View Full Version : Cousins Sacked!
KBurke
31/03/2008, 9:11 PM
Originally Posted by KBurke
Look out for him in his new role as an expert analyist on MNS in the next few weeks. I mean if Connor can do it...
if there was a award for prediction of the season this is it after his debut tonight on mns..
If only i knew wed lotto no s. In fairness i didnt think he d be on it that soon.
pól-dcfc
31/03/2008, 9:23 PM
if there was a award for prediction of the season this is it after his debut tonight on mns..
priceless...:eek:
No chance. He didn't appear to be the most media friendly bloke.
Tir Oilean
31/03/2008, 9:34 PM
He lacks a bit of "character" and is too monotone for listening to. Couldnt see him getting a fulltime gig on tv.
31/03/2008, 9:55 PM
He lacks a bit of "character" and is too monotone for listening to. Couldnt see him getting a fulltime gig on tv.
agreed...heard him countless times on radio today and cant imagine him to be too great encouraging players in the dressing room.
Maroon 7
31/03/2008, 10:00 PM
agreed...heard him countless times on radio today and cant imagine him to be too great encouraging players in the dressing room.
Unless they are insomniacs.
JC_GUFC
31/03/2008, 10:04 PM
A few touchy Derry fans about...
I'll put it another way?
Where were you when you were ****?
Flexy
31/03/2008, 10:09 PM
I'll put it another way?
Watching Derry in the Premier Division while you were in the 1st Division still winning nothing
paulie_walnuts
31/03/2008, 10:27 PM
Get a life. The only reason anyone ends up in Derry is for the Queen's shilling.
Part time club. Part time support.
You may have a better history but "The Professional Club" is the future.
That made me laugh.
"part time support"?
1,625 at your last game. The buzz has truly died.
31/03/2008, 10:33 PM
Ah but they were all at the Rugger the night before and got oh so cold that they couldn't brave the nasty windy elements the following night.
JC_GUFC
31/03/2008, 10:36 PM
We weren't playing on our regular night and it was still bigger than your crowd this week!
Your progressive club doesn't want to move games from Thursday nights because they make more money "renting the bar at weekends".
Whatever about Derry, Dundalk fans are really living in the past.
Say what you want but you've got to admit that the future is "The Professional Club"
paulie_walnuts
31/03/2008, 10:40 PM
So you're comparing the 'full time support' and 'professional club' to a still part time First Division club now?
1,500 at a game at home to Wexford Youths (12-15 away fans remember) versus 1,625 at home to one of the countries biggest clubs, Rovers (around 500 away fans I think?)
Thats a home support of 1485 v 1200 (give or take).
"part time support" right there kid.
Flexy
31/03/2008, 11:05 PM
So you're comparing the 'full time support' and 'professional club' to a still part time First Division club now?
1,500 at a game at home to Wexford Youths (12-15 away fans remember) versus 1,625 at home to one of the countries biggest clubs, Rovers (around 500 away fans I think?)
Thats a home support of 1485 v 1200 (give or take).
"part time support" right there kid.
Paulie leave him alone he may start to cry, and actually realise were they are in the league, and how many trophies they have won in the last 20 yrs. Galway a Professional Club!!!! rite with Nick Leeson at the helm, Galway will end up like Bearings Bank, bust!!!!
DonO'Bate
31/03/2008, 11:07 PM
From someone who supports a club thats won didly squit in the last 10 yrs and needed Nick Leeson to suck someone to get into the Premier Division. Dont make me laugh with your comment
Hmm, yeah don't make me laugh indeed, I remember one of your well known local policitians having to go cap in hand to his friend the mayor of Barcelona who got his local football team to help you lot out of a fiinancial crisis.
paulie_walnuts
31/03/2008, 11:21 PM
Paulie leave him alone he may start to cry, and actually realise were they are in the league, and how many trophies they have won in the last 20 yrs. Galway a Professional Club!!!! rite with Nick Leeson at the helm, Galway will end up like Bearings Bank, bust!!!!
What gets me is that he claims Dundalk and Derry are living in the past. How?
"The professional club is the way forward"
1 point this season, 3 teams going down, managerless already, support dwindling something serious (even us part timers are getting crowds as good as you in the first division against Wexford). If the way forward is to the first division, then I hope we don't win the league:rolleyes:
Not surprised he was first to be sacked. Only surprise so early.
Paddyfield
01/04/2008, 5:55 AM
What gets me is that he claims Dundalk and Derry are living in the past. How?
"The professional club is the way forward"
1 point this season, 3 teams going down, managerless already, support dwindling something serious (even us part timers are getting crowds as good as you in the first division against Wexford). If the way forward is to the first division, then I hope we don't win the league:rolleyes:
I hope Dundalk do win the First Division. The Premier Division needs Dundalk.
The Lilywhites
01/04/2008, 7:52 AM
We weren't playing on our regular night and it was still bigger than your crowd this week!
Overall, yes, but we had a bigger home support. Rovers took at least 300 to Galway, whereas Wexford took 15 to Oriel - about the same amount of support that you'll take to Drogheda this week.
Since you got the most pathetic promotion in the history of world football 18 months ago, you think you've turned into Real Madrid or something :rolleyes: but you'll soon be back where you belong. Happy relegation. :D
Fivesilver
01/04/2008, 7:54 AM
My feeling on this sudden sacking is that we're on the verge of another PR move by the blowhards who run GU. An approach from an agent telling them he can get them an impressive 'name' (former Ireland international or the like), making a quick shafting of Cousins a priority. It would be of a piece with the whole approach of being more concerned with building a brand than winning matches.
And as for knocking Derry, give me a break. I've had my disagreements with them over the years, but they came into the league at the bottom, and played their way to the top echelon (ie by amassing enough points over the course of a season - you should try it sometime, it's quite liberating).
01/04/2008, 9:28 AM
My feeling on this sudden sacking is that we're on the verge of another PR move by the blowhards who run GU. An approach from an agent telling them he can get them an impressive 'name' (former Ireland international or the like), making a quick shafting of Cousins a priority. It would be of a piece with the whole approach of being more concerned with building a brand than winning matches.
Liam Daish, after his profile has been raised by middle-managing a team to lots of press coverage in England, has already gone to Luton Airport for the direct flight across with Aer Arran!
LeixlipRed
01/04/2008, 9:47 AM
Rumour on our forum that Dermo has been offered the job. Galway came up with an excellent compensation deal and the ball is in Dermo's court now.
EDIT: This may all be an April Fools Day wind up. Should have looked at calendar before posting :D
JC_GUFC
01/04/2008, 10:20 AM
Galway United must be one of the only clubs Keely hasn't managed so I'd say he'd jump at the chance.
These poor Derry & Dundalk fans seem to be awful sensitive, it doesn't seem possible to have a bit of banter with them! :p
galwayhoop
01/04/2008, 2:22 PM
.....making a quick shafting of Cousins a priority..
a quick shafting :confused:
granted we are only 4 games into this season but he has been in charge for over 60 games. we only manager 3rd in the first divison and guaranteed survival with 2 games to spare last year (i know we may have finished 8th but it was much closer than that in reality, clinging onto points against 10 man longford and a derry team full to the gills with kids and nothing to play for at about twelve o'clock midnight!!!)
.....It would be of a piece with the whole approach of being more concerned with building a brand than winning matches.
i think you will find that the reason Cousins was sacked was his inability to win football matches. I mean even his tactic free long ball gamer would have been tolerated had he been winning games.
had the club been more interested in building a 'brand' then cousins spoofing would have sat very nicely indeed.
good riddance to him i say, it is only a pity we didn't get rid of him at the end of last season - but i have to give credit to the board for acting so quickly, 1 point from 12 and no signs that there would be any return in the near future.
01/04/2008, 8:38 PM
Did you mean a Geordie accent?
Indeed, I stan corrected. ;)
dortie
01/04/2008, 9:04 PM
I'll put it another way?
Might have had a few bad years in the 'premier league' always had a token league cup though.
Been a fan from 86, never seen relegation, have seen trophies, a fair few of them !!....and you ?
Scuzzelbutt
02/04/2008, 9:52 AM
Strangest sacking of a manager i'v seen! fair play to Tony for appearing on MNS
WoodquayBoy
02/04/2008, 11:03 AM
Ah yes, his auld muckers in Rovers sticking up for him. Would ye have put with him managing Rovers from his house in Galway, seeing them scrape survival last season and take one point from 4 games this season? Well, we didn't either.
hynzy
02/04/2008, 11:15 AM
Ah yes, his auld muckers in Rovers sticking up for him. Would ye have put with him managing Rovers from his house in Galway, seeing them scrape survival last season and take one point from 4 games this season? Well, we didn't either.
Dead right WoodquayBoy, GUFC have taken a bit of stick over the last few days, but no other club would have been able to put up with TC for much longer either. It was the correct decision. It was one of the lowest nights in Terryland in many years last saturday night. Unbelievable to think that with the injuries many of the players who did play were playing for a place on the team and none of them were up 4 it. TC could not motivate his players and the situation would have gotten worse before getting better. Shamrock Rovers of all clubs would not have put up with their team performing as we did and there right to expect such high standards from there players so we shud be too.
mediahack
02/04/2008, 11:23 AM
The most surprising thing for me listening to TC on MNS was that he said he had only a budget of €500k - Galway have been spouting for ages that they were working off a budget of €1.5m (remember they announced ahead of the IAG results in Dec 2006 that they would work of €1.5m if they were Premier and €900k if they only made First Division) so players wages are only 33% of budget - that is some adherence to the salary cap or else there are a few porkies flying around!
02/04/2008, 12:12 PM
The most surprising thing for me listening to TC on MNS was that he said he had only a budget of €500k - Galway have been spouting for ages that they were working off a budget of €1.5m (remember they announced ahead of the IAG results in Dec 2006 that they would work of €1.5m if they were Premier and €900k if they only made First Division) so players wages are only 33% of budget - that is some adherence to the salary cap or else there are a few porkies flying around!
I thought the spiel was always that the club budget last season was €1.2 million with 600k of that being the playing budget :confused:
WoodquayBoy
02/04/2008, 12:15 PM
You'd be right there Ted. Not sure what the deal was for this year . . . any anyway, he'd have known all that when he took the job, as budget's for the 5 years to 2010 were set out in 2005. Oh, did he forget to mention that?
Gaillimh Al
02/04/2008, 12:18 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/211/
galwayhoop
02/04/2008, 12:22 PM
good statement. Well done John Fallon
Tir Oilean
02/04/2008, 3:29 PM
I thought the spiel was always that the club budget last season was €1.2 million with 600k of that being the playing budget :confused:
Gold star for you Lim til I die you were paying attention! I can understand him wanying to vet his anger but he didnt exactly cover himself in glory on MNS. No supporter would have put up with the style of football we were playing in the past season or so. Its consigned to the history books now.
Tir Oilean
02/04/2008, 3:38 PM
Great article. It only confirms what we already knew, this is the right board to have at the helm of our football club. Well done JF you have the unanimous support of the supporters of Galway United.
galwayhoop
02/04/2008, 3:51 PM
Well done JF you have the unanimous support of the supporters of Galway United.
Don't be so quick with the unanimous support bit.... has anyone heard from 'gufct (i back TC 100%)' lately??? :confused:
MyTown
02/04/2008, 4:08 PM
Don't be so quick with the unanimous support bit.... has anyone heard from 'gufct (i back TC 100%)' lately??? :confused:
I'll let gufct post for himself. From knowing him over the years (and I've had many disagreements with him) I'd say I don't know anyone who is as loyal or as hardworking (in a voluntary capacity) for the club INCLUDING the Chairman.
Maybe he's not as eloquent for the learned football experts here as the Chairman has been in recent days. But a few more gufcts (who can back up forum posts with real action) would serve the club better IMHO.
From my knowledge of him he is consistent in his loyalty. So I'd expect him to be backing the new manager 100% while he is the manager, rather than constantly undermining him in his role.
People have argued that a board or a site like this has little influence over the direction a club takes. Don't be too sure. And to the vast, vast majority who are delirious with joy at the sacking of Tony Cousins, I'd say congratulations, you've got your wish. Now is there any chance of you helping the club to stop the rot and turn the corner for the remainder of the season? We have enough supporters of other clubs wetting themselves at our current plight. So can we please start now by getting behind Billy Clery and the playing staff and ensure that Paul Doolin & Co have something to think about on Friday night?
Terry-Lander
02/04/2008, 4:11 PM
Think GUFCt is in States....according to his last post. On the budget TC forgot to mention the 60K extra made available to him in the transfer window. His financial recollections make him a prime candidate for Taoiseach:)
WoodquayBoy
02/04/2008, 5:16 PM
Don't be so quick with the unanimous support bit.... has anyone heard from 'gufct (i back TC 100%)' lately???
Was wondering about him as well, but believe he is abroad? Didn;t see him Saturday anyway
I'll let gufct post for himself. From knowing him over the years (and I've had many disagreements with him) I'd say I don't know anyone who is as loyal or as hardworking (in a voluntary capacity) for the club INCLUDING the Chairman.
Maybe he's not as eloquent for the learned football experts here as the Chairman has been in recent days. But a few more gufcts (who can back up forum posts with real action) would serve the club better IMHO.
From my knowledge of him he is consistent in his loyalty. So I'd expect him to be backing the new manager 100% while he is the manager, rather than constantly undermining him in his role.
People have argued that a board or a site like this has little influence over the direction a club takes. Don't be too sure. And to the vast, vast majority who are delirious with joy at the sacking of Tony Cousins, I'd say congratulations, you've got your wish. Now is there any chance of you helping the club to stop the rot and turn the corner for the remainder of the season? We have enough supporters of other clubs wetting themselves at our current plight. So can we please start now by getting behind Billy Clery and the playing staff and ensure that Paul Doolin & Co have something to think about on Friday night?
I agree with a lot of this post. I think it is stretching things a bit to say this forum has influenced the club, but I can't back that up so I am open to correction.
I do believe we will see a MASSIVE crowd in Terryland next Tuesday for the Longford cup match. Billy, G and Lal back at the club - you're going to see passion from the team, its up to us, the fans, to match it on the terraces
galwayhoop
02/04/2008, 6:46 PM
And to the vast, vast majority who are delirious with joy at the sacking of Tony Cousins, I'd say congratulations, you've got your wish. Now is there any chance of you helping the club to stop the rot and turn the corner for the remainder of the season?
Are you insinuating that perhaps posters who saw him for the spoofer he was sooner than others are causing the club lasting damage???? Can't agree with you there.
The problem I had with Cousins was the style of football (or lack of it), constant sh1te talk and bad results.
I expect that those 3 things should improve almost immediately (well two of them will straight away). Personally I don't think that Billy is the man for the job long term, perhaps he will prove himself to be, but he will get my immediate support.
Billy has proven himself a risk taker in his short managerial career and I hope this continues, he is not afraid to go 3 at the back in search of a result. It would be great for it to work out for him but either way I expect we will see a vast improvement over the next few games. It might be bad timing for him though as the next two league fixtures will be very tough.
Terry-Lander
02/04/2008, 8:02 PM
And to the vast, vast majority who are delirious with joy at the sacking of Tony Cousins, I'd say congratulations, you've got your wish. Now is there any chance of you helping the club to stop the rot and turn the corner for the remainder of the season?
I agree with everything you say about GUFCT. I'm glad TC is gone as I don't believe he was getting the best from a team that he was largely responsible for buying / assembling. However you should be careful of generalisations such as that highlighted above. You have no idea of what I or others have done and continue to do for the club. It's because I want to see the club succeed that I am not sorry that TC has departed.
Ceirtlis
02/04/2008, 10:10 PM
Indeed spouting it so much that you have got the figures wrong. The commonly reported budget for 2007 was €1.2 million which was the budget all told. It is reported to be around €1.5 million this year. And its very likely Tony Cousins is being economical with the truth. He has said after alot of matches that we didnt deserve to lose games when it was clear to everyone that we did.
KBurke
02/04/2008, 10:19 PM
Was wondering about him as well, but believe he is abroad? Didn;t see him Saturday anyway
I agree with a lot of this post. I think it is stretching things a bit to say this forum has influenced the club, but I can't back that up so I am open to correction.
I do believe we will see a MASSIVE crowd in Terryland next Tuesday for the Longford cup match. Billy, G and Lal back at the club - you're going to see passion from the team, its up to us, the fans, to match it on the terraces
I reckon it'll be game for die hards only especially as it clashes with Liverpool Arsenal
02/04/2008, 10:35 PM
Ex-Sligo Rovers and Bohemians manager Sean Connor has signalled his interest in taking up the vacant Galway United job. (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/news.asp?n=31635)
Demoshield
02/04/2008, 10:44 PM
Ex-Sligo Rovers and Bohemians manager Sean Connor has signalled his interest in taking up the vacant Galway United job. (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/news.asp?n=31635)
Depends on how many contracts he wants to sign!!!:D
Terry-Lander
03/04/2008, 7:16 AM
I reckon it'll be game for die hards only especially as it clashes with Liverpool Arsenal
WHO?:D
Buile Shuibhne
06/04/2008, 10:52 AM
There's no byline - but could the writer be Eamonn Sweeney?
from the Sindo:
Independent.ie
Galway top fantasy table
Pity poor Tony Cousins, sacked last week after just four games by Galway United, Ireland's leading fantasy football club.
It's only a few months since Galway were named as one of the big eircom League clubs seeking to join an All-Ireland League. With no hint of shame or irony, United met with Cork City, St Pat's, Derry City, Bohemians and Drogheda United to discuss the possibility of jumping to a 32-county competition. And all this from a club who wouldn't even be in the Premier League had they not been promoted on the basis of off the field criteria after finishing behind Dundalk the previous season.
Galway's notion of themselves as members of a big six belies both the fact that there hasn't been a decent team at Terryland in a decade and a half (in fact Cousins' achievement in keeping them in the Premier last year was as good as anyone's managed with these serial underachievers) and the fact that Shamrock Rovers and Sligo Rovers, to name just two, are far more credible participants in any future cross border set-up. Even a small town club like Longford Town have contributed far more to the league in recent times than Galway.
Up to last week the Tribesmen's fantasising was a mere irritation. But that was before Cousins paid the price for a poor, but infinitely retrievable, start to the season.
Cousins then revealed that he'd been expected to produce big six football on the same kind of budget as First Division strugglers Athlone Town. Pat Dolan observed last week that even Sporting Fingal provide their manager with more money than was available to the former Shamrock Rovers striker.
The bottom line is that Cousins has paid the price for Galway's pretence of being a big club. By sacking the manager they can pretend that the club has ambitions to compete with the big boys, other evidence notwithstanding. It's the kind of cheap and shoddy behaviour which brings the league into disrepute.
Hopefully the genuine big guns of Irish soccer will see the Cousins sacking as a demonstration of what Galway United are really about. The disgust expressed by Pat Dolan and Pat Fenlon last week suggests this might just happen. About time too.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/galway-top-fantasy-table-1339659.html
06/04/2008, 11:09 AM
More sad journalistic skills from someone who probably hasnt seen 2 minutes of what GUFC supporters have had to suffer for not only 4 matches but over 12 months. They really havent a clue. Yes, united should have got rid of him at the end of last season, but they decided to give him a chance that united must start this season in the same fashion that they ended the last. Did they? NO! They were even worse than anyone could have even imagined.
As what is been reported in Galway, the players were getting sick after their first training session without cousins, they were so far away from being match fit ! The first question the players put to Clery was " Can we now play football ?". Says it all for me.
06/04/2008, 11:20 AM
Very annoying that all these outsiders(including Dolan etc) think they know more about what GUFC is about than those who support and work for the Club.
Does the fact that 99.99% of GUFC fans didn't shed a tear for TC's departure hint that they may just be wrong in all their assumptions and accusations?
TC's regime in Terryland was incredibly soft and people with little or no idea about UTD should keep their worthless opinions to themselves.
What that spanner,who wrote the latest GUFC-bashing article,calls delusion we call ambition.
Also Cousins was made well aware what his budget would be when he took the job so his complaining about is nonsensical.He also chose to leave out the part where the Directors coughed up E60K for him in July.
GUFC have become resented in some quarters for taking the bull by the horns and doing everything we can to make it into Ireland's Top 6.
06/04/2008, 12:27 PM
Does the fact that 99.99% of GUFC fans didn't shed a tear for TC's departure hint that they may just be wrong in all their assumptions and accusations?
Good to hear that Galway have a core support of at least 10,000 fans - I only wish that Waterford could get as much a following in the city and county even when we were recently more successful...
it never ceases to amaze me how certain members of the Irish media only write about Irish soccer when there is an oppertunity to slag it off. When was the last time the Sunday Independent devoted as much space to a match report.