View Full Version : The 2008 Pre-Olympics thread
Is the Steeplechase still male only?
No the burds have their version of it.
baseball and boxing are the two. yeah there's female wrestling...
There's a couple of slight variations in the Athletics programme but nothing major
29/04/2008, 3:43 PM
O'Loughlin lost out to a number of "team entrants" as the top 4/5 teams could nominate two riders each. The winner of the World B championships was also given a spot
To call that qualifying system harsh is a massive understatement.
Its an individual event so excluding someone in the top 10 in the world so that some countries can send more than 1 entrant is a joke.
I'll check how many entrants there were in the last Olympics.
29/04/2008, 4:11 PM
yeah there's female wrestling...
is there mud or chocolate involved?...what do they wear?, whens this Olympics thing starting?*-*-*-*-*
*-*-*BGR salivates anxiously in the corner
I'll check how many entrants there were in the last Olympics.
Details on wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cycling_at_the_2008_Summer_Olympics_-_Qualification#Men.27s_Pursuit)
Its actually to ensure that each qualified team has one representative, not two (I think). but the point remains. The 9th ranked cyclist, who finished 6th at the world championships should be going.
There's always 16 riders in Olynpic individual pursuiting
30/04/2008, 11:20 AM
Details on wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cycling_at_the_2008_Summer_Olympics_-_Qualification#Men.27s_Pursuit)
Its actually to ensure that each qualified team has one representative, not two (I think). but the point remains. The 9th ranked cyclist, who finished 6th at the world championships should be going.
There's always 16 riders in Olynpic individual pursuiting
18 qualifiers according to that wikipedia page.
I think O'Loughlin is first reserve so hopefully at least one country qualified will decide to concentrate on the team race and not take up their place in the individual.
03/05/2008, 9:37 PM
according to todays Examiner Ireland have been allocated 5 places in the individual 3 day event competition.
Places haven't been allocated to riders yet and we may not necessarily take up all places if it thought we don't have riders of a high enough standard. We may also have a team in that competition.
We have 1 place in the showjumping competition, thanks to Jessica Kuertens ranking. (6th in world cup final last week i think).She hasn't said if she will compete yet though. If she did she would be a medal hope.
Don't forget she led going into the last round in Athens.
Maybe if they said Cian O'Connor was second choice she would definitely go:D
04/05/2008, 7:42 AM
There will be no patriotic reason to watch girls running round in short skirts at the Olympics:mad:
Ireland out of the last qualifying tournament in LAdies hockey. Lost 2-0 to Italy. A draw would have put them in a one match playoff for the last place with Korea.
13/05/2008, 8:52 PM
Not confirmed yet. Evans should be soon. Magee was listed as a reserve in the last rankings
This is now confirmed. Magee is second reserve.
Chambers to appeal Olympics ban (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics/athletics/7402836.stm)
Dwain Chambers is to appeal his life time ban. Presumably this is because to he could not cut it at American Football or Rugby League. Would be a sad day to see him back in the Olympics.
zenokelly
21/05/2008, 4:21 PM
This is now confirmed. Magee is second reserve.
Magee has made it now!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2008/0521/badminton.html
DaveyCakes
23/05/2008, 4:01 PM
Burnett has won medals at world events too.
yeah Synchronised swimming is the other non testiculur sport. A couple of male only sports too, if we're in the humour for quizzes?
Decathlon...Okay, I know its an event, not a sport..
26/05/2008, 12:17 PM
Good news for magee being called up.
bradley wiggins also broke his collarbone last week much to David O'Loughlin's joy. mightn't keep him out of the olympics but might make it soft enough to break again closer to the event :)
Sorry it was Brad McGee who broke his collarbone. Still though
Jessica Keurten has unsurprisingly turned down the chance to represent Ireland in the Olympics. And with her probably our best medal chance gone
I presume she was unhappy about her recent positive drug result?
30/05/2008, 9:19 AM
Good news for Andrew Bree. Looks like he's been totally cleared of any wrong doing and he's free to compete in the Olympics.
In a statement, FINA said that they were 'convinced that the use of levmethamfetamine was not intended to enhance his performance,' and that Bree had gone to 'all possible lengths to check that the medical product that he was using contained no such banned substance'. Full story from RTE (http://www.rte.ie/sport/other/2008/0529/breea.html).
zenokelly
05/06/2008, 10:02 AM
It's the final swansong for the rest of the swimmers this week in Holland. They're all young so hopefully a couple of them make it, especially Cooney who is 18.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/swimming-bree-backs-irish-trio-to-book-berths-in-beijing-1398588.html
11/06/2008, 10:07 PM
The Swimmers just missed out (despite a rake of Irish records). One of the girls may be brought in as she has the B standard.
Emma Davis finished an excellent 15th in the World Triathlon championship and is now guarenteed a spot in the Olympics.
The Mens lightweight Four have come back to some sort of form (after a disaster last year) and finished in the top 6 in the last 2 world cup events. They have a qualifying regatta coming soon and must finish inside the top 2
zenokelly
14/06/2008, 11:06 PM
The mens 4*400 team started their bid today with 3:04.71 in the first of 2 races that will hopefully qualify them for the Olympics, though it wasn't the best of starts!
They're average over the two races will need to be in the top 16 teams in the world since 1st January 2007 to ensure qualification. The second of the two is next week in Tailinn.
This has been worked on for months and all about the "project" can be found on this website. http://www.project400.net/
In my opinion they are more than capable of making the Games and possibly the final and after all the hard work they put in, good luck to them.
By the way, on a side note, Paul Hession, who has qualified for the olympics in the 200m has had an awesome start to the season, finishing 2nd in the Golden League meeting in Norway (this is the highest standard grand prix), and 2nd in a 300m race in Prague only beaten by Jeremy Warriner who is the current world champion over 400m.
With Paddy Power he is now 11/2 to make the final of the 200m. I think you should have a few quid on that, was 10/1 two weeks ago when I backed him!
14/06/2008, 11:38 PM
Wariner saying he's not running the 200m at the US trials helped too. Its still a big ask for Hess to make the final though. He may be top european though
By the way, on a side note, Paul Hession, who has qualified for the olympics in the 200m has had an awesome start to the season, finishing 2nd in the Golden League meeting in Norway (this is the highest standard grand prix), and 2nd in a 300m race in Prague only beaten by Jeremy Warriner who is the current world champion over 400m.
With Paddy Power he is now 11/2 to make the final of the 200m. I think you should have a few quid on that, was 10/1 two weeks ago when I backed him!
Heard him on the radio this afternoon. He is targeting semi final as minimum but wants to give himself a chance at the final. He did seem to be a bit concerned about stamina through the heats.
Last rowing qualifier underway.
Lightweight Four won their heat this morning and go straight into Wednesday's Final. It should be between Ireland, Spain (who fiished only a second behind them) and Germany (who won the other heat) for the 2 Olympic spots.
The lightweight men’s double finished 2nd in their heat yesterday. 3 spots on offer here and a good race could see them sneak it. They should definitely make the final anyway
In the heavyweight men’s pair, they also finshed 2nd and agian race in the semis tomorrow. They race in the Semi's tomorrow, with again only 2 spots on offer for the Olympics. It'd be a shock if we gained one of these
17/06/2008, 1:01 PM
Looks like O'Loughlin will be competing in the cycling:
David O'Loughlin is set to represent Ireland at this summer's Olympic Games in Beijing.
O'Loughlin will compete in the Men's Individual Pursuit after intense lobbying with the International Cycling Union.
His nomination is expected to be formally confirmed by Cycling Ireland in the coming days.
from The Indo (http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/cyclist-oloughlin-to-compete-at-olympics-1412910.html) website.
Great news for O'Loughlin if it comes to pass.
Not such good news for the rowers in todays semis with neither crew making tomorrow's finals.
The lightweight mens four have been drawn in lane 3 so fingers crossed they finish in the top 2
18/06/2008, 12:40 PM
Lightweight Mens Four finish 2nd and become the 2nd Irish boat to qualify for the Okympics. They were a medal chance 4 years ago but flopped in final and haven't really recovered since. They've made the final of both World Cup events so far this year so they are making a comeback.
O'Loughlin's place in the Individual Pursuit was also confirmed today
B]QUALIFIERS AS AT 18 June[/B]
Athletics
Male
100m, 200m – Paul Hession
400m – David Gillick
1,500, 5,000m, 10,000m – Alistair Cragg (will choose event(s) at a later date)
Marathon – Martin Fagan
20K walk – Robert Heffernan
50K walk – Jamie Costin
20k/50K walk - Colin Griffen (will choose event at a later date)
Female
100mH – Derval O’Rourke
400m – Joanne Cuddihy
3,000m SC – Roisin McGettigan, Fionnula Britton
20K Walk – Olive Loughnan
Hammer – Eileen O’Keefe
Badminton
Mens Indicidual - Scott Evans
Womens Individual - Chloe Magee
Boxing
Light Flyweight – Paddy Barnes
Bantamweight – John Joe Nevin
Light Welterweight - John Joe Joyce
Middleweight - Darren Sutherland
Light Heavyweight - Ken Egan
Canoeing
K1 Slalom – Eoin Rheinisch
Cycling
Men’s Road Race – 2 places
Men’s Mountain Bike – Robin Seymour
Men's Track Individual Pursuit - David O’Loughlin
Fencing
Women's Sabre - Siobhan Byrne
Rowing
Mens heavyweight 4 – team TBD
Mens Lightweight 4 - team TBD
Sailing
Mens 470 – Gerald Owens, Philip Lawton
Mens Keelboat Star - Max Treacy, Anthony Shanks
Women's One Person Dinghy - Laser Radial - Ciara Peelo
Open Finn – Tim Goodbody
Shooting
Men’s Trap – Derek Burnett
Swimming
Breastroke events – Andrew Bree
Triathlon
Womens- Emma Davis
Competitors who are making their olympic debut in Italics
cavan_fan
18/06/2008, 12:59 PM
So with Kuerten out what are our top chances.
Not going to get anything in the athletics, swimming etc.
And this time can anyone who wins pls not drug themsleves/their horse/their bike.......
zenokelly
21/06/2008, 12:48 PM
Most of our track & field athletes qualified for the games are taking part in the European Cup over the next 2 days - the women in Leiria, and men in Tallinn.
Fionnuala Britton (in the 3000m, not her favoured steeplechase), Roisin McGettigan (3000 s/c) and Joanne Cuddihy are going today in Leiria, with Derval O R and Eileen O Keefe in the hammer going tomorrow, results etc. are here
http://www.leiria2008.org/leiria/2nd_language/index.html
While in Tallinn Hession is in action today in the 100m, and Gillick is running tomorrow over 200m.
http://www.ec2008tallinn.org/
Tomorrow is D-day for the 2 4x400m teams also. The men need to run at least 3:04.30 to have a chance of qualifying but realistically probably need low 3:03's to cement a place in the world's top 16 that will qualify them.
While the women will need to run sub 3:29.5 to stand a chance.
zenokelly
21/06/2008, 9:45 PM
Paul Hession ran a decent 10.3 (wind +2,1) in the 100m with no competition really (he won the race 14 hundreths ahead of his nearest challenger).
Fionnuala Britton (running the steeplechase in Beijing) ran a disappointing 3000m in a time of 9,23,34 considering she ran 9:40 last week over the 3000m chase.
Roisin McGettigan ran an encouraging 9,39,95 in her 1st steeplechase of the season to finish 3rd. She should be able to build on that towards Beijing and is capable of making the final.
Cuddihy pulled out of the 400m. I'm not sure if it was because she suffered a reocurrence of an injury that kept her out for two weeks prior to last week, or if she was resting for the 4x400 team's qualifying attempt tomorrow.
zenokelly
25/06/2008, 11:26 AM
Eileen O Keefe in the hammer continues to impress with a throw again over 69m at the European Cup on Sunday. Eileen along with Hession in the 200m are our only real possibilities of reaching a final in T&F in Beijing, and to a lesser extent, Roisin McGettigan in the 3000m s/chase, imo.
Their was disappointment for the 2 4x400m teams who didn't do enough to get a time that would put them in the top 16, thus, that would've qualified us for the Olympics. The men were only .13 outside the time!
The men may have 1 more chance in Salamanca in 10 days to attempt the time, but it remains to be seen if they will go there.
25/06/2008, 10:55 PM
Five part TV series beginning next Wednesday on RTÉ 2 about this year's Irish Olympians.
Ireland's Olympians Ireland's Olympians is a brand new five-part TV series, and accompanying hardback book, from RTÉ Sport. Produced with the co-operation of the Olympic Council of Ireland and the Irish Sports Council, the series will feature in-depth interviews with leading Irish athletes and international experts across a wide range of sports - including Derval O'Rourke, David Gillick, Eileen O'Keeffe, Kenny Egan, Paul Hession, Joanne Cuddihy and Alistair Cragg.
26/06/2008, 12:28 AM
leading Irish athletes and international experts across a wide range of sports - including Derval O'Rourke, David Gillick, Eileen O'Keeffe, Kenny Egan, Paul Hession, Joanne Cuddihy and Alistair Cragg.
So a wide range of sports is one boxer and the rest athletes...
zenokelly
26/06/2008, 3:53 PM
Next Monday the series begins.
RTE 2 : 7.30pm
zenokelly
29/06/2008, 10:21 PM
The 4x400m men's team have been given 1 final lifeline to qualify, with a lane in the last qualifying 4x400m event in Salamanca on wednesday.
As it stands, we are in 18th place, 2 off the magic top 16 that qualifies us. But we do not know exactly what is needed to get into 16th spot even though the meet in Salmanca is the last meet that counts, because the Italian team, the current holders of the 16th place, are also entered along with, the Nigerian team, currently 20th that have the runners to easily move up the ladder and I fancy they should get in to the qualifying places, so it won't be easy.
However, we are capable of making it, but with the feeling that the Italians and Nigerians will pull ahead of us, we need a 3:03.42 run to guarantee a spot, which is worryingly a 1.01 seconds faster than we've ran so far.
More here: www.project400.net
lopez
03/07/2008, 10:37 AM
Just tried to look at the official Olympic website. If you go to sports you get diverted to a pro-Tibet/anti Chinese goverment site. Cooooooool!!
http://www.peking2008.com/
http://www.peking2008.com/ad/
lopez
03/07/2008, 10:43 AM
Just tried to look at the official Olympic website. If you go to sports you get diverted to a pro-Tibet/anti Chinese goverment site. Cooooooool!!
http://www.peking2008.com/
http://www.peking2008.com/ad/
Whoops, it's fake site, but looks convincing. Should have spotted the Peking 2008 logo. :o :o :o
Gillick continues his good form to finish 6th in Rome Golden League (http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/other/2008/0711/1215787856312.html).
02/08/2008, 4:19 PM
http://www.olympicsport.ie/Profile.aspx?pageid=68
Profiles of Irish athletes by sport.
harpskid
04/08/2008, 9:07 AM
Piece with Chloe Magee from the Donegal News today
2008 Olympic Games
Chloe makes her Olympic bid
BY CHRIS MCNULTY
CHLOE Magee this Saturday treads a path that will only previously have been ventured upon by seven Donegal natives when she lines up at the 29th Olympiad in Beijing, China.
Badminton player Magee (19), from Raphoe, takes on Estonia's Katie Tolmoff in the women’s singles ‘Round of 64’ at the Beijing University of Technology Gymnasium to become the eighth Donegal representative to appear at the Games.
Just some hours previous to Chloe lining up in the Badminton Court, Letterkenny Cyclist Philip Deignan will have become Donegal Olympian number seven - and the first since his fellow townsman Danny McDaid, who ran the marathon in 1972 - in the Men’s Road Race.
For Chloe Magee, the road to Beijing was one that was taken rather swiftly, given that the ultimate aim for the teenager when she left her native Raphoe two years ago to take on the sport full-time was an appearance in London 2012.
But now that she’s in China, she won’t be there merely to make up the numbers, not even if she faces a skilled Estonian who, at number 46 in the world, is 28 places above her in the rankings.
Yesterday morning, Sunday (‘one of the hottest days here so far!’), Chloe spoke to the Donegal News from her Beijing base and told of her pride at representing Team Ireland and how she is quietly confident of getting over Saturday’s challenge.
“I wasn’t sure if I would make it to Beijing, but I really wanted to make it to London in 2012. It is great to get there ahead of schedule.
“I am delighted to be here; it is brilliant to be a part of the team,” she enthused.
“It would be a bonus to get through a few rounds. The draw is pretty much pot luck and I am putting no pressure on myself.
“I played her (Tolmoff) some time ago, I think it was last year, and I know her pretty well. She is from Europe as well and I know what I have to do to win. It is tough, but of course there are no easy ones in the Olympics.
“I am quite confident, because when I played her last I came quite close to winning and I have been playing way better since.”
Seeded fifth going in, she made the final of the US Open Grand Prix in California last month, in a tournament that ‘went really well’ - indeed it went so well that she ranks it as ‘one of my best tournaments ever.’ At the tournament in Orange County Badminton Club, she narrowly lost a tight final to local favourite Lili Zhou, who had earlier beaten the number two seed. After two tough and extremely close sets, Magee lost 23-21 21-18.
She and fellow Olympian Scott Evans then departed for Vancoucer for a training camp under the watchful gaze of Jim Laugesen and their trip to Beijing included a brief stay in Singapore.
“We’ve been out here in Beijing now since last Sunday,” she explained. “I have been training all week, twice a day, and it has been going really, really well so far. Basically I have a lot of match practise already done and I am trying to get myself prepared as best I can this week.”
At the tender age of 17, she packed her bags in Raphoe and headed for Sweeden to join up with coach Tom Reidy, a native of Limerick who played badminton for USA in Barcelona in 1992.
“He is a briliant trainer and he played in Barcelona in 92 aso he knows what it is all about. He is a former world champion and knows exactly what we need to be doing” notes the former Royal and Prior Comprehensive School student.
One of eight children to Sammy and Audrey Magee, her love of badminton was instilled from an early age.
“My dad taught me everything I know and I have him to thank for everything I have achieved,” she said.
"He has made me the player I am, took me everywhere I needed to go and gave me every chance that I have had.
"My parents are both over the moon and although badminton is a small sport in Ireland, everyone supports each other and I'm really excited."
She was back in her native homeland for a short stay at the beginning of last month and now that she’s on the biggest circuit of all, those at home keep in touch with the warm and hearty goodluck messages on a daily basis.
“I don’t get back home too much, so it was good to get back for a couple of weeks there. It was really great to get that chance to recover, as well as doing some training at home, because the qualifying period was so hard.”
Gold medalist four years ago in Athens was China’s Zhang Ning, who is seeded second behind the world number one, Xie Xingfang, also from China. On home territory this time around, the Chinese will be hoping to, at the very least, match 2004 when they won three of the five gold medals on offer.
“Badminton is China's national sport so there will be thousands of people watching the matches in Beijing which may make it a bit nerve-wracking,” said Chloe.
“The atmosphere will be really special, especially when there are Chinese players playing in front of the Chinese crowd.”
04/08/2008, 11:56 AM
Good article harpskid.
I remember Danny McDaid (showing my age bigtime). He ran with a cap!
harpskid
04/08/2008, 2:19 PM
Good article harpskid.
I remember Danny McDaid (showing my age bigtime). He ran with a cap!
he ran with a cap??
06/08/2008, 9:16 AM
So the Olympics will be on soon...............
having lived in China for a few years i have a bit of an interest in it this time. usually i cant wait for the Olympics but after the first few days i lose the interest, but i might try the full 3/4 weeks this time
I have visited Beijing a good few times. never liked it, always too crowded, too polluted and the people were generally a bit rude
Qingdao where they are having the sailing etc is a beautiful city, with friendly people. it actually used to be run by the Germans in WW2 and has lots of European style architecture. i was surprised to see all the algae in the sea in the press, cause it generally is a clean city
the Chinese are really looking forward to this thing. Im still in two minds if they deserve it at all. I find it a bit hypocritical what with all the talk of human rights and they still have a mass murderer on their money.
But Chinese people are friendly and welcoming, and i guess its a change
Tibet and the Muslims are mistreated, thats for sure, but some people don't realise that the general Chinese populations themselves aren't exactly treated very well by the communist party.
The sports that were popular in china when i was there were..........basketball, football, ping pong, volleyball, gymnastics, and badminton.
Yao Ming and Yu Chen are stars. basketball is probably the number one sport at the moment. The Chinese have a love hate relationship with football. The football stars drink, curse, womanise - ie just been typical footballers - but it doesn't go down well in china.
They were rightly ****ed off that they only won one gold in the gymnastics's last time.
anyway im looking forward to seeing all the Irish compete. As long as they try their best, get PBs, and maybe sneak a medal or tow then thats fine.
Also looking forward to the football - Messi and Riqo versus Ronnie
the American basketball team will be one to watch too
Always like the athletics, and will watch the cycling
And Phelps
(by the way i have heard from a chinese friend that the road race for cycling will be in Taiyuan - if so thats bad news, its very polluted. But not sure of this????)
Also did anyone see Channel four news yesterday, seeing the American team entering china with face masks on. Very insulting, very rude, typical yanks
Lets the games begin:)
Tibet and the Muslims are mistreated, thats for sure, but some people don't realise that the general Chinese populations themselves aren't exactly treated very well by the communist party.
Pretty much what Chinese guy here said to me. The more China criticised the more nationalist the people become just like any other country. Anyway enough politics...
Of all the sports I have no interest in football & think it serves no sporting purpose to have it in the Olympics.
Looking forward to RTE having unusual commentators doing highlights of the extra or minority sports. I think Marty Morrissey did volley ball last time ;)
Edit: Just seen this picture of US team arriving... :rolleyes:
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44895000/jpg/_44895849_masks_get.jpg