View Full Version : League Cup v Longford
I have to say I disagree with you Gilberto. Some people with jobs have a lot of expenses and responsibilities, and when they look at a league cup game at that price may decide it's hard to justify spending that.
Also- obviously a lot of season ticket holders didn't go last night and if they aren't real fans then who is? The champions league game no doubt caused a lot of damage to the crowd, but the price was pretty steep. And in any case, clubs need to attract people beyond the 'real fans'. For example, I used to attend a fair few GU games- but now I'll most likely only be there when it's Harps because of the expense has crossed the tipping point were I think it's good value. I may not really represent a possible convert, but I think the logic holds true for people who would be. I appreciate what GU are trying to do and that it has to be paid for- but there needs to be caution or else the pricing could backfire.
gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 4:13 PM
I have to say I disagree with you Gilberto. Some people with jobs have a lot of expenses and responsibilities, and when they look at a league cup game at that price may decide it's hard to justify spending that.
Also- obviously a lot of season ticket holders didn't go last night and if they aren't real fans then who is? The champions league game no doubt caused a lot of damage to the crowd, but the price was pretty steep. And in any case, clubs need to attract people beyond the 'real fans'. For example, I used to attend a fair few GU games- but now I'll most likely only be there when it's Harps because of the expense has crossed the tipping point were I think it's good value. I may not really represent a possible convert, but I think the logic holds true for people who would be. I appreciate what GU are trying to do and that it has to be paid for- but there needs to be caution or else the pricing could backfire.
I understand what your saying but your reasons to not attend are as good as any in that your a fan of a differant club!.
You can be sure there was score loads of people in watching there beloved english clubs instead.
We could'nt alter the admission as it would have came out of the clubs pocket.
Have you seen the amount of stuff still been posted on the €20 admission?, imagine changing it for certain games, it would get 10 times worse.
Also how can you constitute what is and is'nt a €20 game?. Best to just charge the going rate and leave it at that!!.
I know people have other expenses so do i, but you can be sure of all the people who say they could'nt afford it there was quite a few drinking it watching the champions league instead!!.
Did you see the amount of **** here pre-season when we brought our season tickets IN LINE with everyone else's?.
A lot of our fans want it all but nobody wants to contribute anything towards it.
I thought it was the perfect chance to charge €15 for adults as a promotion but im afraid its a brick wall as far as this is concerned.
Spot on Tommy...I think in the England they have Category A,B,C games and price varies depening on the category of game. Why could the club not do the same for the League Cub..€10 would have brought a few extra out..not several hundreds but maybe one or two hundred.
geezer
09/04/2008, 6:09 PM
I was sitting in my sitting room with my family at 6.30 before the longford game, wife kids etc. I checked my pockets no notes just a bit of loose change after the day out working. I said across the table to herself "have you any money on ya there ,save me goin to the cash machine darling" She says to me your always the same it will be written on your headstone " I will pay you back later". She says how much do you need and i retort €20 to get in €5 for the fancy stand, €2 for ronans lotto, a cup of tea and a bar of chocolate. Well she nearly choked on the tea and was visibly shocked. At this stage i said to myself " i better not mention the price of the new scarves and hats" anyway to cut a long story short i had to go the cash machine and by god i didnt mention how much the season ticket was. Now I paid no problem but as herself said id fly to barcelona for that and that my friends is the crux. The new crowd will pick and choose what they will pay and price has now unfortunately become a serious deciding factor in going to games.
foxx92
09/04/2008, 8:21 PM
what happened to the extra 5euro to get into new stand? im only 15 so i only pay 10 anyways?
Tir Oilean
09/04/2008, 9:30 PM
[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;917013]Sorry to be so blunt but i can't see how you can call yourself a real fan QUOTE]
I think this comment is disrespectful Gilberto. I accept you say its not aimed at Flano, but do you mean to say that if I(or any other fan) fell on hard times in the next few months and couldnt afford to pay into our Cup games during the season that this makes me any less of a supporter/real fan? We are all fans of Utd, the definition of a real fan is not clear so we should keep our thoughts on it to ourselves and not preach to those who may not be able to go to a match for whatever reason.
09/04/2008, 9:46 PM
Will we see you in Foxs before the match Martinho
unfortunately I only read this message today.. I was giving somebody a lift up and back to Longford and wouldnt have time to stop before and after the game...
another time eh galway girl?;)
09/04/2008, 9:49 PM
Fair paly to the 30 odd Longfordians who travelled and wore their colours with pride. I thought the captain (Luke Hardy?), the red haired left full, and the goalie did well.
you have to stick by them thro thick and thin.. i rem well the good bad days from abbeycartron.. the red haired lad was alan o riordan who we got from burnley ...
gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 10:16 PM
[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;917013]Sorry to be so blunt but i can't see how you can call yourself a real fan QUOTE]
I think this comment is disrespectful Gilberto. I accept you say its not aimed at Flano, but do you mean to say that if I(or any other fan) fell on hard times in the next few months and couldnt afford to pay into our Cup games during the season that this makes me any less of a supporter/real fan? We are all fans of Utd, the definition of a real fan is not clear so we should keep our thoughts on it to ourselves and not preach to those who may not be able to go to a match for whatever reason.
How not?. I'll say something now i've spotted since i posted my first reply, the only fan who tried to dismiss my point about it been down to money and not anything else was Flano. He did'nt say it was champions league. Saw on his profile on GUFC.NET that his favourite team is Liverpool, so his explanation earlier about why he did'nt go couldnt have been true, as Liverpool were playing Champions League 1/4 final, so i doubt if your favourite team is playing a big game your going to go to your second choices league cup game!
I also said earlier i'd have more respect for somebody he choose the champions league then somebody who says they possibly can't afford it, so the only person i've seen so far critising my original post about there not been anymore coming had the admission been less still stands imo.
I'll reiterate it again, admission last night did no affect attendences, it was the Champions League and our recent form, if your going to go to the match then a measly €20 is'nt going to get in the way of that. Any working man can afford it, most of us here have a few bets and pints with our money at the weekend to know there's usually money available for your real interests!
I was'nt making assertions about what or what not a real fan is, it's debatable and we all have our own views, but if your going to say you can't afford to follow the team for €20 a fortnight when your a working man then i don't know whats happening last time i checked €20 did'nt last long in a shop/pub
At some point there are times when we probably would be broke and unable to attend but with last nights game that was not the case for at least 99% of people who did'nt come it was two previous mentioned reasons.
09/04/2008, 10:27 PM
I'll reiterate it again, admission last night did no affect attendences, it was the Champions League and our recent form, if your going to go to the match then a measly €20 is'nt going to get in the way of that. Any working man can afford it
You've already been proved wrong on this thread by actual galway fans saying they didn't go because of price. Dpn't forget that a lot of "working men" go with partners and/or kids and all those extra €5s and €10s add up (particularly if you're already having to justify spending so much on the team as it is). There's a huge value for money aspect to it too. Some might think its ok to spend €20 to see you play the top teams but feel they are being ripped off by paying €20 to see Longford's reserves
BTW Pats charged €10 into a league cup with UCD last year. Our Normal price was €15 and €20. I think we got a bigger crowd than we would've normally
gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 10:38 PM
And were ye clashing with Arsenal Vs Liverpool without a win all season sitting bottom?. There the real reasons for 99% of people as i've already said, your deluded if you think otherwise, it's the EL ffs!!:p
09/04/2008, 10:46 PM
And were ye clashing with Arsenal Vs Liverpool without a win all season sitting bottom?. There the real reasons for 99% of people as i've already said, your deluded if you think otherwise, it's the EL ffs!!:p
And you're deluded if you think the cost had no effect. We had way more than 167 for a pre season frieldy with Limerick a couple of years ago that clashed with a similar game
Terry-Lander
10/04/2008, 8:46 AM
[quote=gilberto_eire;917282][quote=Tir Oilean;917242]
I'll reiterate it again, admission last night did no affect attendences, it was the Champions League and our recent form, if your going to go to the match then a measly €20 is'nt going to get in the way of that. Any working man can afford it, most of us here have a few bets and pints with our money at the weekend to know there's usually money available for your real interests!
I was'nt making assertions about what or what not a real fan is, it's debatable and we all have our own views, but if your going to say you can't afford to follow the team for €20 a fortnight when your a working man then i don't know whats happening last time i checked €20 did'nt last long in a shop/pub
quote]
Admission price did affect attendance. I've been a fan / supporter of United (previously rovers) for 31 years which, judging by your childish rants, is longer than you've been alive. I've been a season ticket holder / regular attender for most of that time. The only exception was a stage where I was out of work and could not afford to go. I was at the Longford game but unfortunately my two sons, who are also season ticket holders, werent because I could not afford it.
Unlike you I don't have the luxury of a few pints and a few bets at the weekends. With proper budgeting €20 will buy a hell of a lot for a family who may be on limited finances. Do not judge others by your own standards.
As I've already said elsewhere I was accompanied to the match by a LIVERPOOL fan. The poor attendance was down to price, poor results and the apathy of the general public.
10/04/2008, 10:15 AM
The Price definitely has affected attendances this season and anyone who argues otherwise is definitely living in Cloud Cuckoo Land. People are being laid off and others jobs are far from secure in the current economic climate. Everyone is under pressure financially so people are cutting back and even a lot of our so called hard core supporters decided that €20 was too high a price to pay.
Raheen
10/04/2008, 10:28 AM
I was a season ticket holder but no longer live in Galway.
Here in France tickets for league games cost €20. Big games are sometimes as much as €25. Of course there are better seats that cost more but the bulk of supporters pay no more than €20.
I've no problem paying €20 for a league game when at home in Galway but for a League Cup game no way.
Claret Murph
10/04/2008, 12:02 PM
Well to tell you the truth ...
I was all set to go on Tuesday night then I found out that season ticket holders had to pay 20 to get in , as quick as a flash I decided to keep my money and watch the big game on the box .
I am sorry but the league cup will never rattle my world now if it was free I would have gone and if we end up in the semis or finals I will pay to get in but not the early rounds .
I am sure some people will have a pop at me over this but as we all know I am not the only one who did not turn up to see the lads on Tuesday .
On a very positive note a couple of lads who were season ticket holders last season are going on Friday night due to the Billy factor said one and the other said after he saw Vinny's clip on the other site of lesters goal .
Sumac
10/04/2008, 12:45 PM
20quid is steep as you have to include the cost of getting to and from games and if you want to get a bite to eat or a drink.
And its not just 1 game - what if we make the latter stages of both cups (here's hoping) then it becomes very expensive.
And it is insulting to some people to suggest that it is not much if you happen to have a job - There are a lot of other expenses in life to be factored in and families to support.
I would have been there on Tuesday if it was not as expensive and I know of at least 2 more who are of the same opinion
I would never had paid the €20 in either if I was around that is, total robbery when it comes to watching them play against a longford reserve team. I had no interest in watching the Arsenal match either so does that leave me in the 1% bracket Gilberto?
If your jumping to such conclusions, how do you know that flano is even a working man? something your calling him constantly? I was out of work for a large portion of last year and missed a lot of matches because I had to tighten the strings. If I was in the same boat this year I wouldnt be going to a single match with prices nowadays.
I take it your still living at home and dont have the bills like mortgage, car loan, electricity bill, phone bill, ntl/sky, bin charges, water charges, school costs for the kids, as well as food, clothes and whatever other bills that costs so much now just to get from week to week or month to month?
Life is much harder than you think it is for other people besides yourself! Im not attacking you or anything just saying some have it harder than others and €20 can go a long way when on tight budgets.
Patrick Dunne
10/04/2008, 10:30 PM
(1) E30 to see Longford reserves for an adult and two kids is prohibitive.
As Terry says, if you have a family with mortgage, ESB, school fees, creche, insurance, credit union, medical bills, kids at college, holidays, weddings, credit card etc, you would think twice about going.
(2) At the same time, many of our supporters are single people under the age of 35 who have very few financial obligations. A lot of these supporters would think nothing of spending E100 a weekend on drink, fast-food, nightclubs, taxis etc.
I find myself in the first group now, but when I was in the second group I would never have stopped going to Terryland over E5. This is where Gilberto is coming from, and I agree with him.
Tir Oilean
11/04/2008, 6:25 AM
It would have saved alot of posts had he outlined it as you have PD, good point.
gilberto_eire
11/04/2008, 11:06 AM
It would have saved alot of posts had he outlined it as you have PD, good point.
I did in my first post then i was challenged by Flano, i still pointed it out in a few more but my posts were been drageed down other avenues too, wth people saying it was the price more then results and champions league:rolleyes: