View Full Version : Golf 2008

Pages : 1 [2] 3

20/07/2008, 7:04 PM
Irish sportsperson of the millenium so far? Or is that too strong, but I can't think of anyone that can replicate his achievements in any sport in recent years:)
I'd find that hard to disagree with. Plus with his win today, he jumps up to a career best #3 in the world rankings.

inexile
20/07/2008, 7:20 PM
well he is deffo the best irish golfer of all time anyway

20/07/2008, 7:41 PM
Fair play to him!

Well done to Ian Poulter aswell. I would have loved to have seen him win it if Harrington didn't.

TheBoss
20/07/2008, 10:13 PM
He is an Irish Legend now :D

thedoyler
20/07/2008, 11:50 PM
He is up there with the best Irish Sportspeople ever, we rarely compete at the highest level in individual sports so when we get a talent like himself or stephen roche or steve collins we should cherish it and be glad to be able to watch it, back to back opens, not even nicklaus could do that!

kingdom hoop
21/07/2008, 12:54 AM
well he is deffo the best irish golfer of all time

I agree, but it kinda depends what you take 'best' to mean. I'm sure he'd admit he's not the most talented Irish golfer ever. But from what I've read over the years and from talking about this with a few (some old) people earlier I've come to the conclusion that he's the most admirable Irish golfer of all time, but that Christy O'Connor Snr had more raw talent. That's no slight on Harrington, just that apparently O'Connor had unbelievable natural talent, but given golf is such a psychological game, for Harrington to conquer that aspect and produce on the big occasion makes him stand-out for me.

Anyway that battle's pretty academic. What's important is that Páidí won! And in quite some style too. From a personal point of view seeing him win was highly emotional as I was away last year so had to read of that victory on the 'net, though I didn't quite cry today. There really is so much to admire about the win, foremost the level he played at for the back nine. Good players can hold it together under pressure, great players thrive and seem to produce, like Harrington did today, extra-special shots when it really counts.

But that doesn't just happen by chance: Coming second so many times makes you look inside yourself, it strengthens your resolve, you learn how to play yourself as much as play golf; spending your life on the range practising different types of shots, different swings, knowing that one day they'll need to be called and relied upon; building your season around majors, forsaking the regular cheque and near-guaranteed Ryder Cup spot that would come with playing every week; trusting your ability enough to be able to smile after getting a silly double-bogey; all the above hint at an exceptional attitude driving different aspects of the game, that on glorious days like today can come together in ecstatic unison. :)

Anyway, I could go on all day, so I'll just finish by saying well done Pádraig and that we should note that his win was, quite amazingly, the sixth Irish win on the Tour this season. Ireland rules the world. Great days. I haven't been this happy since the glory days of the Eurovision in the mid-90s. :D

21/07/2008, 6:39 AM
Just can't get excited about Harrington. I think it's the personality bypass and the grating voice. Normally when an Irish person does well at any sport, even tiddlywinks, I sit glued to the tv but didn't bother watching the golf. Harsh I know. "What's good for me is good for my game".

21/07/2008, 6:49 AM
Very happy for Padraig. But gutted for myself that i didnt back him for 25/1 at the start.... the wrist injury i thought would feck him up, but fair play, well proud of him.

21/07/2008, 9:37 AM
25/1 :eek: Who were the favourites for that in Woods' absence?

redobit
21/07/2008, 9:51 AM
he was 33/1 on paddy powers, ragin

21/07/2008, 10:08 AM
Well I had him at 22/1, but In some places he went as far as 66/1. Can you believe that. And the bookies had Garcia to win it. Garcia will NEVER win a major, I could bet my life on that.

The shot on the 17th was awesome, a very clever shot. Def the best of the tournament, and the fact he beat Poultier who i cant stand made the win even more sweet.

I wonder would having Tiger there made much of a difference? I think Harrington would still have won but it would have been interesting all the same.

I enjoyed the golf yesterday. The only golf i have watched all year, since last years win. Roll on next year then:)

10/08/2008, 3:50 PM
Harrington stalking his third major after a superb 4 under this morning. Only three off the pace going into the final round this afternoon at the PGA Championship. Our 'Celtic Tiger' is looking good:D

Rovers fan
10/08/2008, 4:10 PM
And not great golfers ahead of him. After a 66 today which he was slightly dissapointed with,he has a great chance. It's gonna be a late night:)

10/08/2008, 7:29 PM
Hmmm he has picked up a shot but I think he just hit a bad one, looks like he will drop one or two now. He has a lot to do. I have it on web TV but it seems to be more ads than golf as in ads broken up by 2 minutes of golf rather than golf broken up by 2 minutes of ads!

Rovers fan
10/08/2008, 8:54 PM
Garcia will NEVER win a major, I could bet my life on that.

Your days might be numbered;)

10/08/2008, 9:12 PM
He has picked up another shot to go -1, 2 shots off the lead.
I could kill off his chances by backing him :rolleyes: so I won't ;), he has a great chance now.

10/08/2008, 9:28 PM
Its for Garcia to win now. PH getting into his groove as they start the back nine.

Not sure if Curtis will stay the pace. Not many yanks near the top end.

beautifulrock
10/08/2008, 9:50 PM
Its for Garcia to win now. PH getting into his groove as they start the back nine.

Not sure if Curtis will stay the pace. Not many yanks near the top end.

not convinced Pete, dont feel Garcia has the mental strength to win a major. Padraig is seriously
relaxed at the moment curtis has a chance of an eagle

10/08/2008, 9:53 PM
I feel sure Harrington will win this, I should have backed him - bit late now as the odds are crap. I think he is handling the presure better than the others.
Just one off the lead now, may win it in a play off if not out right.
Bloody web TV thing is cracking up though, I guess it is overload now, it
was great earlier, fabulous picture almost as good as a real TV.

10/08/2008, 9:56 PM
Level, It's in the bag.

10/08/2008, 10:24 PM
C'mon Padraig...

10/08/2008, 10:37 PM
Harrington dropped to one of the lead behind Curtis and Garcia, but Garcia
just went into the lake!

Razors left peg
10/08/2008, 10:40 PM
cant believe Harry went in the bunker after Garcia went in the lake

Razors left peg
10/08/2008, 10:46 PM
What a putt to recover though

10/08/2008, 10:48 PM
What a putt to recover though

His putter has been red hot today. Garcia follows him in. Level on -2 now.

Garcia & Harrington have the advantage over Curtis as no birdies in final holes.

10/08/2008, 10:55 PM
Garcia will buckle under the pressure

10/08/2008, 10:58 PM
Looks like a coin flip between Garcia and Harrington.
Garcia has a slightly easier putt though, but not by much, both makeable both missable. Found a new stream so got pictures, Harrinton holed his putt!

10/08/2008, 11:01 PM
Garcia missed!!
By the way I have backed Harrington at 2.34. :)
Fingers crossed :D
He is in to 1.39 now :cool:

10/08/2008, 11:01 PM
C'mon Padraig hold it together for one more hole. Par should be enough, no birdies on the 18th so far.

10/08/2008, 11:02 PM
By the way I have backed Harrington at 2.34. :)

So did I. wierd!

10/08/2008, 11:05 PM
Sand for PH, Fairway rough for Garcia on the 18th.

Par for PH wins.

10/08/2008, 11:06 PM
So did I. wierd!

Trouble is every time I back him he loses!! :eek:

10/08/2008, 11:07 PM
Curtis could be the danger

10/08/2008, 11:12 PM
Knew I should not have backed him.

10/08/2008, 11:15 PM
Great recovery for Harrington

10/08/2008, 11:22 PM
Unbelievable, well done Paddy, a true living legend.

10/08/2008, 11:24 PM
Greatest Irish sports person without a doubt. His putting was superb. :cool::cool::cool:

Fantastic!!
It's not quite over yet though. Is it?
Curtis is 700-1 :D

Razors left peg
Simply Irelands Greatest ever Sports man.... absolute hero

10/08/2008, 11:26 PM
Fantastic!!
It's not quite over yet though. Is it?

Curtis needs to hole his second to tie it up.

Job done.

And you were worried!

10/08/2008, 11:28 PM
http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/0e/fullj.e63a81da55bac8197c98a4774c03092f/e63a81da55bac8197c98a4774c03092f-getty-glf-pga-us-harrington.jpgF'n brilliant by Harrington. What a putt on 18. Hearts in me mouth. Great stuff altogether!

10/08/2008, 11:35 PM
He makes Tiger Woods look like a pussy cat!!

10/08/2008, 11:38 PM
Thrilled. Absolutely f*cking thrilled.

10/08/2008, 11:40 PM
To put it in perspective at 3 he now has the same number of Majors as Phil Mickelson & Vijay Singh. Tiger Woods is the only current golfer with more wins.

He is now approaching moving up to the European greats of the modern era.

Garcia will win in time.

11/08/2008, 12:19 AM
Greatest Irish sports person without a doubt. His putting was superb. :cool::cool::cool:

KAtie Taylor. Unbeaten in 4 years. World & euro champ.

Simply Irelands Greatest ever Sports man.... absolute hero

Sean Kelly IMO

Delighted for harrington.

11/08/2008, 12:50 AM

Sean Kelly IMO

Delighted for harrington.

"The Irishman ended Europe’s 78-year drought in the PGA Championship, and he joined Tiger Woods, Nick Price and Walter Hagen as the only players to win the final two majors in the same year. Woods did it twice, in 2000 and 2006."

Rovers fan
11/08/2008, 12:55 AM

Not a hope. she can stay unbeaten for 10 years,she still won't top what harrington has/can do. there is no comparsion in the level of competition they are up against(and I know i'm not an expert in women's boxing but i don't have to be).

Was at an 18th tonight but spent the whole night watching the golf:D.It was much more thrilling than this years british open.Harrington holed numerous superb putts,the ones on 16 and 18 stand out. Feck it,i was gonna back him at 10/1 but i don't really care tbh. The look of determination on his face is amazing.Not many players raise his game under pressure like he does.

Garcia choked but was still unlucky. I know he hit an extremely poor shot but with a bit of luck he could have avoided the water. He was also very unlucky with his crucial putt on 17(it was similiar to his putt to win the open last year).Talented and all as he is,it will be hard to see him win a major after this but he does have a lot of time left.You have to wonder,if he wasn't playing with harrington,would it have a made a difference?

All in all a great win,who cares about the olympics;).

11/08/2008, 1:44 AM
What Olympics?

11/08/2008, 1:50 AM
The look of determination on his face is amazing.Not many players raise his game under pressure like he does.

Speaking off....

http://d.yimg.com/a/p/sp/getty/44/fullj.7c7377b1070f0dc36b65e0d6328ccf55/7c7377b1070f0dc36b65e0d6328ccf55-getty-78697482jm166_pga_champions.jpg

11/08/2008, 5:18 AM
Well done Padraig! Again! And to think I used to hate watching golf. Managed to back him, albeit a bit late, 14/1. That said, was lucky, came back to said bookies 5 minutes later and he'd dropped to 8/1. Ireland's greatest living sportsman.