View Full Version : Our Fans in a Nutshell:
30/04/2008, 12:35 PM
This will probably start a row I've no intention of continuing with but here goes anyway:
Last night there was two groups of Limerick fans at the game, one in the Derrynane and one in the St. Annes.
Mid way through the first half Ross Cosgrove made an absolutely ludicrous dive on the edge of the city area and was rightly booked for it.
The lads in the St. Annes told Rossi in no uncertain terms to cop himself on.
The lads in the Derrynane abused the ref.
Discuss....
30/04/2008, 12:39 PM
Same lads abusing the ref the same as the ones who sing the Umpa Lumpa song at 6'4 Nazi poster boy refs?
I'd leave the young fellas away with it to be honest, we were all like that at some stage, the older section should have watched enough games by now to have more cop on though in fairness
30/04/2008, 12:46 PM
No this is a fan in a nutshell:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKMK3XGO27k sorry lads couldnt resist
30/04/2008, 12:49 PM
Same lads abusing the ref the same as the ones who sing the Umpa Lumpa song at 6'4 Nazi poster boy refs?
The very same.
That along with the Birdie Song are both ruined classics :mad: :)
I'd leave the young fellas away with it to be honest, we were all like that at some stage, the older section should have watched enough games by now to have more cop on though in fairness
Fair Comment. :ball:
Monkfish
30/04/2008, 1:28 PM
Its just the partizan nature of your average hardcore Ultra. We cant all join the scarf swapping LWC you know! :)
30/04/2008, 1:43 PM
Its just the partizan nature of your average hardcore Ultra.
:D :D
We cant all join the scarf swapping LWC you know!
And it eats you up inside :p
KevB76
30/04/2008, 4:35 PM
Our fans in a nutshell:
About 20 Limerick fans present, yet they still managed to divide into two groups.
Monkfish
30/04/2008, 5:20 PM
Our fans in a nutshell:
About 20 Limerick fans present, yet they still managed to divide into two groups.
Same last week, some were in Newbridge and others in Galway.
KevB76
30/04/2008, 5:38 PM
:o :D :D
01/05/2008, 9:58 AM
ZING!!! :D :p :)
GenerationXI
05/05/2008, 11:54 AM
well this didn'e exactly spark the great debate for which you were hoping did it?
Monkfish
05/05/2008, 6:53 PM
well this didn'e exactly spark the great debate for which you were hoping did it?
He wanted an arguement and he aint getting it. We are just too mellow lately.
09/05/2008, 10:30 AM
We are just too mellow lately.
Hardly proper Limerick fans at all. :)
Monkfish
09/05/2008, 11:54 AM
Hardly proper Limerick fans at all. :)
Il have to get the Slipknot cd's back in the sterio, this James Blunt fella has us all bored to tears at this stage.
09/05/2008, 11:56 AM
Il have to get the Slipknot cd's back in the sterio, this James Blunt fella has us all bored to tears at this stage.
Now that'll offend Jebus back into action for sure. :D
Monkfish
09/05/2008, 12:01 PM
Now that'll offend Jebus back into action for sure. :D
'Action Jackson' will only see action when his misses clicks her fingers. :p
09/05/2008, 12:06 PM
'Action Jackson' will only see action when his misses clicks her fingers. :p
*Click* I'll be there tonight to accept my invitation for lunch with the Queen at Balmoral alright lads. As for the James Blunt/Slipknot debate.....eh? :)
Monkfish
09/05/2008, 12:09 PM
As for the James Blunt/Slipknot debate.....eh? :)
I had a cd of each in my car some time back, for research purposes of course. :cool:
09/05/2008, 12:10 PM
I had a cd of each in my car some time back, for research purposes of course. :cool:
So did you find out if you were gay or just obnoxious?
09/05/2008, 12:26 PM
And to stoke the fires a little once more I don't see the point in watching the game with people who abuse the ref because Ross Cosgrove dives badly right in front of the man. What was he supposed to do. Give Ross a wink and ignore it?
Or who fail to understand that the Birdie Song was to be saved for the last few minutes of games when you're one goal up.
Or who sing 'get into them, they're easy' when we're being outclassed.
Or who persist what that 'you're sit aaaaaaaaaggggghhh' when the opposition goalkeeper kicks the ball out.
Or who had a love in with Paul McGee last year when every dog in the street knew that the man was simply waiting for the ship to start sinking before he did his rat routine.
Or who barracked Kevin Waters, a player who always gave 100% in a Limerick shirt, in the RSC.
I don't think I'm a better fan than those people, I don't think they're a better fan than me. We support the same club and I'm glad that they're there. But if there are two groups of support there that's because there are two distinct groups of people there. It's hardly the end of the world either way. Most clubs with any kind of support tend to experience a schism of sorts anyway, if anything this proves that we've moved to the next level.
09/05/2008, 12:27 PM
Why can't he be both? :D
09/05/2008, 12:29 PM
:DAsk him (http://www.channel4.com/life/microsites/G/gayometer/index.html)
Monkfish
09/05/2008, 3:54 PM
............and why would the answer to that interest you? hmmmm highly suspect! :eek:
Lads the criticism of Manjor is getting a bit much at this stage. Fair enough the guy is limited but what's the point in criticising the guy for not being able to win the ball in the air against a defender a good half a foot taller than himself? It's not Manjor's fault we insisted on pumping balls solely to him when he came on last night it was Kerleys
10/05/2008, 2:38 PM
Lads the criticism of Manjor is getting a bit much at this stage.
The criticism of one of your own players for anything other than lack of effort is excessive in my less than humble opinion.
L37Ultra
10/05/2008, 3:36 PM
Lads the criticism of Manjor is getting a bit much at this stage. Fair enough the guy is limited but what's the point in criticising the guy for not being able to win the ball in the air against a defender a good half a foot taller than himself? It's not Manjor's fault we insisted on pumping balls solely to him when he came on last night it was Kerleys
Spot on there. Very cringe worthy everytime someone roared abuse at him last night. He didn't even have a poor game when he came on, I think. We cant be choosers at this stage so why abuse the players we do have. Can't be good for his confidence.
KevB76
10/05/2008, 5:12 PM
And to stoke the fires a little once more....... moved to the next level.
As the man said, this is a row I've no intention of continuing with but here goes anyway:
...if there are two groups of support there that's because there are two distinct groups of people there.
I completely disagree with this. As you said yourself some time ago, our fans are a rag tag bunch. To assume we all fall neatly into one of two categories is just plain wrong, nothing is that simple or black & white.
Anyone who regularly reads foot.ie would have figured out by now that I have a lot of respect for referees, and I certainly dont partake in any abuse of officials. To suggest that I did is almost as offensive as to assume that I would chose to go a Galway match over a Limerick one.
I was in the same section/stand as the lads who gave the ref some stick. As well as myself, there were at least three others in that section who likewise were not involved in abuse of the ref or chants that some consider embarrassing. That’s over a third of the group – not so distinct after all, is it?
Now why was I with this group? – the logistics of it are quite simple. When myself and my friend arrived, there were 4 fans already there – so naturally enough we joined them. Its an easy decision to make, especially when one is unencumbered with some sort of superiority complex or judgmental attitude towards fellow supporters.
Had I arrived later on, I wouldn’t have joined this group – not for the same reasons as yourself, but simply because I have gotten to know some of the people in “the other group” so again its only natural I would hang around with those who I know a little better.
I have no interest in taking sides, or becoming a part of any infantile cliques or such like, I’m too old for all that ****e. I may agree or disagree with various points you’ve made, but I’m not going to engage in slagging off fellow supporters (apart from this once off never to be repeated rant).
I don't think I'm a better fan than those people
You say this, and I don’t doubt you mean it in all earnestness, but that’s not how you come across. No offence intended, thats just an honest observation :)
One last thing, this whole topic of discussion was never going to work on here because as far as I am aware, none of the group of lads you are singling out are on foot.ie, so you're not going to get a balanced argument (although I think I saw one of their names in the "welcome our newest member" thing last weekend - no posts yet though.
Monkfish
10/05/2008, 6:52 PM
(although I think I saw one of their names in the "welcome our newest member" thing last weekend - no posts yet though.
He's too busy trying to get past round 1 of 'are you smarter than a 10 year old' :)
12/05/2008, 9:29 AM
Its an easy decision to make, especially when one is unencumbered with some sort of superiority complex or judgmental attitude towards fellow supporters.
Had I arrived later on, I wouldn’t have joined this group – not for the same reasons as yourself, but simply because I have gotten to know some of the people in “the other group” so again its only natural I would hang around with those who I know a little better.
Well there's my point, I find certain actions by some of that group sort of embarrassing and have no interest in being affiliated with them. If that offends anybody's (not necessarily yours) dream of a utopian support group I really don't care. The whole notion that we should all have to stand together to show our support is nonsense in my opinion and there shouldn't be anything said about it. It shouldn't matter to anybody at all where I stand to watch a game.
You say this, and I don’t doubt you mean it in all earnestness, but that’s not how you come across. No offence intended, thats just an honest observation :)
And once more, no offence intended, I really don't care. Not even a little bit. If people want to think that I have a superiority complex or a low tolerance for acts of gross stupidity they're more than welcome to believe what they like. I will lose no sleep over it. :)
One last thing, this whole topic of discussion was never going to work on here because as far as I am aware, none of the group of lads you are singling out are on foot.ie, so you're not going to get a balanced argument (although I think I saw one of their names in the "welcome our newest member" thing last weekend - no posts yet though.
I didn't start the discussion, indeed I'm not the person who lamented the existence of two groups.