View Full Version : out of cup

fitzpatrick10
08/04/2008, 8:45 PM
didnt think we would beat galway and i was right:mad:.
its been a very bad season so far after such a good game against fingal.that reall got all the supporters hopes up
we dont have a chance of getting up if players such as "Big Mick" make first team:mad:

:mad:

gilberto_eire
08/04/2008, 9:36 PM
didnt think we would beat galway and i was right:mad:.
its been a very bad season so far after such a good game against fingal.that reall got all the supporters hopes up
we dont have a chance of getting up if players such as "Big Mick" make first team

:mad:

Is ''Big Mick'' the No.9?. If so he's a dreadful player, missed two ''one on ones'' the first he did'nt even get a shot away due too terrible touch coupled by lack of pace(ball was'nt even that far ahead). Not even good in the air tbh, curious to see how this fella even made it at junior level!:confused:

fitzpatrick10
08/04/2008, 11:53 PM
Is ''Big Mick'' the No.9?. If so he's a dreadful player, missed two ''one on ones'' the first he did'nt even get a shot away due too terrible touch coupled by lack of pace(ball was'nt even that far ahead). Not even good in the air tbh, curious to see how this fella even made it at junior level!:confused:

yes,think that was his number.he was brought on against lim37 and with his first touch of the ball stumbled over it.

not sure how he got on at junior level.

09/04/2008, 1:45 AM
Ah now calm down. Our reserves lost to Galway's first team, what a shock. McCarthy may have been bad but he's an amateur, costing the club nothing where's the harm in looking at him. Actually of all the lads used tonight the vast majority are amateurs with 6 having come through our youth system. 90% never played league football before. Anyone who expected to come up this year was being unrealistic with just one coming up. I felt there were some positives with Bermingham excellent at the back and Gallagher superb in goals. Brian Kelly also showed some nice touches. The rest of the lads all got a taste of high level football which wont do them any harm at all. Let the management get on with developing a squad and give them some time.

Terry-Lander
09/04/2008, 7:12 AM
Keeper did very well. I enjoyed see us play some football but nobody here is realistically thinking that our season has turned. Fair play to those who travelled........our attendance was a disgrace.

daithi
09/04/2008, 8:31 AM
Ah now calm down. Our reserves lost to Galway's first team, what a shock. McCarthy may have been bad but he's an amateur, costing the club nothing where's the harm in looking at him. Actually of all the lads used tonight the vast majority are amateurs with 6 having come through our youth system. 90% never played league football before. Anyone who expected to come up this year was being unrealistic with just one coming up. I felt there were some positives with Bermingham excellent at the back and Gallagher superb in goals. Brian Kelly also showed some nice touches. The rest of the lads all got a taste of high level football which wont do them any harm at all. Let the management get on with developing a squad and give them some time.

Well said. Lets have a bit of perspective here and give the management and players a chance. An entirely new team of young lads. Some of you don't remember the really bad days......

09/04/2008, 8:33 AM
Agree 100% with Longfordian.

Demoshield
09/04/2008, 8:56 AM
How many of your first team played?

Tallanted
09/04/2008, 9:19 AM
McCarthy played for seaview celtic who play div 3 saturday AUL.. This is as low a standard you can play in junior football.. He isnt what you would call a successful junior player not by a long shot.. So its not like he was signed from a top junior team..

09/04/2008, 9:34 AM
And it's not like he's costing us wages either. I'd give the management team a bit longer to see if they can get out the potential they must see.

This season should be about consolidation on the Financial side, and blooding players for coming seasons. We're never going to challenge for the top spot, so this is the only way to go. If we come out with 8 or 9 players, including a few locals, and finish above Athlone, it'll be a alright season imo. We simply can't compete financially with Dundalk and Shels this season. Perhaps Shels are a good example - one season of financial realism seems to have enabled them to spend more this season (NB: with the caveat that I've no idea whether that's sustainable spending or ghost of Ollie spending).

I would've been more concerned by reports about lack of effort rather than lack of skill from recent games, something that doesn't appear to have been the case last night.

ltfc_2004
09/04/2008, 10:31 AM
As someone who togged out Leinster Senior League Div 3a Saturday, you cant go lower than that !!!!

If he was at a top junior club, he would be on decent money.

Suppose wait and see how the season unfolds, it will be grim

sparkey
09/04/2008, 10:39 AM
McCarthy played for seaview celtic who play div 3 saturday AUL.. This is as low a standard you can play in junior football.. He isnt what you would call a successful junior player not by a long shot.. So its not like he was signed from a top junior team..
The local area league is a higher standard than DIV 3 saturday AUL. Whats the point in plucking a player from a league of that standard to play el first div. ? If he couldnt play at a higher standard of junior ball he hasnt a hope of making it even at this standard of senior 'ball.

09/04/2008, 11:14 AM
He asked for a trial and obviously did enough to be signed as an amateur. We've signed a lot of lads as amateurs. If they're prepared to travel to Longford every week for training and matches why not have an extended look at them, see how they get on with proper coaching over a period of time. I would also agree with Macy a lack of effort isnt acceptable but that wasn't the case last night in my opinion. They did their best.

gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 1:21 PM
He asked for a trial and obviously did enough to be signed as an amateur. We've signed a lot of lads as amateurs. If they're prepared to travel to Longford every week for training and matches why not have an extended look at them, see how they get on with proper coaching over a period of time. I would also agree with Macy a lack of effort isnt acceptable but that wasn't the case last night in my opinion. They did their best.

Not been smart here so your basically giving any Tom,Dick and Harry a go?. Seriously he was the worst player i've seen playing LOI before, even for his height he was constantly beat in the air. I'd love to play for Longford too, as long as expenses were covered, do a hell of a lot better then him anyway!!:)

09/04/2008, 1:28 PM
Not been smart here so your basically giving any Tom,Dick and Harry a go?. Seriously he was the worst player i've seen playing LOI before, even for his height he was constantly beat in the air. I'd love to play for Longford too, as long as expenses were covered, do a hell of a lot better then him anyway!!:)

I'm sure he came recommended by somebody and his expenses aren't being covered AFAIK. He's not costing anything. We had 40 or so training in pre-season of which he was one, he obviously showed something. Admittedly he was very poor last night though.

09/04/2008, 1:30 PM

Well seeing as Galway has ONE OF THE WORST BUSINESS MEN EVER in charge of their club how can they talk. I have 100 euro, must ring leeson for some advice on how to invest it:rolleyes:

Olander
09/04/2008, 1:33 PM
Well seeing as Galway has ONE OF THE WORST BUSINESS MEN EVER in charge of their club how can they talk. I have 100 euro, must ring leeson for some advice on how to invest it:rolleyes:
asterix anybody? :D

why don't you ask your board for some advice instead?

09/04/2008, 1:37 PM
:D asterix anybody? :ball:

why don't you ask your board?

i'd rather a professional money man like leeson, amazing track record:D

Tallanted
09/04/2008, 1:55 PM
Doesnt say much for the trialists that didnt make it they mustnt have been even able to kick a ball.. There have been certain players playin this year that are costin us money and should be given those amateur terms cause its shockin that some of them get paid to wear the jersey

09/04/2008, 1:58 PM
Can we not wait and see a bit before making these judgements? A few games in, new management, nearly a totally new squad, I wouldn't be writing anyone off just yet.

Gaillimh Al
09/04/2008, 2:14 PM
re: Michael McCarthy... he missed a couple of chances...but did manage to get by Lester on one occasion and cut the ball back across the 6 yard box but had no one in support. He's a big lad and may cause problems for a few 1st division side with a bit of decent coaching. Give him another chance I'd say.

Tallanted
09/04/2008, 2:15 PM
Certain players you can tell there bad.. After each game im pretty sure the same comments will come up bout the same players.. There either good enough or there not

gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 2:18 PM

What the hell are you on about?!. When did i discuss the business side of Longford?. I was refering to the extremely poor player who was up front last night, then i heard he asked for a trail and got one, then i jokingly said can i've a trial too(i reckon i'd have put at least one of the one-on-ones away as would about 90% of people who've ever played the game). He came from Division 3 ffs!!:rolleyes:

RockofGibraltar
09/04/2008, 2:55 PM
taken from http://www.longfordleader.ie/sport/Kildare-County-come-to-Flancare.3944602.jp

"Dean Barrett started the game up front and he also was replaced by Mike McCarthy after 54 minutes. This big striker could be a huge success this season as anyone present at last week's under 20 friendly at Flancare Park would have to be impressed by the burly striker"

wasnt at the game last night but can he really be as bad as some of u make out?

Tallanted
09/04/2008, 3:06 PM
Im convinced he is David Lee in disguise!

RockofGibraltar
09/04/2008, 3:11 PM
oh no...he must be bad so :D

gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 4:03 PM
taken from http://www.longfordleader.ie/sport/Kildare-County-come-to-Flancare.3944602.jp

"Dean Barrett started the game up front and he also was replaced by Mike McCarthy after 54 minutes. This big striker could be a huge success this season as anyone present at last week's under 20 friendly at Flancare Park would have to be impressed by the burly striker"

wasnt at the game last night but can he really be as bad as some of u make out?

At under-20 level i can see how he could stand out, he would easily muscle out 18-19 year olds and would prove hard to take the ball off, would also have it easier in the air against young fellas.

He must be near 7 foot, was the tallest player on the pitch last night, fairly stocky too.(must be a farmer?, reminded me of a GAA player)
Anyone here have Pro Evo? just think of Adriano to get an impression of what he looks like compared to the rest.

While he might cut it at under-age level due to his size differance, at senior level he's up against fella's of similar size and build and with his lack of pace and footballing skills he's out of his depth, coupled with the fact he was beat 99% of the time in the air(which could be his only saving grace). I noticed on 2/3 occassions at least when the Longford goalie was hitting the ball up-field he was strolling back up the pitch at a snails pace, the first time i noticed it i taught he was been dropped to a defensive midfield role until about a minute later when he finally got back into position!!

Personally he was the worst player i've seen in the league.

I know it was said ''he's playing for free'' but come on lads there are better fella's then this who would play for free, as somebody here said he came from a division 3 club, it showed!!.

09/04/2008, 5:33 PM
Aren't his previous club only formed a year or two? Might explain why they're in that division, I don't know. He's not going to be a world beater but nobody suggested he was.Anyhow there's no point going on and on about him either way. It's getting boring.

Latcheko
09/04/2008, 5:45 PM
Jaysus lads, give McCarthy a break. So he messed up a one on one with Rouse? I'd say less than 50% of ones on one result in goals. Longford missed three or four against us last year in Flancare.
I also thought for a big fella he had a great turn of pace and with coaching could be a fine player. Best of luck to him and Longford for the rest of the season.

Tallanted
09/04/2008, 5:46 PM
they are strugglin in that league.. 4th bottom at the moment i think

Keen2win
09/04/2008, 8:10 PM
Its a pity that we were knocked out but now we can focus on the league and shels on Friday.

C'Mon De Town

09/04/2008, 9:29 PM
I know we lost last night but I was very impressed with Neil Gallagher he was easily the best player on the pitch for us.. andy bermingham was excellent as well and I thought Daithi Garry played good as well... It is a major stepup for these lads I would be quite willing to give them a chance.. leave the opinions for the end of the season.. I was delighted a good few new locals and reserves playing last night- kyle cawleys from tarmon, jimmy huseey from strokestown, Daithi Garry came from Mullingar, the other sub that came on cant remember his name is from castlebar( think he was the last sub)..

fair play to aaron for giving them a chance I would rather have lads that will sweat for the jersey than lads that are only there for the money...

LTFCfan
09/04/2008, 10:35 PM
First of all i wasnt in galway, but just taut i'd chip in!

I didnt expect us to go up this season, but i do expect us to try.

Saturday night was a reality check maybe, but when you see a bad match it takes a while to get your head rite again!

To be honest, I dont care if they finish last in the league once they flippin try their best in the games. I agree with you marthinhoII, would rather see those play for the jersey.

RE: McCarty, Of course we're all gonna have our opins on particular players, but remember one man does not make a team....;)

I feel a bit sorry for the young lads cos its a lot of pressure and expectation on their shoulders, its a pity theres not a bit more experience on the field, but I'll still be supporting the lads, and keeping the fingers crossed!!:)

Rocky77
10/04/2008, 1:49 PM
How did Chucky do as a matter of interest?

10/04/2008, 2:38 PM
Chucky did alright. He made a couple of "meaty" challenges!. He was caught for pace a couple of times though.

bowl
11/04/2008, 9:49 AM
Just want to correct those who were so quick to slate Mick, first of all he came from Seaviews first team who play in senior sunday AUL and was part of the team who only lost three-two to Portmarknock in the FAI junior cup. Give the lad a chance he's only played barely 90 mins and with a bit of experience at this level he could be a real threat.

MyTown
11/04/2008, 11:00 AM
Jaysus lads, give McCarthy a break. So he messed up a one on one with Rouse? I'd say less than 50% of ones on one result in goals. Longford missed three or four against us last year in Flancare.
I also thought for a big fella he had a great turn of pace and with coaching could be a fine player. Best of luck to him and Longford for the rest of the season.

Spot on - my sentiments exactly.

Ranger
11/04/2008, 3:03 PM
I know we lost last night but I was very impressed with Neil Gallagher he was easily the best player on the pitch for us.. andy bermingham was excellent as well and I thought Daithi Garry played good as well... It is a major stepup for these lads I would be quite willing to give them a chance.. leave the opinions for the end of the season.. I was delighted a good few new locals and reserves playing last night- kyle cawleys from tarmon, jimmy huseey from strokestown, Daithi Garry came from Mullingar, the other sub that came on cant remember his name is from castlebar( think he was the last sub)..

fair play to aaron for giving them a chance I would rather have lads that will sweat for the jersey than lads that are only there for the money...

the other sub that came on cant remember his name is from castlebar( think he was the last sub)..
He's from BALLYGLASS in Mayo. His younger brother plays for Derby County and has already appeared for their reserves at 16!!

12/04/2008, 12:25 PM
evan connollys the name!

battle tank
14/04/2008, 11:09 PM

Big Mick was signed from seaview celtic's first team in the senior sunday aul league not from the div 3 sat aul. he scored 14 goals in 7 games. and was by far the best player in the league. so what if he is struggling to find his feet? give him a few games to settle in and you'll realise what potential he has!;)

bowl
16/04/2008, 11:16 AM
battle tank...a fellow seaview hero perhaps? get in there

SVCFC2007
22/04/2008, 8:17 AM
At under-20 level i can see how he could stand out, he would easily muscle out 18-19 year olds and would prove hard to take the ball off, would also have it easier in the air against young fellas.

He must be near 7 foot, was the tallest player on the pitch last night, fairly stocky too.(must be a farmer?, reminded me of a GAA player)
Anyone here have Pro Evo? just think of Adriano to get an impression of what he looks like compared to the rest.

While he might cut it at under-age level due to his size differance, at senior level he's up against fella's of similar size and build and with his lack of pace and footballing skills he's out of his depth, coupled with the fact he was beat 99% of the time in the air(which could be his only saving grace). I noticed on 2/3 occassions at least when the Longford goalie was hitting the ball up-field he was strolling back up the pitch at a snails pace, the first time i noticed it i taught he was been dropped to a defensive midfield role until about a minute later when he finally got back into position!!

Personally he was the worst player i've seen in the league.

I know it was said ''he's playing for free'' but come on lads there are better fella's then this who would play for free, as somebody here said he came from a division 3 club, it showed!!.

Right lads here's the proper low down on big mick, for all you people who dont know. Mick played his schoolboy football for a very good leixlip united side. From schoolboy he went on to play for a very successful Dublin University aka Trinity college team, he played with them for 4 years, playing for their Eircom league under 21 team and the College team and also in 4 Collingwood Cups (which is a top standard, not far off eircom first division). Many eircom league players have graduated from the trinity college teams including John Mcnicholas who Big Mick played with. Seaview Celtic we're set up this season by a few of the lads who played with mick at trinity, they're a top side in the AUL and are going places. Mick was by far their best player and took the league by storm. Every top side in the league were interested in him including Killester and Portmarnock. So Mick is by far a junior player he has played a very good standard of football for the past few years. Just wait until you see him in top form some of the goals he scores are unbelievable, he is also a top man and is so dedicated to the game. Your still defo yet to see the best of him.Just watch this space.....

Tallanted
22/04/2008, 8:43 AM
I hope Giovanni is readin this :rolleyes:

22/04/2008, 9:16 AM
I hope Giovanni is readin this :rolleyes:

............................:D