View Full Version : Galway Top Fantasy Table
The Lilywhites
06/04/2008, 5:12 PM
Galway Top Fantasy Table
Sunday April 06 2008
Pity poor Tony Cousins, sacked last week after just four games by Galway United, Ireland's leading fantasy football club.
It's only a few months since Galway were named as one of the big eircom League clubs seeking to join an All-Ireland League. With no hint of shame or irony, United met with Cork City, St Pat's, Derry City, Bohemians and Drogheda United to discuss the possibility of jumping to a 32-county competition. And all this from a club who wouldn't even be in the Premier League had they not been promoted on the basis of off the field criteria after finishing behind Dundalk the previous season.
Galway's notion of themselves as members of a big six belies both the fact that there hasn't been a decent team at Terryland in a decade and a half (in fact Cousins' achievement in keeping them in the Premier last year was as good as anyone's managed with these serial underachievers) and the fact that Shamrock Rovers and Sligo Rovers, to name just two, are far more credible participants in any future cross border set-up. Even a small town club like Longford Town have contributed far more to the league in recent times than Galway.
Up to last week the Tribesmen's fantasising was a mere irritation. But that was before Cousins paid the price for a poor, but infinitely retrievable, start to the season.
Cousins then revealed that he'd been expected to produce big six football on the same kind of budget as First Division strugglers Athlone Town. Pat Dolan observed last week that even Sporting Fingal provide their manager with more money than was available to the former Shamrock Rovers striker.
The bottom line is that Cousins has paid the price for Galway's pretence of being a big club. By sacking the manager they can pretend that the club has ambitions to compete with the big boys, other evidence notwithstanding. It's the kind of cheap and shoddy behaviour which brings the league into disrepute.
Hopefully the genuine big guns of Irish soccer will see the Cousins sacking as a demonstration of what Galway United are really about. The disgust expressed by Pat Dolan and Pat Fenlon last week suggests this might just happen. About time too.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/galway-top-fantasy-table-1339659.html
06/04/2008, 5:19 PM
And all this from a club who wouldn't even be in the Premier League had they not been promoted on the basis of off the field criteria after finishing behind Dundalk the previous season.
Galway were not promoted though because that league was disbanded.
Galway were invited to the premier league initially on criteria that was not based on where they finished in the season before.
The 22 clubs voted to have play offs that season, even though they were always going to be redundant. The play offs were meaningless.
06/04/2008, 5:26 PM
Bit of a weird article. I'm no fan of Galway by any means but I don't see what other option they had than to sack Cousins and I don't see what it has to do with their ambition or lack of ambition to be a top half club. If Galway intend to survive it had to be done. The article also seems to be quoting some massaged figures by Cousins and the disgust of two men with vested interests in the situation to back its point up. A useless piece of writing and unusually aggressive for a broadsheet. I didn't even know anyone in the Independent cared enough about the eL to bother writing something like this.:confused:
Olander
06/04/2008, 5:32 PM
i hear they have awfully bitter lemons in dungdalk :)
its already been posted in another thread btw - http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=86977&page=5
do keep up dear :)
geezer
06/04/2008, 5:57 PM
I am amazed at the shoddy lunatics that pass for journalists on this island. A tiny piece of research on a forum or a phone call would tell, dolan,sweeney or anyone else that 99% of GUFC fans stayed very silent when cousins went. I have missed 11 home league games since 1977 at terryland and cousins team were by far the most uninspiring team through all that and by god we have had lean years.TC was a rookie manager with no ability to get a team playing for him and the charisma of a gorilla. We have a number of issues at GUFC e.g hike in prices and season tickets which supporters voice opinions on but with cousins only hooball and ****e were the words used by all bar one person i met and i spoke to 35 utd supporters in the last week. Cousins brought in some mindboggling useless signings and continued to down the western region. God be with the days when Richie Blackmore offered his wages back for a poor performance Playing for Galway Utd. TC was a dub spoofer who got found out and I am glad to see the back of him
06/04/2008, 6:18 PM
This really shows up the Independent though. Are they really that out of touch or is it just something knocked up in a few minutes as a space filler?
Shoddy work anyway no matter what that case may be.
padraicoc
06/04/2008, 6:28 PM
Thank you for posting your comment
Your comment has been submitted for review by a moderator.
Please note that due to the volume of comments that we receive, we cannot guarantee that all comments will be published.
I'll post my rant here as I want it out of my system and I have a funny feeling that I will be moderated!
At best this article is ill informed but looks more like a press release on behalf of Tony Cousins. Can the author honestly say that he saw the "football" that Tony Cousins lead Galway United to play?
Has the author any source other then Tony Cousins to backup the Galway United Budget was the same as the Athlone Town Budget?
The sacking may have been ill timed but not unjustified.
Dundalk and every other club signed up for the new FAI run Eircom LOI and knew that there was a chance that a club would be score equally on and off the Park. I agree that this is a strange way to form a league but all of the clubs agreed to this, hoping that it would lead to greater sustainability.
padraicoc
06/04/2008, 6:31 PM
My last dig will be what will get it not posted though:
"
I am pretty sure that Galway United are not pretending to have ambitions to compete with the "Big Boys", I am sure the author of this article is has ambitions of becoming the sports editor someday.
"
That started out as:
The author is a stupid *********
Glad that from time to time I am reminded why I don't need to buy the independent anytime soon...
Boh_So_Good
06/04/2008, 6:37 PM
The other "poor us Galway United" article in the Mail today article is a classic piece of West of Ireland "poor us" Professional Victim Card carry on. What do they want? A 'Shannon Stop-Over' solution to their problems? League table points being taken away from Dublin clubs and shared between Galway United, Sligo Rovers, Finn Harps and Limerick 37 in the interest of regional balanced development.
I can see O'Cuiv saying this should happen.
sligored
06/04/2008, 6:59 PM
bohs have sold their soul....... no western teams will ever do that.
i cant see galway playing in clifden
cant see rovers playing in tubbercurry
cant see harps playing in raphoe
galway should be top six .. they have a good ground , good support and represent a lot more good supporters than bohs ever will.
money is not everything and galway will never sell their soul.
cousins was never the solution but i guarantee if they get the right manager they will be a top six team
sullanefc
06/04/2008, 7:38 PM
Galway are a more credible club than some other "Premier Division" teams. The constant slagging of Galway over how they were promoted is fairly pathetic at this stage.
I am not from Galway but as an outsider looking in Galway seem to be a club with far more ambition than most of the teams around them in the league table. It is obvious that the board felt that TC wasn't matching their ambition so they got rid. The slating they are getting from spoofers like Pat Dolan and Pat Fenlon is ridiculous.
If I were to pick a 2nd favourite team in the league right now I think I would pick Galway.
Keep the faith GUFC. It'll come good in the end. :ball:
Paddyfield
06/04/2008, 7:44 PM
Eamonn Sweeny is a LOI man and a true Sligo Rovers fan. He wrote a superb book about following Sligo Rovers which got rave reviews. He seemingly knows a lot about this League and loves it too.
He used to write articles for the now defunct Magpie Magazine where he once wrote a load of lies about Galway United. GUISA (Galway United Independent Supporters Association) responded with letter to the editor which corrected the many untruths in his article.
However, Sweeny's article in the Sunday Independent is a big improvment. He refers to GUFC as "serial underachievers". Wow! That suggests that he expects more from GUFC. He was let down. The Board's ambition for this year is survival in the Premier Divison. No, not to win the League or the Champion's League. Just to finish higher than the 8th spot of last year. Mind you, he reckons that the dismissal of Tony the Taxi Driver "brings the game into disrepute" but didn't explain how. Sure didn't his beloved Sligo dump a manager before he had a chance to sign a contract, just days before a season started. They had every right to that too.
In defence of Eamonn Sweeny, he couldn't possibly understand the real feelings behind the dismissal of Cousins. You'd need to be living in Galway to do that (which is another kettle of fish, especially if you commute 120 miles to work every day). To grasp what really happened behind the scenes, read the back page of last Friday's Galway City Tribune*. It paints the real picture. Harsh reality without spin.
*Could someone post it up here?
Maroon 7
06/04/2008, 7:57 PM
Sweeney's article is a load of ill-informed nonsense. Not a rarity in the Sindo I admit.
Cousins' sacking seems to have given some carte blanche to pursue personal vendettas in print.
sligored
06/04/2008, 8:38 PM
we in sligo have had our share of bad managers and you cant blame the board for not availing of the services of rob mcdonald.
however i feel that tony cousins is unproven to say the least
its a cheap shot to blame a clubs directors for getting rid of an underperforming manager.
the real supporters know that cousins had not a clue and they are the ones that count.. not dolan sweeney or other scribes..
billy clery seems a good guy and i hope he gets a fair crack of the whip.
MyTown
06/04/2008, 10:07 PM
Eamonn Sweeny is a LOI man and a true Sligo Rovers fan. He wrote a superb book about following Sligo Rovers which got rave reviews. He seemingly knows a lot about this League and loves it too.
Seemingly is the all important word there Paddy. You rightly point out his book on Sligo Rovers was widely praised. I thought it was pants. He would not be unique in cashing in on his passionate support :rolleyes: for his club.
In defence of Eamonn Sweeny, he couldn't possibly understand the real feelings behind the dismissal of Cousins.
Are you joking? This is no defence for writing this rubbish & taking a hefty fee for it. I'd forgive him if he passed on the SIndo's cheque to the Showgrunds. Eamonn Sweeney is to sports journalism what Roddy Collins is to Soccer Management...poorly researched, full of hyperbole (sorry that should be all mouth:p) and ready to spew any kind of tripe to meet a copy deadline.
To grasp what really happened behind the scenes, read the back page of last Friday's Galway City Tribune. It paints the real picture. Harsh reality without spin.
Fair comment Paddy, one of Keith's best pieces IMO.
eamo1
06/04/2008, 10:54 PM
How their Chief Editor has remained in the job is a joke really.Its gone down the tubes in recent years with nearly every week them having to write a small applogy to someone.This is not to mention the big fowl ups they had with Lawlor and also that Abbeylara garda etc etc.
That article is a joke.Its wrong in so many of its assertions,budget,ambition are the 2 main ones.
07/04/2008, 12:12 AM
Just one comment on Tony the Taxi Driver*
The guy had definitely set himself up to fail by not basing himself in Galway. Full time club and to be removed from the equation as a rookie managers who was under-achieving was mad and to be honest he must have known he was going to fail as soon as he made that decision. If the guy wanted to have given himself any sort of a chance he would have moved to Galway.
To comment on the situation and not raise that point is a glaring oversight in any opinion about his managerial ability, role or the sacking.
Shoddy out of touch, piece meal effort is the only way to describe that article.
Can someone post up that article in Galway City Tribune? That would definitely give some balance to a debate that is cripplingly one sided ala Sweeneys effort.
* :p
Trainee
07/04/2008, 12:12 AM
3 reasons Tony got sacked:
1. he refused to move to Galway (when he got the job we were part time so it was not an issue, but it became an issue when we went full time, last year 1 player lived outside galway but for this season tony made this player move galway to get a new contract which he did, yet Tony would not move himself, which annoyed some of the board).
2. Results and style of play- we played terrible football under Tony and he played many players in wrong positions and our results have been crap at home.
3. Money Wasted: Tony signed 2 players who we had to pay off to get rid off them as they were worse than useless (Dimitri Brinias played 1st game and sligo and Mensah who played 30 mins against sligo away)
07/04/2008, 12:23 AM
3 reasons Tony got sacked:
1. he refused to move to Galway (when he got the job we were part time so it was not an issue, but it became an issue when we went full time, last year 1 player lived outside galway but for this season tony made this player move galway to get a new contract which he did, yet Tony would not move himself, which annoyed some of the board).
2. Results and style of play- we played terrible football under Tony and he played many players in wrong positions and our results have been crap at home.
3. Money Wasted: Tony signed 2 players who we had to pay off to get rid off them as they were worse than useless (Dimitri Brinias played 1st game and sligo and Mensah who played 30 mins against sligo away)
2 and 3 would not (or at least should not) have happened if 1 had been resolved. The guy didn't give himself a chance and the board probably should have got rid of him sooner if they knew he wasn't going to move (end of last season). Remember that it was Cousins who had to prove himself at that stage, unless he thought he was home and dry and the board would have put up with anything? Was that a failing on the boards part i dont know.
Either way, Cousins managerial style seems to have been a text book case on how not to do it. And i'm making this point on the understanding that this league needs to progress, so if someone is not up to it, or at least doesn't recognise the direction the league needs* to go then you need to get rid ..... fast
* It was fairly clear cut for Cousins to be honest, it was either forward or backwards. He was the guy that should have been giving the directions, with a pre season and proper plan in place.
Paddyfield
07/04/2008, 6:14 AM
Point of interest:
Connacht Rugby manager Michael Bradley lives in Cork. Connacht have done reasonably well under his management. I understand he spends a hell of a lot more hours in Galway than TC ever did.
When John Mahoney was manager of Galway Gaelic Footballers, he lived in another county. He was not full time. Galway won 2 All Irelands under him.
The last trophy won by GUFC was the League Cup in 1998. Then manager Denis Clarke lived in Athlone. He was not full time.
Tony Cousins lives in Kildare, drives a taxi in Dublin and worked full time as manger of Galway United.
Terry-Lander
07/04/2008, 6:54 AM
bohs have sold their soul....... no western teams will ever do that.
i cant see galway playing in clifden
cant see rovers playing in tubbercurry
cant see harps playing in raphoe
galway should be top six .. they have a good ground , good support and represent a lot more good supporters than bohs ever will.
money is not everything and galway will never sell their soul.
cousins was never the solution but i guarantee if they get the right manager they will be a top six team
Thank you.
Gaillimh Al
07/04/2008, 7:15 AM
Point of interest:
Connacht Rugby manager Michael Bradley lives in Cork. Connacht have done reasonably well under his management. I understand he spends a hell of a lot more hours in Galway than TC ever did.
If you were to read Dara Bradley in your beloved Tribune a little closer, you would find that Bradley is doing a far from reasonable job. Bottom of the Magners League with no chance of getting into Heineken Cup.
Demoshield
07/04/2008, 9:01 AM
What the City Tribune ( Local Galway Paper, Not one of the freebies) had to say:
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=87525
Originally Posted by boh so good
What do they want? A 'Shannon Stop-Over' solution to their problems? League table points being taken away from Dublin clubs and shared between Galway United, Sligo Rovers, Finn Harps and Limerick 37 in the interest of regional balanced development.
I think this proposal merits serious consideration by league officials!
KBurke
07/04/2008, 9:23 AM
Point of interest:
When John Mahoney was manager of Galway Gaelic Footballers, he lived in another county. He was not full time. Galway won 2 All Irelands under him.
The last trophy won by GUFC was the League Cup in 1998. Then manager Denis Clarke lived in Athlone. He was not full time.
Tony Cousins lives in Kildare, drives a taxi in Dublin and worked full time as manger of Galway United.
Ya last fot the last 3 yrs. he's as bad as cousins
07/04/2008, 9:57 AM
Ya last fot the last 3 yrs. he's as bad as cousins
Can we conclude that both of them should have moved to Galway if they ever wanted to be in with a chance of success?
Patrick Dunne
07/04/2008, 11:01 AM
Bradley may be a complete spoofer, but he hasn't got a taxi-plate and a furniture company in Cork, and the Connacht physio doesn't take the squad for training while he is in Cork.
geezer
07/04/2008, 11:12 AM
is full of ****e the last time i sat in the rust buckets of Dalymount,Tolka, Inchicore, Lourdes stadium and Windsor Park you would want to fanatasize to imagine any of these clubs operating at a level very far beyond the rest of the clubs
07/04/2008, 11:22 AM
is full of ****e the last time i sat in the rust buckets of Dalymount,Tolka, Inchicore, Lourdes stadium and Windsor Park you would want to fanatasize to imagine any of these clubs operating at a level very far beyond the rest of the clubs
Well, either that or be completely out of touch with what is actually going on in the league. If you based your argument on research done 20 years ago then it wouldn't be hard to come up with the same kind of fantasies.
You have to bare in mind as well, when writing about the league some people just aren't up to the job, its sad but true
Ceirtlis
07/04/2008, 12:04 PM
The other "poor us Galway United" article in the Mail today article is a classic piece of West of Ireland "poor us" Professional Victim Card carry on. What do they want? A 'Shannon Stop-Over' solution to their problems? League table points being taken away from Dublin clubs and shared between Galway United, Sligo Rovers, Finn Harps and Limerick 37 in the interest of regional balanced development.
I can see O'Cuiv saying this should happen.
Any chance you would give us a jist of the article, you have lost me with your political tripe.
Paddyfield
07/04/2008, 3:27 PM
If you were to read Dara Bradley in your beloved Tribune a little closer, you would find that Bradley is doing a far from reasonable job. Bottom of the Magners League with no chance of getting into Heineken Cup.
I guess I've just shown my lack of interest/knowledge of Connacht Rugby. I thought they were doing OK until I looked at the paper.
Is Dara Bradley related to Michael Bradley?
Also, why makes you say the Tribune is beloved to me? :D
GuisaSaigon
07/04/2008, 3:55 PM
I find it hard to believe that "Journalists" like Sweeney, Phat Dolan etc dont have an another agenda here. How could anyone that is supposed to be an expert on our league believe that a full time club, that dont own their own ground or training facilities, could operate in the Leagues Premier Division on a budget of €500,000?
If they had the slightest clue about the League or of Galway United Football Club they would know that it would be impossible for us to survive on that. The initial budget at the start of last season was 1.2 Million. Members of the board had to reach further into their pockets to bail out Cousins (or Spoofer as he became known to Utd fans) after he signed lads that wouldn't make a nightowls team. This year the budget rose to €1.5 Million.
We all know why Dolan had a go at Leeson. but has Sweeney been looked over as Galway United manager in the Past too? Whats his excuse? He couldn't believe the crap he's writing could he? If he does he has no business writing on this league. A LOI Man.......... My Arse!
gilberto_eire
07/04/2008, 4:04 PM
If they beat Ulster in there next game there level on points again.
On a sidenote about Connacht its a completly differant ball game, for starters two of the other four provinces are among the best in ''Europe'' and regularily compete in the latter stages of the Heineken Cup, also as soon as Connacht produce a player of any ability he's straight out the door to a bigger club!. Then there's the fact that there's no relegation to worry about and also to get into Europe we only have to finish in front of one of the other 3 provinces!.
He's not doing a bad job, he could easily say some of TC's infamous quotes about budget's and the like and it would be true in there case!!
galwayhoop
08/04/2008, 3:31 PM
On a sidenote about Connacht its a completly differant ball game,
can you expand on this??
pól-dcfc
08/04/2008, 3:34 PM
can you expand on this??
Connacht - Rugby
Galway United - Football
can you expand on this??
It's rugby
pól-dcfc
08/04/2008, 3:37 PM
It's rugby
Got in a minute before you :p
Blast! :)
gilberto_eire
08/04/2008, 9:34 PM
Connacht - Rugby
Galway United - Football
It's rugby
....what they said!:p
galwayhoop
09/04/2008, 9:54 AM
its SARCASM!!!
do I have to spell it out for ye like....
gilberto_eire
09/04/2008, 12:06 PM
its SARCASM!!!
do I have to spell it out for ye like....
Right back at ya, or do we have to expand on it!!:D
pól-dcfc
09/04/2008, 12:59 PM
Way to deflect to hat with the big D on it :D
galwayhoop
09/04/2008, 4:18 PM
I'll believe ya so Gilberto....
not really though
gilberto_eire