View Full Version : Gufc V Bohs
Tir Oilean
03/03/2008, 12:13 PM
Right lets all have a stab in the dark and predict the result on Friday night!
Being optimistic for the start of the season Im going with a score draw 1-1 :p
Claret Murph
03/03/2008, 12:41 PM
Yer I going for 1-1 too with Leach to score for us in the second half .
03/03/2008, 12:55 PM
2-0 Leech & O'Flynn.I have never seen a gufc team fitter heading into their first game.
Tir Oilean
03/03/2008, 1:14 PM
2-0 Leech & O'Flynn.I have never seen a gufc team fitter heading into their first game.
Que abuse from any of a number of posters re the maroon tintedess of this post:D:D
At least there are a few supporters with a positive mental attitude!:)
WoodquayBoy
03/03/2008, 1:20 PM
Going for a cracker of a game, 2-2, Leech to score twice for us, Crowe's big backside and Jason Byrne's pointy head to get the goals for De Boaz
cant wait,i dont think there will be a colllaspe like the first game last season vrs Sligo.that was our first game back in the top division and this year we have a far superior squad too.
bohs are my faves for the title but the first week of the season always throws up a weird result or 2 so im going for 1-0 to us.
oh man,i cant wait:D.
hope Im wrong but i will go for a very defensive 0-0 draw with both teams more worried about conceeding one rather than scoring one.
Autographed Galway Utd Jersey on offer
CYSTIC FIBROSIS BENEFIT SUNDAY 9 MARCH 2008
TOSH BAR, MEYRICK HOTEL, GALWAY IRELAND 8PM
DJ'S AND SPORTS AUCTION
bidding accepted prior to the event. the auction items include autographed jerseys from
Galway United FC
Connacht Rugby
Galway GAA Hurlers
Dublin GAA
Signed printed photgraph
Liverpool FC
Championship Dartboard from Elverys,
Rugby Ball & Cap from Lifestyle,
Bodybuilding Trophy from Mike Sheehan
Caminos de Tango dance classes.
with more items to follow.
what the f*** is all this about?
JC_GUFC
03/03/2008, 7:30 PM
I'll go for a 1-1 draw a leech to score for both sides! ;)
GuisaSaigon
04/03/2008, 9:31 AM
Tough start, I'd be happy to avoid defeat.
Con-Con
04/03/2008, 5:53 PM
2-1 Galway. Leech and Glynn.
KoemansCC
05/03/2008, 4:34 AM
Feck it, first game of the season and optimism* is high 3-1 home win...
*We can't be letting gufct have the optimistic monopoly around the club (2-0 win pessimist)...:cool:
corbyeire
05/03/2008, 12:53 PM
draw i reckon
pixiehead
05/03/2008, 1:16 PM
Greetings from Vietnam. Hello to Ronan,Wille, Caz, Conor,Kenny Chris and all the Crew. Seriously ****ed that i wont be round this season but keep the flags flying and the drums pumping. Id say 1-0 for us. Havent seen Leech but he sounds good and should do the Buissness. Met Derek Glynns Cousin in a Bar in Hanoi Last night so that tells me you just never know!!!!! Ya 1-0 so . Good Luck Friday Nite everyone!
Mark :)
niallsparky
05/03/2008, 2:15 PM
I think that a draw is likely.
GuisaSaigon
05/03/2008, 7:39 PM
Greetings from Vietnam. Hello to Ronan,Wille, Caz, Conor,Kenny Chris and all the Crew. Seriously ****ed that i wont be round this season but keep the flags flying and the drums pumping. Id say 1-0 for us. Havent seen Leech but he sounds good and should do the Buissness. Met Derek Glynns Cousin in a Bar in Hanoi Last night so that tells me you just never know!!!!! Ya 1-0 so . Good Luck Friday Nite everyone!
Mark :)
Pixiehead call into Lucky Cafe on De Tham St in Saigon if you are heading that way. My GUFC scarf should be hanging above the door. Takay the owner will down a bottle of vodka with you if you're lucky.
pixiehead
06/03/2008, 1:00 PM
Pixiehead call into Lucky Cafe on De Tham St in Saigon if you are heading that way. My GUFC scarf should be hanging above the door. Takay the owner will down a bottle of vodka with you if you're lucky.
Cheers GS will do. Ill stick on my Jersey and take look all right. Be there Monday. Thanks
going for Rodgers
Reggie Fitz Charles Mc.Cullough
O'Shea Deegan Foley O.Brien
Leech Glynn.
bench:Rouuse,Russell,Oflynn,Robson,
i hope fitzgerald plays,heard he might be injured.if he doesnt then thats our 2 first choice C.B's out along with Keane,not good,especially against Crowe and Byrne.
WoodquayBoy
06/03/2008, 1:44 PM
i hope fitzgerald plays,heard he might be injured.if he doesnt then thats our 2 first choice C.B's out
who is the other centre back out??
Johnny Lester is not out his suspension doesnt start till the fourth game (ask the FAI) and Alan Keane is back in full training. Fitzy was on the Teamsheet for the Athlone game but was rested as a precaution so he might also be ok.Ollie Fenn will be a definite for the 16 and could start.
WoodquayBoy
06/03/2008, 2:07 PM
If Eamon is suggesting Lester is the other one missing, then gufct is correct, Lester not out until 4th game according to suspension list on main forum
eamo1
06/03/2008, 11:39 PM
i did think it was lester whos suspended so thanks for the info.with those 2 and alan back we will our best defense out tomorrow night against a half fit byrne and half ton crowe:D.
MyTown
07/03/2008, 10:01 AM
On the predictions thread for our game tonight we have 78 posters with 7 predicting a win for us. Of those 7, 4 are from our own supporters.
On the attendances thread we are being slaughtered before a ball is kicked for inflating the numbers.
And on the relegation thread the usual suspects are hoping we’ll be relegated while many of those who like to think they’re objective are confident we’ll go.
The Irish Independent predicts we’ll finish exactly where we did at the end of last season.
And let’s give an honourable mention to our own loyal :rolleyes: posters who see no contradiction between sporting a Galway avatar and cutting the club off at the knees at almost every available opportunity.
Conclusion?
It appears we might be up against it.:)
So Best of Luck tonight lads. Hope you get off to a great start and that the fantastic work done by the officers and hard working volunteers of the club is matched by the effort and the Good Luck required to make it a successful season. Whatever that means.
Tir Oilean
07/03/2008, 10:23 AM
That bitching about over inflating our attendance really bugs me. Its quite funny that the ppl doing it are ppl who were not next nor near the ground (so I fail to see what qualifies them to comment on the subject). However I am fast learning to ignore the ignorance of these begrudgers. This year its all electroic so how more official can you get!
geezer
07/03/2008, 10:48 AM
a real air of expectation this morning. There is no feeling like this mornings feeling and the optimism that hit me when i stuck a leg out of the bed this morning. Roll on 7.45
Claret Murph
07/03/2008, 11:50 AM
a real air of expectation this morning. There is no feeling like this mornings feeling and the optimism that hit me when i stuck a leg out of the bed this morning. Roll on 7.45
Always the same for me at the start of every season thinking this just could be our year .......:):ball::)
Maroon 7
07/03/2008, 11:59 AM
Quoted in the Tribune today as 420 season tickets sold as of this week although they are expecting a last minute rush for more.
O'Flynn out so Leech and Glynn expected to start up front.
gilberto_eire
07/03/2008, 12:11 PM
Quoted in the Tribune today as 420 season tickets sold as of this week although they are expecting a last minute rush for more.
O'Flynn out so Leech and Glynn expected to start up front.
Id say there will be a few last minute buyers... like myself:D
damoGUFC
07/03/2008, 12:15 PM
Im in the same boat as Gilberto!:D Defo getting it tonight.:)
damoGUFC
07/03/2008, 12:27 PM
Looking forward to it now..should be a cracking atmosphere.:D Im goin for a 1-0 win or 2-1 win! either will do me.:) cye all later..
Cant wait now if only the wind and rain would stop its brutal.
07/03/2008, 3:40 PM
Nice & sunny here. :D
I was going to go. One of the reasons I didn't was that I couldn't get any information from your club as to where Bohs fans would be put.
SolitudeRed
07/03/2008, 6:17 PM
As I am staying down in Galway this weekend I Will be at this match tonight with a couple of Galway United supporting friends!!! Hope its a good match!! although they reckon it will be a tough match for United!!
Tir Oilean
07/03/2008, 9:15 PM
Not so happy seen as season ticket holders had to walk to the far end of the car park for access. is that the idea of improving the situation from last year instead of walking three sides of the pitch now we walk the car park and two sides??? I bought a premium ticket that gets me a free cuppa at half time..... i'd prefer to be able to get into the ground without the trek!
Rant over. Very much like last years start, but a good performance nontheless especially facing a team assembled by such wealth.
Paddyfield
07/03/2008, 9:30 PM
Nice & sunny here. :D
I was going to go. One of the reasons I didn't was that I couldn't get any information from your club as to where Bohs fans would be put.
All visiting supporters are accommodated in the 'away' section.
Seperate entrance. Seperate toilets. Seperate hot food stand. Segregated seating. Same as last season.
What were you afraid of?
Paddyfield
07/03/2008, 9:34 PM
Was that the first occassion that a Galway United team didn't have a Galway native starting a game? All 11 players who started in the game v Bohs were non locals.
John Russel flew the local flag when he came on in the 2nd half.
Maroon 7
07/03/2008, 9:44 PM
Well lads a disappointing start to the season considering Bohs were not that good really but still came away with the 3 points. United didn't get going at all in the first 30 minutes and the players didn't wake up until they went a goal down. They were sleepwalking up to then.
United were on top for the remainder of the game but couldn't get that goal. Glynn going closest when he was through on the keeper but sent his shot inches wide of the post.
Reggie at fault for the goal. First rule of defending is never get caught the wrong side of your man and he made a complete hames of dealing with a hopeful Bohs punt up the field. Misjudged the flight of the ball and let Fenn in behind him. Reggie had a shocker actually.
A pain not to take anything from the game but at least they put in an effort in the 2nd half. Signs that it will be another struggle this season though. I'm still raging that they started the game so poorly. First game of the season and at home and they didn't seem up for it.
Tir Oilean
07/03/2008, 9:55 PM
Its frustrating that we dont get out of the blocks quickly. We need to go out not fearing the opposition. As Paddyfield mentioned we had no local influence there tonight as such and I reckon Keano is the man needed to give us a bit of bite in these games.
Square Heir
07/03/2008, 10:21 PM
We weren't overwhelmed, thought bohs looked a good team, I'm just a bit disappointed about the brand of football we played. Very little to lift the crowd. I though, this year, Hoof-ball was going to be a thing of the past but obviously not! Hoofing the ball up to all night Glynn p**sed me off. Hopefully this will improve soon.
07/03/2008, 11:00 PM
The difference between the two teams was too amazing saves by the Bohs keeper the second one was as good as ive seen. Reggi had a very poor game and the goal capped it.
We looked the best team after we went behind but just couldnt take our chances. We will play worse and win this season. After the fortnight i have had you tend to focus on the positives and just realise how lucky we are to be alive .
Low point for me was the bright spark who abused Tony at half time when he was coming off some people never change and everyone around the area couldnt believe how stupid he was.
07/03/2008, 11:09 PM
Fair play for looking on the positive side gufct-good way to be.
Didn't think we deserved anything out of the game myself.Thought bohs were average and we were poor.Didn't start playing till we went a goal behind.:confused:
Russell should have started from the off.Wes and Reggi were very poor but the rest were pretty average themselves.No committment from alot of them either.Also-Why isn't Rogers able to keep the ball in play?
TC stressed all week we were a footballing team.Hopefully one of the days they'll show us when we get the ball back down from the sky.
Overall-Dissapointed.2 years in a row we've been flat on the opening day.I'd also worry about the crowds falling very sharply if we don't start giving them something to shout about.However it was Bohs,a title contender,so it's not a disastrous result.
On a side note..there was alot of clowns throwing objects on the picth tonight.Morons.The Bohs keeper handed something to Alan Kelly.A fine no doubt.
07/03/2008, 11:21 PM
they actually hit one of the Sword Guys as well and were in Section C but when we checked they were gone. If anybody sees things happening like that just point the people out to the nearest steward.
We thought charging kids would stop the messers but they were worse than ever tonight and are a nightmare to handle boys and girls alike.
west awake
08/03/2008, 1:00 AM
lad's i'm watching galway united for years and love 2 see them do well,the performance shown in the 1st half (and lets call a spade a spade and never mind the positives because the only positive was it couldn't get any worse than the 1st half) was possibly the worse performance i've ever witnessed in terryland and that even goes for juvenile games,long ball after long ball,are we not coached 2 play any different,i think these training camps are a waste of time and money cos in fairness you don't have 2 spend a week over in ipswich 2 learn how 2 hoof the ball 50yrds,we already knew how 2 do that from last season,we either have the worst coach in the history of gufc or the worst players cos what people seen 2nite was crap,speaking 2 some people it will be there last appearance in terryland for a while,they feel totally short changed 20euro for a load of dross and you can put as much spin as some of ye like on the performance it was s**t,end off,we had no clue what we were doin,we had no plan b,we had no leaders on our off the pitch bar the fans who are always great in fairness,if this was a team full of galwegians and a galwegian manager some of ye would be alot more critical.always put down our own is the galway mentality,if there's not 1 player in the whole of galway good enough 2 get on that team it's a sad state of affairs for galway soccer!
KoemansCC
08/03/2008, 3:05 AM
On a side note..there was alot of clowns throwing objects on the picth tonight.Morons.The Bohs keeper handed something to Alan Kelly.A fine no doubt.
Didn't see the keeper incident as I was over the far side but there was defo 2 objects thrown from between sections B & C towards the 'incompetent assistant' :cool:, looked like sweets or crumpled papers but couldn't see where they came from as it was packed in the stand. In saying that I didn't see any stewards there for the whole game and it took Willie to point it out to them before they were even aware it had happened..he misses nothing!! I thought stewards were meant to steward the crowd from the front up and not the back down!!
On the game, first 60mins ****e..last 30mins good but only when TC brought on a midfielder who tried to work the ball (Russler), then we actually looked like a decent football team. I thought we were a bit unlucky as we had the best chances overall but the 'hoof ball' mentality is still around and that responsibility rests with the 'management team'...Reggie had an uncharacteristic nightmare and the sooner Keane is back from injury at RB the better...next week I think.
On a lighter note, I had to laugh when I passed the girls in the 'Mercy' school uniforms giving out about all the kids that were let in to the ground and running around the place...'FFS there's kids everywhere'
**EDIT** Thought Glynn played very well, looked v sharp...if he gets the service to feet he'll score goals..
08/03/2008, 10:26 AM
didnt see anything been thrown even though I was in section C, unless it happened towards the end of the match as I ended up leaving early due to the taxi arriving earlier than expected.
Match wise, there was ups and downs but unfortunately more downs. Rogers kicking was the worst Ive seen in years, Regi was simply useless as was Wes. There was hardly 3 passes strung together in the entire match. High balls up to strikers who are a half foot smaller than the oppositions defence is pointless. And finally, I would have started a completely different midfield and repositioned the defence line up at the start of the match and not at half time. Cousins is really to blame for the result last night and not the players, weather, bohs etc.... WAKE UP TONY.
What did stand out most of all last night though was on a positive note, and it was a great display from McCullough, made some great last minute tackles and is by far our fastest player playing across the back four. I think we have finally found our replacement for Quirkey! Also the difference that Russell and Fenn made when they were introduced in the second half, it was then that we started to play football
BandofHorses
08/03/2008, 10:31 AM
lad's i'm watching galway united for years and love 2 see them do well,the performance shown in the 1st half (and lets call a spade a spade and never mind the positives because the only positive was it couldn't get any worse than the 1st half) was possibly the worse performance i've ever witnessed in terryland and that even goes for juvenile games,long ball after long ball,are we not coached 2 play any different,i think these training camps are a waste of time and money cos in fairness you don't have 2 spend a week over in ipswich 2 learn how 2 hoof the ball 50yrds,we already knew how 2 do that from last season,we either have the worst coach in the history of gufc or the worst players cos what people seen 2nite was crap,speaking 2 some people it will be there last appearance in terryland for a while,they feel totally short changed 20euro for a load of dross and you can put as much spin as some of ye like on the performance it was s**t,end off,we had no clue what we were doin,we had no plan b,we had no leaders on our off the pitch bar the fans who are always great in fairness,if this was a team full of galwegians and a galwegian manager some of ye would be alot more critical.always put down our own is the galway mentality,if there's not 1 player in the whole of galway good enough 2 get on that team it's a sad state of affairs for galway soccer!
going to agree with west awake here. first half was truely awful.
i am pretty sure galway played a 4-0-1 formation. the best chance for galway came from a free kick from about 25 yards. they didnt even get into bohs box in the first half.
please someone tell me reggie had an off night?
he doesnt look like a footballer to me at all.
Square Heir
08/03/2008, 10:32 AM
speaking 2 some people it will be there last appearance in terryland for a while,they feel totally short changed 20euro for a load of dross
That's what I'm woried about too. Personally, I'd go to every match in terryland if the utd players were playing with prosthetic limbs and using a semi-conscious chicken as a matchball, but I introduced some work-mates to match night in terryland last night, and it will take a-lot of coaxing to get them down again, purely due to the hoof-ball mentality that was evident for most of the game last night. The frustrating part is that Utd are well able to play nice football when it's part of the plan. I agree with charging €20 - €25 to games, but this will only work if people are seeing some decent football.
Moving Lester back into midfield was a curious decision when the defense looked so settled for the 2nd half of last season with him in it. Wes at right back and regi in the middle meant the team had nothing going forward down the right wing. There was much more balance with regi on the right.
Anyways, roll on Cobh!
gilberto_eire
08/03/2008, 10:37 AM
Deegan had a shocker. I would have NEVER picked the 11 as TC done. Wes was'nt needed to play at all last night, or even a simple swap with Reggi out to RB with Wes in a more natural central role would have been wiser(it happened eventually). Sorry to say it but Lester is not a center-midfield, a more then capable CB but he's not up playing CM in this league. Would have had him in defense instead of Wes and started Robbo or Russell is the middle. Missed the goal but Bohs didnt really create much from what i did see.
Maroon 7
08/03/2008, 11:40 AM
Deegan had a shocker. I would have NEVER picked the 11 as TC done. Wes was'nt needed to play at all last night, or even a simple swap with Reggi out to RB with Wes in a more natural central role would have been wiser(it happened eventually). Sorry to say it but Lester is not a center-midfield, a more then capable CB but he's not up playing CM in this league. Would have had him in defense instead of Wes and started Robbo or Russell is the middle. Missed the goal but Bohs didnt really create much from what i did see.
Bohs created very little really but were fairly solid for the most part and took the one chance they had after Reggie's blunder.
United probably deserved something out of the game on the balance of play but at the end of the day Bohs took their chance and United didn't take theirs.
pixiehead
08/03/2008, 1:43 PM
What sort of crowd was at it lads, about how many ??