View Full Version : Langan on liveline

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Drumcondra 69er
26/03/2008, 10:13 PM
His hour of need? What exactly is his problem that has made it a dire issue now and not 20 years ago?

Or is this thread just a regurtiation of some ongoing problem that past it's chance to be resolved years ago?

Why should I donate money to some guy I've never heard of who has arthritis? My grandfather has arthritis, should I throw some money at him too? It seems to make everything better apparently.

FFS Ciaran, do yourself a favour and read up on the matter. He got his first major injury (knee) while representing Ireland. He'd actually sacrificed pay from his club to play in that match. This was compounded by another injury, this time to his spine, while recovering. This required a spinal fusion operation and the removal of one of his discs aswell as a marrow transplant from his hip into his spine. He had 12 operations on his legs following the original injury. It's not just arthritis.

He was also the first player to miss a testimonial following the increase from 25 caps to be entitled to 50. He had 26. If you knew anything about him and the way he played you'd why he's such a fans favourite at all the clubs he played for and with Ireland supporters. People think the way he was denied a testimonial at the time was pretty shabby and think something should or could be done for him.

As for your rather crass 'hour of need' comment, once again this isn't a new issue and has been spoken about for at least the last decade.

billybunter
26/03/2008, 11:27 PM
His hour of need? What exactly is his problem that has made it a dire issue now and not 20 years ago?

Or is this thread just a regurtiation of some ongoing problem that past it's chance to be resolved years ago?

Why should I donate money to some guy I've never heard of who has arthritis? My grandfather has arthritis, should I throw some money at him too? It seems to make everything better apparently.

Ciaran, So tell us, do you like Robbie Keane? - or have you not been born yet?

Traps Cat
26/03/2008, 11:50 PM
If they were injured in the job and forced to retire from it yes, though let me point out the obvious here. Ireland is his country not his employer. Birmingham or Leicester or wherever he played are his employer, and if he was injured in his job then he should have been paid the remainder of his contract which I'm sure he was like 20 years ago.

He's got everything due to him from the sounds of things, I don't see any injustice here. This just seems like a Charity begging more than anything else.

My God lads , is this how cynical we have become. A Man like Dave Lanagan gives blood , sweat and tears for his country and people begrudge him a dig out. One of the last of the "Decent Skins" . A man who turned up for matches even when injured , to remind the manager how much he wanted to play for his country.

A new breed of irish supporter allright. Samba bands, Ian Dempsey and the rest of that rubbish.

Shame on you.

27/03/2008, 12:38 AM
My God lads , is this how cynical we have become. A Man like Dave Lanagan gives blood , sweat and tears for his country and people begrudge him a dig out. One of the last of the "Decent Skins" . A man who turned up for matches even when injured , to remind the manager how much he wanted to play for his country.

A new breed of irish supporter allright. Samba bands, Ian Dempsey and the rest of that rubbish.

Shame on you.

agree, top post.

its f*ckin despicable that his entitlement to a testimonial is even being debated. Im 30 and i knew about Langan from collecting posters and sticker albums of the Irish team back in the 80's. Anyone who can remember 1986 should know who Langan is.. an english born bolton fan who recently moved to Sk that im friends with knows who Langan is ffs.

the likes of Ciaran (and his totally obnoxious attitude and posts) and Ruben effin Sosa (and his blatant wummery) make me sick. The really sad thing is i'm sure theyre happy to read that. Any attention is better than none, eh lads?

kingdom hoop
27/03/2008, 12:45 AM
the likes of Ciaran (and his totally obnoxious attitude and posts) and Ruben effin Sosa (and his blatant wummery) make me sick.

Spot on. There should be a "pour tar and throw feathers on Ciaran" emoticon to express my feelings.

At least we have Green Tribe and Babysis. Hope ye're efforts are rewarded girls. :)

Metrostars
27/03/2008, 1:46 AM
Yep, a lot of shyte being said on this thread. I wish we had a few Dave Langans in our team instead of the self obsessed primadonas who play today.

jmurphyc
27/03/2008, 2:00 AM
I'd never really heard about Dave Langan up until an article about him in one of the recent issues of YBIG, but I would certainly be interested in going to a testimonial of his. I don't really understand the sentiments of some of the posters on this thread; surely if you have no interest in aiding him - and there's no real reason why you should have to - then just stay off the thread instead of hijacking something which is for people who do care to help. Nobody is forcing anything down people's throats FFS.

Anyway, it's sad to hear of his plight and I wish the lads who are attempting to get him a testimonial all the best in their campaign for him.

Mayo_Bhoy
27/03/2008, 3:27 AM
Reading through all the posts on this thread has me going through all sort of emotions....anger, disgust and bewilderenent.

I laugh when i think of all the ridiculous threads on here about getting the fans to sing some song or the other (and i'm guilty of getting bogged down in some stupid arguments on same threads). To Ciaran and Ruben etc. i'll tell ye one thing ...when Dave Langan was bursting a gut (and many other body parts as it turned out) in the Green jersey, there was no need for silly threads about making up songs or chants....the fans responded to heroes like him and the atmosphere was far better in those days without young lads like yereselves with no sense of history or decency. **** off to Donnybrook on a Friday night and watch Leinster ye dickeheads and i dont care if im banned or not from this forum. Somne of the posts on this thread are an ebarrassment.

ruben_sosa
27/03/2008, 9:54 AM

i couldn't agree more, if he needed a life saving operation or a transplant then yes, i could see the point of raising money for the man, but money is not going to cure his painful arthritis. If not a life saving operation, then what is the money being raised for, to give him a comfortable nest egg so he can give up his job? hardly the most magnanimous cause i can think of.

Greenforever
27/03/2008, 10:10 AM
i couldn't agree more, if he needed a life saving operation or a transplant then yes, i could see the point of raising money for the man, but money is not going to cure his painful arthritis. If not a life saving operation, then what is the money being raised for, to give him a comfortable nest egg so he can give up his job? hardly the most magnanimous cause i can think of.

Obviously yourself and Ciaran are lucky enough to have been born into the new rich Ireland, and you are also lucky not to have witnessed anyone close to you with a serious illness / disease or hatever you may want to call it.

If you could take your head from your a*** for a minute you might cop on that Davy Langan gave more for his country in an afternoon than you will ever do in a lifetime. I just hope for your sake if you ever do end up with an horiffic illness you will meet people with a bit more compassion.

Why have you a problem with others giving their money to help someone in need.

Would a testimonial for Dave even effect you? Or are you just a bitter sad individual with no friends:D

27/03/2008, 10:30 AM
Obviously yourself and Ciaran are lucky enough to have been born into the new rich Ireland, and you are also lucky not to have witnessed anyone close to you with a serious illness / disease or hatever you may want to call it.

If you could take your head from your a*** for a minute you might cop on that Davy Langan gave more for his country in an afternoon than you will ever do in a lifetime. I just hope for your sake if you ever do end up with an horiffic illness you will meet people with a bit more compassion.

Why have you a problem with others giving their money to help someone in need.

Would a testimonial for Dave even effect you? Or are you just a bitter sad individual with no friends:D

Like I said at the start - attention seekers.

27/03/2008, 11:25 AM
I have to a admit I'm one of the posters on here who hadn't heard of Dave up until this thread however from what I've read on here so far i get the feeling that he was a class act and feel a certain amount of regret at not seeing him play. It seems to me that he may of been shafted by the FAI on the testimonial thing and therefore wouldn't begrudge him his day out at all the only reservation's i would have is A. would a testimonial for a player from 2 decades ago pull in a decent crowd. and B would it open the flood gates for every has been player with a few caps and a sob story to chance their arms with the FAI

27/03/2008, 11:48 AM
"i get the feeling that he was a class act"
"It seems to me that he may of been shafted by the FAI on the testimonial thing"

That's it in a nutshell

Greenforever
27/03/2008, 11:49 AM
I have to a admit I'm one of the posters on here who hadn't heard of Dave up until this thread however from what I've read on here so far i get the feeling that he was a class act and feel a certain amount of regret at not seeing him play. It seems to me that he may of been shafted by the FAI on the testimonial thing and therefore wouldn't begrudge him his day out at all the only reservation's i would have is A. would a testimonial for a player from 2 decades ago pull in a decent crowd. and B would it open the flood gates for every has been player with a few caps and a sob story to chance their arms with the FAI

First the size of the crowd is not the most important thing it is recognition and I would be pretty sure you would get at least 50K to a game for Davy and second theres no other player out there that Im aware of that was crippled to such an extent when playing for his country.

A true tribute may be to hold the first game in Lansdowne as a testimonial for Davy and put the tickets on sale now, so as to generate revenue asap.

27/03/2008, 11:53 AM
maybe a game against decent opposition for a fund that helps ALL such cases of hardship from past players would be a happy compromise

also, the IRFU definately used to and probably still give a percentage of takings on match programmes to charity. maybe 50c from every FAI programme sold could go to a past players fund from now on

citizenerased
27/03/2008, 12:26 PM
lads im behind the langan testimonial, but I dont beleive for 1 second he would get 50,000 for his testimonial.! Ecuse my cynicism, but I doubt you would get 50,000 signatures on a petition for a testimonial for him .

I agree with 'Greenforever', the issue from the FAIs point of view is, (1). If they sanction a testimonial for Langan, how many players with that amount of caps will come seeking the same, (2). What distinguishes Dave from someone else even with more caps, who has fallen on hard times with illness and poverty? (3). Where will it be played? Croke park costs 1m to rent and a testimonial is outside the terms of the current agreement (4). There is a players fund all ready setup for this reason.

Personally I think the only viable option in the relative near future is to have a fund-rasing campaign perhaps, where current and ex irish players could donate match shirts for auction.

DeNiro
27/03/2008, 2:29 PM
I remember Dave Langan. He was the type the word 'legend' was reserved for, before imposters like Lampard, Beckham et al got it. He used to roar up and down that touchline in Lansdowne. He was outstanding in the Euro 88 qualifiers It's hard to believe he was dropped for Chris Morris in the end. The bigger irony being that the man who beat England in Stuttgart in 88 and Italy in the Giants Stadium in 94 was discovered by Dave. At least we owe him for that. I heard the interview on the radio on Tuesday. It reminded me of how humble we once were as a country. Dave said he was heartbroken when Jack dropped him because the green jersey meant so much. If there's a testimonial for him I'll be there. Just to appreciate a legend in the true sense!

jmurphyc
27/03/2008, 2:42 PM
There are appropriate Arthritis help foundations, it would make far more sense to give the money to them where they in turn would help not just Dave but thousands of other sufferers cope as opposed to throwing hundreds of thousands at this guy while giving a proverbial two fingers to everyone else suffering from it because they're job didn't happen to be your favourite sport.

Ciaran, it's fair enough if you don't want to participate, but why are you constantly trying to ruin a thread that is just trying to help someone? Nobody is asking you to spend money on a testimonial so I don't think you should be questioning people's rights to set one up on his behalf. If you don't agree with the matter then just stay off the thread. If I don't agree with something - which is none of my business - then I'll stay away from it. Would you go on a Jewish board and tell them that Israel doesn't have a right to exist (just using this as an example)?

Greenforever
27/03/2008, 3:08 PM
Ciaran, it's fair enough if you don't want to participate, but why are you constantly trying to ruin a thread that is just trying to help someone? Nobody is asking you to spend money on a testimonial so I don't think you should be questioning people's rights to set one up on his behalf. If you don't agree with the matter then just stay off the thread. If I don't agree with something - which is none of my business - then I'll stay away from it. Would you go on a Jewish board and tell them that Israel doesn't have a right to exist (just using this as an example)?

Probaly would you know,should have brought him to Tel Aviv with us and left him with a few Israeli soilders :D:D:D

soccerc
27/03/2008, 3:18 PM
I remember Dave Langan. It reminded me of how humble we once were as a country.

I touched on an earlier post of how different Ireland was back in those days. Nostalgia? No, I'd not like to return to it one bit.

It was the word humble that caught my attention in DeNiro's post.

Dave was and is a very humble person.

A small anecdote.

He'd come watch Cherry Orchard games on the Lawn, Ballyfermot,getting the 78 bus from town when he was home.

He was also due to play in an reunion game in the mid 1980's and with kick off time getting close there was still no sign of Dave. IIRC it was just after Ireland had won the Iceland tournament.

An old style open backed CIE bus struggled up Balyfermot Road stopping outside the school and off hopped Davy.

He was asked why he was late and said the bus was the problem.
Someone said why didn't you get a taxi and Davy replied, "the bus was good enough for me when I was a schoolboy and it's good enough for me now".

27/03/2008, 3:26 PM
He was asked why he was late and said the bus was the problem.
Someone said why didn't you get a taxi and Davy replied, "the bus was good enough for me when I was a schoolboy and it's good enough for me now".

He was either an absolutely genuine down to earth fella or a tight git :D
I'd imagine it was the former

soccerc
27/03/2008, 3:29 PM
He was either an absolutely genuine down to earth fella or a tight git :D
I'd imagine it was the former

Correct, a genuine salt of the earth who didn't forget his roots or where he comes from, Unlike some of our current over paid, over there, prima donna's :eek:

For anyone interested here is a list of the games he played for Ireland.

DAVID FRANCIS LANGAN

26 INTERNATIONAL CAPS

1978: DERBY COUNTY

TUNISIA, NORWAY.

1980: DERBY COUNTY

ARGENTINA, SWITZERLAND.

1980:BIRMINGHAM CITY

HOLLAND, BELGIUM, FRANCE,CYPRUS.

1981;BIRMINGHAM CITY

WALES,BELGIUM, SOVIET UNION,WEST GERMANY, POLAND,HOLLAND,FRANCE.

1985: OXFORD UNITED

NORWAY,SPAIN,SWITZERLAND.

1986: OXFORD UNITED

WALES, URUGUAY, BELGIUM, SCOTLAND,POLAND.

1987: OXFORD UNITED

BRAZIL,LUXEMBOURG,LUXEMBOURG.

Greenforever
27/03/2008, 3:38 PM
When you're called an "imbecile" for not having heard of a cult 80's figure it makes it very difficult for me to be anyway supportive to such a close minded group of fogies. Normally in this instance I would say "Yeah, fine. I can understand why people want to Help him but I just don't think it's the right approach" and leave it be, but if people are going to lash out at me without just cause they should at least expect their motivation tobe questioned.

It's your attitued as the thread developed that proves you'r an imbecile, and whos the close minded group of fogies??? Are they the people who can't understand why you have a problem with other people helping Davy out.

Maybe we should all ask for your premission before we help a fellow human being out:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 3:43 PM
Ciran if you are only defending yourself why not take the higher ground and delete some of your more infuriating posts.
didnt someone say he played in Euro 88 qualifiers? seems he only played in Luxembourg home and away. Might explain why he was dropped?

soccerc
27/03/2008, 3:47 PM
Ciran if you are only defending yourself why not take the higher ground and delete some of your more infuriating posts.
didnt someone say he played in Euro 88 qualifiers? seems he only played in Luxembourg home and away. Might explain why he was dropped?

no, Belgium and Scotland too, only Stapleton and Moran played in all eight qualifying games

Billsthoughts
27/03/2008, 3:48 PM
Oh right....

Drumcondra 69er
27/03/2008, 4:20 PM
When you're called an "imbecile" for not having heard of a cult 80's figure it makes it very difficult for me to be anyway supportive to such a close minded group of fogies. Normally in this instance I would say "Yeah, fine. I can understand why people want to Help him but I just don't think it's the right approach" and leave it be, but if people are going to lash out at me without just cause they should at least expect their motivation tobe questioned.

Much as I'm surprised that there's fans out there that aren't familiar with a player from only 20 years back that was as popular as Langan (this isn't a Kevin O'Callaghan or even a Michael Robinson with all respect to them that we're talking about) that's their perogative. It was the obvious disrespectful tone of your initial post that myself and many others judging from the responses had an issue with. Not to mention the whole tedious 'LOOK AT ME, LOOK AT ME!!!' aspect to it.

Babysis
27/03/2008, 4:59 PM
Spot on. There should be a "pour tar and throw feathers on Ciaran" emoticon to express my feelings.

At least we have Green Tribe and Babysis. Hope ye're efforts are rewarded girls. :)

I really can't understand people begrudging others helping Davey. It was said a few posts ago - If you dont want to help or show support, then leave the rest of us to it.

I was taught to help whenever you can, so that's all we are doing - its a small gesture for someone who was so proud to wear the green jersey.
Dave had the attitude Id like to see more of our players nowadays adopt - Sheer determination and pride to wear the green, no matter the consequences. Jesus for that alone he deserves a bit of recognition.
The fund raising night is a great idea but like everything the interest and awareness needs to be built first.

27/03/2008, 5:09 PM
For **** sake.

Ciaran hadn't heard of this guy. Neither had I, nor several other posters who've popped their heads into no man's land here. Those of you who hopped on him for it should be ashamed of yourselves. The fact that you all got so ****ed off at each other over this is absolutely pathetic.

Greenforever
27/03/2008, 5:19 PM
For **** sake.

Ciaran hadn't heard of this guy. Neither had I, nor several other posters who've popped their heads into no man's land here. Those of you who hopped on him for it should be ashamed of yourselves. The fact that you all got so ****ed off at each other over this is absolutely pathetic.

As previously posted its his initial post which ****ed people off, then when he goes on to begrudge others who want to help out.

From a quick search of threads you have started you're obviously a great EL fan, you'd probably be very ****ed off if someone got on to the site and started slaging off UCD and any fundraisng efforts their supporters wanted to get involved in.

HarpoJoyce
27/03/2008, 5:24 PM
For **** sake.

This thread reminds me once again that foot.ie only is representative of a small fraction of what Irish football is about.

I remember being with a bunch of UCD fans (all still post on here) at Richmond Park and they found out through the half-time programme questions that the Rep. of Ireland competed in the 1934 and 1938 World Cups. It's good they went to a football match, learnt a little bit more information.
Just at the time the same fans wanted the totally upheaval of Irish Football, still do I believe.

It's right to ask when you don't have information, it's impolite to swear and use abusive language while doing that.

27/03/2008, 5:24 PM
As previously posted its his initial post which ****ed people off, then when he goes on to begrudge others who want to help out.

From a quick search of threads you have started you're obviously a great EL fan, you'd probably be very ****ed off if someone got on to the site and started slaging off UCD and any fundraisng efforts their supporters wanted to get involved in.
I understand why people got ****ed off at him, but I think he just lashed out because of the initial reaction - there's a post on the last page where he says he'd normally have been disinterestedly supportive of something like this but for how people had attacked him. I think a lot of people are just arguing because they're annoyed at each other, rather than over any real disagreement. Ultimately it's distracting from what would normally be a fairly sympathetic thread.

Drumcondra 69er
27/03/2008, 5:46 PM
I understand why people got ****ed off at him, but I think he just lashed out because of the initial reaction - there's a post on the last page where he says he'd normally have been disinterestedly supportive of something like this but for how people had attacked him. I think a lot of people are just arguing because they're annoyed at each other, rather than over any real disagreement. Ultimately it's distracting from what would normally be a fairly sympathetic thread.

Read the thread, it was his first post (first reply on the thread) people had an issue with, it's degenerated since then fair enough but that's the nature of message boards.

Traps Cat
27/03/2008, 5:48 PM
Think the majority of people were annoyed with him due to his senseless begrudery rather than the fact he didnt know who Dave Langan was.

jmurphyc
27/03/2008, 6:15 PM
Look, it's not a case that Langan isn't a worthy cause, it's a case that he's a vocal worthy cause while others suffer quietly which isn't fair. The FAI don't owe him anything so it's not a case of an injustice here it's a similar case to wanting to help the poor out with 50 bucks, the right thing is to give it to an agency responsible and experienced in it, the wrong thing is to give it all to a homeless man on the street. That's how I feel about this.

It's completely off topic, but I would personally feel the complete opposite way. I would much rather give a homeless guy 50 euro than give it to an agency. If spending it on drink/drugs is what he wants to do with it then so be it, I'd rather that than see 40 euro out of that 50 go on administrative costs for an agency.

27/03/2008, 9:53 PM
ciaran, what if you found out paul mcgrath needed a liver transplant?! How would you react?!

I still understand where he is coming from though.

sylvo
27/03/2008, 10:05 PM
I have too say fair play to Mento and the lads at YBIG for pushing a game for Dave Langan, and have to say I am VERY saddened to see the way some have just slagged off the idea.

As someone who is old enough to remember Dave Langan playing for Ireland seeing i'm at the ancient age of 36, i've nothing but great memories of the guy, and what i'd give to see the same level of pride and commitment from todays crop of so called superstars we have playing for us in the same way Dave Langan gave.

Dave played such an important part in us getting to Euro 88, for those who don't remember him and that is not an issue if you don't, but when all the pludits where handed out after Euro88, Dave Langan never got any credit never mind the credit he deserved. One game sticks in my mind was when we played Belgium in 86, Dave Langan tore into them that night setting up Stapleton for a goal and helping win a penalty, against a team who just three months earlier finished third in the world cup.

Even if it is a game at somewhere like Tolka park, theres a lot of people by the looks of things would like to see Dave get his day in the sun and get a proper chance to say thank you for helping change our football fortunes.

jmurphyc
27/03/2008, 10:45 PM
You'd rather assist in someone self destructing than donate 10 bucks to charity? nice, man. :rolleyes:

Agencies are there for a reason in that they give fair distributed treatment to everyone, and not just the first guy to mumble "spare change".

I wasn't having a go at you Ciaran, I was just pointing out my own feelings. What I do with my money is my business but if a charity is giving all of its money to the people it is meant to be catering for then I would gladly give it to them, but the fact is that hardly any of that money actually goes to the people that you are supposed to be helping (in some cases I believe it's as low as 5%). I was just mentioning it as an aside, but yet again you start getting self righteous.

28/03/2008, 8:51 AM
I'd think it was sad how he had fallen from grace like that. I have a lot of respect for Paul but if he drinks himself into the ground it's his own fault.

ok maybe bad example, lets say his knee then.....even though i know that was an excuse a lot, but lets say his knee caused severe arthiritis, what then?!

28/03/2008, 10:24 AM
Can we get back on topic please , and that's Dave Langan not Ciaran :)

Greenforever
28/03/2008, 11:06 AM
Look, it's not a case that Langan isn't a worthy cause, it's a case that he's a vocal worthy cause while others suffer quietly which isn't fair. The FAI don't owe him anything so it's not a case of an injustice here it's a similar case to wanting to help the poor out with 50 bucks, the right thing is to give it to an agency responsible and experienced in it, the wrong thing is to give it all to a homeless man on the street. That's how I feel about this.

It's your opinion that the FAI don't owe him anything.

The FAI's job is to promote the game of football to ALL the football family.

The FAI if they grant Davy a testimonial won't actually be handing over any money, so it won't cost them anything. What they would be doing is RECOGNISING A TRUE IRISH LEGEND. The next step would be for a voluntary committee to be formed to organise a testimonial and all the bits that go with the same.

Unfortunately the FAI are more likely to use our money to pamper SOME OF todays multimillionaire stars who don't need it. Mind you most of the current interanational squad are their for their love of the country such as Given Keane Duff etc.

28/03/2008, 11:26 AM
Unfortunately the FAI are more likely to use our money to pamper SOME OF todays multimillionaire stars who don't need it. Mind you most of the current interanational squad are their for their love of the country such as Given Keane Duff etc.

One way of kick starting a Dave Langan Benefit Fund would be at the Serbia game by 2 simple things which would take very little organisation and should raise a tidy sum:

- all the Ireland squad to donate their match fee
- add 1 euro to the price of the match programme, €5 to €6, with that extra euro going into the fund and the FAI matching every extra euro raised.

Don't know how many programmes per match they sell, but say 10000. That would raise €20000 + plus whatever the total match fees are. I have no idea what match fees are but if it were €500 for each of the squad, that would raise another €10000.

Greenforever
28/03/2008, 11:52 AM
One way of kick starting a Dave Langan Benefit Fund would be at the Serbia game by 2 simple things which would take very little organisation and should raise a tidy sum:

- all the Ireland squad to donate their match fee
- add 1 euro to the price of the match programme, €5 to €6, with that extra euro going into the fund and the FAI matching every extra euro raised.

Don't know how many programmes per match they sell, but say 10000. That would raise €20000 + plus whatever the total match fees are. I have no idea what match fees are but if it were €500 for each of the squad, that would raise another €10000.

While this would raise funds, it's not the samething as giving him the recogonition he deserves.

28/03/2008, 12:18 PM
Can we get back on topic please , and that's Dave Langan not Ciaran

Who the hell is Ciaran:confused: :mad:

:p

Greenforever
28/03/2008, 12:20 PM
[quote=Jerry The Saint;907619]Who the hell is Ciaran

/quote]

Alice's next door neighbour, now who the f*** is Alice :D:D:D

Junior
28/03/2008, 12:44 PM
is the interview available online? sorry I cant remember if its in the thread but ive just read through the 11 pages and cant remeber nor can be arsed to trawl back through it.....

On a side note, I think Davey is probably reflective of footballers as at whole at that time, there wasnt such a divide between them and the man in the street, my mother inlaw (big Fulham fan) often tells me of sharing a bus journey with the likes of Johnny Haynes and co when going to the ground early. They were just ordinary blokes who were good /great footballers.

Its just not the same now and perhaps the likes of our younger supporters just simply cant relate to it. If this happened to one of our current stars, they should basically be well able to fund any medical assistance etc...

Either way, if we take the money out of the equation this still doesnt give him the recognition he deserves. Maybe a 'Reunion game for the class of 88' being the first major championships in our lifetime that we qualified for would be an idea??

Billsthoughts
28/03/2008, 1:03 PM
Isnt there a hall of fame award at the FAI awards?
did he ever get that?

Greenforever
28/03/2008, 1:24 PM
Isnt there a hall of fame award at the FAI awards?
did he ever get that?

Not that i'm aware, the FAI seem to be shying away from anything to do with recognising him and have been doing so for the last 10 yrs or so since his problems started gettin very bad.

Drumcondra 69er
28/03/2008, 2:17 PM
is the interview available online? sorry I cant remember if its in the thread but ive just read through the 11 pages and cant remeber nor can be arsed to trawl back through it.....

On a side note, I think Davey is probably reflective of footballers as at whole at that time, there wasnt such a divide between them and the man in the street, my mother inlaw (big Fulham fan) often tells me of sharing a bus journey with the likes of Johnny Haynes and co when going to the ground early. They were just ordinary blokes who were good /great footballers.

Its just not the same now and perhaps the likes of our younger supporters just simply cant relate to it. If this happened to one of our current stars, they should basically be well able to fund any medical assistance etc...

Either way, if we take the money out of the equation this still doesnt give him the recognition he deserves. Maybe a 'Reunion game for the class of 88' being the first major championships in our lifetime that we qualified for would be an idea??

Page 1 of the thread has links to the radio interview and an archive thread with a old Irish Times interview. Page 2 has links to another couple of old threads and articles on the subject. There's also an article in the last issue of You boys in Green, available to download on their website.

Dunno about a class of 88 reunion, think he's still quite bitter about being overlooked for the final squad having played 4 qualifiers. Was gutted for him at the time but these things happen in football, had it been a 22 man squad rather then 20 he'd probably have made it, lost his place to Chris Morris with Jon Anderson getting the back up spot if memory serves....

Junior
28/03/2008, 2:34 PM
Dunno about a class of 88 reunion, think he's still quite bitter about being overlooked for the final squad having played 4 qualifiers. Was gutted for him at the time but these things happen in football, had it been a 22 man squad rather then 20 he'd probably have made it, lost his place to Chris Morris with Jon Anderson getting the back up spot if memory serves....

Fair point I didnt realise he wasnt in the squad at all for the actual finals.