View Full Version : Cheltenham 2008

zenokelly
08/03/2008, 12:43 PM
Well it starts on Tuesday so I thought I'd start the thread.

My best bets are:
TUESDAY:
Wonderkid in the cross country chase 5/2 (Has the form around the course and off a low mark)
WEDNESDAY:
Forpadydeplasterer in the Ballymore Properties Novice Hurdle 5/1 (Will be well suited to the longer trip but wants the ground soft enough)
THURSDAY:
Don't Push It in the Racing Post Plate 3/1 (Strongly fancied by his owner JP and has been backed heavily and it seems he was being kept for this tilt)
FRIDAY:
Double: Franchoek in the Triumph 9/4 (looks unbeatable)
Kauto Star in the Gold Cup 1/1 (Has the superior times over Denman this season and has proven he'll stay)

Intersting horses with each way chances at bigger prices are:
Silverburn in the Royal & Sunalliance chase at 7/1

L'Antartique in the Ryanair Chase 6/1

Maralan in the Grand Annual at 14/1

Le Duc Cross Country 12/1

Mansony in the Champion Chase at 20/1.

Touch wood!:ball:

Rovers fan
08/03/2008, 4:26 PM
Bankers:
champion bumper: zaarito
Pertemps: robin du bois
Gold cup: kauto star,denman 1-2

Others:
Ryanair chase:the listener
Triumph hurdle: celestial halo

Each ways:
arkle: clopf
Sun alliance chase: pomme tiepy
novices hurdle; venalmar

just got a good tip for dear villex as well

10/03/2008, 9:18 AM
Leg spinner in the coral cup. The stable are very confident and its just been dropping in prices massively over the past few days. Its now 4/1.

Mossbank e/w in the Gold cup, 20/1 and has been tested more in grade1 races than Denman.

10/03/2008, 5:12 PM
ok lets get this started then

2.15 Cork All Star. had this last year, and still worth a punt, Geraghty is a great jockey and is sure to give a good account of himself

2.35 Noland. has too much class not to win this race, bloody better with the amount of dosh i have on him

3.15 Katchit. Another horse with good cheltenham pedigree, but might be too much for him, but one of my old favs

4.00 Fundamentalist. I like this horse a lot and at 12/1 (pp)is a great each way bet

4.40 Never Compromise. an outsider (well 20-1), but ted and his daughter might just make a good cheltenham story

5.20 Ashkazr. won very easy the other day, ran a great race, not a good price (9-4) but still

anyway there my bets for tomorrow
as was mentioned.......the start of the first race always gives me the bumps

10/03/2008, 6:19 PM
I'm going for a small each way tomorrow in the 2.00 (the first race) with Pigeon Island. Had it on the 9th of Feb. Came in 5th in a massive field at 33/1 and stayed on well so here's hoping it can go a little further this time.

Have a couple of free bets from yesterday's and today's rags which will be used for fun.

In the Herag tonight there are two free €5 bets with Boyles, a forecast and a tricast. Also got a free €5 forecast bet from yesterday's NOTW for Paddy Powers. Going to be rather impossible but it's free.

The two free forecasts are for the same race, 4.00 - so I'm just going to reverse my selections:

Ofarel D'airy & Patsy Hall.

The tricast is for tomorrow's 5.20.

Ashkazar to beat River Liane to beat Callisto Moon.

10/03/2008, 7:05 PM
Mossbank e/w in the Gold cup, 20/1 and has been tested more in grade1 races than Denman.

I think Michael is going for his own dosh by running him in the Ryanair Chase.

Tuesday

2.00-Cork All Star e/w
2.35 Tidal Bay
3.15 Catch Me e/w

zenokelly
10/03/2008, 8:35 PM
ok lets get this started then

2.15 Cork All Star. had this last year, and still worth a punt, Geraghty is a great jockey and is sure to give a good account of himself

2.35 Noland. has too much class not to win this race, bloody better with the amount of dosh i have on him

3.15 Katchit. Another horse with good cheltenham pedigree, but might be too much for him, but one of my old favs

4.00 Fundamentalist. I like this horse a lot and at 12/1 (pp)is a great each way bet

4.40 Never Compromise. an outsider (well 20-1), but ted and his daughter might just make a good cheltenham story

5.20 Ashkazr. won very easy the other day, ran a great race, not a good price (9-4) but still

anyway there my bets for tomorrow
as was mentioned.......the start of the first race always gives me the bumps

I would have to think that Noland is abit too short after his last run. There is only so much a horse can come on and if he ran like that tomorrow, he'd have no chance.

I don't see how Cork All Star can win this after being beaten twice by a horse that will favour a much further trip in Forpadydeplasterer but maybe? If you fancy Cork All Star, For pady must be a NAP for you? (like me):D

Good luck anyway, would also say that Ashkazar probably won't be beaten:ball:

anto1208
10/03/2008, 10:38 PM
each way Blythe Knight in the Champion Hurdle at 40/1

11/03/2008, 8:27 AM
Probably going to stick with Cork All Star today although Khyber Kim will be hard to topple if it hits form again. Deep Purple may be a decent each way bet.

I'm looking for each way value today so I think Scotsirish in the Arkle has a big race in him to come. Hopefully it's today.

lofty9
11/03/2008, 10:29 AM
Bob Hall , today 4pm. I've him e/w at 25's.

11/03/2008, 9:17 PM
2:35 - Pomme Tiepy

3:15 - Voy Por Ustedes

4:40 - Rimksy

5:20 - Lord Generous

50 cent each way yankee for me tomorrow, nothing too big as I don't overly fancy anything tomorrow. However, I think Ruby can get off the mark with Pomme Tiepy.

Rovers fan
11/03/2008, 10:00 PM
pomme tiepy,voy por ustedes,venalmar and zaarito for me. If im down tomorrow thats me finished for the week!

zenokelly
11/03/2008, 10:15 PM
Forpadydeplasterer: 2.00

Leg Spinner: 4.00 e/way to nothing.

Nothing too excited about tomorrow other than Pady.

I have backed Silverburn at 8to 1 but can't really fancy him now.

And the bumber, stick a pin but if I was pushed Zaarito or Drive On Regardless eway.

12/03/2008, 6:53 AM
not a good first day, ouch
anyway for today

2.00 Venalmar e.w bet
2.15 air force one
3.15 voy por ustedes
4.00 clarnazar
4.40 back on line
5.20 corskeagh royale

12/03/2008, 8:05 AM
not a good first day, ouch
anyway for today

2.00 Venalmar e.w bet
2.15 air force one
3.15 voy por ustedes
4.00 clarnazar
4.40 back on line
5.20 corskeagh royale

I know the feeling :o
Leg Spinner is supposed to be in fine shape, I'll be having a wee punt on that one.

12/03/2008, 8:07 AM
Today's card is off due to strong winds.

http://breakingnews.ie/sport/mhojcwqleyql/

Todays 6 races to be spread over Thursday and Friday.

ForzaWexford
12/03/2008, 8:58 AM
No betting for me.

Will be cheering Silverhand on in the Triumph Hurdle on Friday as I know the family who own it. Have it backed for small money at 33/1. Around 16/1 now and the horse is in tip top condition but I don't think it'll have enough to win. The rain will suit Francoechek (sp?!) and I think he's far and away the best horse in the race. Still though, might nick a place.

And if you're feeling patriotic and wanting to back an Irish horse in the race go for Silverhand over Beau Micheal. Beau Michael beat Silverhand last time out but barring a disaster that won't happen again.

onceahoop
12/03/2008, 9:14 PM
And if you're feeling patriotic and wanting to back an Irish horse in the race go for Silverhand over Beau Micheal. Beau Michael beat Silverhand last time out but barring a disaster that won't happen again.

The word is that Beau Michael will need better ground.

Ten races tomorrow and some tricky contests. Air Force One will appreciate the ease in the going and might do the business in the Sun Alliance however it's significant that Ruby Walsh rides Pomme Tiepy for Willie Mullins in preference to Silverburn for Paul Nicholls.

Rovers fan
12/03/2008, 10:14 PM
Tomorrow:

pomme tiepy,voy por ustedes,mansony ew,the listener,robin du bois and zaarito(couldn't be arsed posting what race they are in). Not feeling confident but hopefully i can get back to level and then quit!(easier said than done!)

13/03/2008, 9:58 AM
12.30 - Ornais
1.05 - Pomme Tiepy
1.40 - Boomshakalaka
2.20 - Master Minded
2.55 - L'Antartique
3.30 - Kasbah Bliss
4.05 - Mighty Matters
4.40 - Onnix
5.15 - My Immortal
5.50 - Apt Approach.

That gets my €1 ew acc today. (I do it every day of cheltenham every year for the craic)

My €10 to win bet goes on Master minded at 2.20 for (fingers crossed) value.

13/03/2008, 11:21 AM
Stuck at work today so will only get back into town in time to do the 5.40. Here's what I would be doing if I could. Looking for each way value to day so a few of mine are "out there"!

1.05 Pomme Tiepy £5 win @ 5/1

1.40 Big Bucks £2 e/w at 20/1

2.55 L'Antartique £5 win @ 5/1
Billyvoddan £2 e/w @ 20/1

5.40 Zaarito £10 win @ 4/1
Drive On Regardless £2 e/w @ 33/1

anto1208
13/03/2008, 11:45 AM
Stuck at work today so will only get back into town in time to do the 5.40. Here's what I would be doing if I could. Looking for each way value to day so a few of mine are "out there"!

1.05 Pomme Tiepy £5 win @ 5/1

/1

ive him backed so you may as well forget about that bet with the luck im having:D

13/03/2008, 11:58 AM
ive him backed so you may as well forget about that bet with the luck im having:D

You should be ok anto as I can't get away to bet on him. Anyway, you're having a blinder of a season (on the football at least) so post your weekend predictions tomorrow for me please :D

13/03/2008, 12:11 PM

You were right. She's down already :D

anto1208
13/03/2008, 12:38 PM
You were right. She's down already :D

With the luck im having im thinking find a 200/1 shot you put your money on him , ill bet on every other horse and we ll split the winnings !!!

Thats it im not betting on horses anymore it way too random

Pm'd you the footy bets also in the boss thread.

13/03/2008, 12:51 PM
Nice one.

13/03/2008, 2:05 PM
Master Minded to win @ 11/4 €5
Ballyvoden ew @ 25/1 €10
Kazal ew @ 16/1 €10
Zaritto and Don't Push It doubles €5

One down three to go! :)

Anyone know who finished 4th in the 2.55?

13/03/2008, 2:35 PM
Anyone know who finished 4th in the 2.55?Knight Legend @ 33-1.

The Lilywhites
13/03/2008, 2:54 PM
4.05 Limited Edition 25/1 on BF

The Lilywhites
13/03/2008, 3:19 PM
The 4.05 winner was matched at 500 on Betfair.

13/03/2008, 7:27 PM
had two winners today, but hell im down overall way too much. too many short priced favs messing up for me.

tomorrow
Chomna Womba
Forpadytheplasterer
clarnazar
franchoek (oh jeez he better win!)
parsons pistol
a fistfullof dollars (ew of course, kauto is no price and denman has a donkey to carry on his back)
agusavic
enlightenment
pigoen island

oh please i will settle to break evens:( down 80 at the moment, not the worst but still

14/03/2008, 8:21 AM
pigoen island

On this again myself, had a poor run Tuesday so hopefully goes better this time. Wonder if the owners gave it a bad run on purpose on Tuesday in order to 'catch' the bookmakers today?

ForzaWexford
14/03/2008, 9:11 AM
No betting for me.

Will be cheering Silverhand on in the Triumph Hurdle on Friday as I know the family who own it. Have it backed for small money at 33/1. Around 16/1 now and the horse is in tip top condition but I don't think it'll have enough to win. The rain will suit Francoechek (sp?!) and I think he's far and away the best horse in the race. Still though, might nick a place.

Not long to go now! Just looking at the betting for the race there. 15 runners, only 9 are less than 50/1, 3 places. Can't see past the top 2 in the betting, Franchoek and Celestial Halo but hopefully it'll nick a place.

Fingers and toes firmly crossed.

DIFChick
14/03/2008, 9:13 AM
My picks for today are:

1:05pm Trafford Lad
1:40pm Song of Songs
2:15pm Silverhand
2:50pm Uncle Junior
3:30pm A Fist Full Of Dollars
4:05pm Bon Accord
4:40pm Mister Quasimodo
5:20pm Freeloader

Backing Traff Lad to win, e/w on the rest.

DIFChick
14/03/2008, 12:16 PM
Traff came in 3rd. Delighted for my friend who owns the horse but should have followed her advice to back him e/w.....such is life :)

14/03/2008, 12:52 PM
Keep an eye on Eagles pass at 5.20.

He was at 33/1 this morning and is now at 16's, could be worth a punt. ;)

Ah feck it I jinxed it now. :(

feck it ill give ya tips on who not to back now (Ive backed them so failure is immenint)

2.15 - Beau Michael
2.50 - Uncle Junior
3.30 - Kuato Star (the ground might be worth a few quid on Exotic Dancer e/w)
4.05 - Lord of Illusion
4.40 - Tiger cry
5.20 - Eagles pass.

bholg
14/03/2008, 3:50 PM
Keep an eye on Eagles pass at 5.20.

He was at 33/1 this morning and is now at 16's, could be worth a punt. ;)

Ah feck it I jinxed it now. :(

feck it ill give ya tips on who not to back now (Ive backed them so failure is immenint)

2.15 - Beau Michael
2.50 - Uncle Junior
3.30 - Kuato Star (the ground might be worth a few quid on Exotic Dancer e/w)
4.05 - Lord of Illusion
4.40 - Tiger cry
5.20 - Eagles pass.

See Tiger Cry dug you out too........ thank f*ck for him

ForzaWexford
14/03/2008, 5:06 PM
No joy at all for Silverhand.......9th I think out of 14, with Beau Michael coming dead last! Fairly disappointed.

zenokelly
14/03/2008, 7:15 PM
Well it starts on Tuesday so I thought I'd start the thread.

My best bets are:
TUESDAY:
Wonderkid in the cross country chase 5/2 (Has the form around the course and off a low mark)
WEDNESDAY:
Forpadydeplasterer in the Ballymore Properties Novice Hurdle 5/1 (Will be well suited to the longer trip but wants the ground soft enough)
THURSDAY:
Don't Push It in the Racing Post Plate 3/1 (Strongly fancied by his owner JP and has been backed heavily and it seems he was being kept for this tilt)
FRIDAY:
Double: Franchoek in the Triumph 9/4 (looks unbeatable)
Kauto Star in the Gold Cup 1/1 (Has the superior times over Denman this season and has proven he'll stay)

Intersting horses with each way chances at bigger prices are:
Silverburn in the Royal & Sunalliance chase at 7/1

L'Antartique in the Ryanair Chase 6/1

Maralan in the Grand Annual at 14/1

Le Duc Cross Country 12/1

Mansony in the Champion Chase at 20/1.

Touch wood!:ball:

Ahem:eek: Not a very successful week...... to say the least:mad:

beautifulrock
14/03/2008, 9:10 PM
Ahem:eek: Not a very successful week...... to say the least:mad:

plenty in the same boat Zeno :)

gilberto_eire
15/03/2008, 2:32 AM
had two winners today, but hell im down overall way too much. too many short priced favs messing up for me.

tomorrow
Chomna Womba
Forpadytheplasterer
clarnazar
franchoek (oh jeez he better win!)
parsons pistol
a fistfullof dollars (ew of course, kauto is no price and denman has a donkey to carry on his back)
agusavic
enlightenment
pigoen island

oh please i will settle to break evens:( down 80 at the moment, not the worst but still

Some donkey he must have been carrying:D

Was a nice 2/1 winner for me anyway.

15/03/2008, 7:28 AM
Graham have any tips Gilberto ?

gilberto_eire
16/03/2008, 3:08 PM
Graham have any tips Gilberto ?

Graham?. Tips?. But Cheltenham is over Terry:confused:

20/03/2008, 7:46 AM
Some donkey he must have been carrying:D