View Full Version : Sligo Rovers 1-2 Bohemians

forza rovers
21/03/2008, 9:16 PM
robbed!bohs 2-1 rovers. goal disaloud for what?:mad:

21/03/2008, 9:33 PM
we played alright in the second half , they took their chances well , a lot of the team didn't perform looked sluggish , Seamie had a great run towards the end pity it didn't go in , I just think that the team needs to get a win just to get things going I suppose we should remember we have started against three teams likely to be making a title challenge before we get too negative , Turner with his miraculous recovery from injury:rolleyes:

roversman
21/03/2008, 9:39 PM
deserved a point why was the goal disallowed
we need moore in the middle pulling the strings
i think ogrady time is up lucky to have stayed on the pitch
again mouthing to the ref and then the silly tackle on turner
who knew what he was at try to get ogrady sent off

Rovers fan
21/03/2008, 9:39 PM
we deserved something out of that game. For their 2nd goal we were switched off, I think the goal was disallowed cos whoever scored it was leaning on the defender,We'll see it on monday night though. I thought butler and coleman played very well tonight. We are not playing to boco and faz's strenghts by hoofing it forward. O'grady was very quiet.

As for the eejits who threw something(a bar i think) at the bohs players after their 2nd goal and a bottle a few minutes later - grow the f*** up.

cmak-88
21/03/2008, 9:43 PM
who was the idiot who threw the bottle at one of there players. another fine along wit the fines we got against st pats

roversman
21/03/2008, 9:50 PM
[QUOTE=Rovers fan;902888] We are not playing to boco and faz's strenghts by hoofing it forward.

yes playing high balls up to small men when they have big center halfs on them
is pointless play the ball to their feet and they can do damage
same as last week high balls in no good

21/03/2008, 9:53 PM
who was the idiot who threw the bottle at one of there players. another fine along wit the fines we got against st pats

If you know who did it, come forward. We honestly don't need this **** in the Showgies.

Anyways,
We were robbed. Can't believe we conceded the second like that, I went from ecstasy to hell in the space of thirty seconds.:(

Only1Rovers
21/03/2008, 10:08 PM
moore in the middle pulling the strings
i think ogrady time is up lucky to have stayed on the pitch
again mouthing to the ref and then the silly tackle on turner
who knew what he was at try to get ogrady sent off

Cook is unwilling to play Moore on surface at the Showgies.

The ref deemed there to be pushing in the box, possibly on Murphy that disallowed the goal.

Seamie should have done better with his opportunity after putting so much work in, to get into that position.

Byrne is a class act. He'll be one of the stand-out players in the league this season.

Overall there was a similar pattern to this game as the Drogs match. Sluggish starts and came out all guns blazing for the second half. Don’t know if it was such a good idea taking Anto off. His long throws were causing problems.

Butler is improving I think. His free kicks are troubling defences.

Fair play to Burns for not celebrating.

Rovers fan
21/03/2008, 10:10 PM
Overall there was a similar pattern to this game as the Drogs match. Sluggish starts and came out all guns blazing for the second half.

the wind was a factor

showgies
21/03/2008, 10:13 PM
Ahhhhh! I'm too sickened to post about this result!

Are we a 45 minute team? Why is it that we only get going in the second half?

We should have got a draw from this game at the very least. I have no doubt that had that goal stood (answers on a postcard....Why was it disallowed?) we would have went on to win.

I remain optimistic for this season though. It was a good crowd tonight, I think they saw enough to drag their arses back again.......

21/03/2008, 10:13 PM
If you know who did it, come forward. We honestly don't need this **** in the Showgies.

Dermot B knows who it is, one of the stewards saw it.Sorted.

21/03/2008, 10:15 PM

Anyways,
We were robbed. Can't believe we conceded the second like that, I went from ecstasy to hell in the space of thirty seconds.:(

Dermot B knows who it is, one of the stewards saw it.

(sorry, thats what my deleted post said,...****ed up the qoute)

sligofan4ever
21/03/2008, 10:22 PM
Sligo were a little sloppy tonight and in all fairness it was a bit stupid to boo mansaram and singh I mean they didnt leave sligo becasue seanie wanted them it was because rob mcdonald wanted everyone full time otherwise we were robbed conor o grady and faz had a poor game replace them with judgie and alan moore next match Cook (PLEASE!!!) and we could have one 3-2 cretaro's goal being the 1st if that goal wasnt dissalowed we couldve gotten the draw and only for the time we hit the post we may have won can anyone tell me who hit the post anyways ?

sligofan4ever
21/03/2008, 10:23 PM
and just a little add on to my post last season we were roarin at Seanie Connor this season Bohs he'll leave MNS and the 3 other lads will be shouting Seanie Connor your ****** your a ****** lol

21/03/2008, 10:24 PM
Sligo were a little sloppy tonight and in all fairness it was a bit stupid to boo mansaram and singh I mean they didnt leave sligo becasue seanie wanted them it was because rob mcdonald wanted everyone full time ?

Thats wrong.

Anyway I'd say if we were winning no one would have passed a bit of notice to them

21/03/2008, 10:31 PM
Thats wrong.

Anyway I'd say if we were winning no one would have passed a bit of notice to them

Singh wouldn't have come if we were winning.

What I couldn't understand was the booing of Turner before he faked injury and instantly recovered.

Crowe is useless and he's lucky the ball landed directly at his feet for his goal because he simply can't run.

showgies
21/03/2008, 10:36 PM
[QUOTE=sligofan4ever;902926]Sligo were a little sloppy tonight and in all fairness it was a bit stupid to boo mansaram and singh I mean they didnt leave sligo becasue seanie wanted them it was because rob mcdonald wanted everyone full time QUOTE]

You either have a bad memory or are mis-informed................they followed Sean like a pig to ****.

21/03/2008, 10:37 PM
Sligo were a little sloppy tonight and in all fairness it was a bit stupid to boo mansaram and singh I mean they didnt leave sligo becasue seanie wanted them it was because rob mcdonald wanted everyone full time ?

Manseram and Singh were full time, and yes they even went to watch Bohs,when they were supposed to be in Bray with Rovers. dirty little money grabbing ****s!

21/03/2008, 10:40 PM
Manseram and Singh were full time, and yes they even went to watch Bohs,when they were supposed to be in Bray with Rovers. dirty little money grabbing ****s!

Seconded.

Also the way they were just brought onto waste time and incite fans was deplorable.

21/03/2008, 10:45 PM
yeah thought that myslef, Singh doesnt come on too often for Bohs, say Fenlon just did it to give him a run out....and why not annoy a few of the culchies while hes at it!

21/03/2008, 10:59 PM

What I couldn't understand was the booing of Turner before

I didn't here him getting any boo's before the incident tbh.

A bit of slagging for the video, aye, but no boo's.

srfc1928
21/03/2008, 11:26 PM
in all fairness it was a bit stupid to boo mansaram and singh I mean they didnt leave sligo becasue seanie wanted them it was because rob mcdonald wanted everyone full time ?
Is this a pi$$ take ?:D

21/03/2008, 11:29 PM
Gutted:(

Six points from the next two games anyway, anything less would be shocking.

deecay
21/03/2008, 11:31 PM
Delete

Rovers fan
22/03/2008, 12:16 AM
here lads we shouldn't be trying to scare fans away

deecay
22/03/2008, 12:21 AM
Delete

lowroadrover
22/03/2008, 8:25 AM
We were robbed ! worth at least a draw .
Thought we were very weak in the centre of the park ,
Good crowd though

red metal
22/03/2008, 9:29 AM
We are not creating enough and venture and o grady are not the answer to that.They work hard but they tere passing is very poor. I think Anto murphy is way over rated allright he has a good throw but i just dont see anything special about him.Great move from coleman deserved a goal we really need to start picking up points now.The pitch is shocking to say the least.But on saying that the ball was in the air for 65% of the game.

clubman
22/03/2008, 10:15 AM
Shocking defending for both Bohs goals. For their first we defended way too deep. Any one of three players could have connected to score. We had four players on the goal line and yet Burns could squeeze the ball home. For their second we switched off and Bohs got us on the bounce. I think it was the only half chance that Crowe got whole game. Yet again our defending let us down to our cost.
On saying that the team were a credit to the Bit O Red shirt. Seamie was outstanding throughout the game. He certainly deserved a goal and how that effort of his stayed out baffles me. We hit the upright, the corner crossbar/upright, ball scrambled off the line numberious time. As someone has already said it will take a win to settle us. It will come that there can be no doubt. Speaking with some Bohs fans afterwards they were chuffed with the three points reckoning they got out of jail. A very exciting seconf half, a big crowd great atmosphere. Bring on the Students!

Only1Rovers
22/03/2008, 10:49 AM
Seamie was outstanding throughout the game. He certainly deserved a goal and how that effort of his stayed out baffles me.

If you dont hit the target it is very easy to explain why the ball stayed out of the net.

showgies
22/03/2008, 11:05 AM
I think Anto murphy is way over rated allright he has a good throw but i just dont see anything special about him.the air for.

I was disappointed with Murphy, he seemed a little dis-interested. However, his long throws were dangerous. I wonder if Cookie would consider switching him and Coleman? I think Murphy played right back for Pats and Coleman would make a great winger capable of taking on full backs.

neutrino
22/03/2008, 11:14 AM
Definitely deserved something out of the game even if we didnt have a midfield. No idea why that goal by Almeida was disallowed - not even Bohs were claiming anything but then again their chum, the ref, must have saw something in his own mind. Ref allowed all sorts to go on including horrendous time wasting.

Ventre is a shocking liability to the team.He lost possession that led to the corner that brought their goal. And then was caught numerous times doing the same thing -trying to walk the ball out of defense. He always retreats to the back four too when not in possession leaving hugh gaps from attack to midfield. O'Grady should have had free kick and was rightly incensed but they need to keep discipline and not be chasing after the ref to get booked.

If Cook isnt playing Moore for home games then why bother even signing him. We're not a bad team but are just needing that bit extra quality in front of goal.

Very unimpressed by Bohs defence - all Rovers need to do was run at them instead of putting hoofed balls up the air - altho that was effective too at times. Coleman was brilliant at times and had he scored would have been a special goal. Almeida looks a solid defender and got in some important tackles. I think Boco should be deployed behind the striker to run at defenders as seems to be very effective. Cretaro was great again - if every player gave his all like that they the level of performance would definitely go up a notch. Doherty has something in his locker but unless he loses the fear of being tackled then we prob wont see the best from him.

Overall I enjoyed the game - we need to keep going now, after a hard start, and look for 6 points now in next two games. Roll on UCD !!

22/03/2008, 11:32 AM
Funnily al the reports are saying Bohs fully deserved the victory...I thought it was a much more even game than that...

roversforever
22/03/2008, 12:36 PM
disappointed with the result,we could have won that game.the game turned in the space of a minute.we could have been 2-1 up but instead the concentration went after the goal was disallowed and they scored from that.it was always going to be a tough start to the season with those three games but we need to start picking up points now.

DonalE
22/03/2008, 12:41 PM
I was disappointed with Murphy, he seemed a little dis-interested. However, his long throws were dangerous. I wonder if Cookie would consider switching him and Coleman? I think Murphy played right back for Pats and Coleman would make a great winger capable of taking on full backs.

Was thinking the same, Anto doesn't look fit. (Hasn't finished a game yet)

Don't think Seamie played as well as you all did, caught out of position a few times and should have defended better for Burns' goal. Great run into the box and that's why he could be better on the wing

22/03/2008, 12:43 PM
something must have happened for the dissalowed goal, don't think any of the players really complained. they didnt do much at all in the 2nd half, and imo we looked threatening every time we went forward...thought everyone gave 110% and we deserved at least a point. was suprised to see raff come off, hope there is no injury, i thought he was our best player again nearly. there nothing special can't really see them winning the league but its very early yet, great crowd down and dont think there was any trouble from them. season starts now and we need to get a win friday night to get us going, after we geta win under our belts i think it could start going good for us. maybe apart from derry away we have some very winnable games up until the end of april/early may

22/03/2008, 12:44 PM
and i think it might be worth trying coleman on the right wing and anto at right full on monday, mckenzie either

Redie
22/03/2008, 1:15 PM
Our football last night was, on the whole, brutal. The players seem to have lost faith in their ability to play good football on the deck and the odd time we did do that - mainly after the substitutions were made - we caused Bohs all sorts of problems. Our midfield was terrible last night especially in the first half and our defence struggled in that opening 45 minutes as well. I thought Seamus was having a very poor game until the last quarter and cannot understand how he got man-of-the-match. For me Butler was our best player. I also agree that it would be worth switching Coleman with Murphy if he is going to persevere with Murphy.

We need to get back to the style we were playing during the middle of last season and there were a few glimpses of that last night.

The last time we won a competitive match was when we beat UCD 2 - 1 on 19th September last year.

22/03/2008, 1:20 PM
Three games, three fines. we're set to top the league again:rolleyes:

Very disappointing. but is there anything better than a dark night with a big crowd and a dramatic game like that!it was electric at times. hope they come back, there are signs we can compete with the top teams but we need to get some wins on the board soon. I agree with Donal E, Coleman only started playing to his ability for the last 30 mins but when he did he was awesome.

Murphy can do better. Mauro knows one way and thats hoof it, works on that pitch though. Raf has gone up a level. Bit iffy on Butler but he's better than Foy,if only he would cop himself on. Brush is our best keeper but still a bit worrying sometimes. The goals will come next week, when they do they will flow hopefully.

sligofan4ever
22/03/2008, 3:02 PM
we COULD have won 3-2 or even 4-2 if the goal wasnt dissalowed it would have been 2-1 the after glen crowe 2-2 and if Seamie Coleman managed to keep the ball down maybe 3-2 and then whoever hit the post could have made it 4-2 and did anyone see Chris Turner faking injury you would swear he broke his leg but as soon as the ball goes to him hes up and sprintin about the pitch the ref should have had a word with him for that

22/03/2008, 3:30 PM
turner should have been booked for that

Redkenrover
22/03/2008, 4:05 PM
Definately deserved a draw from that last night. Thought Anto was poor and didnt look interested at times. Cash looked lively when he came on, although should have hit the target in the last few moments. Likewise Coleman, went for power when should have placed it.
Would have confidence in the fact that we can produce a grand stand finish and with a bit of luck could have gotten a draw at least.
Awaiting MNS with interest to see "foul" for disallowed goal.

What about Boco and Ventre in the middle with Raf and Cash on the wings with Faz and Judge up front??????????
Gap between our midfield and front two was huge in first half. No creativity at all. O Grady doesnt seem to be firing on all cylinders.

Missed opener v Drogs but would like to commend the club on the effort to improve the atmosphere. The Cookie monster song is brilliant!!:D

On another issue, when did the Showgrounds become a hot bed for terrorist activity??????? Had my 3 year old son at game last night and he had his small rugsack searched by an overzealous steward on the way into the ground:eek:

Good job he had left his laser gun at home:rolleyes:

Great crowd. Think there was enough to bring people back. DB was giving out small Easter eggs out at half time to the kids. Nice touch

22/03/2008, 5:18 PM
Definately deserved a draw from that last night. Thought Anto was poor and didnt look interested at times. Cash looked lively when he came on, although should have hit the target in the last few moments. Likewise Coleman, went for power when should have placed it.
Would have confidence in the fact that we can produce a grand stand finish and with a bit of luck could have gotten a draw at least.
Awaiting MNS with interest to see "foul" for disallowed goal.

What about Boco and Ventre in the middle with Raf and Cash on the wings with Faz and Judge up front??????????
Gap between our midfield and front two was huge in first half. No creativity at all. O Grady doesnt seem to be firing on all cylinders.

Have to disagree there about Cash. He's never been the same since his injury. Gets the ball, runs with it, gets stuck between his feet, loses it is all he does. Anto is a better option.

22/03/2008, 6:35 PM
On another issue, when did the Showgrounds become a hot bed for terrorist activity??????? Had my 3 year old son at game last night and he had his small rugsack searched by an overzealous steward on the way into the ground:eek:

Has to be one to stop people bringing in flares and whatnot. Its their job and we should be thankful of the great work that the stewards do. Although it's worth noting that with the huge queues at the turnstiles last night, my bag wasn't searched. Especially with the fines last week, I thought they would have been extra vigilant, but evidently not.

22/03/2008, 6:49 PM
As for the eejits who threw something(a bar i think) at the bohs players after their 2nd goal and a bottle a few minutes later - grow the f*** up.

I think a large group saw what happened,nobody want to rat on anyone so thats good advice. its getting tedious now though.i got an earful when i said something to the individual/group. apparently i havent been supporting rovers for enough years to tell a man not to throw a bar of chocolate or whatever it was at footballers:rolleyes:

Rovers fan
22/03/2008, 7:03 PM
I think a large group saw what happened,nobody want to rat on anyone so thats good advice. its getting tedious now though.i got an earful when i said something to the individual/group. apparently i havent been supporting rovers for enough years to tell a man not to throw a bar of chocolate or whatever it was at footballers:rolleyes:

Yeah I tohught I heard him say " I've been supporting rovers for x amount of years". Pathetic,by throwing something at the opposition and getting us a fine does he actually think he is supporting the team?

as for the turner thing why would he get booked? Its not actually against the rules.

I also felt butler deserved motm,he played very well.

22/03/2008, 7:07 PM
as for the turner thing why would he get booked? Its not actually against the rules.

He feigned injury.
He also gained an advantage from it.

Yellow Card offence.

Redie
22/03/2008, 7:31 PM

Yes it is - it comes under unsporting behaviour, same as being booked for trowing the ball away, time wasting, etc.

Rovers fan
22/03/2008, 7:37 PM
Yes it is - it comes under unsporting behaviour, same as being booked for trowing the ball away, time wasting, etc.

but he might have been hurt*,ya can't know,he was fouled.

*obviously not badly i know

Redkenrover
22/03/2008, 7:43 PM
Has to be one to stop people bringing in flares and whatnot. Its their job and we should be thankful of the great work that the stewards do. Although it's worth noting that with the huge queues at the turnstiles last night, my bag wasn't searched. Especially with the fines last week, I thought they would have been extra vigilant, but evidently not.

I'm not knocking the stewards and they do tremendous work, but obviously if you had flares and whatnot you would have gotten in. If I was bringing in a flare I would put it in my pocket and not a bag. If thats the case do we assume security is compromised if there is a big crowd at the turnstiles and no searches will be conducted?