View Full Version : Tonights Latest- Friday March 28th 2008

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Mental Man
28/03/2008, 8:39 PM
Full time at the RSC, blues beat SF by 2-0:D

hamburg paul
28/03/2008, 8:40 PM
Any idea wht they were sent off for?

Probably the occasion !you know, big city and BIG CLUB!Bring back Brendan Bradley!

Black and White
Results
Bray nil pats 3
Limerick 2 Longford1

pól-dcfc
FT Derry 2 - 0 Drogs

Kendrick o.g.
Farren pen

Quality! 6 points clear of Drogs after 4 games. Fantastic job.

ccfcgirl
28/03/2008, 8:41 PM
Pats are flying 0-3

28/03/2008, 8:42 PM
I do believe I heard Owen Heary call Bohs THE BIG CLUB on the rte.

Good win for Limerick tonight, might be able to turn the Jacks into something of a fortress this year ;)

prince20
Alan byrne or sumit like that...ye signed from kildare county during the transfer window!

Alan Byrne

Black and White
All the byrnes are off 2nite at tolka..davy byrne sent off 4 athlone!

Mental Man
I always said Stephen Kenny was a much better manager than Doolin !!

showgies
28/03/2008, 8:43 PM
Relegation 1 pointer.

Good result for our sheep sha gging friends

3-0 defeat to Bohs is not a good result !

Gareth
28/03/2008, 8:43 PM
all over bar shels where davy byrne sees red.

Mental Man
28/03/2008, 8:44 PM
Good win for Limerick tonight, might be able to turn the Jacks into something of a fortress this year ;)

Must be some shower of ****e down in Limerick so ?;)

sligofan4ever
28/03/2008, 8:46 PM
I understand Sligo Rovers had a load of great chances from Raff,Faz and Alan Moore got the best chances who else had good chances for the Bit O' Red and atleast a draw is better than a loss

pól-dcfc
28/03/2008, 8:48 PM
3-0 defeat to Bohs is not a good result !

But sure it's not like they were expecting anything off "The Big Club" ( :rolleyes: ). And they've got 6 points in the bag too, unlike yourselves.

Only one team that matters in the North-West anyway. :D

Hibs4Ever
28/03/2008, 8:49 PM
I do believe I heard Owen Heary call Bohs THE BIG CLUB on the rte.

No he didn't, he said they were A big club

pól-dcfc
28/03/2008, 8:53 PM
Yeah Sligo rovers

ZING!!!!

showgies
28/03/2008, 9:00 PM
But sure it's not like they were expecting anything off "The Big Club" ( :rolleyes: ). And they've got 6 points in the bag too, unlike yourselves.

Only one team that matters in the North-West anyway. :D

Early days.....remind me who were the highest placed team in the North West last season?

CvilleRovers
28/03/2008, 9:03 PM
just getting warmed up for next Friday :cool:

only a week to go, cant wait ;)

28/03/2008, 9:05 PM
Early days.....remind me who were the highest placed team in the North West last season?

And remind me...what exactly do you have to show for it?

Atleast we won a trophy even though its "only" the League Cup (a trophy, that if Sligo won, yis would be the first to brag to Harps and Galway about). Oh and it got us in the Setanta <----ever been it? Ah no. A competition that Sligo would, I'm sure, dearly love to be in.

Flexy
28/03/2008, 10:13 PM
Bohs 3-0 Harps RES
Believe there was a disagreement before the match between Hegarty and the fourth official ( Winters ). They wanted the players to take off all rings and jewelry. Hegarty said what do you want me do to do, cut there hands off. Winter said to him he wanted no rings etc on the pitch. At this point Eoin Hand overhead the conversation and told him he was talking rubbish, and to get on with the match. Just another incident from these idiots who referee our matches. Wonder did it play any part in Hegarty's sending off by objecting to it

Sinéad K
28/03/2008, 10:24 PM
Lads as far as I know FIFA issued a directive this year that no jewellry of any sort was to be worn during matches. A mate plays for the Glens & 3 seasons, I think, ago he nearly lost his finger after studs caught his wedding band even though it was taped up.

On a side great result for Derry tonight. I would have taken a draw after last year but saw a big difference in the attitude, maturity & confidence tonight.

28/03/2008, 10:30 PM
Pats have been the best footballing side I've seen this season (out of Bray, Kildare, Pats, Cork, Derry, UCD and Athlone). Fahey has to be the best technical player in this league. He has a wide range of accurate passing and him, Kirby and Ryan were outstanding for them tonight. Kirby and Ryan got at us down both flanks and caused us plenty of trouble. Quigley and O'Neill have a good understanding as well. I was very impressed by Pats this evening.

As for ourselves...well we only had one shot on target all night and we still haven't scored in the league. Friday's match against Finn Harps is already turning into a must-win. :(

Flexy
28/03/2008, 10:43 PM
Lads as far as I know FIFA issued a directive this year that no jewellry of any sort was to be worn during matches. A mate plays for the Glens & 3 seasons, I think, ago he nearly lost his finger after studs caught his wedding band even though it was taped up.

On a side great result for Derry tonight. I would have taken a draw after last year but saw a big difference in the attitude, maturity & confidence tonight.
I can understand but sum folk cant get their rings off easily, i think tapeing it up is sufficent, any player can sustain any injury during a match it should be their choice at the end of the day. Great result for the Candystripes again tonight, Kenny has got the motivation back and has also got the crowds flocking back to the Brandywell. Roll on the Pats next week.

Erstwhile Bóz
28/03/2008, 10:44 PM
That's interesting. Heraghty last man out of the dressing room but the boys on rte are saying he was sent-off and maybe shouldn't have been in there?
When he got sent off he went almost all the way to the dressing room but then he could be seen walking slowly back along the hoardings and just sat in the the first row in the Connaught Street behind the dug-out.

Wasn't there for the Harps' player's first yellow but their fans were flipping. The second one didn't look like much, to be honest.

I reckon Kelly could have booked Bohs players on two occasions in the second half -- for obstruction and a fairly juicy tackle -- but the incidents happened right in front of the Harps fans so he let them go and soaked up his personalized chant.

Singh's (!) cross for Crowe's goal looked good and Byrne's penno was blasted into the top corner. Heary's finish was great as well in off the post but there was no Harps player within about fifty million miles of him, in fairness.

deecay
29/03/2008, 12:52 AM
Disgracefull preformance frm Rovers,Alan Moore with only real chance,almost chipped the keeper from 30+ yards

29/03/2008, 1:50 AM
Irish referees will now be able to stay in constant communication throughout matches after the Football Association of Ireland purchased six Referee Communication Sets.
The sets will be used during the following games this weekend:

Bohemians v Finn Harps
Bray Wanderers v St. Patrick’s Athletic
Derry City v Drogheda United
Cobh Ramblers v Cork City
Galway United v Shamrock Rovers

So basically every Premier match this weekend except ours. Where a player picked th ball up for a throw before it had gone out. And where the linesmen had distinct problems working out when a ball was fully over the line. And where we nearly scored at the end from at least a yard offside. Shame; I'd have liked to have heard what the officials were thinking then!

I understand Sligo Rovers had a load of great chances from Raff,Faz and Alan Moore got the best chances
In fairness, I think the best chance was Forsyth's from 12 yards when he shot straight at the keeper after your entire left side went missing. But also in fairness, neither side deserved a point from that game. Worst game I've ever seen since last weekend, when I went to a relegation battle IL game on the way back from Harps.

There'll be a definite top six, bottom six split this year. Though Drogs are trying hard to be the exception.

Good enough for the hockey bigots.
Be nice - I was right beside those hockey bigots in the cold in the Bowl!

29/03/2008, 1:51 AM
Great result for us. In fairness, it was a very entertaining game to watch. We definately deserved the 3 points though. St Pats-Derry looming with huge significance next week...

29/03/2008, 1:56 AM

Even a broken clock tells the right time twice a day.....

BacRod
29/03/2008, 2:01 AM
I'd be inclined to agree with charmingman. The match had it's dull moments, but what matches don't. McCourt was blinding down the right for the first fifteen/twenty minutes. They seemed to be leaving him in loads of space. I was worried last year that McCourt was more or less negated, as every team new how he played, but he had Drogheda tortured tonight.

It's early days yet, but, if you're picking up points at Turner's Cross, and clearly getting the better of Drogheda, then your doing something right.

I'm slightly annoyed that Fenlon's Bohemians won so comfortably over Hegarty's Finn Harps, though. I'd like to see Harps do well.

joey B
29/03/2008, 10:57 AM
I'm slightly annoyed that Fenlon's Bohemians won so comfortably over Hegarty's Finn Harps, though. I'd like to see Harps do well.

Playing with ten men for 75 minutes,losing your captain for the forseeable future and a half fit squad probably had something to do with it though.

roboyle
29/03/2008, 10:58 AM

Alan Kelly was a joke last night and the Harps fans let him know it. The yellow cards were harsh, the first one especially but what really took the biscuit was when he awarded the penalty for a last man challange and then didn't even issue a card. A bit of consistency would be nice.

Harps started very well, were playing well up the pitch and not content to defend like the away team up until the sending off... needed to be a bit more intelligent on the ball (Mukendi kept humping the ball clear to no one and it would come straight back) and the first goal was eminently avoidable (the Harps defence had about 2 full seconds to close Heary down but gave him time to pick his spot - in off the post).

I don't know if you can read much into the result last night BacRod - what could've been if the ref had sense... :mad:

JC_GUFC
29/03/2008, 12:14 PM
Worst game I've ever seen since last weekend, when I went to a relegation battle IL game on the way back from Harps.

That IL game must have been the worst game of all time - last night's was atrocious. Sligo marginally the better side but as you say UCD had the best chance of the match.

29/03/2008, 12:17 PM
That IL game must have been the worst game of all time
Believe me, it was! Armagh v Larne last week; look up the reports or the comments on the IL forums!

JC_GUFC
29/03/2008, 12:46 PM
but there were 7 goals!!! It had to have been good!

niallsparky
29/03/2008, 12:51 PM
Playing with ten men for 75 minutes,losing your captain for the forseeable future and a half fit squad probably had something to do with it though.

We are in a similar situation though. Missing our captain, and 4 others from a squad of 21 isn't the best.

29/03/2008, 2:55 PM
Relegation 1 pointer.

Good result for our sheep sha gging friendsI don't know, Sligo fans didn't seem too happy last night.

29/03/2008, 3:55 PM
but there were 7 goals!!! It had to have been good!
Believe me, it wasn't! Superleague stuff. None of the defenders had any more ability in them beyond putting a leg in the path of the ball to launch it clear into the air again; it was actually colder than last night and the best goal of the lot - when an Armagh player was through on goals only to be fouled, but in doing so, caught the ball with his flailing arm and steered it past the keeper, was ruled out to give a penalty. Also, I didn't really care.

29/03/2008, 6:31 PM
Rovers 1-0 up in Galway after half an hour. Dessie Baker on 18.

4 in a row
29/03/2008, 6:56 PM
Rovers 1-0 up in Galway after half an hour. Dessie Baker on 18.
dessie is playing brilliant stuff this season... we really need to win this game. come on rovers:)

29/03/2008, 7:19 PM
2-0 now. Rice.

29/03/2008, 7:19 PM
Rovers 2-0 up now. Stephen Rice.

29/03/2008, 7:38 PM
Cobh 0 Cork 0 at half time. Lordan had to clear off the line to save Devine.

The Lilywhites
29/03/2008, 7:54 PM
Rovers 2-0 up now. Stephen Rice.

2-0 a result now. :D:D:D

29/03/2008, 8:09 PM
2-0 a result now. :D

Funny how Galway's pain give such pleasure to so many :D:D

The Lilywhites
29/03/2008, 8:16 PM
Just a little! :D:D:D

29/03/2008, 8:20 PM
:D:D I hate those guys :D

29/03/2008, 8:21 PM
Funny how Galway's pain give such pleasure to so many :D:D

I just want them to keep on losing as they're becoming one the likeliest candidates for relegation and as a UCD fan we need three teams to keep on losing to finish below us.

atfconline
29/03/2008, 8:21 PM
Funny how Galway's pain give such pleasure to so many :D

Just a little! :D

You're both just bitter, and obsessed! :D

The Lilywhites
29/03/2008, 8:26 PM
I hate those guys :D

Don't we all! :D:D