View Full Version : Colm Heffernan
the hoops
15/04/2008, 3:13 PM
lads heard he might be going back playing junior football surely lim37 would be interested in signing him ?
15/04/2008, 3:15 PM
lads heard he might be going back playing junior football surely lim37 would be interested in signing him ?
Budget spent until July.
If he doesn't wait and goes back playing Junior instead than he is smalltime and we don't want him anyway
the dazzler
15/04/2008, 3:16 PM
heard hes going to fairview plus kelleher told me he wants to go back to lim37 but was never asked by kerley hope this is not true pure waste:mad:
15/04/2008, 3:19 PM
kelleher told me he wants to go back to lim37 but was never asked by kerley hope this is not true pure waste:mad:
I'd have Robbie back in two seconds.
The only reason I could think for him not being asked would be his fitness :confused:
Kerley is apparently a real stickler for it.
How's he looking these days??
The Heff doesnt need to play for money anymore, he can comfortably
live off the small fortune he made from Athlone Town last season!
16/04/2008, 8:10 AM
live off the small fortune he made from Athlone Town last season!And the booming "taping of weddings" job that will probably occupy him most Friday and Saturday evenings, meaning he wouldn't have time to play anyway.
gaidin
16/04/2008, 8:43 AM
I'd have Robbie back in two seconds.
The only reason I could think for him not being asked would be his fitness :confused:
Kerley is apparently a real stickler for it.
How's he looking these days??
Still a little on the heavy side but he can still turn defenders inside out and cause all sort of problems. Plus he still has his pace.
16/04/2008, 9:57 AM
live off the small fortune he made from Athlone Town last season!
The Heff never needed to play for money.
Still a little on the heavy side but he can still turn defenders inside out and cause all sort of problems. Plus he still has his pace.
We'll have to wait until July and see.
4tothefloor
17/04/2008, 1:15 AM
Heffernan should be signed now, or truth be told, should have been signed ahead of Peter White. Or even better still, ahead of Manjor and a few others.......
see's it
17/04/2008, 1:53 PM
we already have rossi theres no room for another winger standing up doing f**k all for 90 mins..
id sign white before heffernan even though they play in different positions
Monkfish
17/04/2008, 3:40 PM
theres no room for another winger standing up doing f**k all for 90 mins..
Exactly, lot of people with short memories methinks.
17/04/2008, 8:15 PM
ya white is a better signing, he works hard for the team.....as for heffernan, don't get me started. would be a good signing if he was willing to put in the effort but from past performances with limerick it would be a gamble whether he would put it in.
18/04/2008, 1:51 PM
A half-interested Heffernan versus the combined 100% commitment of Manjor, Daly and another couple of the dregs combined... hmmm what a difficult choice... :rolleyes:
Would he even be half interested anymore though? Ahree that he's gopt more natural talent in his left thumb then some of our current crop, but considering Colm 'The Money' Heffernan usually charges for his services I'm not sure it would be worth it
18/04/2008, 1:58 PM
Would he even be half interested anymore though? Ahree that he's gopt more natural talent in his left thumb then some of our current crop, but considering Colm 'The Money' Heffernan usually charges for his services I'm not sure it would be worth it
Well why wouldn't he be? The anti-Colm Heffernan agenda on this forum at times baffles me. A winger who can be a bit lazy when it comes to tracking back? Heaven forbid! A player who has accepted large pay packets at other clubs? Shameful! Colm Heffernan has made more of an effort to stay in the LOI than most ex-Limerick players who just slope off to play at a lower level again afterwards. If Colm Heffernan is interested in playing for Limerick38 or whatever we're going to settle on as our new name and if he's not pricing himself out of a contract (two important ifs I'll concede) then we should snap him up ASAP.
He hasn't looked interested in playing LoI in quite a while, not just in his last season with us. I've no problem with him making big money from other clubs for a half hearted effort, but I'd rather he didn't inflict that on us yet again to be honest because the last time he pulled on a Limerick jersey he looked like Rossi with slightly more talent and a lot more money
4tothefloor
18/04/2008, 11:47 PM
the last time he pulled on a Limerick jersey he looked like Rossi with slightly more talent and a lot more money
If I remember correctly, even Kevin Waters looked **** under that set up. It's called the 'Noel O'Connor Effect'. I'm told Heffernan was not pricing himself out of a deal but other lesser lights were signed before him thus eating up the budget, which is a strict one this season. I'd like to see a few released in the transfer window as the amount of players we have is not needed. I'd like to see Heff being the only new signing. Comparing Rossi to Heff is comical, and makes you wonder what some people are watching when they're at the games..... :rolleyes:
Monkfish
19/04/2008, 9:51 AM
makes you wonder what some people are watching when they're at the games..... :rolleyes:
Heff not doing a lot and getting paid for it?
Comparing Rossi to Heff is comical, and makes you wonder what some people are watching when they're at the games..... :rolleyes:
Rossi has talent, not as much as Heff, but he has talent, but both of them don't seem to have the desire anymore, therein lies the comparison
19/04/2008, 4:43 PM
Ross Cosgrave at his best is about half the player than Colm Heffernan is. Several of our current plodders are about half the player that Ross Cosgrave is. Anybody who doesn't think that even a disinterested Colm Heffernan would add to our lack of cutting edge is talking nonsense. And what if he actually made half an effort? :o If we're as wonderfully run as we're being told it wouldn't be like the mickey ouse setups that Heffernan was involved with at Athlone last year and Limerick the year before that (and even when practically the whole lot of them bar Austin O'Neill collapsed against Galway that season it was Heffernan who popped up to score) so he'll have more reason to be motivated.
Nobody has offered any good reason that Colm Heffernan should not be appoached. We're told he's not pricing himself out of a move and there's at least four players in or around our first eleven who shouldn't be within a donkey's roar of senior ball, especially out wide... it's hardly a conumdrum!
Anyone have an actual ball park figure for how much he'd be willing to sign on for so we can end this merry-go-round? Cause his wages are the deal breaker for those of us who doubt whether the guy should be signed up or not, not his level of ability
see's it
19/04/2008, 8:13 PM
Ross Cosgrave at his best is about half the player than Colm Heffernan is. Several of our current plodders are about half the player that Ross Cosgrave is. Anybody who doesn't think that even a disinterested Colm Heffernan would add to our lack of cutting edge is talking nonsense. And what if he actually made half an effort? :o If we're as wonderfully run as we're being told it wouldn't be like the mickey ouse setups that Heffernan was involved with at Athlone last year and Limerick the year before that (and even when practically the whole lot of them bar Austin O'Neill collapsed against Galway that season it was Heffernan who popped up to score) so he'll have more reason to be motivated.
Nobody has offered any good reason that Colm Heffernan should not be appoached. We're told he's not pricing himself out of a move and there's at least four players in or around our first eleven who shouldn't be within a donkey's roar of senior ball, especially out wide... it's hardly a conumdrum!
he plays with blinkers on 1 trick pony kinda player i doubt he interests kerley and the way he wants he's team playing
4tothefloor
19/04/2008, 9:35 PM
Ross Cosgrave at his best is about half the player than Colm Heffernan is. Several of our current plodders are about half the player that Ross Cosgrave is
Got it in one
Rossi has talent, not as much as Heff, but he has talent, but both of them don't seem to have the desire anymore, therein lies the comparison
Hmm, don't agree with that. Rossi was never a top player, and only became a regular starter with our threadbare squad last season. Yes he has talent, but it's not desire he's lacking. It's a pair of balls and the need for someone to constantly give him a kick up the backside. Rossi is capable, but he's cowardly, he pulls out of challenges and 50/50's.
Heff on the other hand was a top player and did the business in our playoff season for us, and also for Sligo Rovers and Waterford. He was average under O'Connor, but who wasn't? Remember that O'Connor also managed to make Waters, Stephen O'Mahoney and John McGrath look $hite, among others..... Athlone was a jokeshop last season, the Newcastle Utd of the Eircom League. Hardly Heff's fault they paid him well, and he was far from the only one on big money there.
There is NO comparison between Heff on his top game and Rossi on his top game (something i've never seen come to think of it)
Heff not doing a lot and getting paid for it?
No, more like how long are peoples memories? Rossi as good as Heff? :p Some people know nothing about football, or else have very poor memories. For Heffs last stint at Limerick, read above....
he plays with blinkers on 1 trick pony kinda player i doubt he interests kerley and the way he wants he's team playing
Really? Well that's a beauty. Heff had his best season for Limerick under Mike Kerley. In fact it was under Kerley that he blossomed and came to the attention of the rest of the league. Now, Heffernan is a footballer who plays ball and likes to take players on. Kerely likes to pass it about and play football. Can you please tell me where you've come up with your genius assumption that you "doubt he interests kerley and the way he wants he's team playing"?! What Colm Heffernan are you talking about, and more to the point, what Mike Kerely are you talking about?! I'm afraid you're talking $hite. Back in to your box FFS :rolleyes::p
Monkfish
20/04/2008, 8:57 AM
I disagree, im right and your wrong. Lets just leave it at that.
20/04/2008, 3:43 PM
I disagree, im right and your wrong. Lets just leave it at that.
I disagree. I'm right and you're wrong. :)
Monkfish
20/04/2008, 4:24 PM
I disagree. I'm right and you're wrong. :)
I agree to disagree with your disagreeability. (is that even a word?):)
da bishop
20/04/2008, 11:10 PM
saw robbie playing this morning ,no pace,no class,and every time he turned he fell over.:Das for heff we should try get him,hayes and co not up to it though they cant be faulted for effort.
see's it
21/04/2008, 10:54 AM
Got it in one
Hmm, don't agree with that. Rossi was never a top player, and only became a regular starter with our threadbare squad last season. Yes he has talent, but it's not desire he's lacking. It's a pair of balls and the need for someone to constantly give him a kick up the backside. Rossi is capable, but he's cowardly, he pulls out of challenges and 50/50's.
Heff on the other hand was a top player and did the business in our playoff season for us, and also for Sligo Rovers and Waterford. He was average under O'Connor, but who wasn't? Remember that O'Connor also managed to make Waters, Stephen O'Mahoney and John McGrath look $hite, among others..... Athlone was a jokeshop last season, the Newcastle Utd of the Eircom League. Hardly Heff's fault they paid him well, and he was far from the only one on big money there.
There is NO comparison between Heff on his top game and Rossi on his top game (something i've never seen come to think of it)
No, more like how long are peoples memories? Rossi as good as Heff? :p Some people know nothing about football, or else have very poor memories. For Heffs last stint at Limerick, read above....
Really? Well that's a beauty. Heff had his best season for Limerick under Mike Kerley. In fact it was under Kerley that he blossomed and came to the attention of the rest of the league. Now, Heffernan is a footballer who plays ball and likes to take players on. Kerely likes to pass it about and play football. Can you please tell me where you've come up with your genius assumption that you "doubt he interests kerley and the way he wants he's team playing"?! What Colm Heffernan are you talking about, and more to the point, what Mike Kerely are you talking about?! I'm afraid you're talking $hite. Back in to your box FFS :rolleyes::p
are you the special 1?
23/04/2008, 10:30 AM
A Ross Cosgrove v Colm Heffernan thread?!?! :D
Maybe we could follow it up with the great Ebbie Quigley v Stephen O'Flynn debate?? :p
23/04/2008, 11:39 AM
Maybe we could follow it up with the great Ebbie Quigley v Stephen O'Flynn debate?? :p LMFAO
see's it
23/04/2008, 11:45 AM
anyone know where cleary came from?
L37Ultra
23/04/2008, 12:09 PM
He's from Ballinasloe but Kerley knew him because he is a student in UL
23/04/2008, 12:11 PM
So Trevor Lovell in answer to your question ;)
23/04/2008, 12:37 PM
On an aside how many of our current crop is Ebbie better then? I say at least three of them! :D
23/04/2008, 12:42 PM
On an aside how many of our current crop is Ebbie better then? I say at least three of them! :D
We should at least wait until we see their sisters before passing judgement. :ball:
Battery Rover
23/04/2008, 3:24 PM
He was also part of Athlone Towns Youth team. He would have been part of the squad that produced Brian McCarthy now full time with Bohs, Noel McGee, Carmine Russo, Niall Scullion, Declan Fallon all part of the Athlone Town first team squad this season.
4tothefloor
23/04/2008, 7:55 PM
are you the special 1?
No, that's Rafa Benitez
see's it
23/04/2008, 8:31 PM
i agree
Monkfish
23/04/2008, 9:18 PM
No, that's Rafa Benitez
Wrong again my scarf waving friend. :p
24/04/2008, 7:40 AM
SLK Any chance of getting a poll up??
Who is the best Player??
a. Colm Heffernan
b. Ross Cosgrove
c. Ebbie Quigley
Monkfish
25/04/2008, 2:50 AM
Rossi all the way! :D
straightup
28/04/2008, 9:11 PM
Anyone have an actual ball park figure for how much he'd be willing to sign on for so we can end this merry-go-round? Cause his wages are the deal breaker for those of us who doubt whether the guy should be signed up or not, not his level of ability
give the guy a break lads hes has every right to demand money hes playing league of ireland football hes one of the best in the country when on form and limerick could badly do with players of his quality in fairness if chumka manjor and james hayes can demand money why cant colm.manjor and hayes couldnt get games with there junior teams and are playing loi with limerick and lay off kelliher also dont ye have song bout him ooohhh ahhhhhh roooooobbbbbiiiiiiiieeeee keeeeeelllllliiiiiihhhhhhheeerrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!! hayes left fairview cause robbie returned and he was frozen out by kelliher and derek cromwell the latter not a relation 2 a footballer but just goes to show the state of limerick senior football better players playin junior football now !!!!!!!!!!!!
da bishop
28/04/2008, 9:50 PM
give the guy a break lads hes has every right to demand money hes playing league of ireland football hes one of the best in the country when on form and limerick could badly do with players of his quality in fairness if chumka manjor and james hayes can demand money why cant colm.manjor and hayes couldnt get games with there junior teams and are playing loi with limerick and lay off kelliher also dont ye have song bout him ooohhh ahhhhhh roooooobbbbbiiiiiiiieeeee keeeeeelllllliiiiiihhhhhhheeerrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!! hayes left fairview cause robbie returned and he was frozen out by kelliher and derek cromwell the latter not a relation 2 a footballer but just goes to show the state of limerick senior football better players playin junior football now !!!!!!!!!!!!
seems like you have,n seen much of kelleher lately:rolleyes:,though the view do have a fine prospect in c.doyle who has overshadowed kelleher up front for the view this season.agree with you on heff,far better than whats there.
A football team has €300 a week to spend on a footballer. During the week two footballers call to the club, the first named Colm, the second named Chumka. Colm says that he will play for €500 a week, whilst Chumka says that he will play for €200, what does the football club do?
Yep that's right, they don't spend beyond their means and end up like Athlone last season and they take Chumka on board
29/04/2008, 9:58 AM
give the guy a break lads hes has every right to demand money
Of course he does.
And quite a bit more than Chumka or James Hayes while he's at it.
Whether or not the club has the money is a completely different matter however.
If we could release two or three of the dross knocking around to pay for Heff I'd be all for it. :ball:
Treaty Gooner
29/04/2008, 12:37 PM
Like who tho? Or is it whom... There's probably a group of 4 or 5, but would we swap 4 or 5 lads for the sake of one (possible) game breaker. What have we got? A squad of 18-20 players? Reckon that with injuries and unavailable players inevitable over the next few months, a squad of 20 is a minimum. Heff makes sense from a playing point of view, but in the long run we'd be worse off.
Still tho, my vote goes to Heff over Rossie.
straightup
29/04/2008, 2:59 PM
A football team has €300 a week to spend on a footballer. During the week two footballers call to the club, the first named Colm, the second named Chumka. Colm says that he will play for €500 a week, whilst Chumka says that he will play for €200, what does the football club do?
Yep that's right, they don't spend beyond their means and end up like Athlone last season and they take Chumka on board
bigger apes they are, in fairness chumka wont get much football there while heff would be a starter every week ,now weres the wast of money,
inexile
29/04/2008, 9:59 PM
please god dont tell me chumka is on 200 euro a week
limericklad
29/04/2008, 10:49 PM
please god dont tell me chumka is on 200 euro a week
190 approx from the dole and the rest from limerick :D:D
inexile
29/04/2008, 11:09 PM
thank god for that cos if he is worth 200 notes a week i might get back in training myself