View Full Version : Songs / Chants

Cabs88
18/03/2008, 6:41 PM
Any songs chants for saturday lads?! In need of a few new ones...

Rocky77
19/03/2008, 10:15 AM
In honour of Gary Murphy, to the tune of 'Can't take my eyes of you' by Frankie Valli. The Cork fans have a version for George.

'We love you Gary, because you're red and black,
We love you Gary, because you came back,
We Love you Gary, the Section O will sing.'

Lather, rinse, repeat.

19/03/2008, 8:07 PM
In honour of Gary Murphy, to the tune of 'Can't take my eyes of you' by Frankie Valli. The Cork fans have a version for George.

'We love you Gary, because you're red and black,
We love you Gary, because you came back,
We Love you Gary, the Section O will sing.'

Lather, rinse, repeat.

classic rocky can sense a few airings of this.... are you heading down rocky?:D

Rocky77
19/03/2008, 8:13 PM
Depends on what time I get out of work at but I'm always optimistic. :D

Clubhouse
20/03/2008, 12:34 PM
Any songs chants for saturday lads?! In need of a few new ones...
heres a song me and a friend made up
the same tune as the section o the longford town song.
we might have gone down
but were comming back up
look out dundalk
we will win the cup

we sent roddy packing
away he did go
now gretna is grying
and mullins is low

our club is strong now
with aron and vin
come on the town
cos were going to win

Keen2win
20/03/2008, 1:01 PM
To the tune of EI EI O

Aaron Callaghan has a team, the greatest team I kno-ow,
And on his team he has Dorovan, the greatest striker I kno-ow,
With a goal, goal here,
A goal, goal there,
Here a goal, there a goal,
Everywhere a goal, goal,
Aaron Callaghan has a team, the greatest team I kno-ow.

20/03/2008, 7:37 PM
heres a song me and a friend made up
the same tune as the section o the longford town song.
we might have gone down
but were comming back up
look out dundalk
we will win the cup

we sent roddy packing
away he did go
now gretna is grying
and mullins is low

our club is strong now
with aron and vin
come on the town
cos were going to win

like it !could be a hit on da terraces of section o!

Clubhouse
20/03/2008, 9:57 PM
lets hope athlone town beats waterford on friday
it would be a good result for the de town(ltfc)
hopefully will do well on saterday and it wont be long till we back up again
com on de town.
be in flancare and support de town.

longfordjames
20/03/2008, 10:02 PM
NICE ONE HARDY,
NICE ONE SON,
NICE ONE HARDY,
FOR LEAVING THE SCUM!

Damien Rushe,Damien Rushe,
Hes better than Steve Gerrard
Hes thinner than Frank Lampard,
Damien Rushe Damien Rushe

Davoran ooh-ooh
He comes from Galway town
will win longford the league crown

20/03/2008, 10:55 PM
Davoran ooh-ooh
He comes from Galway town
will win longford the league crown

he's from tullamore;)

how about 1 from last season, only davoren instead of john reilly....

He plays on the left,
he plays on the riiiiiiiiiiiiiiight,
that boy davoren,
made fingal look ****e

Clubhouse
20/03/2008, 11:38 PM
Heres another one to the tune of Annies Song

You fill up my senses
Like a home game in Flancare
Like a goal from McKenna
Like a save from Shay
Like the top of the table
like three points on the board
You fill up my senses
Come thrill me again

21/03/2008, 9:06 AM
he's from tullamore;)

how about 1 from last season, only davoren instead of john reilly....

He plays on the left,
he plays on the riiiiiiiiiiiiiiight,
that boy davoren,
made fingal look ****e

I'm sure i've heard that about an even more famous player.......;)

Any ideas Macy ??

21/03/2008, 10:50 AM
I'm sure i've heard that about an even more famous player.......;)

Any ideas Macy ??

surely theres nobody more famous then iarlaith davoren?!:D

21/03/2008, 1:05 PM
surely theres nobody more famous then iarlaith davoren?!:D

true !!!!!!!

21/03/2008, 1:15 PM
To the tune of the United fans' Viva Ronaldo chant..(look it up on youtube or something if you dont know it.)

Iarlaith Davoren, Iarlaith Davoren,
Running down the wing,
Hear the Longford sing,
Iarlaith Davoren!

21/03/2008, 1:41 PM
To the tune of the United fans' Viva Ronaldo chant..(look it up on youtube or something if you dont know it.)

Iarlaith Davoren, Iarlaith Davoren,
Running down the wing,
Hear the Longford sing,
Iarlaith Davoren!

love it! the viva ronaldo chant is so catchy, sticks in your head.

video here (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=HFPU2CooBfs)

Keen2win
21/03/2008, 1:45 PM
After looking it up on Youtube. Thats one cool tune. I think it would work well

Cabs88
21/03/2008, 1:59 PM
You are my Hardy,
my only Hardy,
u make me happy, when skies r grey,
u’ve gone from zero,
to Longford hero,
so please don’t take, our Hardy,
AWAY!!

chim chiminey chim chiminey
chim chim cheree
who needs Dave rodgers
when we’ve got
Casey

Ro-nan Fra-wley
Whatcha gonna do
Whatcha gonna do when he comes for you
Ro-nan Fra-wley

x3 repeat

Sha la la lala lalala
When the day is dawning
In the town on Saturday morning
How I long to be there
In flansiro with town who's waiting for me there
Every lonely league ground
ha ha ha ha ha
Where we do crowd
ha ha ha ha ha
Ain't as half as sacred
As the draw with denis dowd
Is this the way to the Flansiro
Every day we long to see our heroes
Dreaming dreams of Flansiro
And Tony Ghee who waits for me
Show me the way to Flansiro
Out the road and past the willow
Crying over Flansiro
And Ltfc awaits for me
Sha la la lala lalala Section
Sha la la lala lalala
And Section O awaits for me

Ei ei ei O
Up the football league we go,
When we win promotion, this is what we’ll sing we’re from Longford super Longford
Callaghan is the king

(look this up on you tube, stockport wrexham afaik)

Bosco
21/03/2008, 3:39 PM
The viva ronaldo one is class!!!

If people could learn that amarillo one it would be good but it could take time!

Cab's Ei ei ei o one is good to,i'd suggest everyone look it up on youtube!

21/03/2008, 3:47 PM
Sha la la lala lalala
When the day is dawning
In the town on Saturday morning
How I long to be there
In flansiro with town who's waiting for me there
Every lonely league ground
ha ha ha ha ha
Where we do crowd
ha ha ha ha ha
Ain't as half as sacred
As the draw with denis dowd
Is this the way to the Flansiro
Every day we long to see our heroes
Dreaming dreams of Flansiro
And Tony Ghee who waits for me
Show me the way to Flansiro
Out the road and past the willow
Crying over Flansiro
And Ltfc awaits for me
Sha la la lala lalala
And Section O awaits for me

:eek: I'm not admitting..er I mean singing about..having any dreams of Tony Ghee :D

21/03/2008, 3:48 PM
here's stockport fans singing ei ei ei o! sounds good. (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=7GsIFtzOj98)

21/03/2008, 4:10 PM
Is Daire Doyle our captain this year. If soooo...

To the theme of the cartoon Captain Planet, kids look it up if you dont remember.

Captain Daire, he's our hero!
Gonna score for us at Flansiro!

What ye reckon?

Rocky77
24/03/2008, 9:25 AM
Here's a new one I've just thought of, in honour of Vinny Perth to the tune of 'Baby give it up' by KC and the Sunshine Band.

Na na na na na na na na na na na, Vinny Vinny Perth, Vinny Perth, Vinny Vinny Perth... Could it catch on?!?! :D

Seriously though, I'm against the idea of singing that 'greatest football manager' song for Aaron as we were singing it about someone else six months ago. It's a bit like giving your second wife your first ones wedding dress. Can we get our thinking caps on to come up with something else?

Cabs88
24/03/2008, 12:23 PM
Interesting analogy with the wedding dress.......
But yeah i agree, however the "we'll" part at the start worked really well the other night.

As regards the new chants, the davoren one is really good, and even though people were slow to pick it up, it is catchy

Cabs88
24/04/2012, 11:41 PM
Just want to bump this thread up, hopefully we can get a few new chants going.. All suggestions welcome, and hopefully we can try out a few of them in Athlone friday..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TP-dV9cliQg&feature=related

Sang at Ireland games too...
We love you ,We love you ,We love you
And that is why we follow, we follow , we follow,
Cos we support the Longford, the longford, the Longford
And thats the way we like , we like it , we like it,
Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhhh!
Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhh!

Bob Marley - Three Little Birds - By Ajax
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhZKYPpvr7A

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDdsq8NmOWg
Play up Pompey - Pompey Play up..

Simple, but sounds good if had a good number of fans

Wouldnt be a Leeds fan ar chor ar bith but this is a really good football song
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oJdvc2MQMU&feature=related
Here we go, to the flansiro,
We're gonna give the boys a hand,
Stand up and sing for Ltfc,
They are the greatest in the land,

na na na

Everyday, we're al gonna say,
We love you town! town! town!
Everywhere, we're gonna be there,
We, love you town! town! town!

Marching On Together!
We're gonna see you win
na na na na na na
We are so proud,
We shout it out loud we love you town! town! town!

We've been through it all together,
And we've had our ups and downs (UPS AND DOWNS!)
We're gonna stay with you forever,
At least until the world stops going round

Richardanthonyc
25/04/2012, 10:06 AM
To the tune of Spurs are on their way to Wembley ;)

Come on the...
Town are on their way to Lansdowne, Longfords gunna win it again!
Theres no stopping the boys from flancare, the boys from Longford Town!
De Town are are on their way to Lansdowne, the boggers are claiming the crown
Everybody will be singing, when the Town go marching on!

fitzpatrick10
25/04/2012, 12:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TP-dV9cliQg&feature=related

Sang at Ireland games too...
We love you ,We love you ,We love you
And that is why we follow, we follow , we follow,
Cos we support the Longford, the longford, the Longford
And thats the way we like , we like it , we like it,
Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhhh!
Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhh!

defo try n get this goin if ders a gud crowd!!! makes a change from stand up if your longford town

L.T.F.C.
25/04/2012, 1:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yJKb009aD4

25/04/2012, 5:54 PM
I never knew there was such a thread something I was always going to suggest as I'm a sad one for thinking up such chants when I'm bored :) have to say I love the we follow song and I absolutely love that Leeds song so if we could get that working for us it would be unreal. Thinking cap will go into overdrive for this.

Surprised we never had "I just cant get enough" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhIXZvY95Gs&feature=related

When I see you Longford, I go out of my head, I just cant get enough, I just cant get enough
All the things you did to me and everything you said, I just cant get enough, I just cant get enough
We slip and slide but we fall in love and I just cant seem to get enough of DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE CMON LONGFORD DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE CMON LONGFORD!

Cabs88
25/04/2012, 10:24 PM
Just cant get enough was sang last year in section O alright, never really took off.. Hopefully we have a few supporters ready to sing on Friday.. The EI EI EI O chant above is quality too

26/04/2012, 11:32 AM
Marching on together would be just wrong. Bástardising other clubs songs is one thing, but a straight rip off of a traditional anthem from a club is a step to far. What next, a celtic/ liverpool version of you'll never walk alone?

Speaking of robbing songs (although can they complain when they no longer exist?), this wasn't aired at all at the home clasico...

When you walk trought the town,
Hold your head in your hands,
And be - be afraid - of the dark.

But at the end of the town,
Lies Lissywoollen,
Where all the knackers live.

Walk on through the stand,
Though your dreams be messed up....

Walk on, walk on, with fear in your heart,
And you'll never walk in Athlone,
You'll never walk in Athlone.

After dark, after dark with fear in your heart,

New songs always welcome, but I'm not sure a lack of songs is really the issue tbh.

Cabs88
26/04/2012, 2:39 PM
Marching on together would be just wrong. Bástardising other clubs songs is one thing, but a straight rip off of a traditional anthem from a club is a step to far. What next, a celtic/ liverpool version of you'll never walk alone?

Speaking of robbing songs (although can they complain when they no longer exist?), this wasn't aired at all at the home clasico...

When you walk trought the town,
Hold your head in your hands,
And be - be afraid - of the dark.

But at the end of the town,
Lies Lissywoollen,
Where all the knackers live.

Though your dreams be messed up....

Walk on, walk on, with fear in your heart,

After dark, after dark with fear in your heart,

New songs always welcome, but I'm not sure a lack of songs is really the issue tbh.

I know what your saying about ripping another football chant off, but football fans have done it for years on end.. Its the nature of a good song, other fans will rip it off.. Marching on forever is a good footballing anthem that (as far as I know) has been used only by leeds, and with the words slightly altered I dont see any problem with us adopting it.
As I said all suggestions welcome, at the end of the day we could do with a few new songs as it can be flat at times at games, singing the same songs :ball:

Bosco
26/04/2012, 3:05 PM
Have to agree with Macy re marching on together,songs like that abd forever blowing bubbles are songs which Leeds and west ham have uniquely adopted for themselves,it wouldn't seem right changing it a bit and singing it ourselves,it's not like stealing chants from clubs who have already stolen the idea or melody from something else!you'll never walk in athlone is different cos it's just meant to be funny/stupid! I also noticed it Wasn't sung at the home match so well have to change that tomorrow,would also like to hear two little boys getting an airing..

26/04/2012, 5:17 PM
Love the EI EI EI EO chant!

26/04/2012, 6:36 PM
,would also like to hear two little boys getting an airing..

I need 6 pints for that.

26/04/2012, 6:42 PM
I think the key to a good atmosphere away from home is to make sure we get as many town fans as possible sitting (or standing) together in 1 spot and plant a drum right in the middle. This season we've had some great away attendances but no atmosphere because everyone is too spread out ie Terryland. I know you can't exactely say sit in there ta feck to everyone who turns up but for anyone who wants to do a bit of singing and get an atmo going I think it's important we try and keep everyone close.

Cabs88
01/05/2012, 10:32 PM
Hopefully we'll see a bigger crowd over in Section O on Saturday night in good voice armed with our new songs..

02/05/2012, 4:19 PM
Hopefully the FA Cup final doesn't go to ET and a few more will venture out.

02/05/2012, 10:09 PM
Over the summer I'll be in town a good bit more so might try and round up some mates to start going to games and drag em over to ye

03/05/2012, 2:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kaFCtmA6Uw&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PLCE3FD02AFE3CF269

need to learn that off for the next match.

Town Legend
13/05/2012, 11:03 AM
Not sure if this has been chanted before but what about the Newcastle United chant 'Toon Toon black and white army.......' repeated!! Only slight changes to 'Town Town red and black army....'

13/05/2012, 5:08 PM
Not sure if this has been chanted before but what about the Newcastle United chant 'Toon Toon black and white army.......' repeated!! Only slight changes to 'Town Town red and black army....'

big thumbs up to this! like it loads!

13/05/2012, 7:48 PM
Ye that's a good one, the Geordie boys are always good when your looking for a few new chants. Think we should shout town army town army town army as well just like they do

14/05/2012, 11:16 AM
Nothing wrong with "Red Army, Black Army" imo. And did we not have "Red and Black Army L-T-F-C" a few years ago?

14/05/2012, 5:28 PM
Ye I loved that Red army, Black Army chant against Athlone, think all we need now is a few more flags, scarfs and possibly return of a banner or two?

fitzpatrick10
21/05/2012, 12:03 PM
Ye I loved that Red army, Black Army chant against Athlone, think all we need now is a few more flags, scarfs and possibly return of a banner or two?

would be great if we could get few flags and banners for game against limerick and try and get a few extra people to the game.. the crowds so far this season have been very poor considering our great run in the league and this is one of the most important games in the season as they are the team to beat.
crowds seem to be very quiet as well, looks as if the flansiro is loosing some of its roar...

21/05/2012, 4:01 PM
What shocked me against SD Galway was the mass exodus from the stand when 3 added minutes was announced! It's not like we were 10-0 up, everyone just left was shocking.

21/05/2012, 5:39 PM
not really.. they all stood at the corner at the entrance, I should know I was there!

Happens every game for as long as I can remember!

Keen2win
21/05/2012, 7:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cP_a-Nh-QCk

Someone make a town song out of this.....

22/05/2012, 6:17 PM
not really.. they all stood at the corner at the entrance, I should know I was there!

Happens every game for as long as I can remember!

Ah right, just seemed to be an overflow this week, the poor game didn't help I'm sure but in an ideal world youd like as many to stay and back the team as possible.