View Full Version : Cheltenham 2008

06/03/2008, 2:32 PM
It's that time again. I haven't had my eye on things much over the last 6 months so I'll be watching more than I'll be betting this time around rather than lump on without educating myself.

Really looking forward to the Kauto Star v Denman dual. Kauto Star all the way for me unless it gets too soft. I've been told to consider Drive On Regardless and Natiain as decent outsiders but I haven't spoken to any of my friends that are more knowledgable than me about anything else yet.

So what horses are you recommending or do what horses are your best bets?

06/03/2008, 5:38 PM
Weather forecast is for it to be very wet from Saturday onwards so we might get the first easy ground festival in a while so I'm going to hold fire til I see what the going is like.

06/03/2008, 5:58 PM
I had the time of my life there last year, especially when Pedrobob came in at 16s EW in the last on Gold Cup day. The back pain I'd been feeling all day mysteriously disappeared in the face of four hundred notes stuffed in my top pocket! :D

Cheltenham is quite simply the best racecourse I've been to on these islands, both for the view and the atmosphere. I'd heartily recommend the Festival to anyone that can make it this time around.

:ball: PP

beautifulrock
06/03/2008, 9:33 PM
Cheltenham is quite simply the best racecourse I've been to on these islands, both for the view and the atmosphere. I'd heartily recommend the Festival to anyone that can make it this time around.

:ball: PP

true, the roar for the first race on day one is amazing. Although I have to say I nearly froze to death four years ago, it is some wind that comes off the Mendip Hills.

06/03/2008, 9:54 PM
Great place-wish I was going:(, TV will have to do-I can feel a few days sickness coming on for new week starting about Tuesday morning:D

shedite
07/03/2008, 4:04 PM
I've heard Kicking King is a good each way bet?

Not a big horses fan tho.

highlight100
08/03/2008, 12:33 AM
Kicking King might of been a good ew bet had he not been withdrawn a couple of days ago.

My banker of the festival has to be Noland in the Arkle.
Best each way bet might be Kicks for Free in the Coral. Has been backed from 20's into 12/1.

08/03/2008, 1:57 AM
Forpadydeplasterer in the Ballymore on Wednesday
Cousin Vinny in the Bumper on Wednesday
Agus a Vic in the Foxhunters on Friday

10/03/2008, 10:10 AM
Small priced, but I think a 'sure thing' double for the meeting are Kauto Star and Inglis Drever. 3/1 the double, but both horses are head and shoulders above everything else they are up against. So, I'm investing my whole Cheltenham budget of €200 on this double, as the rest of the card looks too bloody hard for me.

10/03/2008, 11:23 AM
Frankchoek seems to be a banker too in alot of peoples eyes. One more for a nice Lucky 15??

beautifulrock
10/03/2008, 12:50 PM
All the rain in the West of England will have on impact on the going. It is hard enough to get up that hill at the best of times if the going is heavy then do not be surprised to see a few of the favourites struggle. I dont know enough to be aware of any horses that heavy ground suits so will just watch the movement in the bookies. Wunderkid is my nap for what its worth.

10/03/2008, 5:04 PM
sorry forgot about the betting page!

Seagull-4-life
10/03/2008, 7:02 PM
I hate horseracing. No offence like just don't see the attraction

Clifford
11/03/2008, 10:24 AM
Couple of outsider/ew thoughts for today's racing, like drinkfeck above I've not had much time for it this year, but am always excited by the week of racing that we enjoy. I will be going again next year after a 3 year absence. Hadn't missed one for ten years before that. What a week, the roar for the first race is so special, one of the greatest sporting moments in the world.

2.00 Snap Tie (16/1)
2.35 Ring The Boss (10/1)
3.15 Ebaziyan (28/1)
4.40 Ivoire De Beaulieu (14/1)
5.20 Grand Schlem (10/1)

11/03/2008, 1:13 PM
I know **** all about racing but just got Captain Cee Bee E/W and Binocular as part of the Place Pot so good start.

Thanks to Ted Walsh and the guy in the BBC for that one.

Sligo Hornet
11/03/2008, 1:20 PM
I know **** all about racing but just got Captain Cee Bee E/W and Binocular as part of the Place Pot so good start.

Thanks to Ted Walsh and the guy in the BBC for that one.

.....or football, as some would contend on this forum:D

11/03/2008, 1:21 PM
feck them, I had a €1 ew accumulator done for the craic, I figured its worth a go, last time I done one i missed out on the last 2 races both finishing one place out :mad:

I have today:

2:00 - Rippling Ring (well thats fecked now anyways) :o
2:35 - Noland
3:15 - Sublimity (for value)
4:00 - Monkerhostin
4:40 - Royal Auclair
5:20 - Ashkazar

Ive a few quid on Sizing Europe to win at 3:15.

11/03/2008, 1:45 PM
.....or football, as some would contend on this forum:D

Ha ha, yeah, they are probably right about that, but anyway Noland has kept my placepot going too. Its great to be off sick ha ha !!!

Sligo Hornet
11/03/2008, 1:51 PM
Ha ha, yeah, they are probably right about that, but anyway Noland has kept my placepot going too. Its great to be off sick ha ha !!!

.......lazy git!;)

EAFC_rdfl
11/03/2008, 2:36 PM
Ive a few quid on Sizing Europe to win at 3:15.

katch it each way, sweet! only listened to the race but sounds like the favourite struggled?

11/03/2008, 2:40 PM
yeah i had katchit too delightd, down about 50 after the first two, cork all star and noland, never again, but im back on top now, might get on an accordian next.

11/03/2008, 3:02 PM
Only thing I've had so far was Punjabi e/w and that was thanks to my buddy. Haven't bet big today though so won't be bad either way even if my final 2 of Ofarel D'airy and River Liane don't come in.

11/03/2008, 3:09 PM
yeah i had katchit too delightd, down about 50 after the first two, cork all star and noland, never again, but im back on top now, might get on an accordian next.
oh yeah!!

11/03/2008, 5:01 PM
Glad I bailed out after the first race.

Rovers fan
11/03/2008, 5:40 PM

Wish I did the same!

11/03/2008, 6:57 PM
first time ever i bailed out on a high, i think im maturing!!

DIFChick
12/03/2008, 8:21 AM
My tip for tomorrow/Friday seeing as today's races are cancelled.

Ballymore Property Novice Hurdle: Trafford Lad. A good friend of mine is one of the owners. Great jumper and can handle both soft and hard ground. I'm backing "Traff" e/w.

12/03/2008, 9:24 AM
Off today. You'd have been as well sticking a pin in the paper yesterday and going with the horse it stuck in the way things were going yesterday.

12/03/2008, 9:58 AM
I'm up €8 and gutted that Day 2 is cancelled but that only means that there is extra racing on tomorrow and Friday so i'm happy.

beautifulrock
12/03/2008, 10:58 AM
First day in a while that I wont have lost money at Chelt so I am happy :)

gilberto_eire
12/03/2008, 1:57 PM

Nobosy have any luck yesterday:confused:... I had 3 winners, An Accordion, Gran Charda(Nina Carberrry's one) and Tidal Bay. Was going to back Katchit too until i saw him jump from 8's to 11's in one go, went with Harchibald then!!:mad:

Rovers fan
12/03/2008, 3:55 PM
Nobosy have any luck yesterday:confused:... I had 3 winners, An Accordion, Gran Charda(Nina Carberrry's one) and Tidal Bay. Was going to back Katchit too until i saw him jump from 8's to 11's in one go, went with Harchibald then!!:mad:

I find at cheltnam you should always trust your instinct and don't mind betting on a horse who is drifting. Why i betted on lounaos instead of katchit last year i still dont know and i would have betted on an accordion yesterday but he started to drift,never again!

12/03/2008, 3:55 PM
I actually did An Accordian to beat Abragante in the free forecast in the Irish Examiner and Abragante was with him right up to the line but fell away. I would have made a mint if that one came in.

12/03/2008, 10:10 PM

I did I won the first race with and each way bet and then bailed out and did not bet for the rest of the day.

12/03/2008, 10:11 PM
I find at cheltnam you should always trust your instinct and don't mind betting on a horse who is drifting. Why i betted on lounaos instead of katchit last year i still dont know and i would have betted on an accordion yesterday but he started to drift,never again!

Yeah you are right, I think Captain Cee Bee was drifting too because of the ground but he was still the best horse in the race.

13/03/2008, 4:27 PM
I had a bad day today. Not a sniff of a winner.

Rovers fan
13/03/2008, 5:20 PM
What a disastrous cheltnam for me,still no winners and loads of my friends who know nothing about racing(im not an expert but I know a wee bit) have had winners. Ah well there's always tomorrow!!

13/03/2008, 6:16 PM
The best thing to do for the gold cup tomorrow would be to back some hose each way because Kauto Star is gonna be locked down at evens and Denman won't win and will be too low for an each way. I'd say Exotic Dancer and Racing Demon would be the best shouts for each way.
I really hope Kauto Stars odds move up.

14/03/2008, 10:08 AM
2 small double's today and that's it. Haven't betted as much on Cheltenham this year as I have in others but I haven't had a sniff of any winners and typically when I've shortlisted some horse I've discarded the eventual winner and went for the loser. None more so than yesterday when I went for Zaarito instead of Cousin Vinny.

Anyway...

Fiveforthree 7/1 1.05 & Five Dream 8/1 2.15 double.

Fiveforthree 7/1 1.05 & Franchoek 6/4 2.15 double.

That's all I'm doing!

14/03/2008, 12:39 PM
2 small double's today and that's it. Haven't betted as much on Cheltenham this year as I have in others but I haven't had a sniff of any winners and typically when I've shortlisted some horse I've discarded the eventual winner and went for the loser. None more so than yesterday when I went for Zaarito instead of Cousin Vinny.

Anyway...

Fiveforthree 7/1 1.05 & Five Dream 8/1 2.15 double.

Fiveforthree 7/1 1.05 & Franchoek 6/4 2.15 double.

That's all I'm doing!

one down, good luck.

14/03/2008, 12:48 PM

I had Master Minded to win and Kazal each way so not too bad a day for me, ended up doublin my money anyway. Thought Kazal was going to make me a lot more money though coming up to the 2nd last fence but he just didn't have the pace

14/03/2008, 12:52 PM
For some reason I have at least one horse going in every race except for the 12.30.

14/03/2008, 1:26 PM
one down, good luck.

Cheers. Sums up my week though. I find one winner at 7/1 but only do him in a double and then one of the bankers of the meeting lets me down with it!!

14/03/2008, 2:05 PM
Cheers. Sums up my week though. I find one winner at 7/1 but only do him in a double and then one of the bankers of the meeting lets me down with it!!

I had Franchoek aswell. I thought McCoy let him go too early. He was knackered by the time he got to the top of the hill.
McCoy is having a bad day. He didn't give Gone to Lunch a good run at all. I had him in a double with Naiad Du Misselot who won the 1.40. I'm really not happy with McCoy.

Rovers fan
14/03/2008, 4:20 PM
typically when I've shortlisted some horse I've discarded the eventual winner and went for the loser.

I know the feeling well! Its so frustrating.
My only winner of the festival was naiad du misselot,finished well down,ah well!

14/03/2008, 4:41 PM
I would have won money if it wasn't for Tony McCoy. The b0llocks wrecked my afternoon.

AT THE END OF CHELTENHAM 2008 I'M DOWN €42. Which isn't too bad I suppose.

14/03/2008, 4:44 PM
im up 128, love it!!

Rovers fan
14/03/2008, 6:10 PM
down 70ish

14/03/2008, 6:32 PM
One bet, one win.

Get in!

onceahoop
15/03/2008, 10:16 AM
Flew over for the day on Tuesday. Backed Captain Cee Bee (12/1), Grande Champetre 9/2 an each way on New Alco. Was going to back Tidal Bay but didn't have a bet in the race. Sublimity let me down for multiple place pots and quad pot. Four bets Thursady, no luck, but Denman and an each way on Junior did the business yesterday. Ahead for the week after all expenses covered.