View Full Version : Ian Harte

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

14/11/2008, 9:58 AM
Looks like Ashley Grimes junior might be one for the future though - anyone know if he is son of Ashley Grimes from 70s/80s Ireland squad?
He was on the books at Man City for a while, and as far as I know he isn't. The Millwall manager used to be involved in the youth setup at Man City, and signed him when he took the job at The New Den.

RiffRaff
14/11/2008, 2:15 PM
Its amazing how quickly Harte's career has gone downhill. He's only about 31 and seems he can't get a club now.

irishfan86
14/11/2008, 8:42 PM
Its amazing how quickly Harte's career has gone downhill. He's only about 31 and seems he can't get a club now.

I'd say he could get a club, it's just that he's being picky about it.

I've no doubt a team in the lower echelons of the Championship would give him a contract, but he's holding out for something bigger, i.e. trials with Wolves, and now with Charlton.

Fair play to him for pushing himself, at this stage he could be forgiven for getting an automatic starting place at a lower side.

irishfan86
11/12/2008, 11:43 PM
Potentially the best free kick taker perhaps, but even at the peak of his career he could be a liability at the back end- I doubt he's improved in this department.

I watched a few games when he was at Levante, and he was by far the worst out of their back four when it came to the defensive side of things.

That said, he took all of their corners and free kicks and looked very dangerous.

If his set piece ability is still there, I'd have in the squad and put him on in the last 15 minutes if we were down a goal in case we got a free kick.

Barring him scoring a bunch of goals from free kicks and being bought by a team that gets promoted, I doubt we'll see him play for Ireland again.

He was definitely one of my favourite players at his peak, but I fear his best days are behind him.

Hopefully he stays fit and can come back into the reckoning. If there's any spot on the field that's up for grabs, it's left back and centre-mid.

richieos
11/12/2008, 11:46 PM
he was one of my favourite players too. he may have been defensively dodgy, but so are all the best attacking left backs, he contributed so much to us going forward. hes a left back and has 11 international goals, enough said

celticV3
11/12/2008, 11:54 PM
Least he has all the attractions there?:)

Sligo Hornet
12/12/2008, 7:10 AM
Least he has all the attractions there?:)

Blackpool is a complete kip stuck in a 50's timewarp:eek:.......poor ol' Hartey!

12/12/2008, 8:28 AM
Blackpool is a complete kip stuck in a 50's timewarp:eek:.......poor ol' Hartey!

...maybe he's into old school rockabilly?

It's actually a fairly decent sign even if it is month to month contracts. He was training at Thorp Arch with Leeds United for a while and I think they were trying to agree a deal.

That probably just means Leeds couldn't or wouldn't meet the salary demands but I'm happy enough for Hartey that he got a championship club. If he gets a game he'll get goals there.

12/12/2008, 8:42 AM
I think Hartey played every game of the 2002 campaign and did very well, chipped in with a few goals, the one at home to Cyprus was quite tasty. He struggled a bit in the WC culminating with the penalty miss in the Spanish game and he never really played well for Ireland since then.

Very talented player at set pieces but his lack of pace exposed him defensively. Dont really see him as an option for Ireland anymore unfortunately. Ive often said if we could as they do in American Football bring on and off a kicker to take free kicks, corners etc he would be very useful.
Good to see him getting a club again however.

12/12/2008, 9:12 AM
I'd say he could get a club, it's just that he's being picky about it.

I've no doubt a team in the lower echelons of the Championship would give him a contract, but he's holding out for something bigger, i.e. trials with Wolves, and now with Charlton.

Blackpool on a one month contract! So he couldn't hold out any longer ;) From the BBC website:
--------------------------
Blackpool have signed former Leeds United and Sunderland defender Ian Harte on an initial one-month deal.

The 31-year-old Republic of Ireland international was a free agent following his release by Roy Keane from the Stadium of Light in June.

"They're a good bunch of lads here," Harte told BBC Radio Lancashire.

"I knew a few of them here anyway and they have made me feel very welcome and I'm looking forward to the challenge that's ahead."

The Drogheda-born player has been training at Bloomfield Road for the last 10 days after trials at Championship rivals Wolves, Sheffield United and Charlton.

It's been a good career and hopefully I can finish it with a club like Blackpool

He believes it has given Blackpool manager Simon Grayson a decent opportunity to see what he can offer to the Championship club.

"I was due to sign for Charlton before Alan Pardew left, and got a call off Simon asking me to come in for a week and take it from there.

"For someone like me who's not got a team you've got to make sure you keep your fitness levels up, and hopefully when the opportunity does come you hit the ground running.

Harte, who has won 64 international caps, began his career at Leeds and spent nine years at Elland Road after joining them from League of Ireland club Home Farm in 1995.

He helped the Yorkshire club reach the semi-finals of the Champions League in 2001, before losing the two-legged tie to Valencia.

After joining Spanish side Levante in 2004, Harte returned to England three years later, but made only eight appearances before being released.

"I'm experienced and I've looked after myself and I just want to play for as long as I can.

"It's been a good career and hopefully I can finish it with a club like Blackpool."

He will be available for selection for Saturday's trip to Nottingham Forest.

Drumcondra 69er
12/12/2008, 9:16 AM
...maybe he's into old school rockabilly?

It's actually a fairly decent sign even if it is month to month contracts. He was training at Thorp Arch with Leeds United for a while and I think they were trying to agree a deal.

That probably just means Leeds couldn't or wouldn't meet the salary demands but I'm happy enough for Hartey that he got a championship club. If he gets a game he'll get goals there.

Where did you hear that? Genuinely interested. As far as I know he's been training wih Blackpool the last couple of months?

Why he turned a monthly contrcat from Wolves down in August is beyond me.....

Sligo Hornet
12/12/2008, 9:19 AM
Where did you hear that? Genuinely interested. As far as I know he's been training wih Blackpool the last couple of months?

Perhaps he figured he was worthy of a longer deal, then tried elsewhere, only to find Wolves called it right.

Drumcondra 69er
12/12/2008, 9:24 AM
Perhaps he figured he was worthy of a longer deal, then tried elsewhere, only to find Wolves called it right.

I've always been a defender of his but he was being self delusional in the current climte if that was the case. I'd imagine he'd have had a decent craic of teh whip under McCarthy to boot. Still, maybe for the best when you see how Stephen Ward is developing in his position at Wolves now. Harte was originally a forward player as well actually....

12/12/2008, 10:08 AM

Leeds own site. He was training with the squad at Thorp Arch to keep his fitness up and played in at least one reserve team game (behind closed doors according to LUFC.com)

Macca mentioned him directly in an interview too saying they were having a look and hoping they could work something out. He even qualified his expectations on the basis that IH was away having a trial with Charlton that week.

My guess is Leeds were happy enough with his calibre and fitness to offer him some sort of a deal but the finances had to be right from their end. Meanwhile Harte reckoned he'd score a deal with a Championship club sooner or later which he's managed to do.

Drumcondra 69er
12/12/2008, 12:19 PM
Leeds own site. He was training with the squad at Thorp Arch to keep his fitness up and played in at least one reserve team game (behind closed doors according to LUFC.com)

Macca mentioned him directly in an interview too saying they were having a look and hoping they could work something out. He even qualified his expectations on the basis that IH was away having a trial with Charlton that week.

My guess is Leeds were happy enough with his calibre and fitness to offer him some sort of a deal but the finances had to be right from their end. Meanwhile Harte reckoned he'd score a deal with a Championship club sooner or later which he's managed to do.

Cheers, I was away in Oz for a month so was a bit out of the loop, could've done a job in League one but given how shaky Leeds are at the back at present I doubt he'd have been the answer!

Den Perry
15/12/2008, 2:27 PM
I've great time for Harte. During '02 WC had a nightmare but was still to the forefront of all goal celebrations. A lesser person could have sulked due to their own performances being bad (Hakan Suker and Turkey)

DotTV
15/12/2008, 3:00 PM
I've great time for Harte. During '02 WC had a nightmare but was still to the forefront of all goal celebrations. A lesser person could have sulked due to their own performances being bad (Hakan Suker and Turkey)

Too funny!!

29/12/2008, 9:20 PM
Very exciting performance tonight by Harte against Wolves. His vision is incredible, and his positioning very impressive as he's creating the platform for most of blackpool's attacks.
Only problem is he's still working on getting back to full fitness, he looked tired in the second half towards the midpoint.

Funny............I was watching that game and the Ian Harte I saw playing was taken off because Man of the Match Matt Jarvis ran him all over the place!

02/02/2009, 11:46 AM
Ha!! The end of Harte as an actor who's one role was pretending to be a footballer!

02/02/2009, 11:55 AM
Ha!! The end of Harte as an actor who's one role was pretending to be a footballer!

That's a bit harsh. I wasn't the greatest fan of Harte but he played for Ireland on 64 occasions, scoring eleven goals, which is an excellent return for a fullback.

02/02/2009, 11:58 AM
That's a bit harsh. I wasn't the greatest fan of Harte but he played for Ireland on 64 occasions, scoring eleven goals, which is an excellent return for a fullback.
Well said. Pesky facts ha.

Razors left peg
02/02/2009, 11:59 AM
He was the best Irish left back of all time.

of course he was :rolleyes:

02/02/2009, 12:46 PM
Bit OTT there rambler14, Harte was always a decent skin. Granted he's not the best full we've ever had, but he always turned up, and did a job for us. Never complained about being out of the squad, was the first player in an age to play in Spain, and the first since John Aldridge to score in the Primera Liga.

02/02/2009, 12:52 PM
Once he left Leeds his career was finished!

02/02/2009, 12:53 PM
Once he left Leeds his career was finished!
If he had stayed at Leeds his career would have been finished

Damned if you do, damned if you don't

DeLorean
02/02/2009, 12:59 PM
Always liked him. Lacked pace in a big way but was very good on the ball and held his postition on a very strong Leeds side. Great at set pieces. Had a nightmare WC in 02 but was one of our best performers in qualification.

02/02/2009, 1:11 PM

yes, pretended to be our topscorer on the way to WC 2002 :rolleyes:

Had a nightmare WC in 02

heard at the time that he had to get injections in his foot to see him through games. apparently could hardly feel one of his feet during the games due to injury

DeLorean
02/02/2009, 1:18 PM
heard at the time that he had to get injections in his foot to see him through games. apparently could hardly feel one of his feet during the games due to injury

Definitely shouldn't have taken that penalty against Spain so:eek:

There was definitely something up anyway cos I thought he had been faultless in qualifying.

eitoof
05/02/2009, 4:02 PM
Signed for St Mirren today.

http://www.stmirren-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=431089

06/02/2009, 10:43 AM
Former Leeds United defender Ian Harte says he hopes to use a move to St Mirren to resurrect his dream of playing for Celtic. (Daily Record)

Colbert Report
06/02/2009, 11:17 AM
Looks like the deal has fallen through:

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4901155,00.html

I wonder where he'll end up now?

06/02/2009, 11:20 AM
Former Leeds United defender Ian Harte says he hopes to use a move to St Mirren to resurrect his dream of playing for Celtic. (Daily Record)

Such a stupid thing to say. Doh! Almost like saying he's signed for Man City to resurrect his dream of playing for Man Utd. Very disrespectful of St. Mirren.

Junior
06/02/2009, 1:31 PM
Such a stupid thing to say. Doh! Almost like saying he's signed for Man City to resurrect his dream of playing for Man Utd. Very disrespectful of St. Mirren.

well not quite...........:D

06/02/2009, 4:02 PM

Harte is quoted in the Daily Record as saying
"Joining St Mirren gives me a chance to put myself back on the radar. We'll see what happens from here.

No mention of dream moves.
It was a case of Elroy taking one meaning from different unrelated quotes.

Anyway it's a compliment to St Mirren that they are inside some football radar:)

06/02/2009, 4:14 PM
Harte is quoted in the Daily Record as saying
"Joining St Mirren gives me a chance to put myself back on the radar. We'll see what happens from here.

It was a case of Elroy taking one meaning from different unrelated quotes.

More so a copy and paste from the BBC Sport website rather than my own opinion. I dont think Hartey is or will be an option any more for us but I still like to follow the progress of our ex internationals. Looks like this deal is dead now anyways.

06/02/2009, 4:44 PM
well not quite...........:D

The principle is the same though.

Diarmo
06/02/2009, 5:15 PM
Surprised Harte didn't move to St. Mirren. Weird move to say yes and then suddenly not sign, unless he got an offer from a better club.

Anyway, Harte's international career is long over. His last match I think was the em, memorable match against San Marino....

Junior
06/02/2009, 10:57 PM
The principle is the same though.

Ok but more Stockport County to Man U:-)

16/02/2009, 9:58 AM
Ok but more Stockport County to Man U:-)

No, more like WBA to Man U.

I see he is the 10th highest goalscorer of all time.

http://www.ireland-mad.co.uk/news/loadsngl.asp?cid=ED22&id=432614

Razor didn't score many but boy one or two of them were crucial.

16/02/2009, 1:13 PM
Mad when you see Keane is 16 goals clear of our next top striker and the guy still gets stick!!!

16/02/2009, 1:16 PM
Mad when you see Keane is 16 goals clear of our next top striker and the guy still gets stick!!!

Yep, strange one ok. Doesn't help himself with his arm waving but I couldn't care if the whole team did it if they scored half the goals Keane has scored (none crucial of course :rolleyes:).

backstothewall
01/09/2010, 5:14 PM
Moved to Reading in the transfer window. He's the same age as Kilbane, he's playing at the same level as him, and left back is his natural position. Is it beyond the realms of possibility that he could come back from the wilderness?

01/09/2010, 5:24 PM
These days, at least you wouldn't be shot down for making such a suggestion.

02/09/2010, 3:43 AM
Even at his worst defensively, Harte was always a real threat from set pieces and open play. I don't think we ever got back what we lost after he was dropped, even though we've been defensively more solid (freak Staunton results notwithstanding).

theworm2345
02/09/2010, 4:28 AM
Moved to Reading in the transfer window. He's the same age as Kilbane, he's playing at the same level as him, and left back is his natural position. Is it beyond the realms of possibility that he could come back from the wilderness?
It is never beyond the realm of possibility, at least that is what I have to keep telling myself :o

seanfhear
02/09/2010, 6:41 PM
Even at his worst defensively, Harte was always a real threat from set pieces and open play. I don't think we ever got back what we lost after he was dropped, even though we've been defensively more solid (freak Staunton results notwithstanding).
Definitely a good set piece specialist but a lack of pace and all left foot were major drawbacks.

SwanVsDalton
02/09/2010, 6:59 PM
Hasn't his pace now completely gone? I always had a soft spot for Harte, but I think it's surely too late. Wouldn't make any sense trying to push Killer out the door only to give the Hartebreak Kid a game. Best to stick with youth. But fair play to the guy for the career renaissance.

irishfan86
02/09/2010, 7:01 PM
He was never quick to begin with but he basically walks around now. Centrehalf at the lower level still works for him.

Maybe at centrehalf he can get away with it, but out wide as a fullback I think he would be totally exposed.

backstothewall
04/09/2010, 10:47 AM
i can only agree he would be exposed at full back, but there is part of me that thinks Killer is being exposed just as much as Harte would be likely to be, and those free-kicks are a threat.

seanfhear
04/09/2010, 11:06 AM
i can only agree he would be exposed at full back, but there is part of me that thinks Killer is being exposed just as much as Harte would be likely to be, and those free-kicks are a threat.
Zenidine Kilbane can still run a bit (Ian was slow on his fast days) and Ian is all left foot.

World class set piece taker in his prime. If only we could have special teams for the set pieces (a la american football)