View Full Version : Famous Relations

deecay
05/03/2008, 9:05 PM
My second cousin is Martin Mc Donagh,in March 2006 he won an Academy Award for Best Live Action Short Film for Six Shooter, a film he wrote and directed.Hes the director of 'In Bruges' which stars Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson.He recently told Sean Connery to **** off when Connery confronted him about not standing for the Queen at a celeb dinner thing in London.

Half of Sligo are allegedly realated to Ronan O Gara,his granny lives in Sligo

05/03/2008, 9:09 PM
Have you ever met him? Nope. Does he even know you exist?:p

05/03/2008, 9:10 PM
i believe i take the biscuit for this one ;) im so class amnt i!!

deecay
05/03/2008, 9:17 PM
Have you ever met him? Nope. Does he even know you exist?:p
Never met him,didnt know about him till last year

I new this would come up

theworm2345
05/03/2008, 9:37 PM
Apparently I'm distantly related to people who make Seagram's Liquor, at least thats what my mom's mom (aka my grandma) says

05/03/2008, 9:49 PM
Half of Sligo are allegedly realated to Ronan O Gara,his granny lives in Sligo

That would make half of Sligo related to each other :eek: ...and you said it not me.

Peig Sayers was a cousin of my Gran.

05/03/2008, 9:53 PM
Angelina Jolie is pregnant with my child, that would make me related to someone famous. My therapist said to get over it, but its hard to move on when I know she only used me for my sunning good looks, well toned body and high sperm count. Life's so tough.
I have nothing to do with Kerry Katona though, if you read anything in the papers just ignore it.

05/03/2008, 9:54 PM
Niall Quinn is my granaunts son or something like that, met him once at a family shindig in Tipperary, nice guy

05/03/2008, 9:57 PM
i would get in trouble if i were to divulge who mine are.

05/03/2008, 9:59 PM

Are they Yardies?

05/03/2008, 10:01 PM
No, Westies. Westie Roscommon's.

05/03/2008, 11:12 PM
My aunt did a bit of research into our family tree, and found the name "Switzer" pretty far back. She says they are the Switzers of Switzerland, but I've no idea if she's joking or not.

placid casual
06/03/2008, 8:51 AM

are you related to "utility player" john o'shea?

06/03/2008, 9:48 AM
My great grandfather was the first kerry captain to win the all-ireland.
A cousin of mine is Jessica Harrington.

shedite
06/03/2008, 11:43 AM
My great grandfather was the first kerry captain to win the all-ireland.
A cousin of mine is Jessica Harrington.

A hurler?

06/03/2008, 12:09 PM
A hurler?

Nah the other one, if it was that other game I'd have said "a All-Ireland", but seeing as it was the game we give a toss about I said "the All-Ireland" .

06/03/2008, 12:26 PM
He recently told Sean Connery to **** off when Connery confronted him about not standing for the Queen at a celeb dinner thing in London.

If that's true then, respect. I salute him. Would have had Connery down as a Royalist though. thought he was a Scots nationalist.

biscuit
06/03/2008, 7:38 PM

dont be bringing me into this one feo...your not taking me anywhere!!:D

06/03/2008, 8:31 PM

I am going to guess Kevin Kilbane.

06/03/2008, 8:36 PM
dont be bringing me into this one feo...your not taking me anywhere!!:D

i'll buy you something nice if you come!! please?

Wangball
06/03/2008, 9:34 PM
John Devine formerly of Arsenal is a relative of mine not quite sure he's famous enough though

Have had a few run ins with famous people though, I'm quite possibly the only person whose been threatend with the Garda by both Twink & Mark Kennedy

06/03/2008, 9:47 PM
John Devine formerly of Arsenal is a relative of mine not quite sure he's famous enough though

Have had a few run ins with famous people though, I'm quite possibly the only person whose been threatend with the Garda by both Twink & Mark Kennedy

A mate of mine was in the orchard inn, Letterkenny one night, we met Packie Bonner at the bar and he went up and offered to buy Packie a pint, when he handed him the pint he said to Packie "its not a football so I reckon ya won't drop this" Fair to say he wasn't Packies favourite person that night.

Bondvillain
06/03/2008, 9:55 PM
My second cousin is Martin Mc Donagh,in March 2006 he won an Academy Award (......) He recently told Sean Connery to **** off when Connery confronted him about not standing for the Queen at a celeb dinner thing in London.

Not all that recently. It occurred (According to McDonagh) at a theatre function with his brother back in 2000.

He was, by his own admission , locked drunk on Vodka, and was already living up to the drunk ignorant Irish sterotype before the incident occurred. He had no idea who it was that was telling him to stand for a toast. He Did tell the interloper (Connery) to F*** off, but seemingly apologised afterwards because his mammy read the story in the papers and made him.

He stated that she still didnt speak to him for years afterwards because of the embarrassment he caused.

The story has ressurected because, coincidentally, He's launching a film in America about Hard drinking , foul mouthed Irishmen with hearts of gold, and it's a great icebreaker for the press release so the reporters from The Chicken Neck, Iowa gazette (who dont know nor care about his distinguished theatre career) can as him about his "confrontation" with James bond, with a background of being drunk, & the whole 800 years of opression thing.

(In Bruges is bloody good, mind you. As was Six Shooter.)

Rovers fan
06/03/2008, 9:55 PM
kate nash. met her a good few times.

Soper
06/03/2008, 9:59 PM

Hook a fellow Rovers fan up!

06/03/2008, 10:00 PM

I'm related to THE Conor O Grady.

And the fat janitor that used to be in Friends.

06/03/2008, 10:16 PM
I am going to guess Kevin Kilbane.

My guess is Kevin Nolan!
Or maybe some of the Rossi footballers caught playing naked pool
Frankie Dolan/Stephen Lohan/Nigel Dineen?

Or maybe Percy French or Albert Reynolds?

Blue Man
06/03/2008, 10:52 PM
Barney Rock the Dublin GAA player is an uncle of mine. Graham Gartland of Drogheda is my cousin.

deecay
06/03/2008, 11:18 PM
And the fat janitor that used to be in Friends.
**** off,really?

07/03/2008, 10:55 AM

Does she talk the way she sings? Accent wise?

noby
07/03/2008, 11:12 AM
i'll buy you something nice if you come!! please?

Ooh Matron!

07/03/2008, 11:14 AM
One of my uncles was a ceo of Independent Newspapers i think it was , thats about it

07/03/2008, 11:20 AM
My dad's great uncle something McMillan or McMullan played for Celtic in the late 20's early thirties. also my cousins husband is a Director of the club.

07/03/2008, 11:39 AM
Niall Quinn is my granaunts son or something like that, met him once at a family shindig in Tipperary, nice guy

suddenly it all makes sense

07/03/2008, 12:48 PM
suddenly it all makes sense

What does? My awesomeness? :)

07/03/2008, 1:50 PM
Brian O'Driscoll is a distant cousin of mine, I think Bertie Ahern might be as well, although I might be imagining that.

John Cotter, formerly of Cork City, is my second cousin.

07/03/2008, 1:52 PM
Does playing for Wexford Youths mean your famous? That's about as famous as it gets with my relations!

citizenerased
07/03/2008, 2:34 PM
my auld lads cousin is married to chippy brady...

07/03/2008, 5:02 PM
My dad was allegedly a distant cousin of Joe Dolan. I used to get a lot of questions asking was I related to Frank Stapleton (my surname). No such luck.

07/03/2008, 11:30 PM
My dad was allegedly a distant cousin of Joe Dolan. I used to get a lot of questions asking was I related to Frank Stapleton (my surname). No such luck.
Hold on...does that make you related to the other Stapelton that supports Longford...

08/03/2008, 2:18 AM
Hold on...does that make you related to the other Stapelton that supports Longford...

Funnily enough....

gilberto_eire
08/03/2008, 10:49 AM
Graham Lee(Hunt Jockey) is a 2nd cousin of mine, same as Dean Mernagh(lower end flat rider over in england) but thats through the same connection there 1st cousins!!

08/03/2008, 11:52 AM
Knew i was forgetting something, Dick Spring is a 2nd cousin of mine.

Thunderblaster
08/03/2008, 7:52 PM
I'd be a cousin of Pat Duffy, the Eircom U.21 League Development Officer and, supposedly, to Tommy Dowd, ex-Meath.

Rovers fan
09/03/2008, 8:21 PM
Brian O'Driscoll is a distant cousin of mine,

that means you might be related to midgit(was banned from this forum) as he is dricos second cousin.

On the rugby note one of my cousins is a model and is married to malcolm O'kelly,

09/03/2008, 8:36 PM
Barney Rock the Dublin GAA player is an uncle of mine. Graham Gartland of Drogheda is my cousin.

Pretty sure our family are relations of both Barney and Dickie Rock.

Great Uncle (who I'm named after) played Senior GAA Football for Roscommon back in the 1950s

09/03/2008, 9:12 PM
there are a load of rocks up around roscommon town, still involved with the county board.

09/03/2008, 9:23 PM
Jack the Ripper, Hitler, Stalin, Ghengis Khan, Imran Khan, Jim Bowen, Samantha Fox, Julius Caesar, Cliff Morgan.

eamo1
09/03/2008, 9:32 PM
we have the same surname too and when he scored a goal at the 2002 world cup ppl started buying me pints.they didnt believe me when i kept claiming he is related,it was just because of the same surname that ppl who knew me kept buying me pints.oh i tell ye,it was truly awfull, i had to sit there and accept free pints;).

09/03/2008, 9:40 PM
we have the same surname too and when he scored a goal at the 2002 world cup ppl started buying me pints.they didnt believe me when i kept claiming he is related,it was just because of the same surname that ppl who knew me kept buying me pints.oh i tell ye,it was truly awfull, i had to sit there and accept free pints;).

What pub was that? I'm going to go there the next time Who Framed Roger Rabbit is on TV.