View Full Version : Stewarding in LOI

28/04/2008, 5:32 PM
We had an issue at the weekend (its highlighted in the weekend latest thread). Our stewarding is a joke at present but, I have seen other clubs with similar stewarding.
Our stewards are volunteers and its hard to lay blame on them, our fans have been calling for a professional company to be brought in, at least for the bigger travelling support.
How do other clubs work? Are they paying professional companies or is it again on a volunteer basis?

Dazzy
28/04/2008, 5:35 PM
I quite like the level of stewarding in Finn Park, most professional firms are a bit mad with power in Cork, Bohs, etc.

28/04/2008, 5:43 PM
UCD have a professional company. Same company is used by a few other Dublin clubs. Most grounds that I've been to that have volunteers have been a joke.

28/04/2008, 5:44 PM
We've volunteers and professional security. The security are a joke really and not worth the money the company charges, there's a lack of stewards which means it's a bit crap too.

28/04/2008, 5:47 PM
Ours are shocking...and their 'professionals'

iceman
28/04/2008, 5:54 PM
Yeah , they were pretty bad on Friday night in the away section , it took the Garda sergeant to get them to open up another section to accomodate the Drogs supporters despite three sections on the St Annes side being blocked off.

LeixlipRed
28/04/2008, 5:56 PM
I think some of our stewards are paid but we have a bunch of volunteers as well. No hired goons though in a long time. Bohs title game 2006 was the last time we had those ***** iirc

don ramo
28/04/2008, 7:09 PM
we use the same company as cork city for big games, there useless, there have been a lot of seats broken in our new stand while the stewarts look on like fookin dopes,
any damage or fines for flares should be charged to these companies as they are gettin payed to ensure this doeant happen,
why should a club pay a fine and pay for security,

28/04/2008, 7:13 PM
I quite like the level of stewarding in Finn Park, most professional firms are a bit mad with power in Cork, Bohs, etc.
I've always found the Bohs stewards to be pretty good. I've never had any hassle off them and they've been quick to step in when some gob****e starts throwing **** at the away support on a couple of occasions.

I've nothing but contempt for the Sligo stewards, who are useless (one seemed to actually be retarded - in the medical sense), and I've heard no end of stories about the Cork stewards being heavy handed or useless.

Dazzy
28/04/2008, 7:16 PM
I've always found the Bohs stewards to be pretty good. I've never had any hassle off them and they've been quick to step in when some gob****e starts throwing **** at the away support on a couple of occasions.

Different supports will have a different view of security in each ground.

28/04/2008, 7:21 PM
Bray have private security. Most of the lads are local youngsters just doing it for the money though and, being honest, they're not that dedicated.

28/04/2008, 7:26 PM
Different supports will have a different view of security in each ground.
Sure they will. It depends on how you behave, and how your fellow away fans behave, and how the home fans behave (which will be different if there's rivalry or something). Still, someone spoke ill of them, and it's not my experience, so it's worth pointing out that some of us rate them.

Anyway, on to a fun anecdote. Playing Kilkenny in our brief visit to the first division, the UCD fans (who for perhaps the first time ever may have outnumbered the home support), were approached by the stewards. "Lads, would ye put the tins in the bin on your way out." Best. Stewards. Ever.

28/04/2008, 7:40 PM
we use the same company as cork city for big games, there useless, there have been a lot of seats broken in our new stand while the stewarts look on like fookin dopes,
any damage or fines for flares should be charged to these companies as they are gettin payed to ensure this doeant happen,
why should a club pay a fine and pay for security,

Our volunteers do a great job though

Paddyfield
28/04/2008, 8:30 PM
Galway United have professional security plus lots of trained volunteers. Also, there is a dedicated Garda liason officer who usually plonks himself beside the visiting fans along with a few other Gardai. The segregation works really well.

That is, with the exception of last week. The dividing barriers were lifted. At half time, about 20 Bray fans went for a walk around the ground and were greeted with chants of "you're only a small town in Dublin" by the local legends, which was responded with a few hand gestures from the visiting fans.

Nothing became of it because if it was a start-of-season relegation battle rather than an end-of-season relegation match. :rolleyes:

don ramo
29/04/2008, 12:34 AM
Our volunteers do a great job though

they do, im only on about the hired help,

shelsfan1
29/04/2008, 7:48 AM
i'm a volunteer at tolka. there's a load of paid fellas there who don't really seem to care. unless there's a fight right in front of them they won't move. the clubs gonna be sending myself and a few others to a course held by the fai so we can be qualified and get paid

29/04/2008, 8:01 AM
We have a combination ... omost games is just voulenteers but for bigger
travelling support theres a private firm hired in.

HarpoJoyce
29/04/2008, 8:23 AM
We have a combination ... omost games is just voulenteers but for bigger
travelling support theres a private firm hired in.

They were busy on Saturday, I arrived late and there had already been two Dundalk fans standing outside the ground after been evicted. But I was pleased with the relaxed view by security at the bar, where both sets of fans sang songs at one another with drinkers passing through them to get in and out of the bar.

29/04/2008, 8:38 AM
Cork, Derry, and Shels (the paid ones) are the worst I've seen.

GuisaSaigon
29/04/2008, 9:15 AM
Shligo's attempts at segregation are a joke. Thought the Cork stewards did a good job with us last season.

29/04/2008, 9:16 AM
They were busy on Saturday, I arrived late and there had already been two Dundalk fans standing outside the ground after been evicted. But I was pleased with the relaxed view by security at the bar, where both sets of fans sang songs at one another with drinkers passing through them to get in and out of the bar.

Yep, I didnt see the incident that lead to the 2 lads being turfed out, but from
talking to the Dundalk lads in the bar they said that had they got them first
they'd have thrown them out themselves.

Apart from that there was no bother from either sets of fans. Segregated for
the game but all mingled and chatted away at half and full time. Bit of singing
and a bit of banter.

pól-dcfc
29/04/2008, 9:17 AM
Cork, Derry, and Shels (the paid ones) are the worst I've seen.

The Derry ones are a pile of balls. I remember last year when we got shafted by the Corkies there was some really heated stuff going on right in front of the stewards and **** all was done.

Ye can sorta understand it though. Imagine a couple of hundred fans turned nasty. The stewards would have no chance.

Battery Rover
29/04/2008, 10:44 AM
Yep, I didnt see the incident that lead to the 2 lads being turfed out, but from
talking to the Dundalk lads in the bar they said that had they got them first
they'd have thrown them out themselves.

Apart from that there was no bother from either sets of fans. Segregated for
the game but all mingled and chatted away at half and full time. Bit of singing
and a bit of banter.

Just want to say the problems weren't just with those Dundalk fans as we had a few turfed out or refused entry as well

Da Real Rover
29/04/2008, 3:17 PM
The Derry ones are a pile of balls. I remember last year when we got shafted by the Corkies there was some really heated stuff going on right in front of the stewards and **** all was done.

Ye can sorta understand it though. Imagine a couple of hundred fans turned nasty. The stewards would have no chance.

Yup the derry ones are a bit of a joke, a bit slow on the feet ;)

dublinwanderer
29/04/2008, 3:46 PM
the cork stewards were assh0les to us last season but this year they were bang on. so far the galway stewards have been the worst by a country mile, they took airhorns off us (the blow in ones not gas) kicked 2 fans out (ok they were drunk!! but still come on) threaten to take our drums off us as they were too loud, let the knacker kids open the big gate to let their friends in for nothing and in general complete tools.

rovers had no stewards near us when in tolka and the bohs ones were grand and very helpful when they were asked to do something.

imo ours are crap aswell.

29/04/2008, 5:28 PM
the cork stewards were assh0les to us last season but this year they were bang on. so far the galway stewards have been the worst by a country mile, they took airhorns off us (the blow in ones not gas) kicked 2 fans out (ok they were drunk!! but still come on) threaten to take our drums off us as they were too loud, let the knacker kids open the big gate to let their friends in for nothing and in general complete tools.

As much as I hate those things, that's shocking.

deecay
29/04/2008, 7:57 PM
Personally I taught the Derry security was class,big,huge,shaved heads and mean faces,what else do ya need?

Harps was a joke,we had over 400 fans on Friday,no bag searchs.Two stewards(or stewerts as a few on the Harps forum call them:D) that did nothing,flares and smoke canisters were openly being passed around and once I seen a steward look directly at this happening and just looked away. 40+ bog/till rolls got in aswell

ramsfan
29/04/2008, 10:12 PM
we had about ten stewards to four ucd fans on friday, feckin students dont know what theyll do next, feckin tax dodgers

30/04/2008, 10:16 AM
250 odd people at Turners X last night and a steward tried moving about a half dozen of us from the St.Annes end... :rolleyes:

To be fair to the poor guy he explained that he didn't really care and that his orders were coming from above and when we told him that we were happy where we were he left us to it.

30/04/2008, 11:13 AM
the cork stewards were assh0les to us last season but this year they were bang on. .

New company. Slight improvement but not much

wonder88
30/04/2008, 12:24 PM
the professional stewards at galway last week were consficating water bottles (plastic) at the gate. really a joke. hope stewarding doesn't become as bad as the standard of referring, in what used to be called the old chicken league (kentucky & pat grace)

30/04/2008, 12:28 PM

A Polish lad came over to us in the St. Annes last night and asked us to move to the designated away fan section :D

Our stewards are volunteers. We have about twenty of them.

Generally no problems in the First Division with the exception of Fingal who are a joke

deecay
30/04/2008, 12:32 PM
Generally no problems in the First Division with the exception of Fingal who are a joke
Fans or stewards?

30/04/2008, 12:38 PM
Fans or stewards?

Stewards.

I can only assume they were sent over to Galatasaray to train