View Full Version : Who owns your ground?

The Man Himself
23/03/2008, 11:54 AM
waterford city council own rsc,
munster senior league own turners cross,

23/03/2008, 12:05 PM
waterford city council own rsc,
munster senior league own turners cross,
They don't actually. The Munster FA are afforded control of it by the family of the late (private) owner, on condition that senior football is played there. With City moving to a new stadium of their own in a few years, they'll have a serious dilemma.

Tir Oilean
23/03/2008, 12:13 PM
Galway FA own Terryland Park. Galway United are now looking at a joint venture to secure their own training ground, they currently are paying Salthill Devon huge fees for the use of their top class facilities in Drum.

23/03/2008, 12:15 PM
I think the Carlisle is part owned by the Wicklow league and the FAI

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 12:50 PM
Tolka is leased from the council. We no longer own the lease

23/03/2008, 12:59 PM
The college own the Bowl, obviously.

Battery Rover
23/03/2008, 1:01 PM
Athlone Town Stadium Ltd own our ground. This is totally seperate from the club itself.

steno
23/03/2008, 1:03 PM
Newbridge Town own Station Road

Seagull
23/03/2008, 1:32 PM
I think the Carlisle is part owned by the Wicklow league and the FAI

AFAIK it's owned by Lord Meath, leased to Bray Town Council who in turn gave Wanderers a long term sporting lease on it...

23/03/2008, 1:33 PM
With City moving to a new stadium of their own in a few years, they'll have a serious dilemma.

No, it'll be fine. The clause is they have to make it available. If no senior team wants it then they just carry on as normal. And it'll be there in the future if need be.

23/03/2008, 1:36 PM
Tolka is leased from the council. We no longer own the lease

Did the final bit of equity left in Shels' lease go when the club fell into trouble last year then ?

I take it that's the end of your moves further North ?

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 1:39 PM
Did the final bit of equity left in Shels' lease go when the club fell into trouble last year then ?

I take it that's the end of your moves further North ?

We still have a sizeable sum of money left out of the deal. A figure in the millions

KianD
23/03/2008, 2:22 PM
Finn Park is owned by the Finn Park Trust, which is a seperate entity to the club. Membership of the Trust was changed/rationalised in court there last week to allow the deal for the new stadium to go ahead.

steno
23/03/2008, 2:58 PM
We still have a sizeable sum of money left out of the deal. A figure in the millions

What is the story now with Shels and a new home anyway Lexlipred (or any shels fan?). Is there a short term time limit on Selbournes stay in Tolka?. Just curious, haven't heard a word about it for a while.

23/03/2008, 3:03 PM
Is it no millions?

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 3:09 PM
Is it no millions?

It's enough to buy the Cereal Bowl off ye anyway

Olander
23/03/2008, 3:13 PM
:D cracker

23/03/2008, 3:26 PM
Give it a year or two and you'd love to have our Cereal Bowl. ;)

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 3:27 PM
:D cracker

Personally I prefer mine with melted cheese. You?? :D

23/03/2008, 4:42 PM

If you don't own the lease and haven't banked any money, how can you still have a sizeable amount of money to come form the deal ?!? :confused: Surely you must own at least a portion of the lease still in-order to retain any financuial rights over the ground ?

Who owes you these millions, and when/how will they be released ?

saint morrissey
23/03/2008, 4:50 PM
They don't actually. The Munster FA are afforded control of it by the family of the late (private) owner, on condition that senior football is played there. With City moving to a new stadium of their own in a few years, they'll have a serious dilemma.

do u really think cork will walk away from a perfectly good stadium and spend a fortune on a new one?

anybody know how many covered seats there are in the cross or total number of seats even?

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 4:54 PM
If you don't own the lease and haven't banked any money, how can you still have a sizeable amount of money to come form the deal ?!? :confused: Surely you must own at least a portion of the lease still in-order to retain any financuial rights over the ground ?

Who owes you these millions, and when/how will they be released ?

The lease hasn't changed hands yet. We were taking money down from the agreed selling price. I thought this was all common knowlege

Pablo Escobar
23/03/2008, 5:04 PM
do u really think cork will walk away from a perfectly good stadium and spend a fortune on a new one?

anybody know how many covered seats there are in the cross or total number of seats even?

Yes and 7,500

23/03/2008, 5:38 PM
Yes and 7,500

Nah, the seating is 9,223 or something like that.

When the roof goes on St Annes, they'll all be covered expect for the front of Donie Forde

They are walking away from it because the MFA are too hard to deal with. €40 million was the tag they are going to spend. It will be multi-purpose, concerts etc. (huge demand for it in Cork right now). Thats the reason Tynan is there now, he has huge experience in this the Greyhound Racing crowd in the past.

The sad thing is if the MFA didn't have their little power trip thing going on The Cross would be the site that would have been developed further and there would have been a huge benefit to football in Munster. Too much of an old boys club to see the woods from the trees.

23/03/2008, 5:46 PM
do u really think cork will walk away from a perfectly good stadium and spend a fortune on a new one? Yes. Initially, the ground isn't even really entirely for Cork City. The investment group see the potential in having big games in Cork but until that point will be making their money from concerts etc. At the moment the second largest city in this country relies upon a tent in a car park for its entertainment once a year.

The sad thing is if the MFA didn't have their little power trip thing going on The Cross would be the site that would have been developed further and there would have been a huge benefit to football in Munster. Too much of an old boys club to see the woods from the trees.
I don't think so. Theres no parking in TC, theres no room for the training facilities, entertainment facilities, conference facilities etc. that will be part of the new complex. Were it not for this stadium move, the investors would not be there, so we'd be enjoying our lovely stadium in TC with part time players in the first division.

Rambler1
23/03/2008, 5:52 PM
Cobh Ramblers own St Colmans Park

Grey Boy
23/03/2008, 6:32 PM
AFAIK it's owned by Lord Meath, leased to Bray Town Council who in turn gave Wanderers a long term sporting lease on it...

I didn't know the Lord Meath conection. I remember 5 or 6 years ago the lease from the council was due to expire and a developer wanted to build a hotel on the Carlisle grounds, but the council vetoed it and gave us a 35 year lease instead.

forza rovers
23/03/2008, 6:42 PM
the showgrounds is owned by the community

Paddyfield
23/03/2008, 6:47 PM
The chairman/president of Connacht Rugby wants to join forces with Galway United to build a jointly owned self sufficient stadium on the outskirts of the city. The Sportsground rugby stadium is run by Greyhound Board but it is a valuable bit of real estate as it is only a few hundred metres from Eyre Square and is next to City Hall.

Nick Leeson is determined to move Galway United out of Terryland but has never made comments about a joint venture with Connacht Rugby.

Buller
23/03/2008, 6:57 PM
Nick Leeson is determined to move Galway United out of Terryland but has never made comments about a joint venture with Connacht Rugby.

Whats wrong with Terryland? Is it that GUFC dont own it that he wants to move out?! I think that would be silly unless ye are paying rent. Its a perfect stadium for ye and its even expandable further...

Paddyfield
23/03/2008, 7:03 PM
Whats wrong with Terryland? Is it that GUFC dont own it that he wants to move out?! I think that would be silly unless ye are paying rent. Its a perfect stadium for ye and its even expandable further...

GUFC are paying rent. He wants a self sufficient ground with a bar, drive thru McDonald's, B&Q, rail station, Starbucks and maybe even a small airport.

Buller
23/03/2008, 7:11 PM
GUFC are paying rent. He wants a self sufficient ground with a bar, drive thru McDonald's, B&Q, rail station, Starbucks and maybe even a small airport.

All very nice but dependent on...
The deciding question - Will it have a tunnel?

Any idea what they are charging you for rent?

historynut
23/03/2008, 7:12 PM
Whats the craic with the Brandywell - is it council owned ? is'nt there Derry & District games played on it as well ?

Paddyfield
23/03/2008, 7:19 PM
Any idea what they are charging you for rent?

No idea Buller. It's funny how we all slag Rovers about being homeless when it seems most clubs don't own their own. Cobh do and Kilkenny City (RIP) do. I think Dundalk so too.

Who will actually own Tallaght Stadium?

Buller
23/03/2008, 7:29 PM
No idea Buller. It's funny how we all slag Rovers about being homeless when it seems most clubs don't own their own. Cobh do and Kilkenny City (RIP) do. I think Dundalk so too.

Who will actually own Tallaght Stadium?

South Dublin County Council, but it turns out better than us actually owning it. Its the best possible scenario. The ground can never be sold as we dont own it. We dont pay rent. The upkeep of the ground is payed for by the council. The only "disadvantage" is that we only get 50% of the advertising revenue. It will be a dream come true after all these years...

23/03/2008, 7:51 PM
the showgrounds is owned by the communityBy a Trust.

LeixlipRed
23/03/2008, 7:55 PM
By a Trust.

A trust in the community? Sounds like a new RTE sex drama

24/03/2008, 12:09 AM
The lease hasn't changed hands yet. We were taking money down from the agreed selling price. I thought this was all common knowlege

So why did someone say the Couincil owned Tolka then ?

If you own the lease - it's yours. The Council are just the Freeholders.

twowheelsonly
24/03/2008, 12:11 AM
The college own the Bowl, obviously.

Nah Stu..... Ye're just tenants for us taxpayers really!

24/03/2008, 12:12 AM
Whats the craic with the Brandywell - is it council owned ? is'nt there Derry & District games played on it as well ?

Yes..

LeixlipRed
24/03/2008, 12:18 AM
So why did someone say the Couincil owned Tolka then ?

If you own the lease - it's yours. The Council are just the Freeholders.

The council own the land is what I meant. We sold our lease on it to Ossie Kilkenny

passerrby
24/03/2008, 12:07 PM
the Mons own kinspan century park lock stock plus two other pitches and are hoping to install full size artifical pitch this year also

24/03/2008, 2:19 PM
The council own the land is what I meant. We sold our lease on it to Ossie Kilkenny

Hang on - we're going round in contradictory circles here now.

So now you're saying Shels own neither the land nor the lease...?!? :confused:

24/03/2008, 6:07 PM
They sold the lease but haven't received full consideration for it yet.

The "millions" they have over have to buy them a new ground.

LeixlipRed
24/03/2008, 10:30 PM
Hang on - we're going round in contradictory circles here now.

So now you're saying Shels own neither the land nor the lease...?!? :confused:

Sold = contract agreed. Why would we still be in Tolka if we had no claim to it?

25/03/2008, 12:04 AM
Sold = contract agreed. Why would we still be in Tolka if we had no claim to it?

For about an endless number of contractural agreements you could have put in place : e.g. use of rent free, use of until siomething else ready ect etc etc, ad-infinitum.

galwayhoop
25/03/2008, 4:48 PM
South Dublin County Council, but it turns out better than us actually owning it. Its the best possible scenario. The ground can never be sold as we dont own it. We dont pay rent. The upkeep of the ground is payed for by the council. The only "disadvantage" is that we only get 50% of the advertising revenue. It will be a dream come true after all these years...

not being funny here but if the above is true then that crowd in Thomas Davis appear to have had at least the basis for the case as Rovers are just getting free use of a publicly funded facility and will be making a profit into the bargain themselves! Great victory for Rovers if they are the circumstances. Will any other teams have use of the stadium or will it be exclusively Rovers?

KianD
25/03/2008, 6:04 PM
Other teams can use it, including GAA teams willing to play on the 'wrong shape' pitch - e.g. junior teams that can use that size pitch.

25/03/2008, 6:08 PM
Yeah the argument was about the size of the pitch rather than who's allowed to play there. TD wanted the entire thing started over with a GAA-sized pitch, which would have delayed the project massively (though they proved they werent concerned with that, didnt they) and reduced the room available for other facilities in the area.

25/03/2008, 9:29 PM
The Casey family own Oriel Park. There is an agreement to lease it to Dundalk FC for as long as they play football at the venue.

This tread has definitely been done not too long ago!