View Full Version : Most underrated player at your club

02/04/2008, 7:37 PM
Who is the most underrated player at your club by opposition fans?

I'll start...

Dan Murray at City.
Solid defender & organiser & great captain in recent years when high profile players were leaving... Vital player in last 12 months with lack of quality defenders around him. I think opposition fans judge him too much by the rare howlers.

02/04/2008, 7:39 PM
I'd agree with that and throw Hoggy in there too.

02/04/2008, 7:43 PM
Kevin Murray by city fans, none of our players are rated by opposition fans tbf.

Paddyfield
02/04/2008, 7:45 PM
John Russell. Young midfielder who has the potential to run the show. What he lacks in height he makes up in control. He was the only shining light for Galway United against Rovers in Cousins' last match.

02/04/2008, 7:46 PM
John Russell. Young midfielder who has the potential to run the show. What he lacks in height he makes up in control. He was the only shining light for Galway United against Rovers in Cousins' last match.

Is he playing for ye long?

Its not really I don't rate him Ive just never heard of him :D

Terry-Lander
02/04/2008, 7:49 PM

Just proves Paddyfield's point:). Russel is the most under rated but I think will be the shining light this season. God knows we could do with one:D

deecay
Conor O Grady,passing a bit dodgey but always gives 100% in the middle of the field.A great player

Conor O'Grady

02/04/2008, 7:50 PM

I agree. He should be submitted to the "unknown LOI players" thread. :D

Paddyfield
02/04/2008, 7:51 PM

He's with us for about 3 years but he is only making an impression since the middle of last season.

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/first-team-squad/john-russell.html

bray boy
02/04/2008, 8:21 PM
we have no good players

02/04/2008, 8:43 PM
Steven Parkhouse and Shaun McGowan.

dortie
02/04/2008, 8:53 PM
Steven Parkhouse

Are you for real ?

Not Premier league status at all.

Olander
02/04/2008, 8:57 PM
Stephen Rice by a mile.

02/04/2008, 9:03 PM
Glen Fitzpatrick ;)

4 in a row
02/04/2008, 9:05 PM
Stephen Rice by a mile.

stephen rice doesnt play for your club

Olander
02/04/2008, 9:06 PM
Oops, didn't read the thread title fully :) doesnt matter anyway

02/04/2008, 9:15 PM
we have no good players

This made me smile.:)

Aaron
02/04/2008, 9:17 PM
Eddie McCallion - Never gets the credit he has deserved, an excellent player, one of the best RB's in the country IMO

JC_GUFC
02/04/2008, 9:21 PM
Conor O'Grady?!

Stephen Carthorse!?

April Fools was yesterday lads...

lofty9
02/04/2008, 9:23 PM
we have no good players

brilliant :D

02/04/2008, 9:28 PM
Conor O'Grady?!

April Fools was yesterday lads...

better than all ye're players put together. ye have no players actually

02/04/2008, 9:43 PM
better than all ye're players put together. ye have no players actually

Did you see their squad photo? A completely empty stadium. Madness
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/images/stories/dashboard/terryland_park_header.jpg

02/04/2008, 9:50 PM
Everyone ;)

sonofstan
02/04/2008, 9:56 PM
Stephen Rice was our answer, but thanks to Seanie, we sent him off to Rovers and we got........ Chris Turner, a man very hard to underrate

pól-dcfc
02/04/2008, 9:56 PM

Immense for me in Football Manager 2007. Ended up playing in the World Cup for Ireland.

Eddie Mc for us most likely. I think Higgins has been underrated in the past aswell, great passer of the ball. Getting a bit more recognition this season though.

TheBoss
02/04/2008, 10:28 PM
I suppose it would be Paul Keegan.

02/04/2008, 11:16 PM
Neal Horgan.
Very important player for City.

irishfan
03/04/2008, 9:15 AM
Ger O Brien from Rovers.

03/04/2008, 9:17 AM
Connor Powell for us

03/04/2008, 9:24 AM
Franco, well Eddie Gormely doesnt seem to rate him anymore.

03/04/2008, 9:56 AM
Conor Kenna for us. No one rates any of our players and he's the best so QED.

jeff24
03/04/2008, 10:20 AM
waterford utds kenny browne is head & shoulders above any center half in da first division and still only 21

03/04/2008, 10:22 AM
waterford utds kenny browne is head & shoulders above any center half in da first division and still only 21

Really? That tall? :eek:

03/04/2008, 10:24 AM
Gary O'Neill. Superb player

03/04/2008, 10:24 AM
Are you for real ?

Not Premier league status at all.

Ask any centre half that has played against him what he's like.
His first touch, vision and passing has really helped Conor Gethins and the sooner we have him back the better, we are not the same team with out him.

Hibs4Ever
03/04/2008, 10:33 AM

Agree with this

WoodquayBoy
03/04/2008, 10:47 AM
Did you see their squad photo? A completely empty stadium. Madness
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/images/stories/dashboard/terryland_park_header.jpg

Squad photos usually are taken in empty stadiums you plonker

http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://www.connectseward.org/shs/students/students08/comp3/kevinkophamer/Soccer/man_utd_squad.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.connectseward.org/shs/students/students08/comp3/kevinkophamer/Soccer/mainm.htm&start=1&h=259&w=400&sz=45&tbnid=1spCAJr_ft5x6M:&tbnh=80&tbnw=124&hl=en&prev=/images%3Fq%3DMan%2BUtd%2Bsquad%2Bphoto%26gbv%3D1%2 6hl%3Den%26ie%3DUTF-8

Flume
03/04/2008, 11:08 AM

+1. His ball retention skills and passing are top class.

03/04/2008, 11:16 AM
Delighted to hear that Russell is still here. Saw him at under 17s or 19s for Ireland a few years ago - him and Stephen O'Mahoney of Limerick, as it then was were quality. Hopefully he'll stay in the league, and realise that a stroll along the beach in Tramore of a sunny evening can be more pleasant an occurence than a stoll along the beach in Salthill of a soft evening.

http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://www.connectseward.org/shs/students/students08/comp3/kevinkophamer/Soccer/man_utd_squad.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.connectseward.org/shs/students/students08/comp3/kevinkophamer/Soccer/mainm.htm&start=1&h=259&w=400&sz=45&tbnid=1spCAJr_ft5x6M:&tbnh=80&tbnw=124&hl=en&prev=/images%3Fq%3DMan%2BUtd%2Bsquad%2Bphoto%26gbv%3D1%2 6hl%3Den%26ie%3DUTF-8

You have just ruined a perfectly good reason to chant "Sh!t Club no fans" at Manure fans. I hope you are pleased with yourself:mad:

LeixlipRed
03/04/2008, 11:23 AM

Ah didn't we tell yis he was great. One of the top players in the league. Plus slap a pedometer on him. He must cover nearly 10km per game

03/04/2008, 3:34 PM

Not just at Pats, the most underrated player in the league I think.

deecay
03/04/2008, 3:49 PM

Sarcism my krusty friend

03/04/2008, 4:28 PM
Conor Kenna for us. No one rates any of our players and he's the best so QED.
I'd have said Brian King myself. At least Rovers tried to sign Kenna. Shels let King go to Kilkenny.

Maynard
03/04/2008, 4:46 PM
Not just at Pats, the most underrated player in the league I think.

Agreed.

03/04/2008, 4:48 PM
Agreed.

I think everyone agreeing about how great a player he is slightly negates the whole 'most underrated' thing

03/04/2008, 5:10 PM
I think everyone agreeing about how great a player he is slightly negates the whole 'most underrated' thing

He's rubbish, totally over-rated.

Does that balance things out a bit?

CharlesThompson
03/04/2008, 6:21 PM
Mark Rossiter for me. I think the guy is fücking brilliant! Everyone else thinks he's just "ok" or "good".

Paddyfield
03/04/2008, 7:30 PM
I agree. He should be submitted to the "unknown LOI players" thread. :D

Pity you haven't heard of John Russell before but you will see him play against Cork City in a few weeks time.

Other posters here are familiar with his skills. He's pure class.

Erstwhile Bóz
03/04/2008, 7:36 PM
Connor Powell for us
Love watching him. Just looks like a proper player.

Has he really performed consistently to what he "looks like" he's capable of, though?

What are other clubs' fans' views of him?