View Full Version : Calling All Irish Fans
BigmanCas
07/03/2008, 9:21 PM
Does any supporter get embarrassed that we sing three songs at games - most notably 'come on you boys in green', 'stand up for the boys in green' and 'we all dream of a team of Gary Breens'. I for one am embarrassed. We are from a land of Ballads and that is the best we can come up with? The Fields of Athenry, Molly Malone are to name a few that are sang occassionally. Please post ideas of songs which can be used to get behind the lads. This is the start of a campagin by myself to improve our vocal support during games - after all, we Irish all love a song - culminating with a phone call to Joe Duffy prior to Trapps first competitive game. I am serious. Our repetoire at games is nothing short of a disgrace.
boovidge
07/03/2008, 10:01 PM
I think lots of people would be against singing Athenry because celtic fans sing it :rolleyes:
08/03/2008, 1:24 AM
I think lots of people would be against singing Athenry because celtic fans sing it :rolleyes:I think Munster fans would be ok with it ;)
cornerflag
08/03/2008, 1:34 AM
yeah id agree we need some more songs. does anyone have phil coulters number?
08/03/2008, 9:40 AM
This one has my 100% backing:
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=885425&postcount=127
Billsthoughts
08/03/2008, 1:32 PM
did look great in that film bout the civil war.
Mayo_Bhoy
08/03/2008, 5:35 PM
This one has my 100% backing:
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=885425&postcount=127
I agree. It's short and everyone knows it, and if they dnt it wont take long to learn. The lyrics could do with a little tweaking perhaps. Also i dont see why The Fields isnt sung more often and i would love to see Molly Malone come back.
And at the risk of reopening old arguements id love to hear Boys of the Old Briade, Sean South et al being sung more often and **** the pc brigade. Most of the sing songs ive herad away from home always used to include these and in fact it was the lads that sing these that usually got the singing started. If the boring daytrippers dont like let them **** off with their ole ole ole's and Ireland's call.
09/03/2008, 1:32 PM
ya sean south is a good ballad alright, good one to join in with.
stojkovic
09/03/2008, 7:46 PM
I dont care what we sing once someone shoots the next cnut who starts a Mexican wave.
09/03/2008, 11:05 PM
id say we have far far more songs than most countrys. the fact that there are so few international matches every year means that its very difficult for new songs to catch on. never heard a team of gary breens actually sung at a match, thank god as its well past its sell by date.
the ajax fans have a song to the tune of the wild rover that sounds pretty good. maybe a few words to that tune could be a runner?
surely a singing section is now long overdue?
boovidge
09/03/2008, 11:33 PM
never heard a team of gary breens actually sung at a match, thank god as its well past its sell by date.
that's why it's so good :D
theworm2345
10/03/2008, 12:31 AM
never heard a team of gary breens actually sung at a match, thank god as its well past its sell by date.
Not if his namesake at Manchester City has anything to say about it :cool:
10/03/2008, 1:38 AM
I agree. It's short and everyone knows it, and if they dnt it wont take long to learn. The lyrics could do with a little tweaking perhaps. Also i dont see why The Fields isnt sung more often and i would love to see Molly Malone come back.
And at the risk of reopening old arguements id love to hear Boys of the Old Briade, Sean South et al being sung more often and **** the pc brigade. Most of the sing songs ive herad away from home always used to include these and in fact it was the lads that sing these that usually got the singing started. If the boring daytrippers dont like let them **** off with their ole ole ole's and Ireland's call.
You're going to football matches not sinn fein funerals, though as a celtic "fan" i'd imagine the distinction is lost on yourself.
I think lots of people would be against singing Athenry because celtic fans sing it :rolleyes:
I'm against singing it cos I hate that feckin song!
I cringe at the "Ohhh baby let the free birds fly" ad lib
10/03/2008, 8:26 AM
Absolutely. I'm also with Gavzacs sentiments. If Mayo-Bhoy want's to sing Republican "Party" songs then I'd suggest to him there are far more appropriate places to do so than an Irish football game. I don't know or give a flying fcuk where those places are just so long as they're far, far away.
boovidge
10/03/2008, 9:03 AM
it's a cheesey ballad, what do you expect? :D
10/03/2008, 9:22 AM
it's a cheesey ballad, what do you expect? :D
Personally I hate the song, but could be tempted with new words to the chorus like;
Blow dry, the hair on Stephen Ireland's head
where once a little bald patch did shine
(Yes, Stephen, it sure did shine)
Alone down the wing, he has dreams and songs to sing
I look such a prat in that pink car of mine
BigmanCas
10/03/2008, 9:49 AM
Rubbish. It is a great motivational song and one everyone can sing. It is a ballad associated with the Irish throughout the world - it is that inspirational the Kop have adjusted it and adopted it as one of their own. Lets waken up and sing songs that get behind the team. I have a feeling that the Dubs are not happy singing such culchie songs and that is a major reason why we are continuously reduced to stupid chants of 'come on you boys in green' between mexican waves. We need an 12th man now more than ever to get us to South Africa.
boovidge
10/03/2008, 10:05 AM
i'm all for singing it, anything instead of "ireland *clap clap clap*" over and over again. Do Irish fans not realise everyone else stopped doing mexican waves years ago? :o
nice work superhoops :D
10/03/2008, 10:08 AM
Rubbish. It is a great motivational song and one everyone can sing. It is a ballad associated with the Irish throughout the world - it is that inspirational the Kop have adjusted it and adopted it as one of their own. Lets waken up and sing songs that get behind the team. I have a feeling that the Dubs are not happy singing such culchie songs and that is a major reason why we are continuously reduced to stupid chants of 'come on you boys in green' between mexican waves. We need an 12th man now more than ever to get us to South Africa.
could well be some truth in that alright BMC
10/03/2008, 10:32 AM
that's why it's so good :D
its good when singing it with 10 pints inside you in the main square in stuttgart. is complete tack if sung at a match
BigmanCas
10/03/2008, 11:18 AM
its good when singing it with 10 pints inside you in the main square in stuttgart. is complete tack if sung at a match
Are you ' a come on u boys in green' fan? Please offer an alternative - if it is good enough to be sung in the main square in stuttgart then it is good enough to be sung during a game.
Greenforever
10/03/2008, 11:31 AM
I couldn't agree more and likewise "you'll never walk alone" is another motivational one if only we could create our own version,
walk on with Trap on our team
you'll never walk alone,
jmurphyc
10/03/2008, 11:38 AM
I couldn't agree more and likewise "you'll never walk alone" is another motivational one if only we could create our own version,
walk on with Trap on our team
you'll never walk alone,
Whilst I agree that it is a great football anthem and would certainly help create a great atmosphere at games, that song is clearly someone elses trademark song. I don't see a harm in ripping off other team's songs, but just not one with so much history as that. Surely we have the ability to come up our own songs at games?
theworm2345
10/03/2008, 11:39 AM
Come on now, the Mexican wave is still great in a boring 0 - 0 friendly.
RogerMilla
10/03/2008, 11:51 AM
more mexican waves
BigmanCas
10/03/2008, 11:55 AM
more mexican waves
ban the mexican wave. i say ban it!
10/03/2008, 12:06 PM
Are you ' a come on u boys in green' fan? Please offer an alternative - if it is good enough to be sung in the main square in stuttgart then it is good enough to be sung during a game.
what relevance has it got to todays team? it is cringeing
and actually yes i am a come on you boys in green fan. one of my best ever following Ireland memories is the 10 mins before the teams came out in anfield 95 when it was belted out and just got louder and louder every time. that was real support in those days
janeymac
10/03/2008, 12:17 PM
What about "Stand Up and Fight" - very appropriate with an Italian manager who likes opera - Toreador's (sp?) Song!
Its also the official song of the Munster Rugby team, played at the start of matches, but its usually the chorus that is just sung by the crowd which is:
Stand up and fight until you hear the bell,
Stand toe to toe, trade blow for blow,
Keep punching 'till you make your punches tell,
Show that crowd what you know!
Until you hear that bell, that final bell,
Stand up and fight like hell!"
Here it is recently sung pre-match at game in Thomond Park.
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=27hhHKg8vvs
BigmanCas
10/03/2008, 12:22 PM
and actually yes i am a come on you boys in green fan. one of my best ever following Ireland memories is the 10 mins before the teams came out in anfield 95 when it was belted out and just got louder and louder every time. that was real support in those days
is it cringeing, what is? the fields of athenry? rubbish? if sang in unison - is without peer. come on you boys is not even a song!!! yeah great result in Anfield - 95! well done. so you think that it's fine to sing mainly one song for 90 mins while supporting ireland? I would rather the likes of yourself stayed at home. Well done, you travelled to Liverpool - you are a true supporter. waken up and get a life.
10/03/2008, 12:37 PM
is it cringeing, what is? the fields of athenry? rubbish? if sang in unison - is without peer. come on you boys is not even a song!!! yeah great result in Anfield - 95! well done. so you think that it's fine to sing mainly one song for 90 mins while supporting ireland? I would rather the likes of yourself stayed at home. Well done, you travelled to Liverpool - you are a true supporter. waken up and get a life.
the assumptions you make are hilarious. not looking for a pat on the back for following my country anywhere, especially from you. your lack of experience following our team shines through on your posts here
10/03/2008, 1:50 PM
so you think that it's fine to sing mainly one song for 90 mins while supporting ireland? I would rather the likes of yourself stayed at home. Well done, you travelled to Liverpool - you are a true supporter. waken up and get a life.
Bigmancas, do you not realise how stupid that looks? You're telling somebody to stay at home, telling them to get a life....on the basis on a couple of posts you disagree with.
Bearing in mind this post of yours from another thread -
I am an open and frank person who has no problem listening to and accepting other peoples opinion.
10/03/2008, 2:18 PM
dahamasta should starting chargin for using the forums that BMC posts in, great value for money altogether....:D
That stand up and hell song is terrible, it sounds like someone is taking the ****......dont let that anywhere near landsdowne. I still dont understand why munster fans sing a connaught song either....:rolleyes:
Finally, this site is begining to worry me, I am either getting a link to a gay dating site and now its turned into asian brides :shock: though there is one that says is 47 and she looks about 20.....
BigmanCas
10/03/2008, 2:30 PM
These words are taken out of context. Any suggestions should be welcomed as we attempt to change the way we vocally support our team. jbyrne does not agree that this needs to happen IMO and therefore is an implicit impediment to any passible change (if on the terraces). He might be better off watching it on tv or offering an alternative. I will listen to anyperson - but naysayers? jbyrne is one of those dubs who would be content if we sang nothing or come on you boys in green for 90 mins. - that annoys me. sorry.
Mayo_Bhoy
10/03/2008, 2:31 PM
You're going to football matches not sinn fein funerals, though as a celtic "fan" i'd imagine the distinction is lost on yourself.
For a start im not a Sinn Fein supporter and neither are most Celtic fans that i konw. If you dont wan to hear ballads sung about our histor, fair enough but why bring Celtic into it? Im an irish fan first and foremost but i can tell you the atmosphere around a Celtic match (esp away) is miles ahead of the 'jolly chaps, look at us irish, arent we gas altogether' ****e that you see at Ieland matches.
Mayo_Bhoy
10/03/2008, 2:33 PM
Great atmoephere that night and the rendition of YNWA at the end of that match would send shivers up your spine.
Mayo_Bhoy
10/03/2008, 2:37 PM
Absolutely. I'm also with Gavzacs sentiments. If Mayo-Bhoy want's to sing Republican "Party" songs then I'd suggest to him there are far more appropriate places to do so than an Irish football game. I don't know or give a flying fcuk where those places are just so long as they're far, far away.
I think an Ireland match is the perfect place to sing songs celebrating our history and culture, whether they be republican songs or otherwise. As i said earlier the only fans i regularly see singing usually include these ballads while you have a bunch of bloody johnny come lately's belting out ole ole ole and gary breen etc.
10/03/2008, 2:38 PM
jbyrne is one of those dubs who would be content if we sang nothing or come on you boys in green for 90 mins. - that annoys me. sorry.
Can you please point out a post of his where he says that?
10/03/2008, 2:46 PM
1 + 1 = 3 ;)
10/03/2008, 2:47 PM
I think an Ireland match is the perfect place to sing songs celebrating our history and culture, whether they be republican songs or otherwise. As i said earlier the only fans i regularly see singing usually include these ballads while you have a bunch of bloody johnny come lately's belting out ole ole ole and gary breen etc.
Its a football match. Sing football songs. How in the blue hell does Sean South celebrate our culture? What has some moron getting himself killed bombing a barracks got to do with supporting your football team?
Mayo_Bhoy
10/03/2008, 2:59 PM
Its a football match. Sing football songs. How in the blue hell does Sean South celebrate our culture? What has some moron getting himself killed bombing a barracks got to do with supporting your football team?
Absolutely nothing. But then neither do songs about famine ships or dublin fishmongers. I'm open to any suggestions and i dont mind whatever songs they are as long as fans get involved and sing along. As for the comment about South being a moron, let's not get sidetracked as it's not a polical forum. BTW why did you call me a Celtic "fan"?? Whats the story with the "
BigmanCas
10/03/2008, 3:09 PM
"IMO" and "implicit"
Its a football match. Sing football songs. How in the blue hell does Sean South celebrate our culture? What has some moron getting himself killed bombing a barracks got to do with supporting your football team?Probably the same amount it has to do with supporting the rugby team, or a song about slavery does to supporting the England rugby team.
Incidentally, Sean South was played on the team bus when Jack was in charge, in Mick McCarthy's "Captain Fantastic" he mentions they were asked to turn it down a little when they were driving to Windsor Park.
I suppose you also think we should boo players who play for the wrong British club as opposed to the right one. Th eright one being of course Manutd/Liverpool/Celtic/Rangers/Arsenal/Chelsea/Leeds and the wrong one being Manutd/Liverpool/Celtic/Rangers/Arsenal/Chelsea/Leeds delete as appropriate.
I assume by Republican songs you mean the sectarian filth sung by fans of a certain British club. No thanks we can do without that at our games.
Mayo_Bhoy
10/03/2008, 3:20 PM
I suppose you also think we should boo players who play for the wrong British club as opposed to the right one. Th eright one being of course Manutd/Liverpool/Celtic/Rangers/Arsenal/Chelsea/Leeds and the wrong one being Manutd/Liverpool/Celtic/Rangers/Arsenal/Chelsea/Leeds delete as appropriate.
I assume by Republican songs you mean the sectarian filth sung by fans of a certain British club. No thanks we can do without that at our games.
No i dont think we should boo players on the basis of their club. Where did i say that???
And no i dont mean sectarian filth. You make a lot of assumptions dont you?
What sectarian songs did i mention???
Which British clu are you referring to?? Rangers???
gilberto_eire
10/03/2008, 3:40 PM
i'm all for singing it, anything instead of "ireland *clap clap clap*" over and over again. Do Irish fans not realise everyone else stopped doing mexican waves years ago? :o
nice work superhoops :D
Its the kids. For some reason the corner of the hogan(?) seems to be full of kids. I was close enough to that corner for the Brazil game and it looked like it was hundreds of kids there(maybe FAI organising school tickets?)
10/03/2008, 3:54 PM
here is a song that isnt ireland related, but we could use it:
Inert flesh
A bloody tomb
A decorated splatter brightens the room
An execution a sadist ritual
Mad intervals of mind residuals
It would get the scheisers up the oppossition anyhow!
10/03/2008, 4:06 PM
here is a song that isnt ireland related, but we could use it:
Inert flesh
A bloody tomb
A decorated splatter brightens the room
An execution a sadist ritual
Mad intervals of mind residuals
It would get the scheisers up the oppossition anyhow!
Carcass?
I'm not googling as that's for know it alls who don't actually know it all and had to google it. :cool:
I think an Ireland match is the perfect place to sing songs celebrating our history and culture, whether they be republican songs or otherwise. ...really? So you wouldn't have a problem with 'Dollys Brae' or 'Here Lies a Soldier' then I take it?
Mayo_Bhoy
10/03/2008, 5:08 PM
Carcass?
...really? So you wouldn't have a problem with 'Dollys Brae' or 'Here Lies a Soldier' then I take it?
Ok ok ok...i get the meassage. You start off singing those and see how long you'll last:D
Fair point though. Ya got me!:o
Newryrep
10/03/2008, 5:35 PM
Can we all agree on a concerted effort to get 'The One road' going for the Serbia game ? - it will increase our reportoire by 50 %