View Full Version : Ian Harte

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

EastTerracer
11/09/2010, 3:34 PM
Shane Long and Ian Harte have both scored penalties for Reading today - I think Harte took the second penalty as Long had been fouled to win the penalty.

Uncle_Joe
01/11/2010, 8:31 PM
http://greenscene.me/2010/11/ian-harte-irish-players-should-broaden-their-horizons/

Ian Harte thoughts on Irish players playing abroad taken fom the star. Not sure what the full Star article says and its probably taken out of context but I find the part about Brian Kerr telling Harte that if he moved to Spain he would not be picked for Ireland a bit ludicrous? sounds unbelievable to me.

Sullivinho
01/11/2010, 8:48 PM
“Brian Kerr said that if I went to Spain I would be out of the picture. I wasn’t picked in an Irish squad for about a year and a half. It was a fantastic experience but it was disappointing to miss out on a load of caps. Brian did eventually bring me in for the Israel and San Marino games, and I scored in both of them.”

If true, (and in fairness Ian Harte is a fairly candid character) what a ridiculously small-minded attitude from an international manager.

irishfan86
02/11/2010, 1:42 PM
I think Harte's exclusion from the Irish picture had a lot more to do with his massive injury problems during his time with Levante. At one stage he missed nearly a year of football, and it seemed like he never really got a long run with the team.

That said, I don't get why Harte would lie about Kerr saying something like that, so who knows?

Exiled
02/11/2010, 5:36 PM
Cracking free kick at the weekend. He's now scored more goals for Reading this season than Shane Long and Noel Hunt combined!

02/11/2010, 8:05 PM
I think Harte's exclusion from the Irish picture had a lot more to do with his massive injury problems during his time with Levante. At one stage he missed nearly a year of football, and it seemed like he never really got a long run with the team.

That said, I don't get why Harte would lie about Kerr saying something like that, so who knows?

to be honest i do vaguely remember an accusation along those lines thrown at Kerr but cant remember if it was related to Harte. I thought i read it on here too.

irishfan86
02/11/2010, 11:48 PM
I remember the accusation but as I say it was totally irrelevant given the fact that Harte always seemed to be injured every time internationals came around.

Murfinator
05/03/2011, 3:37 PM
Scored his 7th of the season for Reading, doing well at left back for them this year. He's a year younger than Kilbane, performing in a division higher than him and is a specialist rather than a converted left back. Why isn't he on the Irish squad exactly?

Colbert Report
05/03/2011, 3:41 PM
Because he's crap defensively. Go back and watch the Spain match from the 2002 World Cup. Scary stuff. I remember Roy Keane gave him a chance when he was at Sunderland and Ian Harte shipped seven goals to Everton and never played in the Premiership again.

Yard of Pace
05/03/2011, 3:42 PM
Scored his 7th of the season for Reading, doing well at left back for them this year. He's a year younger than Kilbane, performing in a division higher than him and is a specialist rather than a converted left back. Why isn't he on the Irish squad exactly?

If Harte returned to our starting eleven, I'd have to install a defibrillator in my living room.

EastTerracer
05/03/2011, 3:46 PM
To be fair to Harte the 2002 World Cup was probably the most disappointing 4 games he played for Ireland. He was really excellent in that qualifying campaign and expectations were high for him at that time. He was never the best defensively but his threat from set-pieces made him a really valuable part of the team. His confidence was already shot in Japan/Korea before he missed the penalty in that game. It's a bit harsh to single out that game as a judgement of his contribution.

05/03/2011, 3:47 PM
If Harte returned to our starting eleven, I'd have to install a defibrillator in my living room.

Harte attack?

Yard of Pace
05/03/2011, 4:22 PM
Harte attack?

No, Harte defence

Sullivinho
05/03/2011, 5:05 PM
When Harte was around, getting a free kick within shooting distance was a genuine event. I miss that.

Ditto on the living room resuscitation though.

05/03/2011, 5:16 PM
Because he's crap defensively. Go back and watch the Spain match from the 2002 World Cup. Scary stuff. I remember Roy Keane gave him a chance when he was at Sunderland and Ian Harte shipped seven goals to Everton and never played in the Premiership again.

its a team game FFS.

05/03/2011, 5:19 PM
Unless harte was in goals for those 7 goals...

05/03/2011, 5:25 PM
im not sure Roy Keane is that mental

(deliberately not italicised) ;)

05/03/2011, 10:28 PM
To be fair to Harte the 2002 World Cup was probably the most disappointing 4 games he played for Ireland. He was really excellent in that qualifying campaign and expectations were high for him at that time. He was never the best defensively but his threat from set-pieces made him a really valuable part of the team. His confidence was already shot in Japan/Korea before he missed the penalty in that game. It's a bit harsh to single out that game as a judgement of his contribution.Didn't he play with no feeling in his left foot due to a nerve injury?

Harte is a bit like O'Shea and Gibson. Some people just never took to him and he got criticism well beyond anything merited - the usual people who follow big English clubs first and Ireland second and who just can't get the concept that Irish players aren't usually on a par with the best that money can buy. People forget that he started playing for Ireland before he even played regular club football.

People say he was only ever accomodated in the team because KK did a lot of donkey work ahead of him, but so what? If the sum of the parts is big enough, then that's ok by me. I've very fond memories of Harte in green.

Fixer82
05/03/2011, 10:36 PM
To be fair to Harte the 2002 World Cup was probably the most disappointing 4 games he played for Ireland. He was really excellent in that qualifying campaign and expectations were high for him at that time. He was never the best defensively but his threat from set-pieces made him a really valuable part of the team. His confidence was already shot in Japan/Korea before he missed the penalty in that game. It's a bit harsh to single out that game as a judgement of his contribution.

Yeah I really thought Harte suffered from the whole Saipan debacle. His confidence was completely shot by the time the World Cup rolled around. Didn't seem like a happy camper at all

EastTerracer
05/03/2011, 11:25 PM
Just watching the goals on BBC now - Harte got a really good free-kick, a jammy free-kick and had the assist for Long's first goal. The Irish day was completed when Noel Hunt provided the assist for Long's second goal. A good day all round at Reading for the Irish lads.

Yard of Pace
06/03/2011, 3:54 PM
Didn't he play with no feeling in his left foot due to a nerve injury?

Harte is a bit like O'Shea and Gibson. Some people just never took to him and he got criticism well beyond anything merited - the usual people who follow big English clubs first and Ireland second and who just can't get the concept that Irish players aren't usually on a par with the best that money can buy. People forget that he started playing for Ireland before he even played regular club football.

People say he was only ever accomodated in the team because KK did a lot of donkey work ahead of him, but so what? If the sum of the parts is big enough, then that's ok by me. I've very fond memories of Harte in green.

Ah Stutts, I think you're looking through rose tinted glasses here. I loved Harte as much as the next player but he was a catastrophe defensively. His positioning was non existent and he was a constant source of palpitations.

06/03/2011, 5:09 PM
He was never a catastrophe - Japan apart. Beaten too easily sometimes, but never a catastrophe. We were a better team with him than without him. Hence my "sum of the parts" remark. He & KK were a good combo on the left even if KK had to cover Harte at times.

Murfinator
09/03/2011, 10:20 AM
Scored his 10th league goal last night and now ranked in the championship top scorers list. Had a look through a Reading forum for a general assessment of his performance, here's some quotes.

Ian Harte has got to be player of the season

One of Harte's strengths defensively, is in the air; its amazing how many teams (like Boro on Saturday) think that the way to get past him is aerial. He rarely, if ever, misses a header.

Assist yesterday, the corner for Mills at Everton, a fabulous secondary assist at Watford, many other assists from his FCs, some exquisite passes to the wings, especially Kebe, one absolute PEACH yesterday

Harte lacks in pace but makes up with it in goals and in reading of the game. That freekick against Everton was inches away from being genius.

The guy is our second-top scorer fer Chrissakes, and we concede LESS when he plays than when he doesn't.

I've been a fierce critic of Ian Harte but yesterday was by far the best game I've seen him play for us. Not only was did his deadball execution (with the exception of one really overhit corner) worthy of his reputation but defensively he looked strong, particularly in the air. He also pushed forward well in support of HRK, passed the ball well - the pass to Long for his first was sublime - and his lack of pace wasn't shown up.

I know he gets knocked for his pace, but he always has. His crosses and set-pieces are what he's based his career on and in my opinion he's been possibly the buy of the season. Great bit of business by McDermott. Williams wasn't cutting it and we brought experience in straight away. We weren't scoring many goals and he also offers goals, and he hasn't let us down in either respect.

09/03/2011, 10:31 AM
Didn't he play with no feeling in his left foot due to a nerve injury?

yes, he had a foot injury during the wc that required pain killing injections

SwanVsDalton
09/03/2011, 11:14 AM
I don't think it's going to happen, but I'm more and more warming to the idea of a Harte comeback. Fair play to him for the career renaissance. I'd love to see Reading come up this year and see how he cuts it in the Prem. Dare say he'll have it a lot tougher, but would be the crowning achievement to a fine career.

Yard of Pace
09/03/2011, 11:21 AM
I don't think it's going to happen, but I'm more and more warming to the idea of a Harte comeback. Fair play to him for the career renaissance. I'd love to see Reading come up this year and see how he cuts it in the Prem. Dare say he'll have it a lot tougher, but would be the crowning achievement to a fine career.

Would you really play him ahead of Clark or Kilbane. We don't need him, imo. Delighted to see him doing well all the same.

09/03/2011, 11:29 AM
So you'd play someone who's older and playing at a lower level ahead of Harte?

DeLorean
09/03/2011, 11:30 AM

McShane was at fault for most of those goals if I remember correctly, and he's still getting more than a look in. I'd prefer Harte at left back than Kilbane, but he's possibly not the best option we have.

It's very unfair that he keeps getting that Spain match thrown at him, and even the tournament itself. It's doubtful that we'd have even qualified without him. He was also very consistent with an excellent Leeds side that made a Champions League semi final.

09/03/2011, 12:14 PM
Worth pointing out that he was our top scorer in that qualifying, in fairness (along with Roy Keane). Though I do remember many a hairy moment when he was defending.

Murfinator
09/03/2011, 12:51 PM

Reminds me a bit of the comebacks Carr and Delap have made in recent years, having a tough time for a few seasons with injuries being a reserve and in lower divisions but to bounce back to the top again.

Would I have him ahead of Kilbane? No doubt, is that a serious question?
Ahead of Clark is debatable although it is a squad and I think Harte is unquestionably our second or third best Left back available at the very worst so should be involved.

SwanVsDalton
09/03/2011, 1:14 PM
Would you really play him ahead of Clark or Kilbane. We don't need him, imo. Delighted to see him doing well all the same.

Ahead of Kilbane, yeah I'd consider him. Why not? I probably wouldn't play him ahead of Clark, Cunningham or O'Halloran if I'm totally honest, but that's not really my point - if there was a big game coming up towards the end of the campaign, when experience would be invaluable, and we're short on LB's, he's definitely making a big case for himself.

Fixer82
09/03/2011, 4:54 PM
I would certainly welcome him back into the squad as a left back.
Kilbane did his best in there but he is a winger essentially. He can do a job in centre midfield but he's a winger.

ken foree
09/03/2011, 8:45 PM
love him, a very good player and drogheda man of course but dare i posit the possibility that his pace has not increased over the years? apologies about the alliteration(s)...

09/03/2011, 9:50 PM
Full back is a funny position. Ideally you need to be able to defend, and a classic full back has a winger's attributes in terms of maurauding up and down the touchline, but I honestly think a much overlooked aspect of full back play is as a developer of play from deep positions, and as a consequence a central midfielder's comfort on the ball is required. A full back to me must have a central midfielder's gift to pick a good 15 yard pass, usually infield - forward about 45 degrees.

I think that Kevin Foley has this more than any of our right backs, but Harte probably has this more than any of our left backs.

We know what Harte's strengths are and what his weaknesses are. It'd be a big risk to play him in the next 2 games, but a good look at him in a recent friendly may have been a useful exercise. That said, Trap would have been crucified if he hadn't given Clark a proper debut.

Sullivinho
09/03/2011, 10:39 PM
Harte for LB, Mick for manager. The nostalgia is thick in the air this week. We badly need the Poles/Ukrainians and Brazilians to replace the Koreans and Japanese in our hearts. Get major finals laid so to speak.

theworm2345
10/03/2011, 2:48 AM
Harte for LB, Mick for manager. The nostalgia is thick in the air this week. We badly need the Poles/Ukrainians and Brazilians to replace the Koreans and Japanese in our hearts. Get major finals laid so to speak.
So...how about a recall for David Connolly :D

Colbert Report
10/03/2011, 3:45 AM
Reading in the FA Cup against Man City on Sunday, should be on the telly so we can all have a look at how Harte matches up against Premiership opposition. Best of luck to him, I've always loved the guy even though he's a terrible defender.

10/03/2011, 9:20 AM
Man City vs Reading is on ESPN, City playing in Kiev tonight, so might not have a fully-fit team ready by Sunday

13/03/2011, 5:28 PM
Putting in a decent shift at the moment. Reading are a goal down mind. Bullet header.

Colbert Report
13/03/2011, 5:30 PM
Not a bad game from Harte, skinned badly by Silva in the first half though. Not bad for an almost 34 year old player. Not up to international scratch imo. Too bad because I love the guy's free kicks.

ArdeeBhoy
13/03/2011, 7:01 PM
On the evidence of today should be in the current Ireland team. Nothing to do with nostalgia, just ability.

Certainly no worse than, well better, than Kilbane.

Colbert Report
14/03/2011, 1:26 AM
I trust Kilbane a lot more than I would Harte. Kilbane doesn't bring the free kicks though...

ArdeeBhoy
14/03/2011, 11:16 AM
Hmm, the only thing you can trust Kilbane for is to give away a goal v. decent opposition!
And yes I know is committed and gives all in the green etc.

But seriously, he should have been used only as cover post-Staunton, especially this year as Harte has proved himself better this season.

Murfinator
09/04/2011, 4:18 PM
http://www.readingchronicle.co.uk/sport/readingfc/articles/2011/04/08/51489-harte-wins-championship-player-of-the-month-award/

Championship player of the month for March, first Irish player in 2 years to take this honour.

Shane Long must have run him close.

He scored another today as well, think thats 11 league goals now?

ArdeeBhoy
10/04/2011, 3:02 AM
Kinda proves what I said above. Trap should see if he's up for a recall....

cornflakes
10/04/2011, 8:55 AM
He should be called up for the American tour and given a chance, his experience could be useful on that tour considering the squad will be mainly made up of chaps

seanfhear
10/04/2011, 9:49 AM
He should be called up for the American tour and given a chance, his experience could be useful on that tour considering the squad will be mainly made up of chapsWould he want to go on such a tour at his age and with maybe just a long shot at getting back in the Irish team regularly.

Is Ian not a chap then:)

peadar1987
10/04/2011, 11:44 AM
That' the problem with the current Irish team. Too many chaps. We need more blokes, and possibly a lad or two.

Fixer82
10/04/2011, 2:54 PM
That' the problem with the current Irish team. Too many chaps. We need more blokes, and possibly a lad or two.

Is there anything to be said for calling up a few shams?? :soldier:

10/04/2011, 3:47 PM
http://www.readingchronicle.co.uk/sport/readingfc/articles/2011/04/08/51489-harte-wins-championship-player-of-the-month-award/

Championship player of the month for March, first Irish player in 2 years to take this honour.

Shane Long must have run him close.

He scored another today as well, think thats 11 league goals now?

And it was a cracking free as well.