View Full Version : The Best Thread.....

Rovers Maniac
01/05/2008, 8:29 AM
Hi i was just wondering what is fans opinions on the following

The Best Footballing team in the League?

The Best Away day (game)?

The Best Match day Programme?

The Best Away Ground?

The best Away Food?

The Best Away Pub?

The Best Manager?

The Best Player?

The Best Young Player?

The Best Ref?

The team you feel gets the best results against you?
(The Jammy Fe**ers who your team are jinked against)

The best team to beat?

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe?
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ?
(Prem ok in this and last questions)

Best Player in the world?

Best team in the world?

Please state your team and note you most exclude your own team from your answer i.e. Other teams only. Please feel free to move this if it is in the wrong place.

Note this is for the Irish Premier league so no anwers in regards to the English Premier league except in the final 3.

01/05/2008, 8:47 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Cork maybe Pats.

The Best Away day (game)? Shamrock Rovers, always good atmosphere and usually good craci with the majority of fans.

The Best Match day Programme? Harps, Corks is impressive too.

The Best Away Ground? Dundalk the Lilywhite lounge is a great spot

The best Away Food? Shels or Monaghan for the Mon dogs.

The Best Away Pub? Kilkenny Matt the Millers great memories there :D

The Best Manager? Roddy Collins :rolleyes: Prob Mahon at UCD for the constant re-building he has to do.

The Best Player? At the minute id have to say Fahey

The Best Young Player? Guthrie at Cobh is class but ill go for Coleman at Sligo

The Best Ref? have to find a decent ref first.

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Take a wild guess grrrrr

The best team to beat? As above and in case you live in a hole and don't know who im talking about, I mean Derry

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Derby County (revenge :D)
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? La Liga far better technical football rather than the defensive bull in the prem.

Best Player in the world? Lionel Messi

Best team in the world? Accrington Stanley

Rovers Maniac
01/05/2008, 8:50 AM
You can't state your own team in anything but i agree Harps Programme is the best.

Rovers Maniac
01/05/2008, 9:00 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Pats

The Best Away day (game)? Bohs

The Best Match day Programme? Harps

The Best Away Ground? Dalymount

The best Away Food? Mons

The Best Away Pub? McDowells

The Best Manager? Mahon at UCD

The Best Player? Heary or McCourt

The Best Young Player? JP Kelly

The Best Ref? Alan Kelly in the whole is decent

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Shels and Derry Away

The best team to beat? Shams, Bohs, Harps, Derry, Galway

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Real Madrid or Man U
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? Premier league, great passion and have a look who is the champs league Final this year !

Best team in the world? Man U or Chelsea

don ramo
01/05/2008, 9:32 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? pats

The Best Away day (game)? city

The Best Match day Programme? derry

The Best Away Ground? the x

The best Away Food? drogs

The Best Away Pub? sligo

The Best Manager? stephen kenny

The Best Player? fahey

The Best Young Player? gutrie

The Best Ref? kelly :D my siht none

The team you feel gets the best results against you? wexford

The best team to beat? city

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? liverpool cause i know we'd beat them as there siht
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? la liga

Best Player in the world? c ronaldo

Best team in the world? barca

01/05/2008, 9:38 AM
Hi i was just wondering what is fans opinions on the following

The Best Footballing team in the League? Pat's

The Best Away day (game)?Derry

The Best Match day Programme? Dont Buy em

The Best Away Ground?Turners x

The best Away Food?Eating's Cheating

The Best Away Pub?Peadar O'Donnell's (Derry)

The Best Manager?Nutsy

The Best Player? Fahey (pats)

The Best Young Player? Joxer Kelly

The Best Ref?None they're all muck

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Sligo

The best team to beat?Rovers of course

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Liverpool
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? eL

Best Player in the world?Messi

Best team in the world?any of the top clubs in europe can beat each other on any given day so cant pick one

Please state your team and note you most exclude your own team from your answer i.e. Other teams only. Please feel free to move this if it is in the wrong place.

Note this is for the Irish Premier league so no anwers in regards to the English Premier league except in the final 3.

Team: Bohs

BrayUnknowns
01/05/2008, 9:47 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? St Pats

The Best Away day (game)? Galway, normally make a weekend out of it

The Best Match day Programme? Our new one is defo up there, Cork's is good as well

The Best Away Ground? Turners Cross

The best Away Food? Burdocks in Dalyer

The Best Manager? Pete Mahon

The Best Player? Keith Fahey

The Best Young Player? Paddy Kavanagh

The Best Ref? :D

The team you feel gets the best results against you? UCD

The best team to beat? Bohs or Rovers

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Barcelona or Man Utd

Best league in the world ? For quality La Liga, for entertainment Premiership

Best Player in the world? C. Ronaldo / L. Messi

Best team in the world? At present, possibly Man Utd?

CameramanConka
01/05/2008, 10:02 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Pats maybe

The Best Away day (game)? Sligo

The Best Match day Programme? Pats

The Best Away Ground? Cork

The best Away Food? Only have tried Sligos this year.

The Best Away Pub? For Setanta games -McNallys on the Glenshane Pass.
The Best Manager? Doolin

The Best Player? Fahy

The Best Young Player? Is Galway's O'Brien still young?

The Best Ref? Alan Kelly.

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Bray and Drogs

The best team to beat? Used to be Shels. Fed up beating Harps. So Bohs and Rovers.

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Manchester United
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? League Of Gentlemen

Best Player in the world? Cristiano Ronaldo

Best team in the world? The hard working, well drilled and disiplined MNS team. Although match fitness is a major worry for some of us! ;)

01/05/2008, 10:16 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League?At the moment Pats

The Best Away day (game)? Bohs (Big hopes for my first trip to Derry though)

The Best Match day Programme? Pats probably. Il see the Derry and Harps ones later in the year

The best Away Food? Dont risk it anymore

The Best Away Pub?

The Best Manager? Scully

The Best Player? Fahey

The Best Young Player? Quigley(if he counts) Coleman if not

The Best Ref? N/A

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Bray

The best team to beat? Id say Drogs if I remembered what it was like. Il go with Bohs

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Lowest seed. Cliftonville in round one, Queen of south in round 2 lowest seed in round 3
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? La Liga

Best Player in the world? Messi

Best team in the world? Cant speak for the whoel world but manchester United are the best team in Europe at the moment

WoodquayBoy
01/05/2008, 10:22 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Cork

The Best Away day (game)?Sligo

The Best Match day Programme?Shams

The Best Away Ground?The X

The best Away Food?Burdocks at Tolka Park

The Best Away Pub? NA

The Best Manager? Kenny

The Best Player? Paddy McCourt

The Best Young Player? Seamus Coleman

The Best Ref? You're kidding, right?

(The Jammy Fe**ers who your team are jinked against) Bray

The best team to beat? Sligo

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Not that we'll get there in a while but Man Utd
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? Serie A

Best team in the world? River Plate (Argentina

Galway United

01/05/2008, 10:25 AM
First Division standpoint so some answers don't go with the Prem, most do though

The Best Footballing team in the League? Cork from what i've seen on TV

The Best Away day (game)? Always liked Cobh to be honest

The Best Match day Programme? Don't buy them

The Best Away Ground? Turners Cross

The best Away Food? Don't know

The Best Away Pub? Cobh

The Best Manager? Mahon at UCD does seem to be doing a good job

The Best Player? Quite like Joe Gamble

The Best Young Player? Guthrie at Cobh seems to be one for the future

The Best Ref? Is there even a good one?

(The Jammy Fe**ers who your team are jinked against) Cobh, still can't understand how a team so poor won the league last year :)

The best team to beat? In the First Division at the moment it would be Dundalk

(Dream tie) Real Madrid for history's sake

(Prem ok in this and last questions) La Liga

Best team in the world? Arsenal

Limerick Super Blue Jayhawks fan

01/05/2008, 11:05 AM
Team: Dundalk FC

The Best Footballing team in the League? Cork City

The Best Away day (game)? Finn Harps

The Best Match day Programme? Dundalk FC (our one really is the best though)

The Best Away Ground? Dalymount Park

The best Away Food? Monaghan Utd (Mon Dogs!)

The Best Away Pub? Kildare County

The Best Manager? Stephen Kenny

The Best Player? Pat McCourt

The Best Young Player? Shaun Williams

The Best Ref? Alan Kelly

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Monaghan Utd

The best team to beat? Drogheda Utd

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Manchester Utd

Les Fluer
01/05/2008, 11:51 AM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Derry

The Best Away day (game)? SPA

The Best Match day Programme? Shams

The Best Away Ground? Bohs

The best Away Food? None of them

The Best Away Pub? McDowells

The Best Manager? Pete Mahon given his limited resources etc.

The Best Player? Pains me to say it - Shane Robinson

The Best Young Player?

The Best Ref? Hahaha

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Drogs

The best team to beat? Shels

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Barcelona

Best league in the world ? La Liga for style

Best Player in the world? Lio Messi

Best team in the world? Man Utd at the moment

01/05/2008, 12:01 PM
Cork City
Athlone(obvious reasons)
The Best Match day Programme?
Pats
The Best Away Ground?
Turners Cross
The best Away Food?
Kildares Hot Dogs
The Best Away Pub?
Night Life, in Ballybofey
The Best Manager?
Kenny
The Best Player?
Gamble
The Best Young Player?
Coleman
The Best Ref?
Alan Kelly
Wexford
The best team to beat?
City
(Dream tie)
Man Utd
Premier League in Eng-er-land
Messi
Best team in the world?
Man Utd

prince20
01/05/2008, 12:09 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League?Bohs

The Best Away day (game)?Harps..always a great atmosphere

The Best Match day Programme?dundalk

The Best Away Ground?Terryland...pricey though

The best Away Food?

The Best Away Pub?dundalk

The Best Manager?kenny

The Best Player?mccourt(fair play to roddy!!)

The Best Young Player?shaun williams

The Best Ref?dave mckeon

The team you feel gets the best results against you?kildare

The best team to beat?galway....kick them when they are down

(Dream tie)celtic...id have a short trip to the away leg!!!!!!

Best league in the world ?La Liga

Best Player in the world?messi

Best team in the world?man utd

Note this is for the Irish Premier league so no anwers in regards to the English Premier league except in the final 3.[/quote]

01/05/2008, 12:10 PM
Team: UCD

The Best Match day Programme? Rarely buy them but Dundalk's was very good last year

The best Away Food? Dino's in Cork, never buy food in grounds unless I'm really stuck

The Best Away Pub? The Section O pub in Longford, forget the name

The Best Young Player that doesn't play for us? Barry Murphy

The Best Ref? No idea

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Cobh
(The Jammy Fe**ers who your team are jinxed against)

The best team to beat? Rovers

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Juventus
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world? Best teams: England, best to go to: Germany I'd say

Best team in the world? Italy

01/05/2008, 12:22 PM
Team: Sligo Rovers

The Best Footballing team in the League? Cork, on their day.

The Best Away day (game)? Harps, Drogheda.

The Best Match day Programme? Don't buy many

The Best Away Ground? Drogheda[Terrible ground but I like the shed we're put in]

The best Away Food? Harps

The Best Away Pub? John Joe's, Longford.

The Best Player? Paddy McCourt when on form[Don't see it a lot though]

The Best Young Player? Conor Powell

The Best Ref? :D

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Derry/UCD

The best team to beat? Harps

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Valencia

Best Player in the world? Ian Wexler

Best team in the world? Longford Town

Rocky77
01/05/2008, 12:29 PM

hhhmm...

01/05/2008, 12:30 PM
hhhmm...Maybe MNS could do a piece on him? Follow up as to what he's doing now kind of thing:D.

01/05/2008, 12:32 PM
I support Derry.

Cork City

Finn Harps

The Best Away Ground?
Dalymount (tho never been to TC)

The Best Manager?
Scully

The Best Player?
Sorry, but it really is Pat Mc Court

The Best Young Player?
Coleman

Used to be Longford, maybe Drogheda, barring most recent resut.

The best team to beat?
Shelbourne

(Dream tie)
Arsenal

La Liga

Messi

Best team in the world?
Man U

Rocky77
01/05/2008, 12:34 PM
Maybe MNS could do a piece on him? Follow up as to what he's doing now kind of thing:D.

I'm sure you'd prefer to imagine what he's up to know. The truth might disappoint you ;)

JC_GUFC
01/05/2008, 12:41 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Pat's

The Best Match day Programme? Dundalk

The best Away Food? Burdocks in Dalymount

The Best Away Pub? McDowell's

The Best Manager? Scully

The Best Player? FAhey

The Best Young Player? Coleman

The Best Ref? Conor Fitzgerald

(The Jammy Fe**ers who your team are jinked against) Cork

The best team to beat? Sligo

(Dream tie) Qaysar Qizilorda

(Prem ok in this and last questions) France Ligue 2 for the attacking mentality of the away teams.

Best Player in the world? Kaka

Best team in the world? Forres Mechanics

01/05/2008, 1:25 PM
Team: Waterford United

The Best Away day (game)? Prolly Cork for us

The Best Match day Programme? Cork City

The Best Away Ground? I've always liked Inchicore

The best Away Food? Despite one fellow Blues fan's obsession with the chicken soup at Bray, by the looks of things the Wexford Youths place might be very good - if I get to the ground in time next time

The Best Away Pub? McDowells for Pats

The Best Manager? Pete Mahon

The Best Young Player Joxer Kelly, Bohs, when last I was watching

The Best Ref? Rico

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Longford Town

The best team to beat? Rovers

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Albinoleffe!
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world? Argentinian

Best team in the world? Otago United FC

placid casual
01/05/2008, 1:56 PM

The Best Away day (game)? Galway

The Best Match day Programme? other than rovers?? none.

The Best Away Ground? turners cross

The best Away Food? food and football dont mix. like sex and sand

The Best Away Pub? pub in galway(cannot remember the name,beside train station)

The Best Player? pat mccourt

The Best Young Player?

The Best Ref? you've got to be kidding me.

Evening Herald

The best team to beat? the champions any year,so drogs at the moment

liverpool,just so we can sing about the 39 lost souls that were snuffed out by the cowardly scousers at anfield

la liga

Best Player in the world? lionel messi

Best team in the world? man utd

Joey Killester
01/05/2008, 1:59 PM

The Best Away day (game)? Derry/Cork

The Best Match day Programme? Dont buy them

The Best Away Ground? Drogheda

The best Away Food? Dont buy food in grounds

The Best Away Pub? Derry

The Best Manager? Doolin

The Best Player? Fahey

The Best Ref? N/A

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Derry

The best team to beat? Bohs

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Celtic
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? Serie A!

Best Player in the world? Kaka

Best team in the world? Man Utd

finnpark
01/05/2008, 2:13 PM
[QUOTE=Sam_Heggy;933188]The Best Footballing team in the League? Finn Harps

The Best Away day (game)? UCD

The Best Match day Programme? Finn Harps, Corks is impressive too.

The Best Away Ground? Limerick 37s

The best Away Food? Fish in Bray

The Best Away Pub? UCD

The Best Manager? Paul hegarty

The Best Player? Shiels

The Best Young Player? Williams

The Best Ref? they are all equally poor

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Derby County

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Skonta Riga

Best league in the world ? Brazilian

Best Player in the world? Chris Turner

Best team in the world? Viking

hedderman
01/05/2008, 2:24 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League? St. Pats

The Best Match day Programme? St. Pats

The best Away Food? Don't eat in grounds

The Best Away Pub? The Patriot Inn, Inchicore

The Best Manager? Pat Scully

The Best Ref? Alan Kelly

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Bray

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Paris Saint Germain (or any French team)
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? The Premiership

Best Player in the world? Ronaldo

My team: Derry City

01/05/2008, 2:37 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League? St. Pats

The Best Away day (game)? There all good. Shels is enjoyable

The Best Match day Programme? St. Pats

The Best Away Ground? Probably Turners Cross

The best Away Food? Finn HarpsThe Best Away Pub? The pub next door to Harps where I got the Best Food. Molloy's I think it's called.

The Best Manager? Paul Cook

The Best Ref? Anthony Buttimer

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Wexford

The best team to beat? Cork City

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Man Utd
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world? English Premiership

CameramanConka
01/05/2008, 2:39 PM
[quote=finnpark;933510]The Best Footballing team in the League? Finn Harps

The Best Match day Programme? Finn Harps,

The Best Manager? Paul hegarty

The Best Player? Shiels

The Best Young Player? Williams

Hellllooooooooo

kingofkillteely
01/05/2008, 3:47 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League? pats

The Best Away day (game)? Longford

The Best Match day Programme? St Pats.

The Best Away Ground?

The best Away Food? drogs

The Best Away Pub? Cork

The Best Player? George O Callaghan

The Best Young Player? Tracy

The Best Ref? Kelly

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Dundalk

The best team to beat? Cobh

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Real Madrid AGAIN!
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? la liga

Best Player in the world? messi

Best team in the world? Real/Man u

deecay
01/05/2008, 3:53 PM

The Best Away day (game)? Drogs,Harps

The Best Match day Programme? Harps/Shams

The Best Away Food? Longford

The Best Away Pub? John Joes,Longford

The Best Manager? Cookie

The Best Player? Fahey/Rice

The Best Ref? They are all a disgrace

The team you feel gets the best results against you? UCD

The best team to beat? Shams

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Eintracht Frankfurt/Barca
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? La Liga,Premierships a joke

Best team in the world? Section O 6 a-side

forza rovers
01/05/2008, 4:52 PM
he Best Footballing team in the League? Pats.

The Best Away day (game)? Shamrock Rovers,hen we knocked them out of the cup

The Best Match day Programme? derry/pats

The Best Away Ground?terryland

The best Away Food? Monaghan for the Mon dogs/harps

The Best Away Pub?

The Best Manager? cook

The Best Player? A Fahey

The Best Young Player? Coleman

The Best Ref? :eek:

The team you feel gets the best results against you? derry

The best team to beat? galway/harps

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? barca

Best team in the world? Accrington Stanley:Dwho are they:D

01/05/2008, 5:00 PM
Team: UCD

The Best Match day Programme? Dundalk, undoubetly

The best Away Food? Dino's in Cork

The Best Away Pub? Mooney's in Sligo

The Best Ref? McKeon

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Cork

The best team to beat? Drogheda

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Barcelona
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world? Premiership has better teams, but La Liga better football

Best team in the world? Barcelona

Kildare Lad
01/05/2008, 5:02 PM

The Best Away day (game)? Was Kilkenny

The Best Match day Programme? Pats was good this year

The Best Away Ground? That I was in, Dalymount

The best Away Food? Dalymount or Tolka

The Best Away Pub? :confused:

The Best Young Player?

The Best Ref?

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Limerick or Monaghan

The best team to beat? Dundalk

(Dream tie)

Best team in the world? Barcelona

And I support Kildare County

Aaron
01/05/2008, 10:20 PM
Team: Derry City

The Best Footballing team in the League? St Pat's

The Best Away day (game)? Harps

The Best Match day Programme? Harps

The Best Away Ground? Tolka Park

The best Away Food? Dont eat at away grounds

The Best Away Pub? Dont drink

The Best Ref? Alan Kelly (Best of bad bunch)

The team you feel gets the best results against you? Drogheda

The best team to beat? Finn Harps

(Dream tie)

Best team in the world? Real Madrid

Flume
01/05/2008, 11:04 PM
Team: S.P.A

The Best Footballing team in the League? Sorry...St Pat's

The Best Away day (game)? Cork

The Best Match day Programme? Drogheda

The Best Away Ground? Tolka Park

The best Away Food? Dont eat at away grounds

The Best Away Pub? Turners cross tavern

The Best Player? Sorry but its Keith Fahey

The Best Young Player? Shaun Williams

The Best Ref? They are all diabolical

The team you feel gets the best results against you? No one as of late...

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Man Utd(Dream tie)

Best Player in the world? Thierry Henry

01/05/2008, 11:11 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Cork City or Pats

The Best Away day (game)? Bohs (Dalyer)

The Best Match day Programme? City, Galway

The Best Away Ground? Dalyer

The best Away Food? None

The Best Away Pub? Pub In Dalyer, The Anvil Longford

The Best Manager? Rico, Stephen Kenny

The Best Player? Tough one, Killian Brennan, Paddy McCourt, Joe Gamble

The Best Young Player? David Meyler

The Best Ref? You've got to be kidding here right?

If i had to pick one it would be Cobh, we used to have alot of boogie teams, none now though. Cobh do get poxy results against us

The best team to beat? Shels when they were top flight, hasn't been a team since. Pat is our next game so Pats.

(Dream tie)

Easier one in the group, who ever it is, every time. Its all about the next round, nothing else

Spanish, without doubt

Best Player in the world? The player everyone wanted to play like when they played, Messi

Best team in the world?

Sao Paulo FC

02/05/2008, 1:38 AM
lads no matter how strong ye feel on it stop putting your own team in, it kills the hole point.

KevB76
02/05/2008, 12:13 PM
The Best Footballing team in the League? Shelbourne (1st div.)

The Best Away day (game)? Athlone !

The Best Match day Programme? Dundalk

The Best Away Ground? Athlone

The best Away Food? None stand out

The Best Away Pub? The pub near Athlones new ground, dont know what its called.

The Best Manager?
The Best Player?
The Best Young Player?
My ignorance of other teams players is shocking :o

The Best Ref? Rob Rogers

Used to be Kilkenny, now i'd say Monaghan

The best team to beat? Shelbourne

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Real Madrid
(Dream tie)

Best league in the world ? EPL

Best team in the world? Tough one, none really stands out over the others at the mo, I'll go with Chelsea

CvilleRovers
02/05/2008, 12:52 PM

The Best Match day Programme? Dont get them

The Best Away Ground? Dalyer

The best Away Food? Duno

The Best Away Pub? Duno

The Best Manager? Kenny

The Best Player? Currently fahy

The Best Young Player? Owen Morrison

The Best Ref? All ****e

Pats

Best Team you would like to draw in Europe? Rangers

Best team in the world? Celtic

02/05/2008, 2:30 PM
The Best Young Player? Owen Morrison

He's 26