View Full Version : Songs / Chants
In fairness a thread about all these proposed new songs and chants is all well and good but is there even anyone to sing them?Athlone away was the only game this season where there was any proper singing,the majority of games other then that have been very very quiet!I'm all for new songs don't get me wrong but just find it surprising to see all these new ideas when a simple "we all follow the Longford" can barely get going at our matches...
Cabs88
23/05/2012, 10:34 PM
In fairness a thread about all these proposed new songs and chants is all well and good but is there even anyone to sing them?Athlone away was the only game this season where there was any proper singing,the majority of games other then that have been very very quiet!I'm all for new songs don't get me wrong but just find it surprising to see all these new ideas when a simple "we all follow the Longford" can barely get going at our matches...
Excellent post. Couldn't agree more. The atmosphere at home games is very poor, the majority aren't willing to sing (and im not referring to the stand(, and it can get annoying at times for those who do wish to get an atmosphere going. I would appeal to those that post suggestions for songs to come over to section o and start joining in the songs.. I understand that some people might have reservations, but everyone is friendly and are always welcoming to people who are willing to get involved.. Limerick at home is a massive game for us, and i'd imagine they'll will have a vocal travelling support.. There's nothing worse than being out sang and outnumbered by away support..
Richardanthonyc
24/05/2012, 10:11 AM
I dunno, even section O was very quiet for the Wexford game at home, I was standing next to the camera stand/shed thingy and it was a very strange atmosphere. Couldn't make the last game though so I can't judge on that one. The Athlone away game was a fantastic one though, every longford fan at it seemed to be singing!
24/05/2012, 11:42 AM
Excellent post. Couldn't agree more. The atmosphere at home games is very poor, the majority aren't willing to sing (and im not referring to the stand(, and it can get annoying at times for those who do wish to get an atmosphere going. I would appeal to those that post suggestions for songs to come over to section o and start joining in the songs.. I understand that some people might have reservations, but everyone is friendly and are always welcoming to people who are willing to get involved.. Limerick at home is a massive game for us, and i'd imagine they'll will have a vocal travelling support.. There's nothing worse than being out sang and outnumbered by away support..
Thats a good idea Cabs. I've often thought of heading over myself because like you said it's very frustrating when you want to sing and theres just no back up. However, I've been a 'stand man' ever since I started supporting De Town and I enjoy the company I sit with and I'd be very hopeful that the home fans would be willing to back the team vocally against Limerick. If not change might be needed in the seating plans so to speak :)
Many of ye heading to Dublin on Sunday lads? Should be good craic.
fitzpatrick10
24/05/2012, 5:10 PM
its obvious why the away support is better as everyone is sitting or standing together rather than at home games where some people go to section o and others to the stand splitting the small crowd that we have. I’ve yet to see this in any other club in all my years of going to games. Like I have nothing against sec o and think its great the support and displays that have been done over the years not to mention player sponsorship and such just always thought the root of the problem was the fact they were in sec o and not in the back of the stand getting others going such as at the athlone game..
hopefully gud crowd at the game on sunday
24/05/2012, 9:34 PM
the gas thing fitz was section o went to the stand eight years when groundside was redevoloped and we tried to get things goin and noone would join in with us. I know a few of the lads on our side only get singing if they have a few gargles.. I think the best way is to do what section o did yrs ago we used to meet up in John Joe Reillys before the match and had a few and tried out a few new songs..
fitzpatrick10
24/05/2012, 9:49 PM
That’s a fair while ago now martinho.. Contemplating going sec o for lim game see if it takes a “stand man” ta try and get it going :p
24/05/2012, 9:59 PM
That’s a fair while ago now martinho.. Contemplating going sec o for lim game see if it takes a “stand man” ta try and get it going :p
yep fitzy u and the lads are welcome to come over.. we all need to stand together and not all be scattered..
Keen2win
25/05/2012, 9:52 AM
#lifealteringdecisions
fitzpatrick10
25/05/2012, 3:54 PM
#lifealteringdecisions
Football isnt a matter of life or death... its much more important than that...
#keepthatsh1tontwitter
25/05/2012, 9:26 PM
Section o will not be in the stand end of! Also a lot of us ain't spring chickens anymore! Tbh I don't get to many games these days due to work and other commitments. Find it hard to get the vocals going when sober and sat in a car in two hours. The youth are the future!!
Section O in the stand was tried before, and no one joined in! I don't think it's that uncommon to have several groups of fans to be honest, that come together for away games.
Naturally it's harder to be vocal without a few on, and with us older heads it's hard enough sometimes to get to the match let only get out for a night on the beer! I'm not sure what the solution is really - part of me would suggest that there should be younger heads stepping up to the mark, even if that is blatant buck passing.
28/05/2012, 12:31 PM
Well the good thing is that the fans in both the stand and section O have realised there is a solution needed to get the flansiro roar back and people are making suggestions and efforts to improve the atmosphere. From talking to most of the other 'young lads' (your all young haha) most seem to be set on trying section O next week and if yesterday is anything to go by I can't see why it won't be a success, we had two drums yesterday and some good loud voices and we sang almost the whole way through until we were hit with that killer 2nd. Talking to the lads they agree that a bit of colour is needed and it looks like some home made banners will be out in force next Saturday and I think that's exactely what we need so if you have any old banners or you can make one go ahead till we shine the place up a bit, drums, scrafs, flags bring the lot till we show these Limerick boys what there up against!
Keen2win
28/05/2012, 9:09 PM
No solution other than getting fu*kfaced!
28/05/2012, 11:28 PM
i work every saturday after the games so I can never get drunk and shout things :(
Bosco
10/08/2012, 10:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cP_a-Nh-QCk
Someone make a town song out of this.....
I am a Town Fan,
I am a Longford man,
I know what I want and I know how to get it,
No matter what....Section o sings on...
We're gona be....top of the league
This is their words to the song by the way.
I am an FC fan,
I am mancunian,
I know what I want,
And I know how to get it,
I wanna destroy Glazer and Sky,
Cos I wanna be at FC
11/08/2012, 1:28 AM
super effort bosco.. the sligo lads have their own version of it too!
Cabs88
11/08/2012, 7:59 AM
thats a class song, the fc fans sing it for minutes on end, its quality. fair play bosco. . will be a good number between 12 gary shaws and two little boys!
meeting in foxs this eve lads around half 5 for the pre game 7ups, be good to have a few there, there's a few harps fans coming down and we dont want to be outnumbered on our own turf!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-IerSRV84k&feature=fvwrel
Hopefully get this going in Athlone in 2 weeks time....
So hoist up the Red & Black,
can you hear the main stand sing,
call up the section o..we'll sing on our own....sing on our own,
dont wanna go home...
dont wanna go home....
this is the best trip ive ever been on...
Can obviously be switched around to I wanna go home...athlone's a ****hole etc..
Can also be changed to "We all hate Athlone...we al hate Atlooone...Athlone's a ****hole..we all hate athlone" for home games
fitzpatrick10
11/08/2012, 1:46 PM
whats the rest of the words to... athlon town are ya listenin , were gona win the 1st division...
But ye're gona stay...til ye rot away...living in your scummy caravan..
11/08/2012, 10:48 PM
Love the new Gary Shaw chant lads I'm sure I saw a little smile come across his face as ye belted it out tonight, quality stuff.