View Full Version : Town v Sporting Fingal

Pages : 1 [2]

Bosco
09/03/2008, 4:32 PM
Not taking anything away from the win last night but don't want to get too excited!Very impressed with the attacking and hard working attitude from the squad,they kept the ball on the ground and had control of the game from start to finish.But it must be noted that Fingal were terrible,I mean at times it looked way to easy for us.For an experienced group of players they looked clueless and were unprofessional hatchetmen at times.
I'm extremely optimistic after last night but think that the next 2 games will tell all.

Not sure of the players names yet,Murphy was excellent in the centre as a play maker and he seems to have bulked up a bit from the last time he played.Birmingham is a serious prospect but at times he looked very nervous last night and I would be worried what he'd be like against better strikers.Our left back didnt seem to convincing to me.Our left winger(Rushe was it?) showed some very good touches but was a bit hot and cold all night.

I fully agree with Mullogher on this certain steward,the man is a power tripping arsehole and I hope that something is done about him because its not just young lads or people over in section o that have had problems with him,I was complaining about him to people in the stand yesterday and they knew exactly who I was talking about.I made a massive section banner for the match with 8 seperate pieces and I wasnt allowed in with it because of the sticks.Now I can accept that the sticks may have been on the heavy side(all though they need to be to support the banner) but it was clear that he took pleasure in telling me to put them back in the car and didn't even for a second try to find a better solution to the problem.Its irritating because everyone at matches knows hes an arsehole but he seems to take pleasure in being an arsehole.

And whats with the over stewarding in section o???Last year the club were singing our praises and even in last weeks leader they were wondering why there was no section o chants at the dinner dance and now all of a sudden we're some kind of dangerous group that has to be under surveilance at all times?

deecay
09/03/2008, 4:53 PM
What colour kit did SF play in?
White with kinda yellow under the arms

09/03/2008, 4:57 PM
Whats that Sligoman you fancied Sporting Fingal!!??:D Seriously tho good start heres to another good performance and result v waterford!And so did many...ye cost me a tenner:mad:. I still think ye will struggle tbh, it was a great result but Waterford away on Friday will be extremely difficult. I do think 5-1 flattered ye last night but well done all the same. Some terrible defending for the goals and I'm sure in time, Fingal will improve. Fair play to the lads in John Joe's...best pub ever, made very welcome:).
And whats with the over stewarding in section o???Last year the club were singing our praises and even in last weeks leader they were wondering why there was no section o chants at the dinner dance and now all of a sudden we're some kind of dangerous group that has to be under surveilance at all times?The powers at the club probably read this forum and saw mention about a possible display at the Fingal match so made sure the stewards were extra vigilant. Perhaps ye could arrange somewhere more private to discuss displays anymore?

09/03/2008, 5:10 PM
And so did many...ye cost me a tenner:mad:. I still think ye will struggle tbh, it was a great result but Waterford away on Friday will be extremely difficult. I do think 5-1 flattered ye last night but well done all the same. Some terrible defending for the goals and I'm sure in time, Fingal will improve. Fair play to the lads in John Joe's...best pub ever, made very welcome:).The powers at the club probably read this forum and saw mention about a possible display at the Fingal match so made sure the stewards were extra vigilant. Perhaps ye could arrange somewhere more private to discuss displays anymore?

even if you get in they'll come over and take the sticks. I don't know the steward mentioned but its not the 1st time stewards have had bad press at the club. Perhaps someone should contact a board member about it or the local press to highlight the issue.

09/03/2008, 5:18 PM
Fair play to longford last night, ye played well, although SF were muck, such amateur mistakes they made for the last 3 goals. Longfords second ( i think) was a great goal, chipping the keeper.
the football quiz in John Joes, or whatever its called was great fun too :D

09/03/2008, 6:16 PM
Fair play to longford last night, ye played well, although SF were muck, such amateur mistakes they made for the last 3 goals. Longfords second ( i think) was a great goal, chipping the keeper.
the football quiz in John Joes, or whatever its called was great fun too :D

we know our soccer in john joes rovers1!:) very disppointed with the stewards.this is news to me about the toilet rolls being banned in the ground. when me denis ryan and adrian massop were at the fans forum earlier in the season we asked that particular question to noel mooney and fran gavin and we were told in uncertain terms that they WERE allowed which ****es me off. in fairness to one of the stewards thats on the committee he checked with the fai observer and the fai observer said that you can bring them in if you want to but once they land on the pitch you can get a fine. disappointed with the flag sticks but I believe the one that ronnie b does have is allowed because that is a solid steel pole. so thats something that may be looked into the future weeks. the lack of consistency in the fai is a bit of a joke to be honest.

as for the match what a game! fierce impressed with our front two of iarlaith davoren and darren mckenna. thought that davoren was mom I spoke to Vinny a few wks ago and he told me to keep an eye out for him! Daire Doyle seems to have come on a lot from last season and as per earlier thread he will turn into the next Vinny Perth!
fingal werent great fair play to dave rogers he was applauding us at the end of the game and he complimented the few of us that were in section o at seven I thought he was takin the **** but he was very genuine about it by the thumbs up sign he gave us.

Great crowd at the game esp in section o. there was a big crowd at our side of the ground and the stand had a good number in it as well. reckon there had to be 1500 people at it. We probably wont go up this year but this is one of the most hungriest squads that I have seen in six long years.

I would be very confident in stating that there will be a huge town away support down frid nite!:)

tbh I was only expectin a draw from this but after this performance I reckon town will finish fourth

09/03/2008, 6:30 PM
Well done Town! Top of the league... Were Town wearing a new kit last night?

Mullogher
09/03/2008, 6:53 PM
even if you get in they'll come over and take the sticks. I don't know the steward mentioned but its not the 1st time stewards have had bad press at the club. Perhaps someone should contact a board member about it or the local press to highlight the issue.

He goes by the name of molloy with an English accent.He is a complete *****. I herd him talkin to someone on way in bout banning anybody who is caught wit flares,horns and the like.This burly individual is a sad distorted ******* who gains enjoyment out of others peoples hard work in tryin to improve the atmosphere.

09/03/2008, 7:18 PM
Well done Town! Top of the league... Were Town wearing a new kit last night?

they were indeed pauro best kit I have ever seen town play in..

they looked so different two black stripes one red stripe in the middle... red on the sleeves. the jersey looked class on us! no sponsors on the back yet.. does anyone know what colour our away kit will be ? when will the new jerseys be out?

09/03/2008, 7:25 PM
Anyone got any pics? Really want to see it...

09/03/2008, 7:30 PM
MC Farrell was the head man on match day. If that is still so complaints should be made to him. Every time something happens complain, not here but to the club.

This is not good for us and worse when its done to other clubs who visit.

TheBoss
09/03/2008, 10:31 PM
Who were unused substitutes for either side, if anyone can remember them.

09/03/2008, 11:51 PM
Great crowd at the game esp in section o. there was a big crowd at our side of the ground and the stand had a good number in it as well. reckon there had to be 1500 people at it. We probably wont go up this year but this is one of the most hungriest squads that I have seen in six long years.

Did you get a bang on the head before kick off Marty?! There was nowhere near 1500 there. 6-700 or so I would have said. About the same size as we were getting last year regularly. Oh and the away kit is the same as last year's. The sponsor should be on the back shortly. Saw one shirt with it on, it looks well.

Sonic
10/03/2008, 10:35 AM
Fully agree on this particular steward but as max power says foot.ie isnt going to do the trick need to get onto someone in the club. On the banners I reckon come out a couple of hours early and stick them in section O before this particular steward even comes near the ground. Noone else will say a thing to you only him and your point will be got across before he can even get over as far as us. On the over stewarding I totally agree there has never and will never be trouble in section O its absolutly ridiculous!! I mean most of section O are young kids in fairness they are hardly the most loutish of crowds youll see at a football game!!!

10/03/2008, 10:37 AM
I was chatting to him at half time, we had an interesting discussion. He said bamboo canes are fine, light plastic is ok, no solid timber or steel. I pointed out the way they carry on is well over the top. Just following orders was his response. They said the main reason they were over was to try and see who keeps lobbing stuff onto the pitch which I agree with them fully about. It needs to be cut out.

10/03/2008, 12:14 PM
How did the 6 former Athlone players in yer line up get on?

Have to say that result shocked me almost as much as seeing Davoran got
2 goals!!! Has he beefed up any since he was with us? Not being smart but
a gust of wind would have blown him off the pitch whe he was with Athlone

10/03/2008, 2:14 PM
They said the main reason they were over was to try and see who keeps lobbing stuff onto the pitch which I agree with them fully about. It needs to be cut out.Well 2 chips were thrown on the pitch after one of yer goals, did they catch who did it?

10/03/2008, 2:38 PM
How did the 6 former Athlone players in yer line up get on?

Have to say that result shocked me almost as much as seeing Davoran got
2 goals!!! Has he beefed up any since he was with us? Not being smart but
a gust of wind would have blown him off the pitch whe he was with Athlone

Pretty well by and large. Casey was a bit ponderous at times but he got into the game as it went on. Davoren was excellent, his first goal was excellent and he caused problems with good touches. Gannon was sent off for kicking him on the ground.He's still light but held his own well. Rushe was quiet enough but worked hard. Luke Hardy was pretty solid, Frawley didn't do much wrong and Gary Murphy was very good also. Fingal made a lot of stupid mistakes but they were put under a good bit of pressure from us. We played at a good high tempo. The result should help their confidence.

10/03/2008, 8:37 PM
[QUOTE=Longfordian;894700]Did you get a bang on the head before kick off Marty? maybe I did... spoke to one of the regulars he reckoned that that was the amount of people that was there! wont listen to him again¬:). you know who u are! more fool me...

10/03/2008, 9:34 PM
Anyone got any pics? Really want to see it...

http://www.raydonlon.com/march08/0803081/game.htm

at long least pauro pictures of the new jersey! enjoy!:)

Rocky77
11/03/2008, 10:13 AM
Those red sleeves will take a bit of getting used to.

11/03/2008, 10:47 AM
Quite like it. Red sleeves look good and at least its different from Bohs shirts, also made by umbro. Very different from our last few shirts but its a grand job. still think the Flancare logo looks a bit cheap in an ironed on sort of way.

Tallanted
11/03/2008, 12:42 PM
its a standard umbro jersey with our crest and sponsor on it.. Shangan athletic from the aul league have the same jersey as do several dublin junior sides.. Its different to last years jersey but it works it looks really well

Keen2win
11/03/2008, 6:32 PM
I must admit it looked a bit strange at first glance but now I like it. I love the new shade of red.

11/03/2008, 8:46 PM
its the most unusual town jersey I have seen in over twelve years. bit strange there is no change of away kit! the more I look at this new town kit the more I like it. reckon its our best kit since the 2001/02 effort

deecay
11/03/2008, 10:38 PM
When Rodgers was mear enough section o,a old fella shouted''WELCOME TO THE BIG TIME''taught it amusing.
John Joes is the best pub ever,great craic Marty:)

Nipper
12/03/2008, 2:23 AM
Jesus Christ, I think that "ould fella" was Seamie! ****sake!:eek:

sorbothegreek
12/03/2008, 9:48 AM
Holy f**k:confused:

12/03/2008, 11:43 AM
You do sound old Seamie, don't look it of course!

Nipper
12/03/2008, 3:23 PM
Maybe I'm wrong about that Seamie. Did you shout that at Rogers though? You were coming out with some choice ones!

sorbothegreek
12/03/2008, 3:45 PM
I'm kinda hoping it was one of the 'slightly' older chaps down towards the front, closer to where the sligo lads were sitting.

I was getting quite into it at one stage so could well have said anything..

deecay
12/03/2008, 4:12 PM
I'm kinda hoping it was one of the 'slightly' older chaps down towards the front, closer to where the sligo lads were sitting.
Ya,think he was there with Mick Wallace's twin brother

12/03/2008, 8:12 PM
When Rodgers was mear enough section o,a old fella shouted''WELCOME TO THE BIG TIME''taught it amusing.
John Joes is the best pub ever,great craic Marty:)

thats why I love this pub so much till I die deecay!:D