View Full Version : Derry away 11-4-08
12/04/2008, 10:21 AM
So what did you's think of your Brandywell experience.
Looked like you's had a few 1st timers there.
It's still fairly ****e but not as ****e when we don't lose by 4!
Looking around me i'd say most of us have been there couple of times before.
Derry
12/04/2008, 10:40 AM
I have to admit you fought hard for the draw. But it's your away supporters i feel sorry for, for having to watch a team that plays for a draw from the 1st minute.
For having to watch a team that doesn't want to play any sort of game. other than kick the ball away. For having to watch a team that doesn't want to take throw inns. For having to watch a team who's goalkeeper thinks it's cool to act stupid. By not knowing where he should kick the ball out from.
No Wonder the eL is having trouble trying to get people out to watch their games. Whenver a team is so negative, yet they and their supporters celebrate after it, as if they've won a cup.
12/04/2008, 10:51 AM
I have to admit you fought hard for the draw. But it's your away supporters i feel sorry for, for having to watch a team that plays for a draw from the 1st minute
Ah yes , I recall those many times our players decided to turn away from the goal whilst on the attack for fear of actually scoring a goal.
We had a game plan , something we didnt have in the past going up there and it worked , I couldn't give a **** if it wasn't entertaining for you:cool:
12/04/2008, 11:04 AM
When someone from Derry feels sorry for me.............................
FFS ye couldn't defend a wall a few hundred years ago.
sligored
12/04/2008, 11:24 AM
I have to admit you fought hard for the draw. But it's your away supporters i feel sorry for, for having to watch a team that plays for a draw from the 1st minute.
For having to watch a team that doesn't want to play any sort of game. other than kick the ball away. For having to watch a team that doesn't want to take throw inns. For having to watch a team who's goalkeeper thinks it's cool to act stupid. By not knowing where he should kick the ball out from.
No Wonder the eL is having trouble trying to get people out to watch their games. Whenver a team is so negative, yet they and their supporters celebrate after it, as if they've won a cup.
sour grapes. if you have any league title aspirations it is up to derry to beat sligo at home. if ye cant do that and expect us to leave ourselves short at the back so that ye can exploit the gaps.
this is what underdogs do and we are so proud of our manager and players because they died on their feet fighting for a draw last night.
this is one of the most stupid posts i have ever replied to on this forum.
get over it and stop whinging.
we are happy with our teams performance last night so worry about your own team
Aww bless here's ur teddy back now stop throwing it out of the pram!
12/04/2008, 11:54 AM
Great performance. O' Grady and Almeida were sensational
Excellent atmosphere too.
HomeBrewPlease
12/04/2008, 12:29 PM
Oooh someones not taking their medication;)
deecay
12/04/2008, 12:59 PM
So what did you's think of your Brandywell experience.
Looked like you's had a few 1st timers there.
Wheres your theory behind that:confused:
You know! A good team with real title ambition would/should have been able to overcome these tactics. I guess yer team wont be one of them. Typical nordy blames everyone one else fore their woes! 2 points drop also fell from the summit at the same time.Whos tactics worked!
showgies
12/04/2008, 3:27 PM
Seems you are not too happy with dropping points at home:p
villarover
12/04/2008, 4:21 PM
How funny is that, you remind me of the english, a god giving right to win every game and let teams step aside and let your team score lots of goals..... Welcome to the real world son!
red arrow
12/04/2008, 4:49 PM
yes very good result. the defence was magnificent and in almeida we have a very good player (no nonsence approach) i also thought brush was superb. the players worked their socks off . i think moore is finding it very hard to get to the pitch of the game but that is understandable because of his injury situation. now what we have to do is go and get the 3 points against galway. if we apply ourselves the same way i would be confident.
clubman
12/04/2008, 5:21 PM
You obviousily were late into the game because if you were there from the start you'd have noticed Rovers 'won' four corners in the first three minutes, surprising news considering we played for a draw from the 1st minute.
Learn to accept the fact that there are two teams on the pitch for every game. Learn to accept the fact that the home team don't have a divine right to win any game. Learn to accept the fact that the away team can use tactics to conteract the home teams tactics and that's it possible that the home team's manager may not be as good tactically as you would like to believe he is. Learn to accept the fact that the home supporters can be out sung by the away support. Learn to accept the fact that you can sometimes be wrong in life. Learn to accept the fact that even when you don't lose, a draw can be a moral victory. Learn to accept the fact that there's no wrong in applauding your team especially after a good workmanlike performance. Learn to accept the fact that it's only a game of football and there's always the next game to make amends.
You obviousily were late into the game because if you were there from the start you'd have noticed Rovers 'won' four corners in the first three minutes, surprising news considering we played for a draw from the 1st minute.
Learn to accept the fact that there are two teams on the pitch for every game. Learn to accept the fact that the home team don't have a divine right to win any game. Learn to accept the fact that the away team can use tactics to conteract the home teams tactics and that's it possible that the home team's manager may not be as good tactically as you would like to believe he is. Learn to accept the fact that the home supporters can be out sung by the away support. Learn to accept the fact that you can sometimes be wrong in life. Learn to accept the fact that even when you don't lose, a draw can be a moral victory. Learn to accept the fact that there's no wrong in applauding your team especially after a good workmanlike performance. Learn to accept the fact that it's only a game of football and there's always the next game to make amends.
Well sed!
12/04/2008, 5:37 PM
What a great game and result. As I said, didn't think we'd have a chance up there but what a performance, everyone of them put in the effort, Almeida and O'Grady were pure class. Great save by Brush from Sammon's effort. We really dominated the first half, but having not scored I feared it was going to haunt us in the second but we held our own. Derry don't look like title contenders on that performance. Ref was woeful. If we try as hard against Galway, we'll have no worries.
But it's your away supporters i feel sorry for, for having to watch a team that plays for a draw from the 1st minute. For having to watch a team that doesn't want to play any sort of game. other than kick the ball away. For having to watch a team that doesn't want to take throw inns. For having to watch a team who's goalkeeper thinks it's cool to act stupid. By not knowing where he should kick the ball out from.
No Wonder the eL is having trouble trying to get people out to watch their games. Whenver a team is so negative, yet they and their supporters celebrate after it, as if they've won a cup.Such crap, as ye say up there 'take yer oil', ye were lucky we didn't win.
lofty9
12/04/2008, 7:27 PM
What a great game and result. As I said, didn't think we'd have a chance up there but what a performance, everyone of them put in the effort, Almeida and O'Grady were pure class. Great save by Brush from Sammon's effort. We really dominated the first half, but having not scored I feared it was going to haunt us in the second but we held our own. Derry don't look like title contenders on that performance. Ref was woeful. If we try as hard against Galway, we'll have no worries.Such crap, as ye say up there 'take yer oil', ye were lucky we didn't win.
You deserved the point. We were rubbish, but that was credit to your lot who stifled us and stuck to plan. After getting a few hammerings at the Brandywell it was understandable to play defensively and try hit us on the break. I would really have to disagree with your view of dominating the first half, maybe the first 5 mins but that was it.
deecay
12/04/2008, 8:11 PM
lads,
has anyone photos from the game just to see the green kit. looked everywhere like inpho and sportsfile but cant find one. none in the papers either.
Knappagh Red
12/04/2008, 8:50 PM
I think we now have the best back four we have had in years but they were put under serious pressure by the entire midfield's inabilty to hold possesion, was surprised Judge and Murphy did not start, a great point, I never saw goal kicks being celebrated so much though
srfc1928
12/04/2008, 11:55 PM
brillaint post, Clubman :)
So proud to be a Rovers supporter last night
the players gave everthing,
as did the fans,
Cookie got his tactics bang on after the previous anilations up there
13/04/2008, 1:35 PM
When someone from Derry feels sorry for me.............................
FFS ye couldn't defend a wall a few hundred years ago.Stunning display of historical knowledge there.
It was more than a few hundred years ago and "we" weren't defending the wall, but sure never let the truth get in the way of a rant.......
Sligo defended the last 20 yards extremely well, closing down and tackling hard and we wouldn't have scored if we were still playing. The save Brush made from Sammon in the first half was one of the best I've ever seen.
Atrocious pitch (possibly the worst in the Premier) didn't help but we need to learn to break teams down regardless of how many men are behind the ball.
13/04/2008, 1:48 PM
Stunning display of historical knowledge there.
It was more than a few hundred years ago and "we" weren't defending the wall, but sure never let the truth get in the way of a rant.......
Sligo defended the last 20 yards extremely well, closing down and tackling hard and we wouldn't have scored if we were still playing. The save Brush made from Sammon in the first half was one of the best I've ever seen.
Atrocious pitch (possibly the worst in the Premier) didn't help but we need to learn to break teams down regardless of how many men are behind the ball.
can't wait until ye come to the showgrounds if ye think the brandywell pitch is bad
showgies
13/04/2008, 2:41 PM
Stunning display of historical knowledge there.
You're not content with just criticising our defensive qualities, but you also want to take our title of worst pitch.............that title took years to earn, so bugger off
13/04/2008, 5:55 PM
OneRedArmy, how dare you suggest that your pitch can be mentioned in the same breath as ours as being the worst in Ireland. You can buy Faz, beat us four nil, keep Ciaran Martyn and own John Hume and Martin Guinness but there are two things you can never have - Johnny Chadda and the worst pitch in Ireland (United).
akearins
14/04/2008, 9:06 AM
Agree with all posts on match ,the lads worked their socks off, dont think I have seen them put such effort into a game like that before.The back 4 were outstanding,O'Grady and Ventre ran their holes off, disappointed with cash though.He gave posession up too easy and looked jacked with 15 to go, think raf will take this spot when back.Feeney did well up front winning a lot of ball Boco is still settling in and I think we will soon see him at his best, he has gradually improved with each game,was a bit too honest when he could have gone down for peno, but fair play he tried his best not to go down.Derry lads seem to forget we had the best chance when Alan Moore headed over from 3 yards out in first half and disappointed we didnt roll over for them.
Well done lads, keep it up
red_away
14/04/2008, 11:17 AM
I'm a bit dissapointed really i was sure we were going to win 5 - 1 after all it was was only derry?
Guts&Glory
14/04/2008, 12:24 PM
A moral victory is like peeing in your pants.....it only keeps you warm for so long.....we need the 3 points this Saturday to make the point against Derry really stand out.
Krstic
14/04/2008, 12:40 PM
What's the story with Judge?
Great player yet only on the bench.
14/04/2008, 2:44 PM
I'd ask the same about Ciaran Martyn.
Krstic
15/04/2008, 8:00 AM
I'd ask the same about Ciaran Martyn.
Well do you fancy answering the question first as it was genuine?
As for Martyn, horses for courses.
15/04/2008, 10:59 AM
Well do you fancy answering the question first as it was genuine?
As for Martyn, horses for courses.
judgy has only started once this season so far, not sure what reasons cooky has but some people feel he ndosnt put in enough effort (i think he does btw). just is out of favour at the minute, he's come on every time he's been on the bench he's not far off starting
Krstic
15/04/2008, 1:35 PM
judgy has only started once this season so far, not sure what reasons cooky has but some people feel he ndosnt put in enough effort (i think he does btw). just is out of favour at the minute, he's come on every time he's been on the bench he's not far off starting
Always thought he was a cracking player, fancied having him at Derry.
15/04/2008, 2:29 PM
Always thought he was a cracking player, fancied having him at Derry.
€100k...the auction starts here!!! :D
15/04/2008, 2:33 PM
I'd ask the same about Ciaran Martyn.I think his completely anonymous performance when he did come off the bench indicated exactly why he didn't start.
He's an extremely talented player but is blowing more cold than hot since his return from Norway.
Our midfield should be ashamed that they were outshone by O'Grady.
15/04/2008, 2:37 PM
Our midfield should be ashamed that they were outshone by O'Grady.
why would they be ashamed? :confused:, O Grady put in a great performance friday night, he would have outshone any midfield in the country on a performance like that!
Guts&Glory
16/04/2008, 12:56 PM
It was good to see O'Grady back to what we know he could do.......would welcome MArtyn to pull on the Rovers jersey anytime....class player when in the mood