View Full Version : Everybody Loves Raymond
DaveyCakes
02/04/2008, 11:29 PM
Why?
and don't get me started on its ******* sibling KIng of Queens...
03/04/2008, 6:32 AM
Hate both those shows. Raymond is a tw@t, why does 'everyone' love him? Weird thing is, the show 'Everyone Hates Chris' is excellent, and Chris is very funny in it. Should we not swap them around?
'Everyone Loves Chris'
'Everyone Hates Raymond'.
There, sorted. :mad:
Everybody loves Raymond is actually fairly funny. The fact the main charachter isn't loved by everyone is the point. Its far more barbed than its given credit for, and his dad is a great charachter
MojoPin
03/04/2008, 7:16 AM
chuck norris does not love raymond
03/04/2008, 7:46 AM
Both of his parents and his brother are quite funny. The wifes a little needy, and Ray is a tool, but I think thats the way its supposed to be. Good show. No Scrubs though.
anto1208
03/04/2008, 8:28 AM
TV for dummies same old tired sit com rubbish. KOQ's is only marginally better because the bird is hot like grounded for life. why do they give these poor stand ups a family sit com.
03/04/2008, 9:26 AM
My missus watches so I don't particularly mind it but have to admit that Frank (the dad) is a legend.
TV for dummies same old tired sit com rubbish. KOQ's is only marginally better because the bird is hot like grounded for life. why do they give these poor stand ups a family sit com.
Thats sitcom critique for dummies. Everybody loves raymond is a massive step up from the usual US two camera laugh track US sitcom
03/04/2008, 10:12 AM
I've never really given it a proper chance, but it's never failed to not amuse me when I've landed on it while channel surfing. I think it's just a particular US style of comedy that doesn't suit me, like Seinfeld.
03/04/2008, 10:18 AM
I could sit through every epdisode of Frasier and not laugh once. Anyone else?! - whereas my missus would be crying with laughter. Yet Everybody loves Raymond....I can chuckle at.
03/04/2008, 10:22 AM
I could sit through every epdisode of Frasier and not laugh once. Anyone else?! - whereas my missus would be crying with laughter. Yet Everybody loves Raymond....I can chuckle at.
I like Fraiser, but it's definately not for everyone.
DaveyCakes
03/04/2008, 11:07 AM
My missus watches so I don't particularly mind it but have to admit that Frank (the dad) is a legend.
He's just a lazy rehash of a hundred other grumpy old man characters, just like the mother is a lazy rehash of a hundred mother/mother-in-law characters and the brother is a lazy rehash of a hundred other "speak with stupid voice and everything you say will be funny" characters.
03/04/2008, 11:13 AM
He's just a lazy rehash of a hundred other grumpy old man characters, just like the mother is a lazy rehash of a hundred mother/mother-in-law characters and the brother is a lazy rehash of a hundred other "speak with stupid voice and everything you say will be funny" characters.
David brent is just a rehash of Capt mannering and various other egotistical 2leaders".
Do you even watch the show? ELR suffers because its a sitcom that doesn't try and be edgy and cool, but its consistently funnier than the vast majority of comedy offerings in the US and the UK. Is it the Office or Arrested development? No. is there a reason why it was so succesful (in terms of critics, awards and viewers) in the US? yes...
BTW Frank Boyle is the best actor ever to appear regularly in a sitcom
03/04/2008, 11:59 AM
i think raymond is a very good show, 2 and a half men gives me a laugh also.
03/04/2008, 12:26 PM
I think it's just a particular US style of comedy that doesn't suit me, like Seinfeld.
Me too.
I like Fraiser, but it's definately not for everyone.
Me too.
They are definitely different kinds of comedy, one I get, one I don't.
anto1208
03/04/2008, 12:43 PM
Really like Fraiser at the moment its on loads on paramount 2 , Sienfield again is very funny
kingdom hoop
03/04/2008, 1:18 PM
Coincidentally, a friend was giving out about this show yesterday, and said the lead actor was the highest paid TV actor in the world.
Although a reliable friend, I couldn't quite believe it so I just verified the veracity and sure enough: (from the official ELR site) "In 2004, Ray became the highest paid television actor ever with a yearly salary of $50,000,000."
Thats because it was the most succe3sful in America. And he's on the production team etc etc
its finished now btw...
Do you even watch the show? ELR suffers because its a sitcom that doesn't try and be edgy and cool, but its consistently funnier than the vast majority of comedy offerings in the US and the UK. Is it the Office or Arrested development? No. is there a reason why it was so succesful (in terms of critics, awards and viewers) in the US? yes...
Agreed, I think it's an excellent show - no Seinfeld, Curb or Larry Sanders, sure, but miles ahead of most. Recently saw the episode where the mother took up art classes and produced the abstract sculpture that looked like a, ahem... lower venusian ploughed furrow, and it was as good as any show you'll see.
Ray Romano is a very funny guy, I used to love his appearances on the animated Doctor Katz if anyone remembers that. Still laugh out loud now and again when his Gregory - Shmegory routine pops into my head. :D
Oh BTW, Pedantic Pat told me to tell all ye lads that supposedly like the show that it's called Frasier. :D
BTW Frank Boyle is the best actor ever to appear regularly in a sitcom
I'd say second best, Jerry Stiller just ahead of him. ;)
anto1208
03/04/2008, 2:51 PM
Just because a show is popular doesn’t mean its good .
Sex in the city is popular.
Just because a show is popular doesn’t mean its good
Just because its popular doesn't mean its bad is a more apt phrase
03/04/2008, 2:59 PM
Just because a show is popular doesn’t mean its good .
Just because you don't like it doesn't make it terrible either.
Actually, I agree with you in that I don't like it, because it fails the number one aim of a comedy in that it doesn't make me laugh. But I'm willing to accept that I just don't 'get' it. (I like to think it's because I'm too intelligent to find it funny;))
anto1208
03/04/2008, 4:33 PM
Just because its popular doesn't mean its bad is a more apt phrase
Just because you don't like it doesn't make it terrible either.
Actually, I agree with you in that I don't like it, because it fails the number one aim of a comedy in that it doesn't make me laugh. But I'm willing to accept that I just don't 'get' it. (I like to think it's because I'm too intelligent to find it funny;))
Im far from a hate it coz its popular guy ( I like Ricky Gervais I like most pop culture as long as its good ) nor do I think stuff I don’t like or even don’t get is rubbish I don’t like/get Shakespeare but I reckon its probably good.
I wouldn’t even say I only like high brow comedies as I still find farts funny.
I don’t think Raymond is funny I don’t think it has done anything that hasn’t been done before it hasn’t introduced any new characters it’s the same old safe TV sit com. Stand up comedian is the husband stick in a hot wife, weirdo brother, and parents stuck in there ways. As I said earlier Raymond, king of queens, grounded for life and my wife and kids all basically the same show. Im sure if I done some thinking I could find another 10 shows that follow the same pattern.
03/04/2008, 5:02 PM
I like Frasier and Seinfeld and Curb Your Enthusiasm, Family Guy
I hate Everybody loves Raymond and Two and a Half Men.
HarpoJoyce
03/04/2008, 5:07 PM
With Peter Boyle and Doris Roberts as the parents, I think there may be an element of nostalgia for the show. That may one reason why the viewer figures were so high in the States.
Also, even though at least three of the characters were kids, their appearances were kept to a minimum. Another pulse.
I hate Everybody loves Raymond and Two and a Half Men.
But I don't think you could even compare the two. They are worlds apart in temrs of quality
Billsthoughts
05/04/2008, 3:36 PM
Im always suspect of people who dont like seinfeld.
05/04/2008, 5:53 PM
Whats their deal?
South Park is the finest comedy around, perhaps one of the things in its favour is the lack of the usual sitcom characters. Perhaps the closest thing to the 'lovable oaf' cliché is the emergence of Butters but, in true South Park style, he's often the most screwed up or, conversely the most sensible character of them all - witness his speech on self acceptance, whilst not realising he was at a "retrain your gay kid" camp.
skitz3
06/04/2008, 11:34 AM
South Park is the finest comedy around
South park is over rated controversial muck.
06/04/2008, 11:41 AM
Why so? I do and don't like Seinfeld. Some of the storylines are really well done but some are ridiculously annoying. Elaine is a pain in the arse as well.
Everybody Loves Raymond is pretty good, mainly for Ray's family.
South Park is brilliant. It's got better over the years and I dare anyone to watch the Scott Tenorman episode and say it's crap.
Billsthoughts
06/04/2008, 2:30 PM
cause its very funny.
Have never been a great fan of American comedies really. Simpsons of course, is class. Malcom in the Middle was also very funny. Have only ever seen snatches of Seinfeld, but it never grabbed me. Haven't seen enough of South Park to comment, though I have seen some funny parts of it.
In general though, I prefer English comedies. The holy grail of sit-com is Fawlty Towers. Nothing else has ever approached it's genius. Also The Royle Family, Phoenix Nights, Blackadder, Spaced. And of course, the great Irish contribution to sit-com, Leave it to Mrs O'Brien.
(Just kidding - I meant Father Ted.:D)
Never understood how Raymond was so popular in the US & won so many awards. Its natural TV slot in this part of the world is 11am weekdays.
King of Queens is obvious comedy but is ok to dip into for 10-20 minutes. Would not go out of my way to watch it.
07/04/2008, 9:23 AM
Everybody loves Raymond is terrible. I think it's the worst show ever brought over from the States, theres not a hint of comedy in it. I can't even stand the adverts on Paramount Comedy but at least there not making anymore.
As for King of Queens, I can like it from time to time. It's certainly better than ELR.
That 70's Show is crap too. As is the American version of The Office (Brit version is crap too)
Everybody Hates Chris is good as is Two and a Half Men. Scrubs is probably my favourite American Comedy though. Also My name is Earl is very good.Seinfeld and Frasier are both very good. I'm a big fan of Arrested Development aswell it's a brilliant show.
On the comedy cartoon front. I think that Family Guy, The Simpsons and South Park are brilliant where as American Dad is awful.
07/04/2008, 12:18 PM
South Park is the finest comedy around, perhaps one of the things in its favour is the lack of the usual sitcom characters.
Agree with both these sentiments.
As for Everybody Loves Raymond, it wouldn't be in my top ten but I have to say I do enjoy it. It's harmless easy comedy that is well acted with decent characters, much much better than most comedies that have followed this decade.
Finest sitcom of all times goes to either Seinfeld or Sgt. Bilko/The Phil Silvers Show in my opinion (it depends what day of the week it is to which of those two I think is the better comedy)
07/04/2008, 12:35 PM
South park is over rated controversial muck.
So you think it's controversial ?
Granted it has garnered a fair bit of controversy over the years but I don't think it it's ever been controversial for the sake of it , and it wouldn't have lasted long purely on shock tactics if it wasnt damn funny , which it is.
anto1208
07/04/2008, 12:39 PM
Everybody loves Raymond is terrible. I think it's the worst show ever brought over from the States, theres not a hint of comedy in it. I can't even stand the adverts on Paramount Comedy but at least there not making anymore.
As for King of Queens, I can like it from time to time. It's certainly better than ELR.
That 70's Show is crap too. As is the American version of The Office (Brit version is crap too)
Everybody Hates Chris is good as is Two and a Half Men. Scrubs is probably my favourite American Comedy though. Also My name is Earl is very good.Seinfeld and Frasier are both very good. I'm a big fan of Arrested Development aswell it's a brilliant show.
On the comedy cartoon front. I think that Family Guy, The Simpsons and South Park are brilliant where as American Dad is awful.
I was with you untill the office statement the office(brit one ) is brilliant . American dad as well is much better than family guy a much smarter show.
Scrubs id watch if its the only thing on as its called "scrubs the funniest show your not watching" as for 2 1/2 men thats garbage id watch raymond before that drivel.
07/04/2008, 1:14 PM
So you think it's controversial ?
Granted it has garnered a fair bit of controversy over the years but I don't think it it's ever been controversial for the sake of it , and it wouldn't have lasted long purely on shock tactics if it wasnt damn funny , which it is.
If anything, they usually say what most (young/educated/liberal) people would think - e.g. Big Gay Als Boat Ride pleading for sexual tolerance, or the frequent ,mocking/accusations against Scientology. In the same vein, they're not afraid to mock themselves or their fans either. Pretty much everybody comes in for some ribbing but at the end of the day theres usually some speech "you know, I've learned something today...". In the Family Guy episode they mock themselves about this with Cartman saying he hates comedy that tries to be preachy.
That being said, the early episodes did have a Python-esque flavour to them.
07/04/2008, 4:18 PM
I dare anyone to watch the "Imagination Land" trilogy of episodes from South Park Series 11 and not think it genius
The new series hasn't been up to scratch so far, although the Heavy-Metal tribute episode was a little over my head. The Canada on Strike episode last week was an inprovement too.
07/04/2008, 4:43 PM
I dare anyone to watch the "Imagination Land" trilogy of episodes from South Park Series 11 and not think it genius
I'm a South Park fan and I didn't think it was that good. The Guitar Hero/Heroin Hero one was much better.
Everybody Loves Raymond is fairly average IMO its on C4 in the mornings when I'm having breakfast wouldn't be bothered with it except there aint much else on at 7:30am.