox if you don't believe me.

Now - whats this about the FAI supplying us with a sponsor??????

Titan
09/05/2008, 12:01 PM
Very interesting ! Let the rest of us know what our euro jersy looks like will ya ? seen as its not out yet that makes you a serious genious :confused:

One thing is for sure whatever logo is on the euro shirt wont be as big as the one on the league jerseys! Its a whopper:eek:

09/05/2008, 12:13 PM
Not only was the manager mentioned in the contract but also a member of your management committee.

Don't give a toss if you don't believe me because I know its true and the lads in Mother Hughes met one of the individuals concerned last year who confirmed it.

Ask Brian Lennox if you don't believe me.

About as convincing as writing FACT after a post. Your argument in a sentence: 'Some of the lads told me that someone told them it was true'.

Must be true so

Now - whats this about the FAI supplying us with a sponsor??????

I dunno. You tell me?

richiemd
09/05/2008, 10:41 PM
hey lads,

Just wondering if Drogheda are changing their away jersey now as well as it still contains the murphy logo and they wore it against shels in the cup a few days ago.
Will they a different away jersey now or just one with the charity logo??

Thanks.

WindmillWarrior
12/05/2008, 5:59 PM
hey lads,

Just wondering if Drogheda are changing their away jersey now as well as it still contains the murphy logo and they wore it against shels in the cup a few days ago.
Will they a different away jersey now or just one with the charity logo??

Thanks.

Good question!
There is no new away jersey so I'd imagine it would be the same jersey, just with the new charity logo on it

richiemd
13/05/2008, 7:16 AM
hey WindmillWarrior,

Thanks for the info, so will they be wearing the new away jersey soon?
I have tried to email the drogs website but no reply yet.

Thanks.