View Full Version : Dunne to Newcastle?
28/04/2008, 11:52 AM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=32006
Newcastle make formal approach for Dunne
Newcastle United manager Kevin Keegan has made an official approach to former club Manchester City for Irish star Richard Dunne.
Dunne is out of contract at Eastlands in a little over 12 months’ time and has thus far failed to agree a new deal.
That has alerted Keegan to his potential availability, and the Magpies manager – who worked with Dunne for four years in Manchester - has given his approval to a move to bring the 28-year-old to Tyneside.
Dunne is a three-time Player of the Year at City, where he has captained the side for the past two years.
And with uncertainty over his own contract, as well as the future of manager Sven Goran Eriksson, the big Dubliner could opt to join fellow Irish internationals Shay Given, Stephen Carr and Damien Duff at St James’s Park in the summer.
28/04/2008, 12:20 PM
This went around before when Big Sam was in charge, don't see much in it to be honest.
beautifulrock
28/04/2008, 12:26 PM
Except that Keegan was his manager at City and "saved" his career
Greenforever
28/04/2008, 12:32 PM
Except that Keegan was his manager at City and "saved" his career
I'd agree if Dunne goes anywhere Newcastle would be my No 1 bet, he wpn't be attracted to London's bright lights and may be very happy in the dreary north east:D
endabob1
28/04/2008, 12:48 PM
I'd agree if Dunne goes anywhere Newcastle would be my No 1 bet, he wpn't be attracted to London's bright lights and may be very happy in the dreary north east:D
He turned Charlton down when he Moved to City, at the time City were looking like relegation fodder & Charlton were safely mid-table iirc he said he prefered to stay in the North of England
an_ceannaire
28/04/2008, 1:53 PM
Dont rule out a return to Goodison lads. Moyes has 20m to spend and even tho he has Yobo Lescott Jagielka and Baines, the word is Jag is gonna take over the Carsley role, leaving them a man short at the back, would be a far better move for all concerned
jmurphyc
28/04/2008, 5:43 PM
I really can't see him being sold unless he forces a move or a ridiculous sum is offered. IMO he's up there with the best in the league (and possibly Europe) and I'm sure Sven realises this too. Besides, unless City have other areas of their team which need to be vastly improved, no amount of money would be able to buy anyone of similar ability.
Paddy Garcia
28/04/2008, 6:57 PM
I worry it an elephants graveyard for Irish players (Given excepted).
28/04/2008, 7:20 PM
I worry it an elephants graveyard for Irish players (Given excepted).
In fairness, Duff and Carr were crocked before they ever went there, and O'Brien did about as well as he ever does. That said, Newcastle has a bad reputation for injuries and attitudes among their players, and I think Dunne's worth a better club than that.
stojkovic
28/04/2008, 7:49 PM
Is he at retirement age already ?
Noelys Guitar
29/04/2008, 1:03 AM
Sven is out the door at City (Scholari coming in)and I expect Dunne to follow suit as according to a few of my City supporting friends Dunne is being messed around contract wise. He will have his pick of mid-ranking premiership clubs to choose from but hopefully Wenger will put in a bid.
Deckydee
29/04/2008, 10:23 AM
I hear its a dunne deal
Get it?
I'll get me coat
as_i_say
29/04/2008, 10:41 AM
I hear its a dunne deal
Get it?
I'll get me coat
It had to be said. No shame. Pity though dunne cant attract one of the big 4 to come in. a move to newcastle is just a sideways one really, he cant be moving for any other reason than cash.
29/04/2008, 11:29 AM
Perhaps Spurs might be interested. Ledley King's career is as good as over and he would be an ideal replacement, plus his close friendship with his boyhood neightbour Robbie Keane. Himself and Woodgate would make up a very commanding partnership
29/04/2008, 12:04 PM
to be honest i cant see why wegner wouldn't go for him, i think he would be perfect for them, arsenal were poor in the centre this year and that was their only real weakness. senderos is a bit of a dope, and he could be a great player beside dunne.
29/04/2008, 12:46 PM
With the Thai owner acting like a megalomaniac, he'll surely leave. Really hope he goes to a top top club.
endabob1
29/04/2008, 3:38 PM
It'll be Newcastle or back to Everton if he moves, a longer shot might be Boro who could do with an expereinced CB to steady them but I would see that as a step backwards. The other possibility might be Villa, With Melberg off to Juventus O'Neill will want an experienced replacement (I remain utterly unconvinced by Curtis Davies).
Qwerty
30/04/2008, 12:36 AM
to be honest i cant see why wegner wouldn't go for him, i think he would be perfect for them, arsenal were poor in the centre this year and that was their only real weakness. senderos is a bit of a dope, and he could be a great player beside dunne.
He's not foreign enough for Wenger, he already has Walcott as the token homegrown player.
kingofkillteely
30/04/2008, 12:59 AM
He's not foreign enough for Wenger, he already has Walcott as the token homegrown player.
Dunne wouldn't fit in well at arsenal, he cant pass!
irishfan86
30/04/2008, 2:03 AM
That's actually totally inaccurate. He isn't Andy Reid, but for a centre half he makes some great outlet passes.
Yeah I'd have to argee he is a better passer than your average defender.
Not sure if he would get into the starting 11 at Arse but he would def be a very good asset for them, if he did manage to nail down a starting spot I think he would be the kind of leader that Arsenal are lacking atm, but my money is on him going to Newcastle unfortunetely
Dr. Ogba
30/04/2008, 1:48 PM
Yeah I'd have to argee he is a better passer than your average defender.
Not sure if he would get into the starting 11 at Arse but he would def be a very good asset for them, if he did manage to nail down a starting spot I think he would be the kind of leader that Arsenal are lacking atm, but my money is on him going to Newcastle unfortunetely
to be honest I think he's head and shoulders above Gallas both as a captain and as a defender. Think he'd have a great partnership with Toure...
ramsfan
30/04/2008, 10:30 PM
dunne to newcastle would be a great move for him , newcastle have survived this season but they will spend big next season and will defo be a team on the up,
danonion
01/05/2008, 1:40 AM
What about Blackburn rovers?
Maroon 7
03/05/2008, 3:42 AM
dunne to newcastle would be a great move for him , newcastle have survived this season but they will spend big next season and will defo be a team on the up,
When has a move to Newcastle ever been a good move ffs?
That club is always next door to calamity.
A move to Newcastle would be a bit of a step down for me and I think it would only be motivated by the possible financial rewards for Dunne. I'm not sure Arsenal would be the answer either, I think he would be third choice behind Toure and Gallas. Of the top 5, I think Liverpool would be the only place he would be a starter for sure; Not a fan of Skrtel and Hyppia must be on his way out at this stage. Himself and Carragher would be a pretty decent partnership :P
jmurphyc
05/05/2008, 12:48 PM
A move to Newcastle would be a bit of a step down for me and I think it would only be motivated by the possible financial rewards for Dunne. I'm not sure Arsenal would be the answer either, I think he would be third choice behind Toure and Gallas. Of the top 5, I think Liverpool would be the only place he would be a starter for sure; Not a fan of Skrtel and Hyppia must be on his way out at this stage. Himself and Carragher would be a pretty decent partnership :P
He won't be moving to Liverpool. Hyypia just signed a new contract, Skrtel has just signed and most people think he's had an excellent start, Agger will be coming back next season and of course, he won't get in ahead of Carragher.
Arsenal looks a more likely bet, as Gallas and Toure have both had relatively poor seasons as far as I've heard. However, they also have Alexandre Song who was excellent at the African Nations and will probably play for Arsenal a lot more next season. If it was one of the top teams he was moving to I'd say Arsenal, but I don't see him going to any of them. What about Villa? Mellberg is moving this summer and O'Neill probably has a lot of cash to play with.
Maroon 7
05/05/2008, 1:48 PM
He won't be going to Liverpool anyway. Skrtel has been a good signing for them. Agger will be back next season and Carragher and Hyppia will still be there. I don't think they will be looking for any more centre halfs. They might be in the market for full-backs alright.
lionelhutz
06/05/2008, 1:56 PM
Skrtel has been very good since arriving - looks rock solid. And Liverpool have Agger coming back so I think he'd find it difficult to break into the team there.
His best chance of the top four would be Arsenal cause Toure's been off form since the African Nations and Wenger has played him right back alot. I think Dunne and Gallas would make an excellent partnership. I'd love to see him go to Emirates
Pike B
06/05/2008, 2:06 PM
And Senderos can??????
Razors left peg
11/05/2008, 12:18 PM
Dunne linked with Arsenal. Now this is the kind of speculation I like to see. :)
http://www.goal.com/en/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=692005
That would be a brilliant move for him, hes a better defender than either Gallas or Toure in my opinion
11/05/2008, 3:30 PM
Yeah, but goal.com makes the Sun look like selected columns by Robert Fisk. I once frequented a forum which actively deleted transfer rumours from there, and banned people who persistently posted them.
11/05/2008, 4:19 PM
Hope he wasn't playing in the 8 goal debacle today :rolleyes:
I heard he was sent off very early
FarBeag
11/05/2008, 5:47 PM
Think he was sent off for a foul leading to the first goal from the penalty spot.
eekers
11/05/2008, 5:58 PM
man city had nothing to play for except maintaining their place at the top of the fair play table, that would get them a uefa cup spot. what does dunne do? :eek:
11/05/2008, 8:03 PM
man city had nothing to play for except maintaining their place at the top of the fair play table, that would get them a uefa cup spot. what does dunne do? :eek:
strange over on, manchesterevenignews website they all blaming dunne. Sayin that there is some real muppets writing comment on that site, i support united but check it for dunne and ireland, they never have a good word to say about their club
11/05/2008, 8:18 PM
Very harsh red card. Looked like Tuncay dived.
Anyway Arsenal would probably be the best move for Dunne.
Maroon 7
11/05/2008, 9:52 PM
Looked like an unintentional trip to me. Just caught Tuncay with his leg but it didn't look like he meant it.
seanog2001
12/05/2008, 2:55 PM
He would be just what newcastle needs a leader at the back
13/05/2008, 10:36 AM
Spurs are in on it too. From football365.com
SPURS AND TOON WANT DUNNE
Both Newcastle and Tottenham want Richard Dunne, according to the Mail.
The Citeh captain has become unsettled due to the ridiculous goings-on at Manchester this year, and may welcome the opportunity to link up with his former manager Kevin Keegan at Newcastle.
However, the Toon will apparently face competition from Spurs who are described as being 'keen to recruit Dunne as a partner for Jonathan Woodgate with doubts remaining over Ledley King's long term future. They are unlikely to be able to match Newcastle's wages but would offer European football.'
That could be a decent move especiallly with Ledley King's problems.
Dr. Ogba
13/05/2008, 10:38 AM
However, the Toon will apparently face competition from Spurs who are described as being 'keen to recruit Dunne as a partner for Jonathan Woodgate with doubts remaining over Ledley King's long term future. .'
jaysus that would be a great partnership for Spurs there...
13/05/2008, 10:53 AM
I would be delighted with Dunne going to Spurs. He is Keanes roommate with Ireland also so I am sure he would fit in well at Spurs into the team as Keane seems to be very popular there.
EalingGreen
13/05/2008, 11:09 AM
Spurs are in on it too. From football365.com
However, the Toon will apparently face competition from Spurs who are described as being 'keen to recruit Dunne as a partner for Jonathan Woodgate with doubts remaining over Ledley King's long term future. They are unlikely to be able to match Newcastle's wages but would offer European football.'
Apparently Newcastle offered Modric (£15m Croatian) higher wages than Spurs, but he still chose to come to the Lane.
As a Spurs fan, I'd be delighted to see Dunne join us. However, my only reservation is that it would almost certainly mean that Ledley King must be finished, at least at the top level. And good and all as Dunne is, I actually think Ledley had it in him to be even better. :(
EalingGreen
13/05/2008, 11:13 AM
I would be delighted with Dunne going to Spurs. He is Keanes roommate with Ireland also so I am sure he would fit in well at Spurs into the team as Keane seems to be very popular there.
Absolutely. And it's not just one way. I could easily see Robbie being at Tottenham for the next 5 years (i.e. the best part of his career), or even finishing his career entirely at the Lane.
And if he's pally with Dunne, as you say, perhaps Dunne might decide the same?
13/05/2008, 12:03 PM
Apparently Newcastle offered Modric (£15m Croatian) higher wages than Spurs, but he still chose to come to the Lane.
As a Spurs fan, I'd be delighted to see Dunne join us. However, my only reservation is that it would almost certainly mean that Ledley King must be finished, at least at the top level. And good and all as Dunne is, I actually think Ledley had it in him to be even better. :(
I had heard very early this season that the main injury King had would finish his career this season. Are those the vibes coming from WHL?
EalingGreen
13/05/2008, 1:45 PM
I had heard very early this season that the main injury King had would finish his career this season. Are those the vibes coming from WHL?
Both club and player are denying it, but it's getting ever harder to avoid that conclusion, from the pattern of his selection (or non-selection, more like).
Put it this way, if King, Woodgate and Dawson were all fully fit, with Kaboul, Zakora and even Huddlestone as back-up, I can't see how they'd be going for an established centre back like Dunne, who could expect to be guaranteed first choice every week in any one of half a dozen better Premiership teams than Spurs.
If Spurs are after Dunne, it can only mean there must be a doubt over King. If nothing else, as well as being our second best player (after Berba), King is also the club captain, having been at Spurs since a lad. I can't see either being too happy to play "second fiddle" to the other.
14/05/2008, 9:40 AM
From BBC website...
West Ham manager Alan Curbishley is hopeful of signing Manchester City captain Richard Dunne for about £6m. (Daily Express)
Interesting.