View Full Version : Great result!

daithi
15/07/2003, 9:01 PM
Derry must be sick of the sight of Longford! What was the line-up?
I hate work! Is this our biggest win in the premier?

trulan
15/07/2003, 9:11 PM
Agreed, great result, and you're right i hate work also esprecially when i'm out of the country for 4 mths and dont get to go to the games. From what i gather barrets goal was a classic, whats this about another defender i hear....dont we have enough already, get a midfielder/striker

Bosco
15/07/2003, 9:31 PM
4 ****ING nil.Magic as I said.After about 50 seconds you could tell they wer tryin sumthing new instead of long ball ****.
For the first goal barret took the ball down the right wing but just as he cut into the box the linesman flaged for a free and we got a free from the very edge of the area.Kirby passes it back to pip keogh who was waiting at the edge of the box and he drilled it into the right bottom corner.Number 2 kirby took the corner and brian mc govern managed to get his head to it and put it into the top right of the goal.Number 3,darragh was pulled back and barry converted the penalty.Number 4 was magic,Barret kept goimg down the right wing cut inside and drilled it in low.
Man of the match would probobly go to barret but kirby,prunty and pip were very good aswell

15/07/2003, 9:39 PM
great result for you, from www.rte.ie

Longford Town have climbed out of the relegation zone after defeating Derry City 4-0 at Flancare Park this evening. Longford's first came from an Alan Kirby free-kick which found Philip Keogh who made no mistake from the edge of the area. They added a second in the 38th minute when a Kirby corner was headed in by Brian McGovern at the back post.

After the break a Barry Ferguson penalty added to City's woes after Darragh Sheridan was brought down in the box by Sean Hargan. Then in the 65th minute Shane Barrett scored the goal of the game when he got in behind Hargan in the Derry defence before firing in from a tight angle.

iceman
15/07/2003, 9:51 PM
Dont let it go to your heads - ye were crap last Sat. night. Best of luck in the play-offs.:D

Bosco
15/07/2003, 9:57 PM
Originally posted by iceman
Dont let it go to your heads - ye were crap last Sat. night. Best of luck in the play-offs.:D

And people wonder why we think the drogs have nothing better to do

Estar
15/07/2003, 10:00 PM
Longford are due a result like this. The Longford players/squad are far too good to play in Div 1. Should easily finish mid table if they go on a run.
Hope Longford win the League Cup (My tip since I seen them beat Kildare 3-1).
Are Pat's going to put out their first team?

16/07/2003, 8:27 AM
Originally posted by iceman

Sure youse are nearer the play off spot than us.....

drummer boy
16/07/2003, 9:39 AM
the best part of the win last night is that we scored and conceded none. i cant remember the last time that happened. everybody played well and i was even impressed by dempsey, bring on the rovers!!!!!!

16/07/2003, 9:52 AM
Wow what a result! Amazing........ and up to 7th too, no need to panic its still early on, but if we can build on this and win a cup, that'll be class... btw heading home for the Cup Final and UCD game..... Section O be warned! :)

16/07/2003, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
btw heading home for the Cup Final and UCD game..... Section O be warned! :)
Section O be warned - sure at away games you always follow the yes men.......

16/07/2003, 1:03 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Section O be warned - sure at away games you always follow the yes men.......

eh no cos we're all the one group at most away games....

16/07/2003, 1:20 PM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
eh no cos we're all the one group at most away games....
UCD we tend to split down the end of the stand.... Last time out you didn't follow us down.... Judas :)

16/07/2003, 4:14 PM
Lads, I sincerely hope you don't intend bringing this new all-out attacking Longford Town to Richmond on Friday!

Seriously though, Derry are Godawful. Saw them in Belfield on Friday and they have to be the worst Derry side since they joined the League. We beat them 5-1 for Crissakes!

el insider
16/07/2003, 5:10 PM
right lads good result and good performance.we must try to bring that form into the rovers game.
btw the team was dempsey gk
alan murphdr barrydc mcgovern dc dillon dl
kirrbs mr keogh mc sheridan prunty

lavine barett

motm barrett-his pace was electric