View Full Version : Next GUFC Manager?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

galwayhoop
04/04/2008, 12:01 PM
Give him a job Pat if you think he's so good. Put up or shut up:D

did he not already offer him one in the close season??????

04/04/2008, 1:00 PM
did he not already offer him one in the close season??????

Yes but he turned it down.

Maroon 7
04/04/2008, 2:29 PM
Eddie May has appied for the job according to today's Indo. Meanwhile Pat Fenlon reckons his mate Cousins should not have been sacked.

Sure managers will always back one of their own.

gordongekko
04/04/2008, 5:20 PM
Pat Fenlon reckons his mate Cousins should not have been sacked.

Lads paper never refuses ink.

In the same paper Pat Dolan has a go at the club for letting him go as well. Then in a different article he say well done to Mexico for letting there manager go for not getting results.

geezer
04/04/2008, 6:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwvVh0_ZelI

looping
04/04/2008, 9:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwvVh0_ZelI

hilarious ur video :D

Demoshield
04/04/2008, 9:13 PM
hilarious ur video :D
U can come back now, he's gone???!!!:)

Tir Oilean
05/04/2008, 10:07 AM
LOTM nomination that had me lol

The Lilywhites
05/04/2008, 10:29 AM
Eddie May has appied for the job according to today's Indo.

He'd be a great manager for Galway.

red metal
06/04/2008, 10:31 PM
I heard this morning Dessie Cawley put his name into the hat for the job?Any of you lads here this?

07/04/2008, 9:03 PM
I heard this morning Dessie Cawley put his name into the hat for the job?Any of you lads here this?

thats a bit od a suprise thought dessie cawley was happy with us... we will soon find out...

07/04/2008, 9:06 PM
dont worry martinho, he wont be coming down here.

08/04/2008, 8:35 AM
The latest man being linked with the job is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_Walker_(football_manager). Hardly a cv that would set the world alight.

GuisaSaigon
08/04/2008, 9:12 AM
Links not workin but i found him on Wiki played and managed in Sweden, Played 15 games for Bohs 51 for Gillinham. Hardly Trappatoni but probably a better option than Roddy!

Demoshield
08/04/2008, 9:24 AM
At least he has cv unlike a previous wonderful manager.
Everyone & his mother are linked with the job.
Is it not usual to wait until the club appoint someone before you start knocking them? They will have a tough record to follow you know!

08/04/2008, 9:44 AM
His Managerial CV actually looks ok to me, here's a bit more on him , full article HERE (http://www.sefc.ie/walker.htm):

Back to Sweden then where he spent ten years playing in the top two divisions there. Coaching was next on his agenda and after getting his badges he went on to manage a number of teams in Swedish football, ranging from Ssundsvall to Kalmar, reaching the first division playoffs with the latter.

Last October was his biggest achievement in football when he guided Orebro Sk to promotion to the top flight of Swedish football. It was a remarkable feat considering the club had been relegated from the top league only two years previous for financial irregularities, something which left the club in turmoil.

Walker was always interested in coaching and got his badges while he was still in England. There he met some of England’s brightest young managers at the time and lists Birmingham City manager Steve Bruce and Leicester City boss Mickey Adams as his friends. He has subsequently taken Swedish coaching certificates and also studied in university and has qualifications in performance psychology and mental training. Walker’s bulky CV doesn’t end there; he has been courted by a number of teams in the championship in England and was offered the role of head coach with Rosenborg in Norway, who have played regularly in the champions league. He was also been offered the role of junior national coach in Sweden. His managerial prowess has also transcended the international arena and just two years ago he guided a development Swedish U21 team to second in the international Toulon tournament, losing out to an excellent French side that included the likes of Jeremie Aliadiere and Gael Clichy.

gilberto_eire
08/04/2008, 12:29 PM
The latest man being linked with the job is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_Walker_(football_manager). Hardly a cv that would set the world alight.

It's ok gufct, we all know what you really wanted to say there ''He's no Tony Cousins!!'':D

Ceirtlis
08/04/2008, 12:38 PM
I think that he has quite a good cv
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/walker-linked-to-galway-job-1341235.html

geezer
08/04/2008, 1:42 PM
He could be good and Don to be fair wasnt the worst. I still believe we need
someone who knows the league well and has experience in the LOI. Another long term development plan for next year if we survive is a good idea but for the next six months its survival and survival only.

08/04/2008, 2:17 PM
Got this from a friend of mine who is heavily involved in Soccer in Carlow http://www.sefc.ie/walker.htm . He doesnt know much more about him except that he helped organise games for under age SEFC teams in Sweden when he was manager of Orebro S.K..

Trainee
11/04/2008, 10:30 AM
Kenna joins Galway candidates- taken from elevenaside.com

April 11, 2008

Former Republic of Ireland international Jeff Kenna has added his name to the list of Galway United managerial possibles – with the intriguing possibility that he could finish out his playing days at Terryland Park.

Kenna, 37, is on the playing staff of Football Conference side Kidderminster Harriers, for whom he has made 27 league appearances this season.

But the Dubliner, who won a Premiership title with Blackburn Rovers and 27 senior international caps, is keen on returning to his homeland to take up the Galway role.

He told the Irish Daily Star: “I have been in touch with the Galway board and informed them of my desire to move full-time into coaching and management.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for the incoming boss. There is a talented full-time squad of players, an excellent ground and I’m told the training facilities rival those of many top British clubs.

“My contract with Kidderminster ends in the summer but the gaffer here won’t stand in my way if Galway want to make a quick appointment. Should Galway wish me to also sign as a player then I could do that - my legs are still working well.”

Former Sligo Rovers and Bohemians boss Sean Connor and Sweden-based Irishman Patrick Walker are others to have announced their candidacy since the dismissal of Tony Cousins two weeks ago.

corbyeire
11/04/2008, 10:38 AM
interesting

11/04/2008, 11:08 AM
I think Patrick Walker would be a good appointment for ye. He's a good, recognised coach here in Sweden and he does have a knowledge of LOI football - he's a former LOI player and he's helped LOI clubs in scouting Swedish opposition.

Torn-Ado
11/04/2008, 1:38 PM
Patrick walker looks the business. Get him in.

showgies
11/04/2008, 6:11 PM
Kenna joins Galway candidates- taken from elevenaside.com

April 11, 2008

Former Republic of Ireland international Jeff Kenna has added his name to the list of Galway United managerial possibles – with the intriguing possibility that he could finish out his playing days at Terryland Park.

Kenna, 37, is on the playing staff of Football Conference side Kidderminster Harriers, for whom he has made 27 league appearances this season.

But the Dubliner, who won a Premiership title with Blackburn Rovers and 27 senior international caps, is keen on returning to his homeland to take up the Galway role.

He told the Irish Daily Star: “I have been in touch with the Galway board and informed them of my desire to move full-time into coaching and management.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for the incoming boss. There is a talented full-time squad of players, an excellent ground and I’m told the training facilities rival those of many top British clubs.

“My contract with Kidderminster ends in the summer but the gaffer here won’t stand in my way if Galway want to make a quick appointment. Should Galway wish me to also sign as a player then I could do that - my legs are still working well.”

Former Sligo Rovers and Bohemians boss Sean Connor and Sweden-based Irishman Patrick Walker are others to have announced their candidacy since the dismissal of Tony Cousins two weeks ago.

Not surprised. Another candidate for the Bit O'Red job was Gary Waddock. However considering the great job he is doing at Aldershot, he won't be moving.

Paddyfield
11/04/2008, 9:49 PM
Noel King was spotted in Terryland at the Cork game. He previously managed Shamrock Rovers, Derry City, Limerick FC, and Finn Harps. He is currently manager of the Rep of Ireland ladies team which may suit him as United played ike a bunch of schoolgirls against Cork.

geezer
11/04/2008, 9:55 PM
make awful mistakes. Im more convinced now more than ever we need someone that has experience of the league. Jeff Kenna was the hot tip in Terryland tonight but he will know diddly squat about how this league works.
We need a ****** quick with nothing but survival the mission. Long term development of football in galway will be grand for when we are down in the 1st division.
Give Connors the job

looping
11/04/2008, 10:52 PM
make awful mistakes. Im more convinced now more than ever we need someone that has experience of the league. Jeff Kenna was the hot tip in Terryland tonight but he will know diddly squat about how this league works.
We need a ****** quick with nothing but survival the mission. Long term development of football in galway will be grand for when we are down in the 1st division.
Give Connors the job

the way it goes even tony mannion would be a good option coz it seems there s a lack of passion or quality or both but it s gonna be difficult to lift heads up if there s not quickly a win... :(

Tir Oilean
11/04/2008, 11:07 PM
I agree with you looping. The heads seemed to fall tonight eve when we got a goal back only one player (cant remember who) ran to retrieve the ball to speed up the restart.

geezer
11/04/2008, 11:10 PM

What the jesus does he think of our club, an old folks home. That comment
alone is laughable and demonstrates more than anything his opinion on the LOI and the buffers out west. Its the shredder for that cv he is so out of touch

Square Heir
11/04/2008, 11:14 PM
Sign Kenna as a player/assistant manager.
And Rico as manager :)

WoodquayBoy
11/04/2008, 11:15 PM

What the jesus does he think of our club, an old folks home. That comment
alone is laughable and demonstrates more than anything his opinion on the LOI and the buffers out west. Its the shredder for that cv he is so out of touch

Spot on Geezer, it is that comment that should convince the board to stick his CV in the SanServ holder in cubicle number 1 in the clubhouse, about all its good for

Tir Oilean
11/04/2008, 11:22 PM
Am I right in saying he has no experience? Player/coach? Remind you of anyone? Steve Staunton? A Pro licence means jack sh*t in fairness by the standards of some of the managers around these licenses are like employee of the month awards in Supermacs i.e. Stick at it and you'll get one.

PS I apologise to any employees of Supermacs that may have been offended by this post.

geezer
11/04/2008, 11:38 PM
jeff can come over for the next few weeks, sit with billy in the dugout if he can walk from the clubhouse to the dugout and wave his walking stick at our defense. Oh ive had enough ,seriously disillusioned

Square Heir
11/04/2008, 11:43 PM
jeff can come over for the next few weeks, sit with billy in the dugout if he can walk from the clubhouse to the dugout and wave his walking stick at our defense. Oh ive had enough ,seriously disillusioned

If he gets the job he could commute from Dublin every day because he'd have the free travel on the train!:D

pixiehead
12/04/2008, 3:18 AM
I think Patrick Walker would be a good appointment for ye. He's a good, recognised coach here in Sweden and he does have a knowledge of LOI football - he's a former LOI player and he's helped LOI clubs in scouting Swedish opposition.

I agree. Its not about the Manager "Knowing the LEague". If the Manager can play a style of Football that wins games thats all that matters. Many European teams dont "know our league" yet they kick the crap outa us in Euro Comps. (including the scandinavian teams)

Sumac
14/04/2008, 2:23 PM
I agree. Its not about the Manager "Knowing the LEague". If the Manager can play a style of Football that wins games thats all that matters. Many European teams dont "know our league" yet they kick the crap outa us in Euro Comps. (including the scandinavian teams)

But they have continental style players comfortable playing a type of game that is not natural to us on the western tip of Europe
Having said that I think he would be a good appointment

soccerc
14/04/2008, 2:50 PM
Walker won't be the new manager

Walker declines the Galway job (http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/content/view/418/1/)

14/04/2008, 3:07 PM
Not surprising John thanks .Is that your own website . Rico should be contacted and offered the post he is the best man available.

gilberto_eire
14/04/2008, 3:30 PM
See this is the problem now, with 1 point from six games, nobody will want to risk there reputation by taking us. He wanted the job 2 weeks ago, now we're further adrift he seems to have changed his mind!!

Should have sacked TC pre-season, this was always going to happen had we been in a pickle!. :mad:

soccerc
14/04/2008, 3:34 PM
He wanted the job 2 weeks ago

Did he? Who initiated the contact? :D

geezer
14/04/2008, 3:39 PM
Now, we are not exactly blessed with choices its Roddy Or Connor
is it perceived as a bit of a poison chalice now?

Also Gufct like to hear why u not surprised

corbyeire
14/04/2008, 3:41 PM
not roddy please!

Tir Oilean
14/04/2008, 6:27 PM
Not surprising John thanks .Is that your own website . Rico should be contacted and offered the post he is the best man available.

Rico has said clearly on several occasions that he does not want the job.

14/04/2008, 6:37 PM
Rico has said clearly on several occasions that he does not want the job.

No he hasn't.

He's said he's happy with his life at the moment.He avoided answering the question directly on msn last week aswell.

14/04/2008, 6:39 PM
No he hasn't.

He's said he's happy with his life at the moment.He avoided answering the question directly on msn last week aswell.You were chatting to him on MSN?:eek: Send me his addy will ya?;) :D

Tir Oilean
14/04/2008, 6:52 PM
Well going on what he said on MNS and in the Tribune he wasnt interested in the job two weeks back. They'd have to pay big bucks to haul him down Wesht after him just moving back to Dubland

Demoshield
14/04/2008, 8:13 PM
Walker won't be the new manager

Walker declines the Galway job (http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/content/view/418/1/)

Did anybody check these "facts" with the club? :D
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/off-the-pitch-features/managers-position-update.html

galwaygooner
14/04/2008, 8:23 PM

He does not want the job !

GuisaSaigon
14/04/2008, 8:29 PM
Rico hasn't said he doesn't want the job, he's been very coy when asked about it. I don't know who all the applicants are but I'd be much more in favour of going after Rico than settling for Connor or Shoddy.