View Full Version : As of right now what 24 man squad would you call up?

FarBeag
16/03/2008, 2:46 PM
Shay Given (GK)
Paddy Kenny (GK)
Colin Doyle (GK)

John O Shea (DL/R/C)
Ian Harte (DL) Damian Delaney
Kevin Kilbane (DL/ML)
Stephen Kelly (DR)
Steve Finnan (DR) Retired
Joey O Brien (DR/C/DM)
Andy O Brien (DC) Retired
Richard Dunne (DC)
Paul McShane (DC/ R)
Sean St Ledger

Damien Duff (ML/R)
Stephen Hunt (ML)
Aiden McGeady (ML)
Steven Reid (MC)
Andy Reid (MC/L/R)
Stephen Ireland (MC/R) (Does not want to play) Martin Rowlands
Lee Carsley (MC)
Liam Miller (MC) Liam Lawerance
Jay Tabb

Robbie Keane (FC)
Kevin Doyle (FC)
Clinton Morrison (FC)
Daryl Murphy (FC)

Leaving out Shane Long was the only tough decision.

With first team of

Given

Kelly Dunne O Shea Delaney

Duff S.Reid A.Reid McGeady

Keane Doyle

I think both Carsley and Ireland need a 5 man midfield to function and Keane or Doyle aren't great options to play as lone strikers.

kingdom hoop
16/03/2008, 3:55 PM
Will there not be more than 24 picked given it's a 'who might play a part in the campaign' squad? Anyway, your thread; your rules. But for contingency sake I'll assume none of the retirees are available.

GK: Given............... Doyle........ Murphy?? (3)

Def: Dunne, O'Shea, McShane, Kelly........... 4 of; McCarthy, Doherty, Delaney, Foley, Ledger (8)

Mid: Carsley, Reid, Reid, J. O'Brien, McGeady, Hunt, Duffer........... 1 of; Rowlands, Lawrence, Tabb, Garvan (8)

Fwd: Keane, Long, Doyle............ Morrison, Stokes (5)

Semi-noticeable absentees; Kilbane, Miller, Walters, Murphy, Elliot, Keogh

16/03/2008, 4:38 PM
Keepers: Given, Kenny, Colin Doyle.

Defenders: Dunne, Finnan, Andy O'Brien, McShane, Carr, McCarthy, Joey O'Brien.

Midfielders: Ireland, Carsley, Lawrence, Kilbane, Miller, Garvan, Hunt, Duff, McGeady, Andy Reid, Stephen Reid.

Forwards: Kevin Doyle, Keane, Morrison, Long, Keogh.

I'd go 3-5-2

Given; Finnan, Dunne, O'Brien; McGeady, Hunt, Carsley, Stephen Reid, Andy Reid; Kevin Doyle, Keane.

Midfield is a tough one. There are quite a few good options. Leaving Ireland out is a tough one, not to mention Lawrence, Duff and Kilbane.

carloz
16/03/2008, 5:00 PM
Mine would be

Shay Given (GK)
Paddy Kenny (GK)
Colin Doyle (GK)

John O Shea (DL/R/C)
Damian Delaney(DL)
Kevin Kilbane (DL/ML)
Stephen Kelly (DR)
Steve Finnan (DR)
Joey O Brien (DR/C/DM)
Andy O Brien (DC)
Richard Dunne (DC)
Paul McShane (DC/ R)

Damien Duff (ML/R)
Stephen Hunt (ML)
Aiden McGeady (ML)
Steven Reid (MC)
Andy Reid (MC/L/R)
Liam Lawrence (MC/R)
Lee Carsley (MC)
Wes Hoolahan (MC)

Robbie Keane (FC)
Kevin Doyle (FC)
Clinton Morrison (FC)
Shane Long (FC)

Wes Hoolahan and Liam Lawrence have been two of the most impressive players in the Championship this season so they deserve their chance. I think Andy O'Brien will come bak to us but not Finnan. I have my doubts whether Ireland wants to come back.

My Starting team

----------------------Given

Kelly-------Dunne--------------A. O'Brien--------------Kilbane

Duff----------Carsley--------------S.Reid--------------Hunt

-----------------------A. Reid

----------------------R. Keane

Tough on Doyle i know but our midfield was getting so overrun in the last campaign that i think we will have to drop him or Keane.
McGeady would be a good sub to run at the tired defenders during the second half.

16/03/2008, 5:27 PM
GK Given,Kenny,Henderson
DF Dunne,Kelly,McShane,O'BrienJ,Kilbane,O'Shea,Harte ,St Ledger
MF Reid A, Reid S,Duff, Carsley , Hunt , Garvan , McGeady , Ireland , O'Donovan
ST Keane , Doyle , Morrison , Keogh ,

Team

Given
Kelly Dunne McShane O'Shea

Carsley A Reid

S Reid Keane Duff

Doyle

FarBeag
16/03/2008, 7:06 PM
Let's all hope for the team's sake we'll be saying this about Trap too. :D

Ok Einstein. I left out a full stop, how observant of you. Wish you could spot a good player when you see one and answer the several questions posed to justify some of you idiotic posts.

danonion
16/03/2008, 10:32 PM
If we're not taking retirements into account

Kiely
Given
Kenny

Finnan
Kelly
O'brien
Dunne
McShane bla
O'Shea
Kilbane

McGeady
Lawrence
Hunt
Duff
Carsley
Holland
Steven Reid
Ireland

Keane
Long
Morrison
Doyle

Razors left peg
17/03/2008, 12:39 AM
If we're not taking retirements into account

Kiely
Given
Kenny

Finnan
Kelly
O'brien
Dunne
McShane bla
O'Shea
Kilbane

McGeady
Lawrence
Hunt
Duff
Carsley
Holland
Steven Reid
Ireland

Keane
Long
Morrison
Doyle

Andy Reid not in squad at all?????
And as for having Matt Holland in there thats just funny

danonion
17/03/2008, 1:05 AM
Andy Reid not in squad at all?????
And as for having Matt Holland in there thats just funny

Oh i totally forgot about Andy he's a given. Its pretty easy to defend Holland's selection. When i judge players I try to ignore what year they were born. Age affects every player differently, and if anyone thinks we have a deep enough squad that we can stamp a sell-by date on players, they are far more optimistic than I am about our prospects. Matty is a competent central midfielder, a position where we are desperately lacking players. Also he's a born leader.

17/03/2008, 1:33 AM
First off, I believe in having 3 goalkeepers, 2 players for every position in your formation, and three extra utility players, who can play a number of roles
So 3 goalkeepers + 9 defenders + 9 midfielders + 5 forwards = 26 man squad (yes I've been stuck into Football Manager 2008 lately)
Not going to include Finnan and O'Brien. If we're going to start including players who are not available to us right now, why not Nolan, Cahill, Matthew Connolly, or indeed Eto'o, Kompany or Ronaldo?

Goalkeepers:
Shay Given
Colin Doyle
Paddy Kenny

Defenders:
Damien Delaney
Richard Dunne
Paddy McCarthy
Paul McShane
Sean St Ledger
Alex Bruce
John O'Shea
Stephen Kelly
Kevin Foley

Midfielders:
Damien Duff
Stephen Hunt
Andy Reid
Stephen Ireland
Stephen Reid
Aiden McGeady
Lee Carsley/Joey O'Brien
Mark Yeates/Liam Lawrence
Glen Whelan/Kevin Kilbane

Forwards:
Robbie Keane
Kevin Doyle
Noel Hunt
Clinton Morrison
Jonathan Walters/Stephen Elliott

Notes

Kilbane dropped to utility player
Garvan, McCann, Stokes and Long are better off with the U-21s at the moment unless they are in far better form than a member of the squad in the same position - e.g. Stephen Ireland still qualifies for the U-21
Simple philosophy - play each player in his natural position
2 wingers playing off one defensive central midfielder and one creative central midfielder
Up front, one target man and one out and out striker

Starting line up
First choice in bold and underlined
Second choice underneath in plain text
If it's a choice of two, then whoever is in better form
Take your pick of the subs from the second choices

Shay Given
Kenny/Doyle
Stephen Kelly John O'Shea Richard Dunne(c)Damien Delaney
Kevin Foley St. Ledger Bruce John O'Shea
/McShane /McCarthy
Aiden McGeady Stephen Reid Andy Reid Damien Duff
Yeates/Lawrence Carsley/O'Brien Ireland Hunt/Kilbane
/Flood /Whelan
Kevin Doyle Robbie Keane
Morrison/Lee Elliott/Hunt

Razors left peg
17/03/2008, 1:48 AM
Oh i totally forgot about Andy he's a given. Its pretty easy to defend Holland's selection. When i judge players I try to ignore what year they were born. Age affects every player differently, and if anyone thinks we have a deep enough squad that we can stamp a sell-by date on players, they are far more optimistic than I am about our prospects. Matty is a competent central midfielder, a position where we are desperately lacking players. Also he's a born leader.

Even at his peak Holland was no more than a decent player and I was never a fan of his. To be totally honest I havent even seen him play for a long time and until recently I actually had thought he had retired so I cant completely judge him fairly, but I have to believe that we have better options that him now

kingdom hoop
17/03/2008, 4:14 AM
Is Gary "The Doc" Doherty finished?

I think he was Norwich's PotY (Player of the Year) last year, or maybe the year before. The main reason I ask is because he's held a special place in my heart since his winner against the US a few years ago meant I won a 400/1 accumulator, and I wouldn't like anyone who gave me such a turn become an outcast without me raising an argument in their defence. :)

jmurphyc
17/03/2008, 4:37 AM
Even at his peak Holland was no more than a decent player and I was never a fan of his. To be totally honest I havent even seen him play for a long time and until recently I actually had thought he had retired so I cant completely judge him fairly, but I have to believe that we have better options that him now

Actually I think he has retired, but could be mistaken. I thought he retired immediately after our draw with Switzerland in the World Cup qualifiers, along with Kenny Cunningham. If Trapattoni feels he could add something then he should definitely be approached. I can't really make a judgement on him either as I haven't seen him play in a good while.

Diarmo
17/03/2008, 5:43 AM
I agree, Doherty deserves a call up. He's an experienced (30+ caps) central defender. We don't have many.

Greenforever
17/03/2008, 10:11 AM
I know you've said a 24 man squad, however I hope he brings a much bigger squad (to Portugal) of up to 40 made up of approx 30 contenders for the senior team, 6 U21s 2 U19s 2 U18s to give them a taste of the future. According to press reports he is bringing a number of U21s. He could also bring a couple of the top EL players however that probably wouldn't suit their clubs as it's mid season, the downside to Summer football.

17/03/2008, 10:26 AM
Shay Given (GK)
Paddy Kenny (GK)
Joe Murphy (GK)

John O Shea (DL/R/C)
Damien Delaney (DL)
Kevin Kilbane (DL/ML)
Stephen Kelly (DR)
Steve Finnan (DR)
Joey O Brien (DR/C/DM)
Andy O Brien (DC)
Richard Dunne (DC)
Paul McShane (DC/ R)

Damien Duff (ML/R)
Stephen Hunt (ML)
Aiden McGeady (ML)
Steven Reid (MC)
Andy Reid (MC/L/R)
Stephen Ireland (MC/R)
Lee Carsley (MC)
Liam Miller (MC)

Robbie Keane (FC)
Kevin Doyle (FC)
Andy Keogh(FC)
Daryl Murphy (FC)

----------------------Given

Joey O'Brien----O'Shea-----Dunne(c)----Finnan

McGeady-------S.Reid------A.Reid------Hunt

-----------------Murphy
----------------------------Keane

Glenn Whelan, Liam Lawrence, Paddy McCarthy, Noel Hunt, Clinton Morrison, Jay Tabb and Owen Garvan are on the cusp.

dr_peepee
17/03/2008, 11:31 AM
There's little to tell between some of the selection. The third keeper for exaple (well except Colgan). I'm not gonna argue the merrits of selceting Doc say over Bruce or St Ledger. I've seen more of Doherty than the others, that's about it. The left full spot is clearly an issue, but by all accounts the full backs won't be as advanced under Tapp so it mightn't be as much of an issue. I think the fullback out of position on the other flank only becomes a huge problem when they're required to overlap. I read an interview with the "famous" Arenal back four and they said under Graham they were coached to show the ball inside each time, so whatever "foot" you were was less relevant if you were playing on the opposite side. Might be a solution in this case. We have to choose tactics to suit the players we have. I dunno..

I'd go for a 4-2-3-1 (as I've said many times) but reserve Hunt and Lawrence for a plan B 4-4-2 if required during a game.

finnpark
17/03/2008, 2:10 PM
Some of the selections on this thread are laughable - Morrison, Harte, Delaney, Lawrence etc

Shay Given
Colin Doyle
Joe Murphy

Stephen Kelly
Richard Dunne
John O'Shea
Kevin Kilbane
Paul McShane
Darren O'Dea

Damien Duff
Stephen Hunt
Stephen Ireland
Joey O'Brien
Aidan McGeady
Lee Casely
Liam Miller
Andy Reid
Steven Reid

Long
Doyle
Keane
Murphy

1st eleven if 4-4-2 which seems unlikey with this bucko in charge

Given

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady O'Brien Ireland Hunt

Doyle Murphy

dr_peepee
17/03/2008, 3:04 PM
Some of the selections on this thread are laughable - Morrison, Harte, Delaney, Lawrence etc

What's Long or Murphy done that Morrison hasn't??? And Lawrence (or Walters for that matter)... Have we got the strength in depth on the right wing to laugh at his inclusion??? Ye have to start being realistic...

The inclusion to the two highlighted would in no way be laughable.

FarBeag
17/03/2008, 3:09 PM

Shay Given
Colin Doyle
Joe Murphy

Stephen Kelly
Richard Dunne
John O'Shea
Kevin Kilbane
Paul McShane
Darren O'Dea

Damien Duff
Stephen Hunt
Stephen Ireland
Joey O'Brien
Aidan McGeady
Lee Casely
Liam Miller
Andy Reid
Steven Reid

Long
Doyle
Keane
Murphy

1st eleven if 4-4-2 which seems unlikey with this bucko in charge

Given

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady O'Brien Ireland Hunt

Doyle Murphy

Really! Why do you think this.?Why is Darren O' Dea not laughable and Damian Delaney so funny for instance? How is Liam miller any better that Liam Lawrence/Wes Hoolahan/Martin Rowlands? Long instead of Morrison ha ha. Your team selection is even more crazy. What sort of a midfield is that? They would be destroyed as they are way too light weight and none of the Reid's or Duffer included. Kilbane at left back and no Robbie Keane. Jesus wept I say. I think the laugh is on you mate. I am off to get drunk.;)

Diarmo
17/03/2008, 7:46 PM
I

1) He's performing very well in the championship

Good reason to call him up....

My squad would be

With retirements:

Given
Doyle, C.
Murphy, J.

Kilbane
O'Shea
Delaney
Dunne
Doherty
St. Ledger
O'Brien, J.
Kelly

Duff
McGeady
Carsley
Reid, A.
Reid, S.
Whelan
Hunt
Lawrence
Miller/Rowlands

Keane
Doyle, K.
Morrison
Murphy, D.

A team of:

Given

Kelly Dunne St. Ledger O'Shea

McGeady S. Reid A. Reid Hunt

Keane
Doyle

or maybe Carsley and the two Reids ina 5 man midfield supporting Keane.

And if we think that O'Brien, Ireland, Finnan and Kenny (!) come back:

Given
Kenny
Doyle, C.

O'Shea
Kilbane
Dunne
O'Brien, A.
Doherty
St. Ledger (McShane excluded on lack of club games - subject to change)
Finnan
Kelly

Duff
McGeady
Hunt
Lawrence
Carsley
Reid, S.
Reid, A.
Ireland
O'Brien, J.

Keane,
Doyle, K.
Morisson
Murphy, D.

Starting line-up:

Given

Finnan Dunne A. O'Brien O'Shea

McGeady S.Reid A.Reid Hunt
Ireland

Keane

finnpark
17/03/2008, 8:01 PM
What's Long or Murphy done that Morrison hasn't???

Scored Premiership goals this season. If Morrison was anyways good he would be in the premiership right now. O'Donovan is miles better than Morrison.

finnpark
17/03/2008, 8:12 PM
Really! Why do you think this.?Why is Darren O' Dea not laughable and Damian Delaney so funny for instance?

O'Dea probably shouldn't be there either but to say Delaney, at age 26, should be included is actually laughable. What experience has he at this level, at least O'Dea has CL experience but Delaney is playing against the likes of Scunthorpe, Sheffield Wednesday and Barnely. A bit of a step up to Berbadov and co. Like I say I don't think O'Dea will be part of any set up either

How is Liam miller any better that Liam Lawrence/Wes Hoolahan/Martin Rowlands?
Yes, he has so much more proven experience that those guys. Hoolahan's only big time experience was with Shels and agaianst Rangers/Celtic in Scotland.

Long instead of Morrison ha ha. Your team selection is even more crazy. What sort of a midfield is that? They would be destroyed as they are way too light weight and none of the Reid's or Duffer included. Kilbane at left back and no Robbie Keane. Jesus wept I say. I think the laugh is on you mate. I am off to get drunk.;)
Would Morrison be on ahead of Long at Reading? Exactly he wouldn't! Morrison was an average player 10 years ago, now hes just a has been along with Hasselbank and Teddy Sheringham in that division in England. Kilbane is a regular left back for Wigan, Reid is just back from injury and A Reid needs to lose at least 2 stone. Robbie Keane has been terrible for Ireland in the last campaign and Duff is finished, has been for a long time.

finnpark
17/03/2008, 8:16 PM
Roy O D is in the premiership solely on Keane bias and he's the worst player on the pitch anytime he plays. He'll either be back in the eircom league or in league one in a season or two.

He took John Terry to the cleaners last weekend. Before that he was injured. That was his first game back. That was his 3rd start, on his 2nd start he got injured after 20 minutes. So he is the worst player on the field the 2.5 times that he has played :rolleyes: I take it you don't like the lad.

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/sunderland-afc/safc-news/tm_headline=roy-i-8217-m-the-boy-to-keep-up-with-jones&method=full&objectid=20635040&siteid=72703-name_page.html

Razors left peg
17/03/2008, 8:36 PM
I find it unbelieveable how some people in this forum are so dismissive of players and so negative. There is no harm in including the likes of O Donovan, Delaney, O Dea, St Leger in the next training squad and have a look at them.There were times when Duff, Finnan, Hunt, Doyle etc were Championship players and lower, even if ya want to go a long way back I think John Aldridge and Ray Houghton were playing at Oxford when they got called into the Irish squad first.There should be an extended squad for the training camp in Portugal and the 2 friendlies and then let the manager decide who he thinks is good enough and ya never know we might find a few players that are good enough to be in the squad on a regular basis.

the doc
17/03/2008, 8:49 PM
Of course there's no harm in that. They're all backup of backups and Trap would be foolish to not know of them and keep somebody watching them. But they all have a lot to prove and there's several players in their position already who to put it bluntly are better than them. It's a no brainer.

Out of all the current CB's only Dunne at this moment in time is better than St Ledger.

Although they would make a very good CB pairing

Mark my words this lad has the potential to be a top class player!

finnpark
17/03/2008, 9:20 PM
I find it unbelieveable how some people in this forum are so dismissive of players and so negative. There is no harm in including the likes of O Donovan, Delaney, O Dea, St Leger in the next training squad and have a look at them.There were times when Duff, Finnan, Hunt, Doyle etc were Championship players and lower, even if ya want to go a long way back I think John Aldridge and Ray Houghton were playing at Oxford when they got called into the Irish squad first.There should be an extended squad for the training camp in Portugal and the 2 friendlies and then let the manager decide who he thinks is good enough and ya never know we might find a few players that are good enough to be in the squad on a regular basis.

I assumed that people were talking about the 1st competitive squad. If there are training squads then of course all possible future players should be looked at but none of these are ready for a qualification challange this year. If the managment are serious about qualification then I think that they will not be blooding any new players through. That should have been done by Staunton but he was a bit mixed up in himself. The Irish team is not great but is better than most International sides and I think we can finish 2nd ahead of Bulgaria but they don't have time to test out new players. Im sure Carsely will be in the holding role as well as Keane instead of Murphy.

finnpark
17/03/2008, 9:21 PM
Out of all the current CB's only Dunne at this moment in time is better than St Ledger.

Paul McShane was also rated very highly in that division. Im sure hes a top class player in that league but to be qualifying for tthe WC Championship players are not good enough.

FarBeag
17/03/2008, 9:25 PM

You are wasting your time trying to get through to Ciaran. He lives in his own little football world and is totally insight less when it comes to anyone else’s views on who they think will be an asset to the Irish international team. He is happy to go along with the same 24 squad members who Stan lost his job to, over two of whom are retired, one who does not want to play for us, some played out of position in an area they are clearly not or never will be suited to, some of who will never be good enough for international football (tried and tested) and some who are in the premiership squads but cant get a game. Irish lads who play in the Championship (apart from Morrison) and play well are non existent as far as he is concerned. When a query is put to him as to why he expresses certain views which at times that are totally outrageous he ignores the post and continues into his little rants and deluded beliefs. He has also proved that he has never seen Damian Delaney play because he thinks he still plays for Cork City.

He has got to be one of the most frustrating individual on this forum to try and have a balanced and constructive argument with him so in summary its pointless trying to put your point across no matter how simple it is because he just wont get it.

FarBeag
17/03/2008, 9:35 PM
Scored Premiership goals this season. If Morrison was anyways good he would be in the premiership right now. O'Donovan is miles better than Morrison.

How many has Murphy scored? Two at the most. How many has long scored? Not many more and if he continues to get childish strops like he did when he was taken off on Sunday because he was Sh!t he wont get a game with Galway Utd. Just because they play or are mostly subs in the premiership does not make them better players than Morrison. Murphy came up with Sunderland, Morrison did not and besides Clinton being a better player this is all they have in common.

FarBeag
17/03/2008, 9:55 PM
O'Dea probably shouldn't be there either but to say Delaney, at age 26, should be included is actually laughable. What experience has he at this level, at least O'Dea has CL experience but Delaney is playing against the likes of Scunthorpe, Sheffield Wednesday and Barnely. A bit of a step up to Berbadov and co. Like I say I don't think O'Dea will be part of any set up either

Yes, he has so much more proven experience that those guys. Hoolahan's only big time experience was with Shels and agaianst Rangers/Celtic in Scotland.

Would Morrison be on ahead of Long at Reading? Exactly he wouldn't! Morrison was an average player 10 years ago, now hes just a has been along with Hasselbank and Teddy Sheringham in that division in England. Kilbane is a regular left back for Wigan, Reid is just back from injury and A Reid needs to lose at least 2 stone. Robbie Keane has been terrible for Ireland in the last campaign and Duff is finished, has been for a long time.

You are the one who included O’Dea in your preferred squad and this is why I referred to him. Andy Reid may be overweight but if we had a whole team of fattys with Reid’s football brain and ability we would be in Switzerland and Austria later this year. Steven Reid may have been injured but he is not now and puts man of the match performances week in week out for Blackburn.

We have a crisis at left back and fair enough if you think that Kilbane is the answer to all our prayers but what happens if he gets injured? Who would you play there then O’Shea I suppose a par timer for Manu U who has no ambition. Damian Delaney is 26, (holy Moses) a left footer who plays regular football on a weekly basis. He has player in the premiership before so has experience. I have seen him play for QPR on a number of occasions and he is good.

Robbie Keane is the best forward Ireland has ever produced and is likely to be for some time to come. Doyle or any other potential Ireland forward have not a patch on him. Anyway there is a thread on him so if you want to hear more about his ability read that.

17/03/2008, 10:06 PM
How many has Murphy scored? Two at the most.
Murphy has 3 goals - he's scored against Bolton, Birmingham and Wigan

How many has long scored? Not many moreLong has 3 as well - scored VS Portsmouth, Newcastle and Man City

FarBeag
17/03/2008, 10:08 PM
A) You're the one trying to kick off some little e-fight with me with your over obvious digs at me any given chance.

B) Why would I watch 2nd tier games? If that's the level our countries team is at then we're deluding ourself about qualification from day 1.

C) It's Soccer not Football.

Look mate. I am just trying to get my point across which you fail to see or acknowledge and are extremely frustrating. Don’t worry I wont hurt your feelings anymore. I will try and constructively argue/agree/debate with someone who is not on a continuous mission to wind people up.

FarBeag
17/03/2008, 10:18 PM
Murphy has 3 goals - he's scored against Bolton, Birmingham and Wigan
Long has 3 as well - scored VS Portsmouth, Newcastle and Man City

Fair enough two or three not much difference and against very weak opposition. Its hardly going to get them a pay rise is it? Sorry I am not trying to be pedantic here.

finnpark
17/03/2008, 10:25 PM
How many has Murphy scored? Two at the most. How many has long scored? Not many more and if he continues to get childish strops like he did when he was taken off on Sunday because he was Sh!t he wont get a game with Galway Utd. Just because they play or are mostly subs in the premiership does not make them better players than Morrison. Murphy came up with Sunderland, Morrison did not and besides Clinton being a better player this is all they have in common.

QPR tried to sign Murphy, Sunderland rejected the offer. 2M€ as far as I remember. Keane has also said that a number of other premiership teams are interested in him but that hes not for sale. Its not just me that thinks hes good. Hes not world class but neither is Robbie Keane, Long or Doyle.

If any Palace player makes the squad it will be 2007 Young Player of the Year Sean Scannell who is 17

jmurphyc
18/03/2008, 2:42 AM
C) It's Soccer not Football.

I didn't realise this was an american sports forum. :rolleyes:

eagleforlife
19/03/2008, 10:00 PM
QPR tried to sign Murphy, Sunderland rejected the offer. 2M€ as far as I remember. Keane has also said that a number of other premiership teams are interested in him but that hes not for sale. Its not just me that thinks hes good. Hes not world class but neither is Robbie Keane, Long or Doyle.

If any Palace player makes the squad it will be 2007 Young Player of the Year Sean Scannell who is 17

As a Palace fan I can tell you it should undoubtedly be Clinton of the two who gets in the squad. I'm not sure what your basing your anti-Morrison on but you clearly don't know much about him. Not only has he been scoring goals this season but his work rate has been immense and you'll find him back in the right back slot winning the ball back. Also if a youngster makes a mistake or does something well it's only ever Clint who is encouraging them. So IMO he deserves to be in the next squad ahead of anyone else.

Also whilst doing all this in 99% of games Clint has been playing on the left wing.

Paddy Garcia
19/03/2008, 10:04 PM
Take them both