View Full Version : Clear-out

Trax
09/07/2003, 5:13 PM
I have it on good authority( I will not divulge source cos he'll beat the ****e outta me) that Pat is undertaking a clear-out of unknown magnitude over the next 12 months with the purpose of getting rid of a good few Squad plrs and bringing in some of his own recruits(apparently he's scouring the M.S.L.).

09/07/2003, 5:43 PM
Thats not really news, rax, he has said often enough that he will be letting players go and bringing in others.
I'd reckon with Greg's injury that we need another midfielder fairly urgently though.
At the SC meeting, he said he definitely needed 3 players soon.

09/07/2003, 6:22 PM
Candidates for clearout:

Cronin - gone.
Daly - will go end of season
Warren - go eventually
Mooney - maybe?
Andrews?

Probably a few other players who will never be more than squad cover - if Dolan can find a replacement i;d say they'll go also,

09/07/2003, 8:36 PM
i don't think it'd be a surprise, he was always busy on the market when he was at Pat's too. I thought that Lennox would show a bit more restraint though in terms of funding changes. Although I guess if the MSL is being scoured then that might well be the case.

Once the players he brings in are better than those that leave, we'll all be happy. I think we all know that our squad isn't strong enough at the moment.

Trax
10/07/2003, 8:30 AM
Originally posted by patsh
Thats not really news, rax, he has said often enough that he will be letting players go and bringing in others. I know it's not really anything new but I'm trying to say it could be bigger than we thought,I reckon if he can get 4 good Full-timers we could be saying goodbye to 8 or 9 of the present squad.Also I know most of you wont like this but Naps could be 1 of them(thats just my opinion)

Cityace
13/07/2003, 4:12 PM
Alot of our players are mediocre and have moments of magic.We need more players that have substance, Doyle and D.Murray, For example.Neither of them are the Flair-monkey's that Georgie is, but they play very well consistantly.

13/07/2003, 4:18 PM
Originally posted by pete
Candidates for clearout:

Cronin - gone.
Warren - go eventually
Mooney - maybe?
Andrews?

I'd say you're right with regard to all but one of those players. I can't see Mooney going, we need two class keepers as who knows when Devine could pick up an injury or suspension.

Rebel101
13/07/2003, 9:58 PM
Originally posted by Trax
Also I know most of you wont like this but Naps could be 1 of them(thats just my opinion)
I think so too trax a reliable source [like you trax if i tell ye who he'll beat the ****e outta me aswel] told me that Napier's career is as well as over and it's unlikely that he'll ever get a game again.

ccfc till i die
13/07/2003, 10:30 PM
I hope Dolan doesn't concentrate too much on the MSL, just like I hope he doesn't mean that whole Munster and Cork based players thing.

Good to see 2 Australians coming, we should be casting a wider net.

Trax
14/07/2003, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by Colm
I can't see Mooney going, we need two class keepers as who knows when Devine could pick up an injury or suspension. Yer man from the u21's(McNulty I think his name is) was promoted to the full squad so thats 3 keepers I cant Imagine this would go on for long.I'd say either the aforementioned or Mooney will go.

SSS
14/07/2003, 5:12 PM
Originally posted by Rebel101
told me that Napier's career is as well as over and it's unlikely that he'll ever get a game again.

I've heard that he may pack it in of his accord anyway.
Big loss - he can still do a good job.

14/07/2003, 7:04 PM
Originally posted by Rebel101
that Napier's career is as well as over and it's unlikely that he'll ever get a game again.
Well, according to Spillage on the BRB last night, he didn't feature in the match against the combined universities yesterday, and even Daly got a run out.
I feel he should have been given a chance, especially during the LC, as he was City's best defender before the injury.
I always admired him, and hink he has given great service to City.
Thanks a lot, Steve, and I really hope to see you grace the Cross again.

14/07/2003, 8:08 PM
Originally posted by patsh
Thanks a lot, Steve, and I really hope to see you grace the Cross again.
Hear Hear

Trax
15/07/2003, 8:07 AM
There is a rumour going around that Naps has indeed gone and retired,anyone know for sure??

15/07/2003, 9:53 AM
Would be nice to retain him as a coach or in some backroom facility - seems like a clued in guy.

15/07/2003, 12:09 PM
seems like a clued in guy.

Great attitdue and work ethic. Will be sorely missed.

15/07/2003, 12:39 PM
Would be nice to retain him as a coach or in some backroom facility - seems like a clued in guy.
one city player told me not long ago that he was a future city manager in the making. by all accounts the guy has a great knowledge of the game and is very respected.

ccfc till i die
15/07/2003, 1:18 PM
Says in the echo today that he retired, pity but I can understand.

Hung Daddy
15/07/2003, 1:49 PM
Andrews has signed for Ramblers, I think he played against Sligo and Limerick, Cronin is going to Dublin City, I am pretty sure :-(

Trax
15/07/2003, 1:53 PM
Gaz is gone to Kildare with 2 weeks(scored the winner for em the other day) Dont think Andrews will be missed too much.Mooney retiring is a shocker,I thought he was only 28/29.Is he concentrating on work or what??

ccfc till i die
15/07/2003, 1:56 PM
I think he's even younger than that. In fairness it would need a huge amount of commitment for a fella who isn't pro and doesn't get played.

15/07/2003, 1:57 PM
The move towards a fulltime club is only going to mean more part-time players leaving/retiring in the next couple of years.

15/07/2003, 2:05 PM
Originally posted by Trax
Mooney retiring is a shocker

Since when has Mooney retired??? I thought it was Napier that retired!

yiddo
15/07/2003, 5:53 PM
Mooney hasn't retired. At least not yet. Spoke to him recently and he predicted that City would be full time next season. I'd say if he didn't have his own business he'd go full time.

Trax
16/07/2003, 8:13 AM
Ya the source for the Mooney Rumour is fairly Spurious to say the least,cant see it happening.

steven17
16/07/2003, 12:12 PM
Candidates for clearout:

Warren - go eventually
?
Andrews?

Probably a few other players who will never be more than squad cover - if Dolan can find a replacement i;d say they'll go also,
DALY. how many times have we heard that daly will be leaving
next season i thinl he`ll go one more just to mold get greg into a club captain not just a team captain
WARREN.got a year left on his current contract so will still be at the cross next year
ANDREWS.i think pat has thrown him a life line with cobh to prove himself ...pity he`s got injured and will be out for a few weeks hopefully will be back for the derry game i think that will make up pats mind on him if he plays against premier oppisition

also good luck napier with what ever you decide to do