roversman
11/04/2008, 4:48 PM
just heared keith o dywer say on ocean fm that there will be
big news on rovers this weekend
anyone hear anything

Shedzer
11/04/2008, 6:15 PM
Heard nothing. Im sure most the lads with the great inside info are on their way to the Brandywell at the moment:D Speculation would be:

*Something to do with Cook (i doubt it though)
*Commitee changes or announments (random but i doubt it)
*Faz (not sure why i just think it could centre around him, hes out again for tonight)
*That Rovers will recieve huge amounts of money:) or be playing a big side in a friendly :)

If its big news id imagine its something like any of the above.

If i were to purely GUESS, id go with something about Faz! Pure guessing though

showgies
11/04/2008, 6:23 PM
Liverpool Legends game maybe?

11/04/2008, 6:37 PM
Sean Connor to be buried beside Yeats in Drumcliffe.

redtildead
11/04/2008, 6:38 PM
I would say if its any of them its the Liverpool game.

If it was bad news he'd hardly have a build up to it.

celticV3
11/04/2008, 11:53 PM
i have it on good word we're getting cheerleaders for the galway game, if anything can top that?:)

11/04/2008, 11:54 PM
its good news lads, no need to worry ;)

12/04/2008, 12:02 AM
I would say if its any of them its the Liverpool game.

If it was bad news he'd hardly have a build up to it.

I'd safely say so

red metal
12/04/2008, 8:40 AM
Liverpool legends team to play a Rovers legends team and Billy Sinclair will be the manager for the night.I was told Paul mc Gee will be 1 of the rovers legends

12/04/2008, 9:27 AM
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/521/1/

On Saturday June 14th legends will collide in the Showgrounds as Sligo Rovers Legends take on the Liverpool Legends.The Liverpool side will be made up of some of the greatest players to ever play for the Anfield side and the names confirmed include-Ian Rush,Jan Molby,Ronnie Whelan,John Aldridge,Alan Kennedy,Phil Neil,Gary Gillespie,Rob Jones,Mike Marsh,John Wark,Paul Walsh,John Durnin and Bob Boulder.

showgies
12/04/2008, 10:00 AM
First Come First Served ? Shouldn't season ticket holders have first preference??

redtildead
12/04/2008, 11:01 AM
First Come First Served ? Shouldn't season ticket holders have first preference??

Its only on sale at home games anyway so season ticket holders will get them no bother

HomeBrewPlease
12/04/2008, 11:30 AM
its good news lads, no need to worry ;)

Good news:eek:

I'll be washing my hair that day

forza rovers
12/04/2008, 1:27 PM
hers the link

celticV3
12/04/2008, 2:13 PM
anyone else not excited by this in any way?

12/04/2008, 2:17 PM
it'll be very good, great idea to have something like this, its not as if it'll do any harm. will make the club money

Only1Rovers
12/04/2008, 2:23 PM

This is an opportunity for the club to raise some much needed funds.

It is a little bit more exciting than a lotto (no disrespect to the club lotto).

Why don’t you get behind it instead of being negative?

Alternatively, you could just not put up posts seeking other negatively minded people.

12/04/2008, 2:53 PM

I'm not excited by it personally except for what the club has to benefit out of it

sligored
12/04/2008, 3:13 PM
not excited at all by this. hope the club makes money though.

red bellied
12/04/2008, 3:17 PM
It will be a bit of craic really with the likes of Fago, Eddie Annand, Stenson and Willie Hastie combining for the Rovers. Fago battling it out with the Big Dane in midfield!

showgies
12/04/2008, 3:25 PM
This is an excellent idea.............fair play to all involved in organising it

villarover
12/04/2008, 4:17 PM
It will be a bit of craic really with the likes of Fago, Eddie Annand, Stenson and Willie Hastie combining for the Rovers. Fago battling it out with the Big Dane in midfield!
I would love to see Eddie Annand line out, now he was a legend!!!!

12/04/2008, 4:23 PM
Now This Is The One Where They Should Do 'be A Player For A Day' Draw Around.

showgies
12/04/2008, 4:53 PM

Exactly !!!

sligo23
12/04/2008, 4:56 PM

afaik the liverpool supporters club sligo branch are going to organise a raffle(for its members) with the winner getting to lead the legends out and play with them. tickets will be about €10 each i think.
rovers should think about doing the same.

red arrow
12/04/2008, 4:57 PM
this is a much needed fundraiser and should be fully supported. i'd say it will cost around 20 k to organise so we need to get as many people in as possible. if this was a failure it would spell disaster for the club. so lads get the word out and fill the showgies to capacity as galway from what i have being told have already theirs sold out. we need to generate funds for the club remember june is a huge month for the club financially as we only have 1 home game then a holiday break and the players have still to be paid. do the math cost of wages for june i'd say approx k80. i rest my case

DonalE
12/04/2008, 5:11 PM
What's the current capacity of The Sowgrounds? Maybe 2500 in both stands, 1000 in The Railway End and a couple of hundred in Post War Berlin (The Shed End)

sligofan4ever
12/04/2008, 5:26 PM
those anyone know if Harry Mclaughlin will be playing hope he does hes our Ian Rush when it comes to ledgends :p:p:p

Shiba
12/04/2008, 5:27 PM
Good news:eek:

I'll be washing my hair that day

Its about supporting the club That is "Sligo Rovers!"

Not The English club ye think ye support.

As Roy Keane Said " Prawn Sandwiche Supporters".

12/04/2008, 5:29 PM
Whether you like Liverpool or not, this will make the club big money and good publicity too.

Shiba
12/04/2008, 5:38 PM
Whether you like Liverpool or not, this will make the club big money and good publicity too.

Well Sed agaain:D

HomeBrewPlease
12/04/2008, 5:50 PM
Its about supporting the club That is "Sligo Rovers!"

Not The English club ye think ye support.

As Roy Keane Said " Prawn Sandwiche Supporters".

I wouldnt describe you as a "prawn sandwich supporter".

Is there some rule about not being allowed to wash our hair on the day of the game? Have we to have smelly hair to be allowed in to the game?

Battery Rover
13/04/2008, 2:49 PM
Does anyone have contact details for the people that organise these legends games

celticV3
13/04/2008, 3:15 PM
think to advertise it hopefully their will be something big in the 3 main papers and maybe a text from the free text before the galway game so people know the tickets will be available

Redie
13/04/2008, 5:49 PM
I've got to say I’m more than excited about this because they will probably have to do some work on the pitch so that it befits a 'legend'

dublinred
14/04/2008, 9:29 AM

On Saturday June 14th legends will collide in the Showgrounds as Sligo Rovers Legends take on the Liverpool Legends.The Liverpool side will be made up of some of the greatest players to ever play for the Anfield side and the names confirmed include-Ian Rush,Jan Molby,Ronnie Whelan,John Aldridge,Alan Kennedy,Phil Neil,Gary Gillespie,Rob Jones,Mike Marsh,John Wark,Paul Walsh,John Durnin and Bob Boulder.

Given the size of some of these guys we will get the pitch rolled for free aswell:)

Guts&Glory
14/04/2008, 12:28 PM
I have no interest in seeing the Liverpool legends its the Rovers Legends I wanna see....Ski, Annand, Fagan, Hastie et al.

They will bring back some great memories of brilliant ROVERS days.

As everyone has said hopefully Rovers make some profit out of what is an expensive game to host.

20/04/2008, 6:21 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/525/1/

Win a chance to play in the game

sligofan4ever
20/04/2008, 9:53 PM
have they announced a team of Rovers ledgends yet ? if so who is playing ?

21/04/2008, 1:46 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/features/sligoroverslegends.html

Some of these perhaps.....

showgies
21/04/2008, 2:29 PM
The club should produce a 50/50 scarf with Liverpool / Sligo Rovers on it for the game. I think it would be a big seller.

21/04/2008, 2:32 PM
It would. That is a great idea.

showgies
21/04/2008, 2:34 PM
Yeah I have to admit I am not a fan of those scarfs, but would buy one as a momento...

neutrino
24/04/2008, 12:30 PM
couldnt get to galway game. are tickets still on sale for this ? will they be on sale at shams game ?

24/04/2008, 12:58 PM
Don't worry - they'll be on sale at the turnstiles on the day of the 'game'.

red_away
24/04/2008, 3:01 PM
"CASH" is always an alternative ticket at the showgies!!!!

red arrow
24/04/2008, 9:21 PM
ticket will not be on sale on the day of the match nor will cash be taken as due to insurance requirements attendance numbers have to be known day before game. you can buy your ticket at all the home games leading up to the event which means that we have 3 league home games 1 l.c. home game
and if we get home draw in fai cup. also there are outlets sellinng as well. plenty of oppurtubity for you to get tickets well in advance

24/04/2008, 9:30 PM
Oh, Red Arrow, I wish I had your innocence.

neutrino
25/04/2008, 12:49 PM
plenty of oppurtubity for you to get tickets well in advance

unfortunately my oppurtubity to purchase tickets would always be limited as I'm one of many supporters who live away from Sligo ;) But will be back to get them at the Shams game

red_away
25/04/2008, 1:31 PM
Cash will get you in!!!!!!!!!!!!

Believe it...speaking to a rovers official about this and his reply was "beggars cant be choosers!"

This has happened many times in the past and rovers are well known for it, from winning the league in the 70's and the ramblers games etc crowds always understated for insurance and tax purposes.