View Full Version : Losing Bertie
All jokes aside , What if any affect will it on the FAI and the game in Ireland with a new man in power in Govt Buildings..
In the last 11 years we have seen massive change in sport in Ireland and serious govt backing for a lot of football clubs..
For those who dont think it will have any... Think of this have you ever seen Enda Kenny at a League of Ireland ground...
The FAI dont have the lobby the GAA and to a lesser extent the IRFU (has the media , 10 pages on the AIL I mean who watches it or plays it)
As far as I know, Enda Kenny isn't taking over as Taoiseach. :confused:
Bertie's "backing" of sport is probably playing to the general public as he does so well, celebrity and sports stars th eopium of the masses. Pity he didn't concentrate on the desperate health, transport and eduction systems. Good riddance to the great spoofer.
As for media coverage...it's ALL soccer, mostly premiership, Eircom League get F' All coverage, but if you think the GAA gets too much media coverage, that would be so wrong and would simply display anti-GAA bias on your part. The Herald rag do about 14 pages on local soccer on a Wednesdays but never ANY coverage of local GAA.
People who have no pride in or tolerance for our national games should consider a move.
04/04/2008, 10:08 AM
As far as I know, Enda Kenny isn't taking over as Taoiseach. :confused:
Bertie's "backing" of sport is probably playing to the general public as he does so well, celebrity and sports stars th eopium of the masses. Pity he didn't concentrate on the desperate health, transport and eduction systems. Good riddance to the great spoofer.
As for media coverage...it's ALL soccer, mostly premiership, Eircom League get F' All coverage, but if you think the GAA gets too much media coverage, that would be so wrong and would simply display anti-GAA bias on your part. The Herald rag do about 14 pages on local soccer on a Wednesdays but never ANY coverage of local GAA.
People who have no pride in or tolerance for our national games should consider a move.
Self appointed national games. For feck sake, one of them was made up on a whim to give people something else to do with a soccer ball.
04/04/2008, 10:38 AM
Are there any examples of a soccer club applying to the sports council for grants, doing all the paperwork and satisfying the back up funding criteria, being rejected in favour of eg the local rowing club.
04/04/2008, 11:22 AM
bertie's a gimp and now he'll soon be gone
if soccer got more money under him than previously it's only cos we were up to our tits in cash while he happened to be in the hot seat - he's a lucky pr!ck but nothing more really than a parish pump politician.
The Government should be encouraging sport at every level cos what you pay out in grants for sports facilities (grass roots to top end) you get back ten fold in a healthy population and less chance of young lads hanging round streets with nothing to do but stab hard working immigratns in the head with a screwdriver
Soccer in this country has more registered members than any other sport and would therefore be in line for a decent payout if things were done properly. Totally agree that tax breaks to the horsey fraternity is unbelievable. Money is like gravity though and attracts more money and seeing as though soccer seems to be a poor man's game in this country then you can see why we get no money. Don't agree with Govt funding ELoI clubs directly - more youth structures which the FAI and the clubs should channel towards the clubs.
Great post, written in simple layman terms, but yet very very powerful and descriptive. :)
04/04/2008, 11:25 AM
Are there any examples of a soccer club applying to the sports council for grants, doing all the paperwork and satisfying the back up funding criteria, being rejected in favour of eg the local rowing club.
i am not sure what you are asking here, geysir, but i know at home the local soccer club were looking for a grant for a new clubhouse in or around near É100k a few years ago, they got it, but the gaa club got fcek all that same year, about 26K I think and no harm either :D
04/04/2008, 12:18 PM
It is a simple question. Looks to me that the Sports Capital Grants are transparent that they fund participation sports, that the grants are controlled by the the Irish Sports Council.
That the strategy of supporting clubs who are already taking a proper structured initiative is a good one.
Billsthoughts
04/04/2008, 3:55 PM
Come of it; if your a GAA fan you'll be well aware that there are only amateur in the sense that they don't get a wage from the sport they dedicate their lives to. If you can find me many other amateur sports that attracts millions of viewers on TV and 80,000 in the stradiums then I'd like to see it. Untill then, there much more 'special' than all other amateur sports people.
So why should the taxpayer have to give them money?
If they attract 80000 to stadiums and "millions" on TV then why on earth do they need to be paid by the taxpayer? They are only "special" in that they want to retain some extremely dubious amateur ethos while at the same time parading around with sponsors logos on their shirts , selling a large portion of their main ground to corporate clients , breaking the actual tax laws by paying managers and at club level players and selling tv rights to highest bidder. Doesnt sound very amateur to me?
So can you please explain why the taxpayer should pay for these people to partake in a sport that they whore off for as much cash as possible as it is?
Billsthoughts
04/04/2008, 3:59 PM
eircom park would never have happened. the projected costs alone was about 50% what it would have ended up being and it was in an awful location
Lansdowne has also run over cost. Citywest no worse a location than lansdowne or croke park. not everyone in Ireland lives in dublin or D4.It has 3 lanes for traffic running either way from it and a LUAS line. If we had of run with it we would have had a stadium by now.
backstothewall
04/04/2008, 8:09 PM
Lansdowne has also run over cost. Citywest no worse a location than lansdowne or croke park. not everyone in Ireland lives in dublin or D4.It has 3 lanes for traffic running either way from it and a LUAS line. If we had of run with it we would have had a stadium by now.
I still don't understand why only locations an obscene or impossible walk from the city centre were considered. Just by looking at google earth its obvious there was enough room to build it beside Ringsend Athletics Stadium or at the edge of Phoenix Park. It could have been bigger as well. 50,000 isn't enough for soccer and well short of what Rugby needs. Also means no hope of holding a Champions league final in Dublin.
So why should the taxpayer have to give them money?
If they attract 80000 to stadiums and "millions" on TV then why on earth do they need to be paid by the taxpayer? They are only "special" in that they want to retain some extremely dubious amateur ethos while at the same time parading around with sponsors logos on their shirts , selling a large portion of their main ground to corporate clients , breaking the actual tax laws by paying managers and at club level players and selling tv rights to highest bidder. Doesnt sound very amateur to me?
So can you please explain why the taxpayer should pay for these people to partake in a sport that they whore off for as much cash as possible as it is?
Good post. It should also be pointed out that RTE are sponsoring the GAA after already paying for the TV rights. The best argument is that if 80k attending games why do they need the state to pay their players? Do female GAA footballer & camogie players get paid?
Shedender81
05/04/2008, 8:31 AM
Good post. It should also be pointed out that RTE are sponsoring the GAA after already paying for the TV rights. The best argument is that if 80k attending games why do they need the state to pay their players? Do female GAA footballer & camogie players get paid?
Not a fan of the GAA... but somehow the keep the grass roots happy .. and most clubs around the country appear to have good grounds etc
Thats a fairly pathetic post tbh, and Im a GAA fan.
What makes them 'our national game' and any more important than other sports? It's a sport ffs.
And I suppose anyone who can't speak Irish should move too, and anyone who doesnt have pride in Irish dancing.....etc etc.
We'd have about 100 people left
05/04/2008, 1:45 PM
FACTS ARE REGARDLESS OF YOUR PERSONAL VIEWS... HAVE THE FAI BEEN BETTER OFF DURING HIS TIME IN POWER
I have got my hole a lot more since Bertie is in power, but those things are not connected and the same goes with the FAI and Bertie.
Billsthoughts
05/04/2008, 3:29 PM
I have got my hole a lot more since Bertie is in power, but those things are not connected and the same goes with the FAI and Bertie.
too much info there neil.
Maybe you need to buy a more durable toilet roll.