View Full Version : The Worst thread

Pages : 1 [2]

KevB76
02/05/2008, 12:32 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Wexford Youths

The Worst Away day (game)? Cobh

The Worst Match day Programme? Kildare

The Worst Away Ground? Morton Stadium (too cold, too far away from pitch and over-zealous stewards)

The Worst Away Food? none stands out, though I've been told to avoid the curry chips at Terryland

The Worst Away Pub?

The Worst Manager? Mick Wallace

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club :o I really should make more effort to remember other teams players

The Worst Ref? Markov ;)

The worst team to lose to? Sporting Fingal

Worst Stewards? Sporting Fingal

02/05/2008, 12:38 PM
I defy anyone to go to Morton Stadium as an away supporter and come away not wanting to burn the district of Fingal to the ground, the stewards there are genuinely ridiculous. They had an open section (thank god it didn't rain) sectioned into three for the Limerick fans, when we stood in the left side we were told to move on masse to the center (the event planner's idea), this despite no other Fingal fan being next or near us for the match. At one stage there was 6-8 Gardai milling around our supporters incase we kicked off (you know how us Limerick folk cause trouble everywhere we go and all), and the head steward kicked out a drunken Scottish tourist over with us for having the audacity of singing anti-Fingal songs (You're **** and We Hate Fingal). Tossers the lot of them

02/05/2008, 12:40 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? drogheda or bohs

The Worst Away day (game)? Cork

The Worst Match day Programme? UCD (usually)

The Worst Away Ground? Finn Harps

The Worst Away Food? eithr I'm too drunk to apprecite it, or too sober to try it

The Worst Away Pub? Horse shoe in Cork

The Worst Manager? was Cousins. not sure now

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club? dan murray. is jason mcGuinness sarting for Bohs? If so he's in there...

The Worst Ref? hancock

The worst team to lose to? Bohs

Worst Stewards? Longford. Thanks christ we don['t have to meet them this year

02/05/2008, 12:41 PM
I defy anyone to go to Morton Stadium as an away supporter and come away not wanting to burn the district of Fingal to the ground, the stewards there are genuinely ridiculous. They had an open section (thank god it didn't rain) sectioned into three for the Limerick fans, when we stood in the left side we were told to move on masse to the center (the event planner's idea), this despite no other Fingal fan being next or near us for the match. At one stage there was 6-8 Gardai milling around our supporters incase we kicked off (you know how us Limerick folk cause trouble everywhere we go and all), and the head steward kicked out a drunken Scottish tourist over with us for having the audacity of singing anti-Fingal songs (You're **** and We Hate Fingal). Tossers the lot of them

We got soaked when we were there on that open terrace. It took ten minutes to get in, having to queue for everyone to get a strip search.. It really was over the top.

CvilleRovers
02/05/2008, 12:44 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? UCD

The Worst Away day? UCD

The Worst Match day Programme? Dont buy them

The Worst Away Ground Finn Park

The Worst Away Food? Pats

The Worst Away Pub? Duno

The Worst Manager? Harps manager

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club: Senegalese drogheda striker

The Worst Ref? Kelly

The worst team to lose to? Bohs

Worst Stewards? Derry

02/05/2008, 12:49 PM
We got soaked when we were there on that open terrace. It took ten minutes to get in, having to queue for everyone to get a strip search.. It really was over the top.

I got there early (lads coming from Limerick, myself from Dublin), now when I say early it was 7 with a 7.45 kick off), was told I couldn't come in yet but to go to the home gate and they'll let me in there, so I walked down to it, said what I was told to the stewards on duty, got a look like I had just said I had a needle with AIDS infected blood in it, and was told to walk back to the away gate. On getting there I had to wait for another ten mins before being let in. Then after buying my ticket and walking on I got hauled back by the stewards to have my bag searched. Poor attitudes by all concerned in Fingal I feel, glad to see it wasn't just a Limerick thing though

Juanace
02/05/2008, 2:51 PM
Clearly any of ye saying UCD are the worst footballing team in the league have never seen em play. They are consistently the only team in the league to get the ball down and play.

Bohs, Rovers (especially), and the rest of ye (bar Cork / maybe Pats/Drogs on a rare occasion) play awful hack it forward football. I mean did anyone see the Rovers v Pats game last Sunday...it was one of the worst games of football i've ever seen - embarssing stuff.

UCD may not have many fans /the ground may be small, but the one thing they do is produce good football players..who then leave us for ur clubs and have their footballing mentality beaten out of them by managers who play 'anti-football' just to get a result.

Until the league starts using the advantage Summer Football by keeping the ball on the deck noone i gonna watch to dross that we see week in week out bar the usual hardcore fans.

Da Real Rover
05/05/2008, 1:16 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Galway

The Worst Away day (game)? UCD (I despise that away trip)

The Worst Match day Programme? Dont really get them so cant say

The Worst Away Ground? UCD (without a shadow of a doubt)

The Worst Away Food? Bray

The Worst Away Pub? No one sticks out in my mind

The Worst Manager? Sean Connor (what a spoofer)

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club? Thyame or Derek O'Brien

The Worst Ref? Duddy (hate him)

The worst team to lose to? Harps or Galway

Worst Stewards? Galway

05/05/2008, 4:11 PM
Clearly any of ye saying UCD are the worst footballing team in the league have never seen em play. They are consistently the only team in the league to get the ball down and play.
I think this is a general "Get this off my chest" thread. About 5% of what's been posted has made any real sense. 6%, now that I've posted this.

SwanVsDalton
05/05/2008, 5:55 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League?

The Worst Away day (game)? Bray

The Worst Match day Programme? UCD

The Worst Away Ground? Carlisle Grounds

The Worst Away Food? Drogheda

The Worst Away Pub? Haven't had many bad times in any pub tbh.

The Worst Manager? Pat Fenlon

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club - Thiam
The Worst Ref? McKeon

The worst team to lose to? Finn Harps

Worst Stewards? Bohs

sligored
05/05/2008, 6:40 PM
i am delighted that no-one has nominated any sligo rovers players as the worst player from a top 5 club
one person ( a sligo fan , take a bow the real rover)nominated derek o brien - not sure he understood the question.

05/05/2008, 6:54 PM
i am delighted that no-one has nominated any sligo rovers players as the worst player from a top 5 club
one person ( a sligo fan , take a bow the real rover)nominated derek o brien - not sure he understood the question.

I'd imagine most aren't actually counting you as a top 5 club, for whatever reason. Not saying that that is correct or what have you, but I'm sure most understood it to mean Cork, Derry, Pats, Bohs, Drogheda. I'm aware of our respective positions at this moment.

05/05/2008, 7:19 PM

When teh thread was started you werent in the top 5.

sligored
05/05/2008, 8:55 PM
I'd imagine most aren't actually counting you as a top 5 club, for whatever reason. Not saying that that is correct or what have you, but I'm sure most understood it to mean Cork, Derry, Pats, Bohs, Drogheda. I'm aware of our respective positions at this moment.

people might have to get used of sligo rovers being a top 5 side as the year goes on. a very good side has been assembled. this is setting us up for a fall on friday night at the cross but i hope ye will be impressed by cookies rovers

Da Real Rover
05/05/2008, 11:12 PM

Ohh please explain, I always get stumped on these kind of ones.

05/05/2008, 11:14 PM
Ohh please explain, I always get stumped on these kind of ones.O'Brien does not play for a top 5 club.

05/05/2008, 11:17 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Shams, Harps

The Worst Away day (game)? Drogheda

The Worst Away Ground? Finn Park, a disgrace to the LoI

The Worst Manager? Paul Hegarty, Jeff Kenna

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club(Dont know all the players from Harps etc)-Darren Mansaram, Glen Crowe

The Worst Ref? Buttimer

The worst team to lose to?Bohs

Worst Stewards? Harps, Bohs

Da Real Rover
05/05/2008, 11:20 PM
Either does any of the Cork players that have been mentioned.

05/05/2008, 11:28 PM
Either does any of the Cork players that have been mentioned.They were when the thread started.

05/05/2008, 11:46 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Rovers

The Worst Match day Programme? Sligo

The Worst Away Ground? When Rovers played, Hogan Park. Oriel Park otherwise

The Worst Away Pub? If it has alcohol and near the ground, who cares?:)

The Worst Manager? Doolin

The worst player for a top 5 club: Mooney/Vilmunen.

The Worst Ref? Connolly

The worst team to lose to? Pats

Worst Stewards? By an absolute landslide, Derry.

cesc
06/05/2008, 10:52 AM
how many people have said the worst manager is doolin! he is easily one of the best managers in the league

ramsfan
06/05/2008, 11:59 AM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Harps
The Worst Away day (game)? Used to be Waterford

The Worst Match day Programme? Cobh, upside program was best yet

The Worst Away Ground? rathbane or oriel park

The Worst Away Food? limerick as it was non existent

The Worst Manager? john gill

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club(Dont know all the players from Harps etc)-clive delaney or dan the donkey murray

The Worst Ref? Kneil doyle by a mile

The worst team to lose to? cork city

Worst Stewards? dundalk, did nothing for away support,

adamcarr
06/05/2008, 12:17 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Drogheda

The Worst Away Ground? United Park

The Worst Manager? Alan Matthews

The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club(Dont know all the players from Harps etc)- Thiam

The Worst Ref? Buttimer

The worst team to lose to? Pats

Worst Stewards? Derry

mrtndvn
06/05/2008, 5:12 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Bohs

The Worst Away day (game)? Cobh

The Worst Match day Programme? Galway
The Worst Away Ground? harps

The Worst Away Food? Harps

The Worst Away Pub? Dont know

The Worst Manager? the one manager I wouldnt want is Fenlon.

The Worst Player starting for a top 6 club(Dont know all the players from Harps etc)- Bobby Ryan maybe, Martyn as well.

The Worst Ref? Its really hard to know who is the worst

The worst team to lose to? Pat Fenlon

biscuit
06/05/2008, 5:24 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? Harps
The Worst Away day (game)? UCD
The Worst Match day Programme? Dunno
The Worst Away Ground? Finn Park

The Worst Away Pub? Fagans

The Worst Manager? Fenlon
The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club(Dont know all the players from Harps etc)- Delaney ? Thiane
The Worst Ref? Kelly without a doubt

The worst team to lose to? Galway / Bohs

Worst Stewards? Bohs

06/05/2008, 9:07 PM
The Worst Footballing team in the League? athlone town
The Worst Away day (game)? UCD
The Worst Match day Programme? ucd
The Worst Away Ground? belfield havent being in superbowl yet

The Worst Away Food? bohs

The Worst Away Pub? doesnt apply

The Worst Manager? doolin he never stops whingin!
The Worst Player starting for a top 5 clubThiane
The Worst Ref? Kelly without a doubt

The worst team to lose to? athlone town

Worst Stewards? our own after sat night. see our thread for more details! sligoman knows what Im talkin about!

06/05/2008, 9:36 PM
Damn temptation...

The Worst Footballing team in the League? Anyone playing on the Bowl surface
The Worst Away day (game)? To be different, Pat's. Awkward to get to (though less so with the LUAS), expensive, an awful lot of little scumbags knocking around and it involves watching a Pat's-UCD game
The Worst Match day Programme? Too many have gloss but no content. Bray, Longford and Galway spring to mind. Rovers maybe deserve a dishonourable mention for charging €4
The Worst Away Ground? They do all have their charms in one way or another, but it's hard not to come back to United Park. If you know what I mean. Although I do like the terracing.
The Worst Away Food? Meh. Overpriced and standardised. Don't think there's any real difference here.
The Worst Away Pub? The Atmospheric Bar in Bray. Although given the country we're in, there's always a good one if you look for a short while. The Porter House in Bray more than makes amends.
The Worst Manager? Doolin :)
The Worst Player starting for a top 5 club(Dont know all the players from Harps etc)-That African Drogheda lad by a country mile.
The Worst Ref? No idea, to be honest.
The worst team to lose to? Anyone, especially if they're below us
Worst Stewards? Bray, by about the same distance Thiam won Worst Player