View Full Version : Utd vrs Rvrs.

Pages : 1 [2]

Patrick Dunne
21/04/2008, 8:05 AM
I would expect that anyone who behaved in such a manner would be reported to the club.

The phone number of the office is (091) 767336.

21/04/2008, 8:13 AM
Pa take off the blinkers those insults were fired at him long before he ever reacted and you should know that better than anyone.Its time to bury this but putting all the blame on Mark is a joke.

The best way for this to be sorted is internally and maybe a meeting between a rep of the supporters Jeff,Mark & Nick. The personalised abuse has to stop its something that has gotten way out of hand and GUST/GUFC should make a statement condemning it

Demoshield
21/04/2008, 8:15 AM
The abuse of Mark Leech has been going on for weeks by a couple of **** heads. Usually backed up by 10 hard men 12 yeadr olds. Mostly personal, nothing to do with what he does on the pitch. The gardai had a word with them during the Shamrock Rovers game. The usual started on Sat night, and the sheep, half of whom had been on the **** since one o'clock, followed. It was nothing short of a disgrace and anyone who tries to justify it is doing GUFC or genuine supporters no favours. Leech was also wayout of line in his reaction. I hope the stewards & Gardai will be enforcing the "ground rules" on friday night, about abusive language. What are the going to do if another "Dub b'stard" is appointed manager to-day!

Terry-Lander
21/04/2008, 8:16 AM
I would expect that anyone who behaved in such a manner would be reported to the club.

The phone number of the office is (091) 767336.

I intent to. Thanks for the phone number (which I already had) but I am calling in person.

Patrick Dunne
21/04/2008, 8:24 AM
Well done, Terry-Lander. People as you described above have no place at our club.

If supporters here have a problem with anything that happened on Saturday night, contact the club directly and let them take action.

The phone number is posted above.

MyTown
21/04/2008, 9:30 AM
I had headed for the exit before Leech incident kicked off. I left because one or two muppets who travelled from Galway were incapable of either watching the match or having any respect for ANYONE.

One young lad accompanied by his pubescent bimbo made several attempts to "rise" the home support, repeatedly parading in front of them. He wore a white shirt in the first half and a Liverpool tracksuit top for the second. He came back at 0-1 and made an attempt to get the burberry guy going. It worked immediately. I headed for the exit and had a perfect view of Cretaro's goal. Following this Wes was harshly dealt with for both the penalty award and the red card. Fair play to the Sligo support for applauding him off.

Those who facilitated the trip to Sligo of those mutton blocks who alligned themselves to the away support need to have a look at whether it's worth organising away support at all. One or two did nothing but a great disservice to the club. And there's no denying it spoiled it for genuine supporters and those who brought younger fans (- the real future of the club -if it has one).

The Sligo stewarding was low key and generally okay, but they let a few local "hards" (who were much older that the Galway based muppets) into what was supposedly the "away" section. Why bother having a barrier if it isn't properly operated? A father of a Galway United player tried very early on in the game to get something done about what the Sligo lads were up to , but his request was ignored.

As Tir Oliean pointed out above we were well in it up to the the first goal. As he did before in Sligo's promotion season, Kuduzovic showed true class and from there our heads dropped. Up to that point the locals were very restless. I thought Fenn and especially McCulloch were the pick of our lads up to that.

I know nothing about the Leech incident. For me if you abuse your own player it says more about you than the player and it achieves nothing. I admired Sligo's Brian Cash's courage in reappearing for the second half. He was slaughtered by his own "supporters". But he's never been popular up there & as soon as he was withdrawn, Sligo took control.

Good luck to Mark Leech and any one else who wears my teams colours. Any fool who thinks abusing him or any other player will improve his game shows nothing but his own ignorance.

galwaygooner
21/04/2008, 11:39 AM
The abuse of Mark Leech has been going on for weeks by a couple of **** heads. Usually backed up by 10 hard men 12 yeadr olds. Mostly personal, nothing to do with what he does on the pitch. The gardai had a word with them during the Shamrock Rovers game. The usual started on Sat night, and the sheep, half of whom had been on the **** since one o'clock, followed. It was nothing short of a disgrace and anyone who tries to justify it is doing GUFC or genuine supporters no favours. Leech was also wayout of line in his reaction. I hope the stewards & Gardai will be enforcing the "ground rules" on friday night, about abusive language. What are the going to do if another "Dub b'stard" is appointed manager to-day!

Guys im starting to wonder do all the supporters getting on to mark leech need glasses !!! The guy is a proper skillfull player tecknicly very good.He might come across lazy or that he is not trying but i garentee if he is given the proper supply he would put the ball in the net every time.. every body is raving about young malloy's goal against cork and it was a good goal but it took the awareness of leech to set him up..there have been "some lazy looking players" on pitches all across europe but give them the ball and they will probaly turn on some magic or score goals.. Brady Henry Berbatov to name a few.. I do not put Leech in there bracket but maybe friday night watch him play and dont listen to the guy beside you.

21/04/2008, 12:26 PM
The Sligo stewarding was low key and generally okay, but they let a few local "hards" (who were much older that the Galway based muppets) into what was supposedly the "away" section. Why bother having a barrier if it isn't properly operated? A father of a Galway United player tried very early on in the game to get something done about what the Sligo lads were up to , but his request was ignored.The stewarding in the Showgrounds is a joke, I don't think anyone would claim otherwise. It was planned to have Galway United fans in the first few sections of the blue stand, that however changed(and it shouldn't have) when the kids from the local club, who were invited to the game, arrived and took up a lot of that section. In my opinion, they should have been the one's to be moved down further keeping the front section for GUFC fans only, and any Rovers fans should have had to walk behind the red stand to get to bottom of Jinks if they wanted which would mean that only Galway fans would be in/walking past other Galway fans, that's what proper segregation is like in a ground. But I don't decide this.

That doesn't however justify the reactions of some supporters, one of whom is on here and knows who he is, after we scored our second goal. For such a 'leading' figure, he was very unprofessional "demanding" that Rovers fans are moved immediately.

Tribesman
21/04/2008, 12:58 PM
The stewarding in Sligo always seems to be criticised. Will the FAI match observer report on this. It seems crazy that clubs like ourselves and others will get fined 100 euro for the incorrect filling in of teamsheets, yet the potential harm that may be inflicted on supporters goes without mention which seems to be the case with this reoccuring theme.

21/04/2008, 12:59 PM
The stewarding in Sligo always seems to be criticised. Will the FAI match observer report on this. It seems crazy that clubs like ourselves and others will get fined 100 euro for the incorrect filling in of teamsheets, yet the potential harm that may be inflicted on supporters goes without mention which seems to be the case with this reoccuring theme.
:confused:I did see a couple of FAI representatives walking past before the match and they didn't look happy, I wouldn't be surprised if we are fined tbh.

Terry-Lander
21/04/2008, 2:53 PM
Well done to those supporters who booed him constantly towards the end of the match.

And later.............

And later still..........
People as you described above have no place at our club.

Contradiction or the light of day dawning?????

Patrick Dunne
21/04/2008, 4:44 PM
You described the actions of an unnamed individual who, according to you, was "squaring up" to opposition supporters and stewards. If this occurred, and you saw it happening, it should be reported to the club.

However, supporters are 100% within their rights to voice their disapproval at unacceptable performances by so-called professionals.

As a poster pointed out on another forum, passions were running high on Saturday night. United were being hammered off the pitch against their local rivals and a United player then made an offensive to the supporters who had travelled 200 miles to see the match.

While the correct course of action would be to make a mental note to self to report the incident to the club office on Monday, it is understandable that a large portion of the crowd present (including myself) lost the head.

gilberto_eire
21/04/2008, 4:49 PM
You described the actions of an unnamed individual who, according to you, was "squaring up" to opposition supporters and stewards. If this occurred, and you saw it happening, it should be reported to the club.

However, supporters are 100% within their rights to voice their disapproval at unacceptable performances by so-called professionals.

As a poster pointed out on another forum, passions were running high on Saturday night. United were being hammered off the pitch against their local rivals and a United player then made an offensive to the supporters who had travelled 200 miles to see the match.

While the correct course of action would be to make a mental note to self to report the incident to the club office on Monday, it is understandable that a large portion of the crowd present (including myself) lost the head.

I agree, i lost the head too!.

I was never on his back up until this point but found this as a ''**** you'' to all of us there!!

Terry-Lander
21/04/2008, 4:57 PM
[quote=Patrick Dunne;925656]You described the actions of an unnamed individual who, according to you, was "squaring up" to opposition supporters and stewards. If this occurred, and you saw it happening, it should be reported to the club.
quote]

I and many others saw it happening and it has been reported to the club.
Now on to Friday and Bray

Patrick Dunne
21/04/2008, 5:10 PM
Good stuff. I expect stern action will be taken.

WoodquayBoy
21/04/2008, 5:58 PM
That was one hell of a wrong turn they took!

Patrick Dunne
21/04/2008, 6:09 PM
It is approx a 200 mile round trip, probably slightly less.

WoodquayBoy
21/04/2008, 6:13 PM
They probably travelled the guts of 90 miles to see the match, then another 90 to go home. Don't mind me, just trying to inject a bit of humour in a depressing thread