View Full Version : Cork bid for Keating
11/07/2003, 8:33 AM
Cork City have put in a bid for Eoin Keating, which I'm led to believe is decent enough, but two of our 'committee' members refused it. Keating himself has expressed interest in playing at a higher level, ( though he says he will respect any decision the club make)and the club could sure do with the cash. I know we should try and hold what we have and maybe keep hoping for the best, but in the cold light of day, beggars can't be choosers and if this helps our plight to stay alive then why are the two idiots blocking such a move? It's also been confirmed 100% as Deise or LFC in Exile reported that a potential investor was scared off by John Purcells refusal to abdicate from his regal Commercial Managerial Throne...Nice, or what??
I'm off now to try and find out who the two objecters to Keatso's move were. Lads we've really got to do something about this Purcell man before it's too late. It's not as if any of us appreciate anything he's been doing or saying, plus it's gotta be affecting his son also, who must be mortified at the luck he drew in the parentage stakes.
LFC in Exile
11/07/2003, 10:25 AM
I'd hate to see Keating go - and I'd hate to see the vultures circling to split up what is a fine side - but if there is a good offer on the table then he should be allowed go. As long as Cork don't think they can ride us on it (and I doubt they would) then it is fair to Keating too to give him a crack at it. he is better than both of Cork's full backs.
And in any event I doubt he has a multi-season contract. He can just walk at the end of the season anyway - and if he is not being paid for a few weeks he can walk too.
Who is this Keating player?
I'm guessing hes a midfielder?
11/07/2003, 11:10 AM
All rounder really...has played right full or central midfield for us, and is arguably our best and most consistent player. He'd definitely make ye're side at the moment as I've seen a bit of ye.He played with UCD when up there in college a couple of seasons ago and Doolin loved him. He also is a good bog-baller and indeed was part of the Limerick Senior Football panel this season before having to choose. Ye'd be doing well to land him.
11/07/2003, 12:02 PM
If the bid is a fair one then I think Limerick should allow Eoin Keating to talk to Cork. We need money just to survive now and all the class players in the world won't be any use to us if the club goes under.
Eoin is a smashing lad and a fine player as well who deserves another chance in the top-flight and I certainly wouldn't hold it against him if he took a move. He's versatile, competitive and has already scored twice for us this season. We've already seen him at right-full, left-full, centre-half, central midfield and left wing this season. If he goes, it'll leave a huge hole but we have to balance our books.
which guy was he? Can't picture him from the games I was at. We need right winger, central mid and left-full OR left winger
11/07/2003, 1:16 PM
I've just ascertained from an ultra reliable source that the two on the committee who voted to decline Corks offer were John Purcell..no surprises there, but the other did surprise me. It was a fellow named O'Sullivan...Michael O'Sullivan. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but did he not pack it all in a couple of weeks ago???If so....what right has he to sit in on committee meetings, and decide the future of the club?? None I'd say, so why doesn't he toddle off to toyland where he's been living for the past few months and stay there, or get on with saving the club, being realistic about things and stop fannying about with idle threats of resignation. I know he's done a lot for the club financially to his own detriment but that doesn't give him the right to announce retirement from the club then still try to control it.
11/07/2003, 3:19 PM
It depends on how much Cork offered surely - anyone know the figure.
lims fan
11/07/2003, 4:20 PM
not to sell - we hardly have 13 players and keating wouldn't even make the city reserve team for god's sake. He doesn't even start games for lims.
BlueisBeautiful
11/07/2003, 5:39 PM
... disagree completely, he has been excellent so far this season and if a GOOD deal is on offer for him we should go for it.
LFC in Exile
12/07/2003, 1:27 PM
Originally posted by BlueisBeautiful
... disagree completely, he has been excellent so far this season and if a GOOD deal is on offer for him we should go for it.
BisB don't be so smalltime....... :)
deise deserter
12/07/2003, 1:52 PM
Rumours say 6,000 euro for Keating.
I think we should be looking for more than this for such a fine player.
maineman
12/07/2003, 7:53 PM
I know that in these troubled times limerick needs cash badly,but selling a good player like keating would be a step back 6,000 as reported is nothing for him.Limerick needs to try and hold onto what good players they have and this team is the best limerick has had in a while.Limerick needs to try and build finances without breaking up the current squad which are good enough to get promoted.
LFC in Exile
14/07/2003, 8:25 AM
Agreed. 6,000 euros is not enough for a player of this quality.
Question. How much will we get in the close season. I presume at that stage he can walk for nothing. In fact, one big problem of surviving from week to week is that the other clubs will com esniffign around at close season (if they aren't already doing to) and we can expect to lose O'Flynn, Purcell, the Kerry lads, Sweeney at least.
6,000 euros now to kep current players happy might pay dividends in the longer term.
lims fan
14/07/2003, 5:10 PM
is an insult and shows how little respect cork city and Noel the Scavanger O'Connor have for limerick FC. Why doesn't take his poxy 6 grand buy a few pies and get o'connor a couple of kgs of brisket which o'connor can stuff dolan full of. Not too sure the best way to cook brisket but i'm sure it can be fried or even grilled with some seasoning and plenty of peppers and some chowder to burn the mouth off fat dolan. Hands off fat boy or come back with a non-insulting offer.
14/07/2003, 6:00 PM
no disrespect (i know nothing about keating) but 6,000euro isn't bad.
for a young midfielder who's never played in the prem. div. and therefore hasn't got the pedigree eg. jason byrne had when he left a 1st div club.
city's record signing is only 15,000 (for devine, one of the leagues best keepers) and recently they offered a lad from aston villa a 5,000euro sign on bonus (which can be counted as what they could afford in lieu of a transfer fee for him).
clubs will likely offer low given your current situation but that's just business sense.
it is a good sign for LFC though that there is confidence there in the club's future to reject the offer made.
I'd say the only reason the two boys objected is to try to make city bid even more, dangerous game. I'd doubt anyone else will come in for him since hardly anyone else has money or much info on him.
Ye'd get €6k right away and his wages off the bill, keep ye going for another month to find an investor anyway.
I agree its an insulting offer, but so is what offers city are likely to get for o'flynn etc., The market is totally depressed and prices are lower than they should be. If City won't get good/fair prices for their players, how can they afford to pay fair prices for other players?!
Limerick may even get more players to sign for them in the future if its seen as a steppings tone to a big club.
Originally posted by pete
Limerick may even get more players to sign for them in the future if its seen as a steppings tone to a big club.
Didn't know Pats/Bohs/Shels/Rovers were in for any of their players... (Sorry couldn't resist)
6,000 is quite a lot for any player in our league as nobody pays money for any players (waiting for them to be out of contract instead)
Don't know anything about the lad and Cork may be getting a steal but from the souns of it, 6K would go a long way in Limerick at the moment...
deise deserter
15/07/2003, 11:39 AM
Originally posted by lims fan
6,000 Euros is an insult and shows how little respect cork city and Noel the Scavanger O'Connor have for limerick FC. Why doesn't take his poxy 6 grand buy a few pies and get o'connor a couple of kgs of brisket which o'connor can stuff dolan full of. Not too sure the best way to cook brisket but i'm sure it can be fried or even grilled with some seasoning and plenty of peppers and some chowder to burn the mouth off fat dolan. Hands off fat boy or come back with a non-insulting offer.
Very good cooking lesson!!
Anyway, to the point:
I was contacted by Michael O'Sullivan, our ex-chairman as of Saturday, as he was concerned about this post. He gave me the following info to relay to you all.
(a) The bid for Keating dropped to 2,000 Euro. "Someone" from Cork contacted Billy Kinnane with the offer. Billy Kinnane then refused to tell the rest of the committee who the contact was.
(b) Ciaran Foley is gone. His family is moving to Sligo and the distance is too great for him to travel so he has to pack it in.
(c) According to Michael O'Sullivan, the committee is doing a "lot of work in the background."
(d) When the topic of membership of the club was brought up Michael told me that anyone who wishes to put money into the club will be put on the committee. He also believes that if a consortium comes in to take over they will want to get rid of the current committee.
So what does everyone think of the official slant?
15/07/2003, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by Dodge
Didn't know Pats/Bohs/Shels/Rovers were in for any of their players... (Sorry couldn't resist)
Well apparently your beloved Who Are Ya Collins did have talks with a limerick player pre-season and is rumoured to have spoken to him again :p
15/07/2003, 1:14 PM
Steve O Flynn was approached at the start of the season by St Pats but Noel OConnor convinced him to stay...now there has been a fresh approach, and bear in mind all of our guys will be free agents by law very soon....I dont think I need to spell it out.
Jesus..tis worse it's getting. the way its heading we will not have enough players to play a game. Anyone want to play LOI football, for a few weeks anyway!!:p
Let's face it we are banjaxed. Lets have the public meeting we were promised. The Committee should be doing work in the foreground not the background.
1...Why are there no players sponsored this year ?
2.. Why are the Supporters club talking abouit about paying wages for good players when it's obvious the committee dont care about promotion or the future of the club ?
3..Where is the public meeting we were promised ? the 11th July has come and gone.
As regards the committee how about we all contribute the famous €1000 and take over the club en masse:D
All we need now is to lose 2 of our 3 strikers for f**ks sake!!:mad: :D
deise deserter
15/07/2003, 1:32 PM
Stevo - still there.
Derek Mc Carthy - there but not fit enough by any stretch.
Ciaran Foley - moved house to Sligo.
Gareth Cooney (a stretch I know, but he was up front against Bray for a bit) - out for a t least another 2 weeks with injury.
So only 2 really left, and I don't think anyone can think that Steven will hang on for next year...
Originally posted by JohnD
Jesus..tis worse it's getting. the way its heading we will not have enough players to play a game. Anyone want to play LOI football, for a few weeks anyway!!:p
that would be a novel way of raising a few € anyway! 'pay a grand and get your game' or something like that :D
15/07/2003, 1:57 PM
ammm just annoyed that some of ye know nothing bout certain players. Eoin Keating played for two seasons in the prem division with UCD. During this time he became a much loved and valued member of the team and when he was let return to Limerick (his original club) for a free, the UCD fans kicked up a storom over the letting go of such a talent. Hes far better then any of your full backs belive me. 6,000 and eventually 2,000 is a joke. its 25,000 lads and not a cent less.
Originally posted by Dodge
Sorry, should have said Huge Cluib to distingusih from the other wannabes.
Maybe Limerick could do a Formula 1 on it - get people to pay for their team place - cpould have a minimum fitness requirement like the F1 super licence
maineman
15/07/2003, 11:09 PM
Kieran foley moves house half way through the season and he can't play anymore a f u c k i n g joke or what.As if the squad was'nt small as it was and now we have players that can't play because of this.Thing's really are getting bad now if this kind of thing is happening.
16/07/2003, 9:25 AM
The committee were right not to release Keating for €6,000. That's about two weekes wages, it's not gonna get us out of a hole. Considering that we're down to about 16 players it's just worth it.
Losing Foley is inconvenient at the moment but it's not a huge loss on the bigger scale. However he'd better not be released from his contract. If he turns up for Sligo Rovers before the season ends it'd be a sickener. Besides he's 22 or so, he's finished college, if he wanted to play for Limerick he's old enough not to have to follow the family to Sligo. Thanks for the effort Ciarán but good luck.
As for our striking options at the moment, O'Flynn and McCarthy look to be the two, both have outscored Foley this season anyway so that's that. Cooney injured for the next few games but is Barry Ryan still on our books? Should/could Kerley try and mend bridges with Brian Donnellan? At a push maybe Shane could be givena run up front?
I'm sorry lads but given what the club has had to deal with this season, losing Ciarán Foley is only a blip on the horizon. The loss of a fringe player isn't going to make or break us.
16/07/2003, 10:10 AM
We are within a hairs breadth of going out of business all together...we need urgent funds...we cannot look gift horses in the mouth.Barry Ryan is no longer on the books...(What Books)Brian Donnellan was always only a winger, and a sulky little moaner at that....Shane simply is not a striker....Derek is unfit...Stevo is talking to St Pats...Bohs can pull Cooney at any time...we DO have serious problems..and they are mounting.
Please read my other thread (this club is a dead loss) of this morning and let me know what you think...I'm being deadly serious
16/07/2003, 10:33 AM
My point was that losing Foley isn't the major issue. Does that make a little more sense now? I totally agree that the club is in big trouble, that's why I think Foley's departure should be put in perspective. We have problems alright but losing a limited albeit hard-working attacker isn't a major one.
As for Keating 6,000 won't make or break us either way. I was livid when I heard they'd turned down the offer but I expected it to be at least twice that. Eoin Keating is worth more than €6,000 to Limerick. The squad is too small as it is (especially wth Foley gone as well).
Onto strikers then, let's be reasonable. We can't afford anybody new right? Then we have to make do with what we have at present. If Shane or Derek are out and Cooney's still injured/back at Bohs (though he wants to stay for the rest of the season) then we'll have to put somebody else up front.
As for your other post, it sounds a good idea but at present I'm jobless and literally down to my last fiver. Being a jobless student means serious money problems. So I can't contribute to anything right now. However I do have plenty of time to contribute to anything at the moment and your idea sounds solid enough. JohnD is the man to contact.
16/07/2003, 12:55 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
for a young midfielder who's never played in the prem. div. and therefore hasn't got the pedigree
Keating had a season at UCD. He was one of our better players but couldn't hack the training and lectures - took too much of his time apparently, so he headed back to Limerick.
I'd say he'd have no problem getting into the team at the likes of Longford/Drogheda/Waterford/Derry/us anyway. He's only young still, so if he went to one of the bigger teams, he'd certainly be a regular in a season or two.
I'm sure the L/FAI will be happy to donate cash to Limerick once they hear ye turning down offers for players.
If 6k is 2 weeks wages then no wonder ye are in financial trouble.
16/07/2003, 2:50 PM
In our current plight 6K has got to make business ense.
Realistically we are not going to get in the playoffs now and even if we did and won promotion we wouldn't be allowed to go up.
I'd rather see an all amateur team still playing senior football than the current one go bust.
Keatign can also walk for nothing if he hasn't been paid.
Contrary to popular belief all players have been paid during this crisis and will be for the next two matches at least..Sell Nobody:mad:
LFC in Exile
16/07/2003, 3:14 PM
Originally posted by joeSoap
Keating himself has expressed interest in playing at a higher level, ( though he says he will respect any decision the club make)
Going back to the first post on this subject one thing strikes me. Keating would obviously want to play for a premier division team but seems to be willing to stay with Limerick this season if the club decides that. He could be kicking up a fuss but does not seem to be doing this.
I just wanted to say fair play to Eoin, he is obviously committed to the club and is being very fair in all of this. :ball:
17/07/2003, 9:41 AM
Originally posted by LFC in Exile
I just wanted to say fair play to Eoin, he is obviously committed to the club and is being very fair in all of this. :ball:
Absolutely, I'd like to echo those sentiments!
Eoin Keating - a legend at 21! :)