View Full Version : St. Pats v GUFC

Tir Oilean
20/03/2008, 7:44 AM
Well it was a sensational tie last year, what do people think how this seasons clash will go. Pats are looking good to be there at the end of the season already but there is an awful long way to go yet.

While I dont think we will win I think I would be happy if we put in a good performance. Geezer saw improvements in Cobh and hopefully theyll shine thru again.

Bets on Paddy Power are quite interesting my favourite being Barry Moran to score a hat trick at 350/1:D

Leech/Glynn are 10/1 to score first while 60/1 for Glynn to get 2 again.

Pats 8/15 Draw 12/5 Utd 5/1

JC_GUFC
20/03/2008, 11:31 AM
Bets on Paddy Power are quite interesting my favourite being Barry Moran to score a hat trick at 350/1:D

Ooops forgot to get rid of him from our list of players... Have to add Ollie Fenn in when I get in to work.

GuisaSaigon
20/03/2008, 12:45 PM

In fairness it's about as likely as it was last year!

Paddyfield
20/03/2008, 3:33 PM
Nice one Saigon

Con-Con
21/03/2008, 12:18 AM
My heart says a draw but my head says Pat's

Paddyfield
21/03/2008, 6:01 AM
GUFC have been St Pat's bogey team at Richmond for many a long year. We even beat them there in an FAI Cup replay and we were still in the first division.

WoodquayBoy
21/03/2008, 8:04 AM
Leech/Glynn are 10/1 to score first while 60/1 for Glynn to get 2 again.

Glynn won't be scoring - one of the lads in work said he saw the Tribune this morning and it said something about Glynn being out injured, will pop out in a while and get one, but can anyone confirm??

WoodquayBoy
21/03/2008, 8:51 AM
Yup, he's out with ligament strain. Flynny out 2, so just two strikers available.

21/03/2008, 11:52 AM
sounds a bit negative but our best team would now play in a 4-5-1 formation with Leech the loan striker:

Rodgers

Regi...Wes...Fitz...McCullough

O'Shea...Deegan...Russell...Lester...O'Brien

Leech

Thats what Im guessing TC will play?

Maroon 7
21/03/2008, 1:21 PM
sounds a bit negative but our best team would now play in a 4-5-1 formation with Leech the loan striker:

Rodgers

Regi...Wes...Fitz...McCullough

O'Shea...Deegan...Russell...Lester...O'Brien

Leech

Thats what Im guessing TC will play?

Has Cousins not been playing Regi at centre half and Wes as fullback though?

You have them the right way round anyway.:D

eamo1
21/03/2008, 4:30 PM
That was such a glaring mistake by T.C to play Wes as a full back and Reggie as a centre half.The QE2 turns quicker then Wes these days but hes great centre back for the aerial duels.
When i seen that headline in the paper my very first thoughts were "hes gonna def play a 4-5-1 now".will read the article later.
i got us at 12/5 for the draw in boyles yesterday,good price i think.

21/03/2008, 5:23 PM
he only played wes and regi in those positions for the first half of the bohs match

Tir Oilean
21/03/2008, 7:28 PM
one down after 22 mins Quigley

Tir Oilean
21/03/2008, 7:58 PM
United changed back to 442 from 451 which is good to hear. Wes taken off and Lester into defence according to GBFM.

Tir Oilean
21/03/2008, 8:14 PM
Fitzgerald sent off for 2nd yellow. Hope its appealed as it seems his 1st card was a mistake by the ref.

gilberto_eire
22/03/2008, 1:09 AM
Another woeful display in fairness, We never even really threatened to score tonight. I'd be interested to see how many attempts on goal we have had in the 3 games so far, id say less then 10 anyway!.

Absolute shocker of a goal we gave away. McCulloch and Wes both go for the same ball then both leave it, balls picked up, crossed in low, 1 down!!.

We played as we always do, we try to do what pat's were doing well, putting in balls behind the full backs. When our lads try it, its either onto the head of a CB or else goes for a goal-kick!!.

Tir Oilean
22/03/2008, 6:56 AM
"We robbed them, they deserved something even with 10 we only had one shot.

Ryan was awful again lost the ball most of the time, Fahey and Lynch were bossed by their midfield, their wingers kept going at paisley and joe, 2nd half they got in vs joe a lot but he getting better every game.

Kirby our man of the match, the real one was their right winger, altho they bossed the game and played nice ball they didnt have many shots most were blocked by pardo and harris, their keeper made 2 wonder saves. O Neill worked his balls off quigley played well Ryan wasnt very good, Fahey and Lynch had moments but they barely got a sniff in 1st 60 mins galways 2 mids were well on top.

We lack play from the full backs, when they do get forward they dont really do much, Kirby helped paisley a lot but ryan

kdjac"

This poster seems to think otherwise as does the journo who supplied errortel with their report. Either way we got no points not that we were expecting any!

22/03/2008, 8:16 AM
I disagree with kdjac. I thought we deserved to win what was a scrappy enough game. Our (reserve) keeper didn't have a single meaningful shot to save while we had 3/4 good chances. You made the same mistake as Bohs last week, playing it long against our big defence

22/03/2008, 8:23 AM
Im not even going to comment on Gilberto's post because if I start I dont know where ill stop.

The goal was a dreadful one a mix up between Wes and Marc totally against the run of play.

As usual with my totally biased view (although the posters on our forum tend to agree) we didnt deserve to lose that game .Pats are totally overated and not as good as they were at the start of last season and if some people on here give out about our hoofball tactics wonder what they would make of Johnny Macs tactics.

This was easily our best performance so far starting without 4 1st teamers and ending with a makeshift back 3 of Reggie,Lester & Fenn after losing Wes (Injury) and Fitzy (Sent Off).The Officials were an absolute joke never allowing advantage (same in Cobh last week) and missing fouls for both teams all over the place particularly the one that led to Fitzys 1st yellow card which happened directly in front of Hilda.

The positives were Russelers excellent display ,Deego who was a like a dynamo in midfield and Lester who should be left where he finished although the 5 man midfield did work. Negatives were the goal,Lack of a cutting edge upfront although Leech played his best game but lacked support and Derek needs to realise he has to defend and work like the other 10 players as especially when we went down to 10 he just didnt last night.

We need at least 2 of the injured 5 back for next week preferably Keane & O'Flynn but whatever 11 we put out needs the support of everyone in Terryland next saturday and if its as good as last nights we will be ok.

Ceirtlis
22/03/2008, 10:27 AM
I disagree with kdjac. I thought we deserved to win what was a scrappy enough game. Our (reserve) keeper didn't have a single meaningful shot to save while we had 3/4 good chances. You made the same mistake as Bohs last week, playing it long against our big defence

Ye had more chances alright, but we had a couple of good chances as well even if we didnt manage to stretch your keeper once, there was a couple of free headers and a shot that wasnt far wide in the second half. That was a postively footballing display as well compared to what usually goes on.

If giving blame for the goal i would nearly give it entirely to Marc McColloch it was abit like Carvalho against Spurs during the week, he turned his back to the ball and it hit the side of his head taking out our whole defence. The speed of the Pats defence caused us a lot of problems and it was because Quigley was much too fast for Fitzgerald that he pulled him back and got sent off. If it had been just a foul for a booking it would have been well worth it because it was a very dangerous situation.

JC_GUFC
22/03/2008, 11:00 AM
We played well for the 1st 30 mins or so . The 5 man midfield worked well and we had most of the ball.

Their goal was against the run of play but in saying that we never looked threatening. Leech had a tough job up front on his own but it seemed that none of the midfielders were getting into the box to support him.

For the last 15 minutes of the 1st half we hardly touched the ball and could have gone further behind.

For the start of the 2nd half we started playing well again like in the first half but we need O'Flynn back as Faherty isn't quite up to this level in my view.

The sending off was stupid and you'd expect more from your captain. He blew any chance we had of getting an equaliser. Whether he should have been booked in the first place is irrelevant.

GUISAUltra
22/03/2008, 11:27 AM
Fitzgerald sent off for 2nd yellow. Hope its appealed as it seems his 1st card was a mistake by the ref.

cant appeal against two yellows, can ya?

JC_GUFC
22/03/2008, 11:54 AM
No. 1st card wasn't a mistake, he was booked for dissent. There was a blatant foul on one of the lads after a corner, the ref couldn't see it but it was right in front of the assistant but she didn't give the free out, so he was understandbly annoyed.

gilberto_eire
22/03/2008, 12:01 PM
Im not even going to comment on Gilberto's post because if I start I dont know where ill stop.

The goal was a dreadful one a mix up between Wes and Marc totally against the run of play.

As usual with my totally biased view (although the posters on our forum tend to agree) we didnt deserve to lose that game .Pats are totally overated and not as good as they were at the start of last season and if some people on here give out about our hoofball tactics wonder what they would make of Johnny Macs tactics.

This was easily our best performance so far starting without 4 1st teamers and ending with a makeshift back 3 of Reggie,Lester & Fenn after losing Wes (Injury) and Fitzy (Sent Off).The Officials were an absolute joke never allowing advantage (same in Cobh last week) and missing fouls for both teams all over the place particularly the one that led to Fitzys 1st yellow card which happened directly in front of Hilda.

The positives were Russelers excellent display ,Deego who was a like a dynamo in midfield and Lester who should be left where he finished although the 5 man midfield did work. Negatives were the goal,Lack of a cutting edge upfront although Leech played his best game but lacked support and Derek needs to realise he has to defend and work like the other 10 players as especially when we went down to 10 he just didnt last night.

We need at least 2 of the injured 5 back for next week preferably Keane & O'Flynn but whatever 11 we put out needs the support of everyone in Terryland next saturday and if its as good as last nights we will be ok.

What do you mean by that??:confused:

Ok so right or wrong we have created a good few chances in the 3 games to date??. I'll stand by my less then 10 ''statement''. Regardless of what you want to think we have to be the most clueless team in the league going forward, we're solid enough at the back though(disregard the 2 soft goals we conceded), but we lack any creativity to push forward productively.

Ill admit that Pat's were'nt great, either were Boh's but whats that saying about our chances this season after losing to both??.

F.Harps already have 6 points ffs, every team is beatable in the league, but we're just seeing that same crap as last year and unless TC starts to get the players playing as a ''TEAM'' some form of action has to be taken. The players are there IMO, they just need a good manager to get the best out of them and most importantly use them to there ''STRENGTHS''.

We want points, not ''best performances'' of the year, especially when they come from games where we didnt even score a goal!

The talk here is of a relegation team at the moment IMO, the phrase should be..... ''We deserved a win(but got a draw)'' instead of ''We deserved a point(but got nothing)'' the first phrase is where we all want to be this year!!

Also im not even calling for TC's head as even if a new manager came in we still don't have what we need.... an ''OUTFIELD COACH''. We don't play like a team because we don't have any coaches to sort the lads out during the week. Even the best managers have coaches to help them!!

22/03/2008, 12:16 PM
so we are worse than say bray who have failed to score a goal yet?

Other posters both here and on gufc.net say we are playing football now, yet you say we arent even playing as a team?

Harps have 6 points from playing Cobh and, I think, UCD at home, something I believe we will get 6 points from also when those matches come around.

We have improved with every match this season, meaning the results are on the way, when, I believe next saturday! but only time will tell.

GUFCT said that about your post because your opening statement goes against what most of our own supporters, reporters and journalists are saying everywhere this morning!

gilberto_eire
22/03/2008, 3:39 PM
so we are worse than say bray who have failed to score a goal yet?

Other posters both here and on gufc.net say we are playing football now, yet you say we arent even playing as a team?

Harps have 6 points from playing Cobh and, I think, UCD at home, something I believe we will get 6 points from also when those matches come around.

We have improved with every match this season, meaning the results are on the way, when, I believe next saturday! but only time will tell.

GUFCT said that about your post because your opening statement goes against what most of our own supporters, reporters and journalists are saying everywhere this morning!

Who said we were playing like a team?. I saw a few posts from lads who's usernames i don't recognise on GUFC.NET sayiong that we're playing well, when in fact id be surprised if none of them were even there considering i was at home and online 10mins after the bus arrived in galway(however the posts were from a mcuh earlier time). I've been to the 3 games to date so i think i have a fair reflection of what's been played, can all the other posters(who were saying these things) say the same?. I'd say some of them got there analaysis from Galway Bay FM's top notch commentary:rolleyes:

Facts:

We have 1 goal from 3 games against a lowly Cobh and also it took a wicked deflection into the bottom corner!

We have conceded 2 VERY sloppy goals(like you'd see down a junior match) which have cost us 6 points!.

We constantly hit worthless balls up for Leech/Glynn etc.... who's success rate in the air is probably 1/10.

I have to say at this stage..... When will people stop backing TC's through thick and thin, would it really be that hard to comprehend that maybe he's just not good enough at organisng a team?.

Somebody said before ''well his subs are a lot better''
Subs= ''things are'nt going right, and something needs doing''. We need to see things right from the off. I'll admit we have been better towards the end of the games but we're just not lethal enough in these periods and don't create enough. I stick by my statement that we're a terrible ATTACKING team and the creative edge is is'nt there going forward!

geezer
22/03/2008, 4:08 PM
some of the posts here. Its early yet in the season and i am really looking forward to the rovers game. 1. because we have found players with bottle, 2. there is a definite improvement in the pattern of football and 3. we were not beaten 3-0 like many previous sojourns to the capital when in the premier. Russel was very good last night, Deegan continues to influence. Obrien & rogers were good too. The defense in my eyes is disappointing to date. Regi again last nite not to mention mcculloch and wes. if we get keane and oflynn back we will be tough for anyone.
Leech had a tough job last nite it wasnt easy for him. Its at home more than anywhere i want to see the seemingly new found pattern develop into the 18yard box. All in all id be positive enough to date

22/03/2008, 4:43 PM
Who said we were playing like a team?. I saw a few posts from lads who's usernames i don't recognise on GUFC.NET sayiong that we're playing well, when in fact id be surprised if none of them were even there considering i was at home and online 10mins after the bus arrived in galway(however the posts were from a mcuh earlier time). I've been to the 3 games to date so i think i have a fair reflection of what's been played, can all the other posters(who were saying these things) say the same?. I'd say some of them got there analaysis from Galway Bay FM's top notch commentary:rolleyes:

Facts:

We have 1 goal from 3 games against a lowly Cobh and also it took a wicked deflection into the bottom corner!

We have conceded 2 VERY sloppy goals(like you'd see down a junior match) which have cost us 6 points!.

We constantly hit worthless balls up for Leech/Glynn etc.... who's success rate in the air is probably 1/10.

I have to say at this stage..... When will people stop backing TC's through thick and thin, would it really be that hard to comprehend that maybe he's just not good enough at organisng a team?.

Somebody said before ''well his subs are a lot better''
Subs= ''things are'nt going right, and something needs doing''. We need to see things right from the off. I'll admit we have been better towards the end of the games but we're just not lethal enough in these periods and don't create enough. I stick by my statement that we're a terrible ATTACKING team and the creative edge is is'nt there going forward!

Gilberto if you used your brain you would have deduced that maybe the posters actually lived in Dublin and Ceirtlis has been posting on here for years. You are the only poster on either forum who has slated the team over last nights game. We were missing 2 first choice strikers last night and ended with a makeshift defence without our starting centre halves and still battled and played well right to the end.

gilberto_eire
22/03/2008, 5:13 PM
Gilberto if you used your brain you would have deduced that maybe the posters actually lived in Dublin and Ceirtlis has been posting on here for years. You are the only poster on either forum who has slated the team over last nights game. We were missing 2 first choice strikers last night and ended with a makeshift defence without our starting centre halves and still battled and played well right to the end.

I guessed one of them might have lived there, but ive seen posters who have'nt been at games talking like they were so anythings possible!!. There were 2 more posters under him what about them?. I never singles anyone out btw!

If you go back to my origional post then you'll have noticed that my qualm was'nt with the players. It's the way there sent out week in week out!.

We seem to still be giving away soft goals this season, coupled with the fact we're not showing much bite going forward. I'd have been more positive last night had we lost 3-2 then 1-0 at least we would have shown that there are goals in us!!.

Why is it that when a poster gives an account of the game that goers against our mickey-mouse management a big debate starts to unfold, can ye not just give your accounts?.

I'm extremely sorry lads, how could i be so greedy and be ****ed off with one point from our first three games. Silly me!!. Cop on will ye, we LOST ffs, when GUFC start paying for me to travel and making my journeys entertaining then i'll change the tune, but when i'm traveling across the country and paying a lot of money each time then ill voice my frustrations as i please.

Another point to prove TC can't get the best out of his players is Murphs. Now i was'nt against letting him go on the basis of last season but we all knew he was a striker ffs, Scully plays him to his ADVANTAGES and he get's 2/3 games!. Same if we gave them Glynn he'd have his midfield playing low balls through the defenders for him to run onto

TC isnt a good enough manager, get over it some of ye. Don't see how some people find it so hard to believe that he's not the man to get the best out of what he has and play his team to there strengths

In all fairness i'd give it to ya had i been complaing about a draw but we picked up ZERO and you can try put whatever kind of spin you want on it but we barely even troubl;ed there goal on top of things, NOT GOOD ENOUGH, simple as really!!

22/03/2008, 8:58 PM
My last post on this subject i got these stats off the person who does them for the sentinel.

We had 4 shots on target against Bohs 5 in the 1st game.
We had 5 shots on target against Cobhs 3 in the 2nd game.
We had 3 shots on target against Pats 7 in last night game.

As for the Murph argument it doesnt even come into it. Murph is a hell of a player when he feels like it but unfortunately for the previous 2 seasons where he was tried upfront as well as midfield he let himself and his teamates down with his performances.

23/03/2008, 7:34 AM
I agree with you about murph there GUFCT. Everybody was in agreement when he wasnt given the new contract. Yes, TC mightened have got the best out of him, but he didnt near perform himself when asked either. He always gets off the mark early every season if you check out his stats and Im sure he is going to fade into the background again soon with rovers when his work commitments and training times collide. Anyway, If we had all our striking options available we probably wouldnt even be talking about this !

gordongekko
23/03/2008, 10:22 AM
I agree with you about murph there GUFCT. Everybody was in agreement when he wasnt given the new contract. Yes,

Im not sure i would agree with you there Terry. There are a lot worse players in this years squad than Alan and he surely deserved a contract ahead of some of those players.

I find it disapointing that every end of season that TC has been here our some of our best players seem to leave us for what ever reason and go some where else.

23/03/2008, 10:29 AM
why did he deserve a contract when he couldnt commit to the training regime required for a full time contract because of his first interest in his job rather than the club?

Who are the other players you talk about being let go? As I cant think of any of the top of my head?

JC_GUFC
23/03/2008, 10:47 AM
To be fair to Gilberto I think he does have a point about the tactics on Friday.

Both Joe O'Cearuill and Stephen Paisley were booked for fouls on Derek and Russell but towards the end of the match we resorted to punting long balls up to Vinny who was beaten nearly every time. Had we kept pressing down the wings we'd have created more chances and there's a chance one of the full backs would have been sent off.

This probably has as much to do with the players as the manager though.