View Full Version : Referees!!
drummer boy
03/07/2003, 5:50 PM
Im beginning to get very pi**ed off with the irish referees and lines men and im really starting to believe that we should recruit referees from England because how can a league develop with the officals that we have to deal with, o'neill, mc keon and hancock just to name a few andthere is also a linesman who dissallowed a perfectly good goal for us against shels and allowed a clearly offside goal for shels all in the same match on tuesday, even the newspapers and sports tonight agreed with me. its not the first time something like this has happened and it has mainly against dublin teams that it has. this may sound paranoid but i never seen such bad refeering between 2 dublin teams or 2 country teams. I beginning to think that the FAI send out referees deliberatly to try and give an advantage to the dublin teams and get rid of the country teams.
if you agree or disagree or have noticed this happening please do reply i myself have sent several e-mails to the FAI but for some reason never got a reply. too many times we have been the better team in games but have not got what we deserve because of the officals.:mad:
Originally posted by drummer boy
Im beginning to get very pi**ed off with the irish referees and lines men and im really starting to believe that we should recruit referees from England
That would be a fairly stupid thing to do IMO, referees are never going to get everything right regardless of where they are from. I'm sure fans in England are giving out about their refs just as much.
One ref who should be got rid of is Jim O'Neill, his level of incompetence is astounding!
drummer boy
03/07/2003, 8:56 PM
the standand of refeering in england is a lot lot higher than it is in England. When the conference games are on tele the refs are very good. and i agree i hate o'neill myself but hes not the worst.
ramsie
04/07/2003, 12:10 AM
i agree the refs are a disgrace
i hate Alan Kelly and Eddie Foley they hate Cobh and its fu*king up soccer in this town.
04/07/2003, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by ramsie
i hate Alan Kelly and Eddie Foley they hate Cobh and its fu*king up soccer in this town.
they've f*cked us over too a few times this season already, so its not just ye lot!
Shelsman
04/07/2003, 12:52 PM
Are you seriously trying to tell me that you never got a dodgy decision in your favour?
You may be suprised to hear this but not all clubs get decisions going their own way,unlike the likes of bohs and shels who seem to get a lot of dodgy decisions their way.Is this a coincidence? I ****ing doubht it.
I think the big difference is that we get our dodgy free's in the middle of the park - the bigger clubs (particularly Bohs and Shels) get them in advantageous positions, be that in attack or defense...
05/07/2003, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by Macy
I think the big difference is that we get our dodgy free's in the middle of the park - the bigger clubs (particularly Bohs and Shels) get them in advantageous positions, be that in attack or defense... spot on. of course we've got dodgy decisions but they don't tend to be the crucial ones.
Estar
05/07/2003, 12:38 PM
All I can say is Jim O'Neill, be scared be very scared:D
Hope he's not the ref for the Harps match tonight.:eek:
Originally posted by Shelsman
Are you seriously trying to tell me that you never got a dodgy decision in your favour?
Shelsman, do you seriously think that if it was Longford, Limerick, Cork City players (for instance) who had pushed, shoved and abused the ref the way Shels players did to O'Neill in the Cork game that they would get away with it?
Nothing was done about that, even though it was highlighted on eircom weekly. At least 3 players should have got suspensions over that, but nothing was said or done. Heery, in particular, should have been sent off yet he did not even get a booking.
All teams get home own decisions, but $hels in particular, Scum, Pats and Bohs seem to get far more than non-pale teams.
Originally posted by patsh
Shelsman, do you seriously think that if it was Longford, Limerick, Cork City players (for instance) who had pushed, shoved and abused the ref the way Shels players did to O'Neill in the Cork game that they would get away with it?
Forgot about that myself. Its amazing that Shel$ weren't at the very least sanctioned at club level to their future conduct.
Shelsman
07/07/2003, 12:57 PM
Didn't see this, but if it's true then they should be penalised accordingly. I've no time for that gobsheen Ollie Byrne and his rule bending.
Players should all be treated equally so it does sound as if they should have been dealt with severely ( this would have sent out a clear message to the rest of the league, and even amateur leagues too ).
this may sound paranoid
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
the standand of refeering in england is a lot lot higher than it is in England.
I'm sure fans in England are giving out about their refs just as much.
fans will always complain about the referee no matter where they are from.
And ref's will always stick together and never accept any kind of criticism.... I mean they even tried to justify the appalling decisions down in Longford last week...
well on the Jim O'Neil thing i heard that he got a 1 match ban (not for the first time this season) for his performance in dalymount during the boez v cork city game where he missed a blatant penalty and then ignored / over-ruled his assistant ref who was much closer to the incident and was flagging for it.
even the bohs fans thought twas a peno
Originally posted by Shelsman
Didn't see this, but if it's true then they should be penalised accordingly. I've no time for that gobsheen Ollie Byrne and his rule bending.
Players should all be treated equally so it does sound as if they should have been dealt with severely ( this would have sent out a clear message to the rest of the league, and even amateur leagues too ).
Fair dues, at least 1 $hel$ fan is willing to step out from the club line on an issue.
I don't know if any one players was to blame but the hounding & pushing of the ref by several players shoudl at the very least have resulted in a disciplinary charge against Shelbourne Football Club. Worst thing now is that if other players/clubs copying the action they'll feel hard done by if repromanded.
07/07/2003, 3:22 PM
o'neill is a disgrace,
i saw him threaten CT O'Brien with a yellow card if he didn't give the ball to bray after one of their defenders had cleared it for a throw (as opposed to putting it out because a player was down).
Originally posted by pete
Worst thing now is that if other players/clubs copying the action they'll feel hard done by if repromanded.
well the thing with that situation was that the referee was there and saw what happened and took the action that he felt was appropriate at the time.
whether hes right or not the league cannot say well we don't agree with you on this one and do what they like.
once the referee sees what happens the league cannot step in.
and i doubt that if any player does try anything that he'll feel hard done by if anything does happen.
Real ale Madrid
08/07/2003, 8:33 PM
Things go for and against teams over the course of a season and these things even themselves out. I mean why were Longford reduced to 10 men on sat nite????
Looking forward to the games when we get something off the fookers in yellow, as I struggle to remember a match when the opposition have claimed to be hard done by against us....
09/07/2003, 9:55 AM
To be honest, IMO that sending off was kinda dubious. I thought the longford player lashed out but when seeing the replay it seems not to be the case. If there was anything in it, it only deserved a yellow. The refs reaction was poor i thought.
The Sheliban
09/07/2003, 12:34 PM
Quite amused by the assertation that Shels and Bohs seem to get all the decisions in the serious part of the field!!:p
O'Callaghan throwing himself down in the area to get the penno that incensed Heary [who looks as though he is going to get punished for his protestations, by the way]
Last year, ye got the most ludicrous penalty I've ever seen, when Doherty made what everyone acknowledged was a perfectly good tackle.
In case you hadn't noticed, Shels hardly ever get pennos, but concede plenty.
Yes, we've had some good fortune this season, but we've been screwed too by dodgy sending-offs and pennos. It all evens itself out. Anyone who feels paranoid is only deluding themselves.
Originally posted by Macy
Looking forward to the games when we get something off the fookers in yellow, as I struggle to remember a match when the opposition have claimed to be hard done by against us....
Of course you're going to be hard done by Macy, yer not a Dublin club.
Simple really refs in the eL are bad as it is (Longford fella getting sent off @ the Cross), but then when you have a Dublin ref in a Dublin .v. Non Dublin team it just gets even worse.
Refs get nasty over video row
Thursday July 10th 2003
THE Eircom League's management committee have been asked to examine an incident involving Shelbourne's Owen Heary and referee Jimmy O'Neill in Cork earlier this season.
Television footage showed Heary appearing to push the referee after Cork were awarded a penalty but O'Neill took no action nor did his report refer to the incident.
However, the matter was brought up at a recent meeting of the Eircom League referees and, ref's chief Pat Kelly has since written to the League, enclosing a copy of the match video. "The matter is in the hands of the League," said Kelly.
Meanwhile, Rhona Daly from Roscommon and Imelda O'Hanlon from Limerick are among the nine new members of the referee's panel. O'Hanlon will make her debut this weekend as an assistant at the First Division match between Galway and Monaghan.
EIRCOM LEAGUE: First Division: Limerick v Cobh Ramblers, Pike Rovers, 7.30. Verdict: Home Win. Dublin City v Sligo Rovers, Whitehall, 7.45. Verdict: Home Win. Dundalk v Bray Wanderers, Oriel Pk, 7.45. Verdict: Away Win.
O'Neill is a donkey, expect the Shels player to pay the price for crossing the white line.
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Of course you're going to be hard done by Macy, yer not a Dublin club.
Simple really refs in the eL are bad as it is (Longford fella getting sent off @ the Cross), but then when you have a Dublin ref in a Dublin .v. Non Dublin team it just gets even worse.
Disagree, it's not a Dublin club thing, it's a big club thing - hence we get decisions against us like what happened in Cork..... Bohs, Shels, Pats, Shamrocks, Cork, Derry - all the same.... We only get a level playing field versus the rest.....
el insider
11/07/2003, 3:02 PM
agree with all town fans its longford town versus the referees every game.
11/07/2003, 11:09 PM
Here's a great one for ye. Todays Echo has a report on the Limerick- Cobh game, here's a clip from it:
"The most bizarre yellow card came when Cobh substitute Paul Fenton as about to enter the fray six minutes before the end. Asked by the linesman to show his boots he responded by saying: "They are black for starters." The linesman drew the referee's attention to the reaction and the substitute was shown a yellow card."
:confused: :D :D
Ref, maybe you can help me out with this one?! What the f........
ramsie
12/07/2003, 12:22 PM
if i ever read something sad thats it
Fenton is a legend
Originally posted by Éanna
Here's a great one for ye. Todays Echo has a report on the Limerick- Cobh game, here's a clip from it:
"The most bizarre yellow card came when Cobh substitute Paul Fenton as about to enter the fray six minutes before the end. Asked by the linesman to show his boots he responded by saying: "They are black for starters." The linesman drew the referee's attention to the reaction and the substitute was shown a yellow card."
:confused: :D :D
Ref, maybe you can help me out with this one?! What the f........
thats what the Echo reporter said happened.
and he probably asked the Cobh bench and thats what they said.
anyway, if he just showed the asst ref his boots then there'd have been no problem.
keep smiling Eanna,
sorbothegreek
12/07/2003, 4:26 PM
Insult to injury. Philip Keogh gets a two game ban for his "crazy" reaction.
13/07/2003, 12:55 PM
Originally posted by Ref
thats what the Echo reporter said happened.
and he probably asked the Cobh bench and thats what they said.
anyway, if he just showed the asst ref his boots then there'd have been no problem.
nah, heard this story now from a number of people, one of whom works with the player. Seriously if this is actually true, isn't it more than a bit ridiculous?!
Originally posted by Éanna
nah, heard this story now from a number of people, one of whom works with the player. Seriously if this is actually true, isn't it more than a bit ridiculous?!
Well, the officials are there to keep order and discipline. I mean, you can't have a player refuse to do something as simple as show their boots to a fourth official. Makes a mockery of the fourth official if he lets it go also.
Thinking about this for a minute...
Refs have a very difficult job. They will receive dogs abuse from a given set of fans if a threatening decision is made against them no matter whether it is dubious or not. The Ref has to call it as he or she sees it.
My only worry about referees is that some of them may possibly enjoy, even if they don't realise it, making big decisions, getting involved and making something more of something that doesn't need to be.
I don't mean to argue that referees should keep their whistle in pocket until things get out of hand, i just think that referees should mostly be anonymous. When it gets to the stage (i'm thinking Paul Durkin here) where a referee is repeatedly involved in big incidents that are dubious on his/her part, that's where i worry about a referee.
I haven't really paid massive attention to any eL referee.
Ref, do you know what the fee for a referee in the eL is these days? Are refs full time/part time or both?
The last thing i'll say is that it must be a right balls being a ref. When is the last time you headed away from a game saying, "That ref was smashing today", ?
Well, the officials are there to keep order and discipline. I mean, you can't have a player refuse to do something as simple as show their boots to a fourth official. Makes a mockery of the fourth official if he lets it go also.
cheers andy!
yeah all he had to do was show him his boots for two seconds.
if you were up before a judge in court would you give him cheek?
methinks not.
"They are black for starters."
the asst referee has enough things to be dong besides listening to this sort of thing.
Ref, do you know what the fee for a referee in the eL is these days? Are refs full time/part time or both?
all eL referees have jobs besides refereeing. refereeing is like a second job to most referees though due to the amount of time it takes up.
most eL referees train at least 3 to 4 times a week and might have 1 to 2 games a week depending where they are from.
not sure about the fee but it is not a lot.
The last thing i'll say is that it must be a right balls being a ref.
someone has to do it!
sometimes no matter what we do we can't win.
*when i hit 'reply' for this i was told i was logged in as A Face. lads log off if usng a public computer when you're finished!!!
J.O.F.A.S
14/07/2003, 12:02 PM
Yeah but do you think the assistant referee could get his finger out of his @ss sometime and help the actual referee, you cant defend them!
If you do well I suppose the saying, Black cat/Black Kitten comes to mind
Originally posted by J.O.F.A.S
Yeah but do you think the assistant referee could get his finger out of his @ss sometime and help the actual referee, you cant defend them!
If you do well I suppose the saying, Black cat/Black Kitten comes to mind
i was asked my opinion by Eanna and @ndy and i gave it.
as for black cat/black kitten well all i can say to that is :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Originally posted by @ndy
My only worry about referees is that some of them may possibly enjoy, even if they don't realise it, making big decisions, getting involved and making something more of something that doesn't need to be.
I think there's a possibility that it occasionally happens, but its hard to do anything. Its a fact of life that some people enjoy attention more than other. Same is true of refs I guess.
When it gets to the stage (i'm thinking Paul Durkin here) where a referee is repeatedly involved in big incidents that are dubious on his/her part, that's where i worry about a referee.
You can add the (now retired) DIck O'Hanlon to that list. After the controversy the night he gave pats the title he seemed to enjoy
fcuking us lot over.
BTW, there are no fourth officials at Div 1 games- ah well, you'll find that out next season for yourself :D :D :D
I dunno was the guy refusing or was it just a throwaway comment. I think a "shut up/ cop on and show me your boots" would have done....
16/07/2003, 8:50 AM
I was there and it was definately just a throw-away comment. The lad should never have been booked. A clear example of power going to the linesman's head...
Cityace
21/07/2003, 10:59 AM
Well as we all know, the men in black(a.k.a. M.I.B.) are a secret government organisation.Any attemps to undermine there authority will be deemed as hostile.As we all know, when a man in black flashes that little mysterious red thing, he forgets what happened and in the confusion, a number of different stories are given.This helps protect the org. and therefore keeping the universe at peace.
Well we all complain when we get a bad referree, but i have to praise the ref at the City/$hels game on Friday night. You'd hardly know he was there, did an excellent job and credit where credit is due. Take a bow, John McDermott and his assistants, Joe O'Brien and Ciaran Delaney.
for the record the much maligned Damo Hancock was the 4th official, who was also pretty invisible for the night.
The Sheliban
29/07/2003, 7:34 AM
Agreed. The only publicity they get is bad. A good ref is not newsworthy.