View Full Version : Ian Harte

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

30/03/2005, 2:56 PM
O'Shea played great on the left side of midfield all match in Israel. Everytime he got the ball he gave it to Duff, which is what more of our players should do.

In fairness, if we're constantly looking to Duff to do something, we've got bigger problems. No slight on the talent of the player, more a comment on the state of our tactics (or the lack thereof)

carnstien
31/03/2005, 2:42 PM
Harte: defender, no pace, caught out of position a lot, poor passer, short, good free kick specialist.

O'Shea: defender, pace, an ok defender, couldn't pass to one of his team mates in a month of Sundays, tall, not a free kick specialist.

Not a great choice but I'd still go for O'Shea because the primary job of a defender is to defend and Harte is incapable of that.
In fairness neither Harte nor O'Shea are poor passers. In fact I would say that they are 2 of the best passers that we have.

The problem with both of them is lack of defencive ability, but anyone can see that Harte is miles worse than O'Shea when it comes to defending. Remember the WC, your heart was in your mouth every time he came near the ball.

31/03/2005, 3:37 PM
O Shea's passing has been sloppy of late over the last season and a half. THere may be examples of where he has passed well but in general his passing has been wayward at times, but his pass for the goal was a great ball to Duff However he is a much better defender of the ball than Harte. Harte however should be there instead of Maybury who was shown up against China.

I think that Carr at right back is more of a liability at the moment. I think Finnan is our steadiest full back.

31/03/2005, 3:50 PM
People rave on about Stephen Kelly. Maybe he will make the big step up soon? Jol certainly rates him. (And yes, I know he's right-footed). :D

He was called into the squad for one of the friendlies last year (think it was the Czechs) but never made it to the bench, I reckon he could get a run out against the Faroes.

Donal81
01/04/2005, 10:01 AM
In fairness neither Harte nor O'Shea are poor passers. In fact I would say that they are 2 of the best passers that we have.

The problem with both of them is lack of defencive ability, but anyone can see that Harte is miles worse than O'Shea when it comes to defending. Remember the WC, your heart was in your mouth every time he came near the ball.

O'Shea's distribution for Ireland has been woeful but the bloke can track back, he's good in the air, good at tackles, etc. He's a half-decent defender whose best is yet to come, I think.

I've nothing against Harte but I think this Harte revival stuff is a joke and shows me the fickleness of so many football supporters. You wouldn't hear one good word said about Harte until Kerr stopped selecting him. Now there's a campaign to bring him back? Why?

The free-kick argument is over-rated. Harte has a good strike of the ball but we're not talking about Michel Platini here, are we? In all the games that I've watched him play, he's caused more trouble than good.

I've no problem with him being called up as cover but he's proved that he's a terrible defender so why would anyone want to play him in defence?

Hibs4Ever
01/04/2005, 10:17 AM
O'Shea's distribution for Ireland has been woeful but the bloke can track back, he's good in the air, good at tackles, etc. He's a half-decent defender whose best is yet to come, I think.

I've nothing against Harte but I think this Harte revival stuff is a joke and shows me the fickleness of so many football supporters. You wouldn't hear one good word said about Harte until Kerr stopped selecting him. Now there's a campaign to bring him back? Why?

The free-kick argument is over-rated. Harte has a good strike of the ball but we're not talking about Michel Platini here, are we? In all the games that I've watched him play, he's caused more trouble than good.

I've no problem with him being called up as cover but he's proved that he's a terrible defender so why would anyone want to play him in defence?

I always supported Harte. He had a bad world cup. IMO though he's better than O'Shea

01/04/2005, 10:21 AM
My opinion is that O'Shea is still our best option at this time. I don't think O'Shea's long term future for Ireland is at left back as I can see him developing into a central midfielder for us within a couple of years. Defensively he's sound but his passing is a clear weak spot, especially in tight spaces close to the touchline. I think in a crucial competitive match he'd be a little less reckless than he was on Tuesday though.

I think Harte is probably the next best option but he's burnt his bridges with Kerr and that's that for him. Let's face it, there has to be more to it than "I don't know why he's left me out, he hasn't called...".

Finnan is our best full back on EITHER side I think. I've said it a few times, but I think Finnan is one of the highest quality players we have in our side. Carr has not impressed at all in this campaign. I thought his club form has been really good in the last two months but he's been poor for us, except for a decent showing in France. I think the narrow pitch in Israel hampered him getting forward.

If I can digress just a little, the more I think of it the narrow pitch really was a telling factor in Israel. This team's strenghth is a solid but unspectacular central midfield who get the ball out wide quickly where we're most dangerous. This was just too difficult to do last weekend.

Given that I doubt Harte will ever play for Ireland under Kerr and Maybury just isn't good enough, I do think it's worth experimenting with Zinedine at left-back. He has all the attributes, and let's face it, when Harte played for us Kilbane effectively was our left back. The number of times he was last man back to tackle was amazing.

A direct swap - O'Shea to CM and KK to LB - has its merits on paper, though for now I'd love to see Kav and Keane in CM.

01/04/2005, 11:18 AM
i think KK at left back would be brilliant. KK is a solid player, great at tackling, loads of pace, can bring the ball forward. Josh might be one for the future in midfield.

ollie
01/04/2005, 11:23 AM
Just stick Richie Dunne in there.
:D :D :D

carnstien
01/04/2005, 1:24 PM
A direct swap - O'Shea to CM and KK to LB - has its merits on paper, though for now I'd love to see Kav and Keane in CM.
Finally someone with a bit of cop on. Swapping O'Shea and Kilbane is a great idea for loads of reasons. Kilbane just doesn't have the composure on the ball or the passing ability to play central midfield, O'Shea does. O'Shea isn't great defensively, Kilbane is.

Kav looks such a good player, dunno how the hell he managed to spend all of his career in the lower divisions, but I just think that he is too old at this stage to be first choice and the fact that he is playing in a lower division is a problem.

01/04/2005, 2:55 PM
If I can digress just a little, the more I think of it the narrow pitch really was a telling factor in Israel. This team's strenghth is a solid but unspectacular central midfield who get the ball out wide quickly where we're most dangerous. This was just too difficult to do last weekend.

Sorry to labour this point, but unless this photo is deceptive it just shows how small the pitch was in Tel Aviv and just how hard it probably was to defend further up the pitch. You can always tell from the distance between the centre circle and the D of the penno box and in this photo it looks like no distance.

http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/pics.asp?action=showpic&super_group_id=25&image_id=993

01/04/2005, 3:27 PM
To be honest, i'd say that photo is a bit deceptive. Looking from behind and relatively low down like in that photo always foreshortens the view and makes things look smaller.

Colbert Report
01/04/2005, 4:02 PM
The pitch was tiny. I honestly have no doubt that we will rip them apart in Dublin, even without Roy.

Donal81
01/04/2005, 6:11 PM
Israel are no mugs but what do they have to offer going forward? Nothing. Their supposed danger man, Benayoun, did absolutely nothing against us. He had one chance which he fluffed but he created nothing.

What do they have going back? Nothing, just a few big lads who got away with constant fouling on Saturday. They won't have their home ground protection in June. Tel Ben Haim is out as well.

If we're in any way up for this, we have nothing to fear defensively and everything to gain offensively. Like Switzerland, I have a feeling that Israel only flourish if you stand off them. If you tear into them, they crumble.

01/04/2005, 6:42 PM
Carr and O'Shea are way too casual for international team.Finnan should start right back and either Harte or O'Shea Left back with my vote going for Harte. Our free kicks and corners have been dire lately so Hartey would definitely improve this.

ken foree
01/04/2005, 7:04 PM
carr looked a little bit chunky against israel, was this an optical illusion of the broadcast??

01/04/2005, 7:32 PM
Israel are no mugs but what do they have to offer going forward? Nothing.
Did you see them against France and Switzerland? They destroyed both teams with through balls and fast, on the ground football.

FarBeag
01/04/2005, 9:11 PM
I have to agree with Eirebhoy.They are not a bad team under any circumstances and we will need to be playing out of our skins in order to beat them.In my opinion they are as dangerous as the other two if not more so.Keep O'Shea at left back until we get someone better,Harte has had it.He may be good at the set pieces but he runs like ass and cant defend.

Donal81
02/04/2005, 1:25 AM
Did you see them against France and Switzerland? They destroyed both teams with through balls and fast, on the ground football.

I saw them against France and I think destroyed is an exaggeration. They only got any momentum after Trezeguet was sent off and even then it took a stupid mistake from Barthez to gift them an easy goal. Otherwise, they'd be finished, as they would have been if we'd lasted 60 seconds longer. They created little against us and all I saw was a very, very average international team with home advantage.

They haven't impressed me at all, to be honest, in the same way that the Swiss never impressed me over our four games against them. Fair play to Israel for getting a draw in Paris but the manner in which they treat their home draws shows that they're just happy to be this far. Maybe their luck will last the whole way through to the end of the qualifiers. It would want to because that's why they're this far.

I'm not being dismissive but their two home draws through jammy, jammy goals has kept them in it. If Trezeguet had kept his head, the French could have gone and got another. Let's not give them too much respect.

Closed Account 2
02/04/2005, 4:45 AM
I'd like to see Harte given another chance, even at his worst I think he would be able to offer more than the likes of Maybury. His stats for us are something like 11 goals in 40 or so caps, that's a fairly good ratio for one of our defenders.

The other thing to bear in mind is he is playing a world class league, and injury permitting, faces world class attackers on a regular basis. Even average teams in La Liga (Atletico Madrid, Deportivo, Betis, Sevilla, Sociedad) have great strikers (Torres, Tristan, Ricardo Olivera, Baptista, Nihat). It is not like the Premier League, where average teams have ordinary strikers (eg Bolton, Blackburn, Everton, Villa etc). Harte will be being tested in every game he plays in, and that can only improve him as a player.

Similarly his new coach, Bernard Schuster, is widely acknowledged as a good coach at developing players' skills. In his last few seasons at Leeds Harte had coaches like Venables and Peter Reid, who are not particularly noted for developing players, but instead are more motivational in nature. Another factor is Harte's experience, he has played may high profile games for us including at the World Cup, he's also played in the semi finals of the Champions League, and will now have been exposed to a new style of football in Spain.

All of these factors make him a decent candidate to have as a back-up full-back. I think he has suffered criticism from a sizable element of our "fans" some of which is over the top and unjustified because, like Robbie Keane, a certain high profile manager in the English game has made derisory comments about him, and certain elements of our "fans" choose to follow that manager's line.

It all went a bit sour for him at Leeds in the end, and I think he deserves another chance to prove himself in a green shirt. Give him 3 friendlies, or play him in something like the Unity Cup, and see how he does.

02/04/2005, 1:48 PM
I saw them against France and I think destroyed is an exaggeration. They only got any momentum after Trezeguet was sent off and even then it took a stupid mistake from Barthez to gift them an easy goal. Otherwise, they'd be finished, as they would have been if we'd lasted 60 seconds longer. They created little against us and all I saw was a very, very average international team with home advantage.

They haven't impressed me at all, to be honest, in the same way that the Swiss never impressed me over our four games against them. Fair play to Israel for getting a draw in Paris but the manner in which they treat their home draws shows that they're just happy to be this far. Maybe their luck will last the whole way through to the end of the qualifiers. It would want to because that's why they're this far.

I'm not being dismissive but their two home draws through jammy, jammy goals has kept them in it. If Trezeguet had kept his head, the French could have gone and got another. Let's not give them too much respect.
They showed how good they can play with absolutely quality football against France and Swiss (I'm not saying 90 minutes of it). Psychology is my word of the week and that is the reason they didn't play as well against us or in Paris. If they all went out in Brazil jerseys they'd be a much better team. :)

Closed Account 2
18/04/2005, 1:26 AM
Saw Harte play last night (Levante v Real Madrid), he had an ok game. Took a few free kicks, came close with one, had a dodgy header back to his keeper, all in all hard to say if he's any worse than someone like Carr in terms of defensive lapses.

18/04/2005, 9:10 PM
Is it just me or are they both rubbish left backs? They are not fit to lace Paolo Maldini's boots :ball:

TerryPhelan
02/05/2005, 2:36 PM
http://www.elevenaside.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=17152

Again, the question remains over Maybury. Harte is playing higher level footie (Levante lost 1-0 over the weekend) but when it comes down to it, a defender's job is to defend, and in his performances for Ireland over the past year, Maybury has seemed decent enough on that score.

Colie
02/05/2005, 3:01 PM
I wish he'd stop moaning about it. Is he on coke or something, coz he thinks he's way better than he actually is. It'd really pizz me off if he ever got picked for Ireland again.

JimmyP
02/05/2005, 8:02 PM
Reckon he's not doing his cause any favours by saying things like "whether he (Kerr) stays in the job or not" (not the first time he's said something to that effect).
Personally, I'd be interested to see what he pulls out of the bag to prove himself if he was called up for a friendly.

Donal81
02/05/2005, 11:42 PM
Maybe it's this attitude that got him booted out in the first place. This 'I deserve to be picked' thing winds me up. It's not like we were a defensive force with an impenetrable left-wing when he was there. In fact, we had quite the opposite. Ian, shut up and get better.

There must be something else to this. I think Harte has had more than enough chances to prove that he's not a ropey defender for Ireland and I fail to see how we miss him, even as cover. That's my view. But why would Kerr get rid of him so obviously?

03/05/2005, 7:13 AM
http://www.elevenaside.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=17152

Maybury has seemed decent enough on that score.

Maybury was absolutely apalling against China & against Poland.

I think it's pretty obvious Kerr & Harte have fallen out over something.

I'd like to see Kilbane tried at left back. Keane & Kav for CM until 2006.

03/05/2005, 7:46 AM
Maybury was absolutely apalling against China & against Poland.......I'd like to see Kilbane tried at left back..
Your comments on Maybury in these games are a bit harsh. In the China game he was not called on to do much defending but did well when he needed to. His support play to midfield was good and he hit two telling balls, one which almost ended up with Elliot scoring and the second which ended with Morrison scoring the only goal.

Against Poland last year, he only came on in that game for the last 25 minutes and got himself booked after being on for 5 minutes. If his display that night was appaling then there were at least half a dozen others who were equally as bad.

Like you, for some time I have advocated that Kilbane plays left back. He can defend (all those years covering for Harte taught him how!). Our left back position is a problem and other teams are clued up to this. IMHO, Kilbane or Maybury are better defensive options than O'Shea, who simply cannot defend and is too easily dragged out from the FB position. It will be interesting to see how Kerr sees it for the Israel game. Maybury has been playing well for Leicester, O'Shea has not being playing at all.

03/05/2005, 7:57 AM
Your comments on Maybury in these games are a bit harsh. In the China game he was not called on to do much defending but did well when he needed to. His support play to midfield was good and he hit two telling balls, one which almost ended up with Elliot scoring and the second which ended with Morrison scoring the only goal.

Sorry, don't agree at all! I thought Maybury was brutal against China, his lack of pace getting us caught out badly on at least one occasion.

And giving him an "assist" for Clinton's goal is a bit charitable. It was a bog-standard ball up the line, aimed for Doc but which Clinton was quicker to. Even the 'keeper thought it was for Doc which is why he ended up in no-man's land.

I take the point that he's been doing well at Leicester but I think Maybury would struggle against good quality opposition. But then again, I think he was in the team that won in Holland.

TerryPhelan
03/05/2005, 9:21 AM
Maybury was absolutely apalling against China & against Poland.

I think it's pretty obvious Kerr & Harte have fallen out over something.

I'd like to see Kilbane tried at left back. Keane & Kav for CM until 2006.

Didn't see the China game and everyone was absolutely dire against Poland. I was thinking more of when I saw him at Lansdowne against the Czechs, when he was called in at the last minute to deputise for Carr and played a very solid game at right back. Since he has started being picked again I think that while he is unspectacular and should not be a first team choice ahead of Carr, Finnan or O'Shea, Kerr has him there on merit as a defender - he is, put simply, a better defender than Ian Harte who, in spite of what he offers at the deadball and even in the air sometimes, has proven time and time again that he cannot defend at international level.

With regard to the Kilbane for left back suggestion, I think that would be a terrible idea for everyone concerned. Kev is in the form of his life at the moment playing in centre mid and up until Israel, acquitted himself very well alongside a (very subdued and disappointing) Keane. He has only played left back for Ireland once or twice (45 mins against Saudi Arabia and in the Scotland debacle in 2000) and never, as far as I am aware, for any club - simply because it is not his natural position. I think a major difference between Kerr and McCarthy is that McCarthy (admittedly, sometimes out of necessity) insisted on playing certain players repeatedly out of position: Duff and Roy Keane being the most obvious candidates. Kerr has tried to eliminate that (with the exception of Stevie Finnan, who should now take over the RB spot from Carr for the rest of the qualifiers if Mahatma Gandhi Reid starts playing well for us at RM). So keep Kev where he is for the moment. Kev and Kav for CM v Israel - and let them scrap it out for the spot alongside Keano when he returns from suspension: even though Keane has been so underwhelming for us since he came back (apart from the Romania game)...

03/05/2005, 9:37 AM
I dont think this is new, I think they are using quotes from Harte before and just re printing them as it is a slow news day. The Herald did a big thing on Harte the other weekend and went to a Levante match but Harte woudl not do an interview with them as he did not want to get himself in trouble again with mis-quotes etc. The Herald ran the piece and used his previous quotes which seem very similar to the ones in this article. I think he should be in the squad but not in the team on playing abilty. However it there is more to it then maybe Kerr is right to leave him out.

Donal81
03/05/2005, 11:09 AM
Sorry, don't agree at all! I thought Maybury was brutal against China, his lack of pace getting us caught out badly on at least one occasion.

And giving him an "assist" for Clinton's goal is a bit charitable. It was a bog-standard ball up the line, aimed for Doc but which Clinton was quicker to. Even the 'keeper thought it was for Doc which is why he ended up in no-man's land.

I take the point that he's been doing well at Leicester but I think Maybury would struggle against good quality opposition.

You could quite easily be talking about Harte here!

Maybury was dodgy against the Chinese and was outpaced plenty of times. Still, he can defend, Harte can't. In a perfect world, we'd have someone better than both of them and someone more suited to left-back than John O'Shea. We don't, though, so O'Shea or Maybury are our best options.

03/05/2005, 12:59 PM
But then again, I think he was in the team that won in Holland.
He was and played well as all the team did that night. He also played his first game for four years against the Czech Republic two months before Amsterdam and played well enough.

Maybury was dodgy against the Chinese and was outpaced plenty of times. Still, he can defend, Harte can't. In a perfect world, we'd have someone better than both of them and someone more suited to left-back than John O'Shea. We don't, though, so O'Shea or Maybury are our best options.
Yes we are weak at left back and ideally we need someone better but with what we have at the moment, we should be picking the player who can defend the best and that is not John O'Shea. Unless Steve Finnan or Stephen Kelly can adapt to the left back slot, I still prefer Maybury as a defender.

Shelsman
03/05/2005, 1:03 PM
Kerr is one to hold grudges, so if Harte upset him ( which he probably did by going to the papers ) then he can forget about playing for Ireland as long as Kerr is in charge. Remember when Kerr left Ronnie O'Brien out of the UEFA U-18 Final after an argument, even though he said that he was one of his best players.

Shelsman
03/05/2005, 1:04 PM
Is Ian Harte good enough for the current squad? I think so.

03/05/2005, 1:08 PM
As an attacking player, YES
As a defender, NO

So NO overall :ball:

Donal81
03/05/2005, 1:50 PM
At a stretch, one could reasonably make a case for his inclusion as cover. I would disagree but the argument is there. However, taking attitude into account and his complete lack of marking, heading or tackling ability, I think that, overall, my answer is no.

livehead1
03/05/2005, 3:14 PM
better than maybury full stop. this is the same ian harte that was in the premiership team of the season 2 years in a row and is great from dead ball. good enough for a team that can only get a 1-0 win over china? yep

03/05/2005, 3:23 PM
For the squad - yes, I think so. Ahead of Maybury probably. For the team - hard to call. Once we get an any-way decent left-back (i.e. not O'Shea either!) then no.

Karlos
03/05/2005, 3:39 PM
Having seen Maybury twice out-paced against China I don't feel he offers us more than Harte in a defensive or attacking situation. I'd include Harte in the squad

03/05/2005, 3:42 PM
Good enough for the squad IMO.

stojkovic
03/05/2005, 4:00 PM
I'd bring him on, like in American Football, just to take free-kicks, penos and corners.

03/05/2005, 4:12 PM
At a stretch, one could reasonably make a case for his inclusion as cover. I would disagree but the argument is there. However, taking attitude into account and his complete lack of marking, heading or tackling ability, I think that, overall, my answer is no.

That's it in a nutshell.

Colie
03/05/2005, 6:11 PM
Kilbansey is a better left full than Hartey or O'Shea, learned so much about defending when covering for Harte during the WC. It pains me to say this but Harte could be included for a 10 minute spell on the wing at the end I suppose.

tonycuna
03/05/2005, 6:18 PM
Why not? Maybe as a substitute I think he could be an important man from the bench..

Yes, I think that he isn't good @defending, but think about this: what is it the better thing?
Have him as a substitute, and can go on with him in every moment of the match, or haven't him at all?

I choose the first chance ;)

FarBeag
03/05/2005, 9:49 PM
There is no way he can defend particulary for 90 minutes,he would scare the living s*ite out of us everytime the ball came near him.He has no pace and one mistake from him which is always guaranteed would be detrimental.If only we could use him somewhere in the team because you can't question his ability from set pieces.

brine3
03/05/2005, 11:54 PM
I've been suggesting Kilbane should be tried at left back for years. He's no central midfielder, but boy does he mark his man and never give up. And back when Harte was in the team Kilbane was the de facto left back anyway.

dynamo kerry
04/05/2005, 12:28 PM
I'd bring him on, like in American Football, just to take free-kicks, penos and corners.

oh yeah- bring him in to choke when it really counts.

not good enough.. not a winner. best kept out of it. maybury is not necessarily a better all rounder but his attiutde is superior.

jimbob117
04/05/2005, 3:26 PM
hes aint good enough lads.. if he didnt have an attitude problem id say let him in the squad, but alas he does, so let him be.